About BeenVerified

BeenVerified claims to “give people easy and affordable access to public record information” by aggregating addresses, phone numbers, criminal histories, social media profiles, and more into one easy to read report.

According to the company, they take the confusion out of accessing public records, and do so in a straightforward, ethical manner.

BeenVerified is based out of New York, NY, and has been featured in Inc., CNET, TechCrunch, and more.

The company is not rated with the Better Business Bureau, despite having more than 60 closed complaints over the past three years, most of which appear to relate to billing issues, and the amount of information provided in their reports (see the Bottom Line section for additional details about this). With this said, it appears that the company does respond to complaints quickly.

Outside of the BBB, online customer reviews appear to be primarily negative, with the most common complaints citing inaccurate/incomplete information and billing problems.

How BeenVerified Works

At its most basic, BeenVerified aggregates information obtained from public databases, and merges this information into a single, easy to understand report that can be purchased by members.

According to the company’s website, BeenVerified can be used to help people find a long lost love, verify prospective roommates, verify information about someone they met online, locate a current address, verify online buyers, and more.

However, BeenVerified is not intended to be used to uncover information related to public FCRA records, to screen tenants, to perform an employer background check, or to verify someone’s eligibility for a mortgage.

If you have any questions about this, BeenVerified’s Do’s and Don’ts page provides a quick overview.

At this time, BeenVerified only provides records for U.S.-based individuals, although all searches are performed anonymously. In other words, the person you’re searching for will not be notified.

BeenVerified currently offers desktop, iPhone, Android, and mobile web versions of their site. In addition, in the event that the record you’re looking for isn’t available online, BeenVerified claims to be able to send people to the courthouse to manually gather information.

BeenVerified Pricing and Refund Policy

When signing up for BeenVerified, you’ll be presented with three different options, all of which include unlimited report requests during your subscription period:

  • Moderate User – Billed on a month-to-month basis: $19.62 per month.
  • Recommended – A 3-month subscription billed in one lump sum: $44.62.
  • Power Users – A 6-month subscription billed in one lump sum: $59.62.

Whichever option you choose, keep in mind that BeenVerified will automatically renew you membership once it expires. To opt out of this automatic renewal, you’ll need to contact customer service at 888-579-5910 for their “no hassle, no haggle” cancellation.

Bottom Line: Is BeenVerified a Scam?

BeenVerified does not appear to be a scam, though we learned of several concerns during our research:

First, online data brokers such as BeenVerified simply aggregate information that can be found elsewhere online for free, put this information into a report, and then charge you for the service.

This means that, with just a little digging on your part, you can probably locate much of the same information at no charge whatsoever.

Next, BeenVerified’s online reputation appears to be very poor. In fact, according to this article, “The worst [data broker] is BeenVerified. We get more complaints about BeenVerified than any other data broker, by a factor of five.”

On top of this, we encountered numerous customer complaints during our research that cited inaccurate/incomplete information—so much so that it could rightly call into question the service provided by BeenVerified in the first place.

For example, countless users stated that they searched for individuals with known criminal records, only to have none of this information contained in the BeenVerified report.

On the other hand, we read just as many consumer complaints stating that they ordered reports on themselves, which were riddled with incorrect/vastly outdate information—even criminal records that didn’t belong to them.

Most billing problems appeared to be related to the company’s automatic membership renewal.

With this in mind, remember that Been Verified doesn’t verify any of the information contained in its reports, so it’s up to you as a consumer to do so.

Also, while the company doesn’t provide a method of correcting false information, they do provide an easy way for you to have your record removed from their database altogether.

Bottom line: If you’re looking to find someone’s last physical address and phone number, BeenVerified seems to provide accurate information. However, if you’re looking for a detailed criminal history, the company has a reputation for being fairly inaccurate.

» See Also: The Problem with People Search Websites and How You Can Find the Same Information for Free


Customer Reviews

Start your review of BeenVerified:
  • 66 Customer Reviews
  • 5% Recommend This Company
1.3 out of 5
5 star: 3% 4 star: 0% 3 star: 3% 2 star: 10% 1 star: 83%

 Our Promise to You

To safeguard you and ensure helpfulness and relevance, our compliance team manually assess every customer review before it goes live.

We have a zero-tolerance policy for fake reviews, and companies cannot control or alter any reviews at any time.

Sort reviews by:

  • You get your money's worth

    You can get public record info quickly and concisely. OF COURSE, some info is outdated and you have to take a few minutes to read thru the data, but it delivers what is promised.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend


  • Surprised at all the negative comments

    • By Jan O.,
    • Washington,
    • May 18, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I have been using BeenVerified for many years now, and it has been a very handy tool for finding lost classmates so they could be invited to Class Reunions. It may help that I know of their parents also so I can narrow down the duplicate names of individuals in the U.S. I am surprised at how MANY people have the same name, even the same middle name. I have been very happy for the reasons above to subscribe to this service called BeenVerified.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    • May 19, 2019

      Company Response from BeenVerified, Inc

      Hi Jan,

      We're happy to have you as a customer and to hear we could help you find lost classmates. Thank you for your time and for this great review! Please feel free to reach us at support@beenverified.com if you need any assistance.

      Many thanks,

      BeenVerified Customer Care


  • It's ok, easy to use

    • By Nonny,
    • PA,
    • Nov 9, 2016
    • Verified Reviewer

    I have belonged to this website for almost 2 years now. I pay a monthly charge of about 20 some dollars a month. The reason why I have it is because I have rooms in my home that I rent out to people and sometimes, it can be a rotating door because I live in a tourist town which is very transit. I also have found that I could use it for other things as well. I am involved in dog rescue and a lot of the people I meet are online first because that's where dogs in dyer need get featured. I like to run a background check on everyone I meet before I meet them. Anyway, I am tired but I will write a pro and con list:

    Pro's:

    It's very easy to use.

    I trust them with my credit card information and always had accurate billing with my account.

    Unlike other users and their reviews, I have found the information to be very accurate (when it's the right person, see con's for further explanation). It's rather uncanny how accurate they can be.

    Provides many details about the person such as age, criminal background checks, address, phone numbers from very far back, email addresses, Facebook accounts, all kinds of other social media accounts, your family members and friends. Sometimes they even have who you work/worked for. I'm sure I am forgetting a thing or two, but it has A LOT of information.

    It's user-friendly. A big plus for me. It also doesn't seem scammy like other background checkers. It has a nice interface, again easy to use.

    You can search phone numbers and addresses.

    Con's:

    If you are looking up a common name, such as John Robertson, good luck on finding that person. (I usually can find the person, but it takes a lot of investigating. Once you are familiar with the website, you usually can find them but it will take a long while. A tip would be, having the accurate city and state will be very helpful but still can be very hard if it is a very common name.

    They have mixed up a lot of information of those with the same names. That has caused heartache and headaches for a lot of people. Big problems sometimes.

    The criminal background check (the most important feature for myself) is the one thing I would say is lacking. Say you DO have the right person, for example, my childhood old friend, who has an extensive criminal history, half of his charges that I know he has did not show up. The half that they did have were indeed correct, but they were missing so much. That caused concern for me.

    There is a big glitch in the criminal background portion of this website. Say it says a person has 10 charges. You click on it and it's actually only 5 but they duplicate every charge. It takes up a lot of time and reading to sort through it. This happens almost every time. It also makes the person seem like they have more charges/arrests than they actually do.

    Many of the criminal records are blank. Only showing that they were charged with SOMETHING. Well, gee thanks! That really helps (note sarcasm). I usually have to do more investigating to see what those charges were on different, free websites , such as the local government index in the city or county where they were charged.

    My consensus is, I still use this website. It's better than any other website I have used in the past and while the criminal background check needs a lot of work, it DOES provide me with a lot of information. It is useful and at the very least can point me in the right directions. Other than the criminal background check, all the other features are very accurate. They can name 50 of your relatives of friends, email accounts from 10 years ago, phone numbers, addresses also from over 10 years ago (if you existed that long, lol), everywhere you ever lived, every phone number you ever had. I have tested this and I am very confidant that those items are indeed very accurate. I wish they would make their criminal background portion as accurate as everything else.

    I trust them with my money. They never incorrectly charged me. They answer right away when you call (you might have to through one or two prompts at the most) and always helpful. I like that as well.

    It's a tool that I use. I know its good parts and I know its faults. I know how to work around most of those faults because they generally do point you in the right directions if all else fails. No website is perfect, but for the money and the information you get, I think it's pretty good. Hope this was helpful. If you try it, you will see what I mean.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend


  • Phone numbers are a conglomerate of crazy numbers

    I hope to get to the bottom of the phone numbers that are listed under my own name that are absolutely baseless in origin. I put a phone call in and an email to find out where the phone number is listed under my name are, appearing to be baseless in origin, my goal is to find out where they are getting the colleague information, they appear to be people from my past that I was loosely associated with.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    • Sep 3, 2019

      Company Response from BeenVerified, Inc

      Hi Elisabeth,

      I'm sorry to hear you ran into any inaccurate information in your reports.

      BeenVerified is an easy-to-access collection of public record information. Public records are collected through official government records such as mortgage deeds and court records, and through sources such as magazine subscriptions, warranty cards, and utility bills.

      As you just experienced, sometimes the information they collect is not always 100% correct. However, we can only work with the information provided to us within public data. We continuously strive to update and expand our databases in order to provide you with the most current and accurate information we possibly can.

      If you haven't already, we encourage you to check out the Monitoring feature, which you can activate on up to ten reports you have run. Once Monitoring is activated, you will be notified as soon as we receive any new information in that report, such as a new phone number, address or even court record.

      If you have any additional questions, please feel free to contact us.

      Thank you,

      BeenVerified Customer Care


  • No value here

    • By Mike Reed,
    • Paoli, PA,
    • Jul 8, 2015

    Strangely incomplete reports. Easily located criminal, lawsuit, judgment. However, the lien and social network presence isn't disclosed. Not one of seven searches showed any social media presence at all for people that are all over Facebook and LinkedIn. It says "None" for everyone. A Google name search gets more information than this.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Dissatisfied

    • By La Tasha,
    • Texas,
    • Feb 1, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    I've seen the advertisement in a commercial, and it also stated that you can even look up info on yourself. So already upset to hear about a website that invites you to pull people's personal info, I pulled up my own.

    I totally disagree that anyone other than who is required by law, or a landlord, school, a job, credit card company, etc. should have any access to just pull up things like that on someone. I mean what if someone is hiding away from a bad past person, and now they basically can find you and retrieve your number. Yes, I understand many have found past loved ones, but think about all the bad people's hands that can have this access not for good purposes, even on our children. Not cool at all, not cool.

    Whoever thought of this should think about stuff like this and the lives it can ruin, hurt, or destroy, and not only about the good things. No one has privacy with technology anymore, and more websites come out with things like this.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Background checks - info is terrible to non-existent

    • By Bri S.,
    • Orange County, CA,
    • Oct 15, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I tried BeenVerified's service as my young daughter was getting a lot of phone calls from new numbers she'd never called before. I used the offer where you can try it for three days (after providing credit card number and "subscribing" to the service). I canceled the service after one day.

    The information provided by the site was mostly useless. I'd say maybe 40% to 50% got the name on the main account for the telephone number. It did not say who the user was. RARELY was an address shown. I don't know what methodology BeenVerified uses, but it doesn't work very well. NEVER did it ever provide anything close to "verifying" a person, i.e., do they have a criminal record, their age, marital status, etc. ALL of that information was missing for the 12 numbers (I used it as reverse lookup) I tried.

    I even tried to verify myself. I have an extensive history, including using my real name in public documents, my online social media, and more. I've been in the newspaper, I'm on several social media sites with a real name, I'm listed, I've had the same number for years, same address, I vote, I own property, everything. I put in my name: nothing. I tried to help it by providing age, location, etc. It couldn't even find ME. I'm not a public figure, but close enough. It could never find me, and never provided any details about me because it couldn't find me.

    The service was absolutely useless. It does not perform it's stated function, and barely functions at all.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    • Oct 15, 2018

      Company Response from BeenVerified, Inc

      Hi Bri,

      I'm sorry to hear you had any trouble getting the information you need.

      BeenVerified is an easy-to-access collection of public record information. Public records are collected through official government records such as mortgage deeds and court records, and through sources such as magazine subscriptions, warranty cards, and utility bills. The results of a reverse phone search can contain caller id data, phone records data, deep web search and more. Typically, we are able to provide the name of the owner and his or her address, in the full phone report.

      If we are not showing some elements of this information in the results of your phone search, then we do not currently have that information for the number in our database. Please know that we are constantly updating and expanding our database to provide the most accurate and current information we possibly can.

      Please note a phone search only provides information connected to that phone number via public records. To view criminal history, social media, voters registration, and more about a person you would need to search by the person's name.

      If you did not try searching by name, please feel free to email me at mperez@beenverified.com and we would be happy to offer you another chance to try it out.

      I hope that helps, but if you have additional questions, please don't hesitate to contact us.

      BeenVerified Customer Support


  • Worthless

    • By Paul C.,
    • Tucson, AZ,
    • May 30, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    The site takes a very long time to go through all of their processes. When they finish the info provided is no better than what is found on other FREE search engine sites. I don't think the site is a scam but all they really have to offer is information that is already on other public sites. My suggestion is to save your money.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    • Jun 24, 2019

      Company Response from BeenVerified, Inc

      Hi Paul,

      Thanks for reaching out. BeenVerified's mission is to provide easy affordable access to public records, so people can use public data in their everyday lives.

      If you're interested in trying out the service, you may want to check out our app for the iPhone or Android. The app is free to install (from the App store and Google Play store). With our apps, you can run unlimited people searches to get contact info and more, for free and you have the option of upgrading with a subscription to unlock criminal records and more.

      I hope that helps, but if you have additional questions, please don't hesitate to contact us at support@beenverified.com.

      Thank you,

      BeenVerified Customer Care


  • Outdated information

    • By Jon D.,
    • Michigan,
    • Aug 20, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    The information they provide is not up to date. Nothing on a person in the last couple of years. Information provided was what I already knew. Save your money. I cannot recommend this site for accurate information.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    • Aug 24, 2019

      Company Response from BeenVerified, Inc

      Hi Jon,

      I'm sorry to hear you ran into any inaccurate information in your reports.

      We show you canceled via our automated system. Please be assured we have now issued a refund of $22.86.

      BeenVerified is an easy-to-access collection of public record information. Public records are collected through official government records such as mortgage deeds and court records, and through sources such as magazine subscriptions, warranty cards, and utility bills.

      As you just experienced, sometimes the information they collect is not always 100% correct. However, we can only work with the information provided to us within public data. We continuously strive to update and expand our databases in order to provide you with the most current and accurate information we possibly can.

      If you have any additional questions, please feel free to contact us at support@beenverified.com

      Thank you,

      BeenVerified Customer Care


  • Fake promo email

    • By Brian W.,
    • Las Vegas, NV,
    • Nov 28, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I signed up for the $1 trial because I searched for an individual in Google and BeenVerified sent me a clever-looking email saying the report was ready for this person. When I logged into my trial account, that report for this person in the right city did not exist. I immediately emailed them to cancel and not charge me further. To their credit, they responded quickly and said the cancellation is "in process," whatever that means. Apparently a "report" exists for anyone before you pay. Once you pay and search for the information, no report exists. I also searched myself and my girlfriend just to see if it had accurate info. It does not. This app may be useful for some. But it wasn't for me. So it gets two stars, assuming their customer service has integrity and follows through on NOT charging me further.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    • Nov 30, 2019

      Company Response from BeenVerified, Inc

      Hi Brian,

      I'm sorry to hear that you're having trouble locating the information you're looking for.

      BeenVerified is an easy-to-access collection of public record information. Public records are collected through official government records such as mortgage deeds and court records, and through sources such as magazine subscriptions, warranty cards, and utility bills.

      This means that sometimes we may not have all of the information related to an individual in our records. Sometimes we do not have an address available, or may be lacking a birthday for the person you're searching, however, that does not mean that we do not have a record with other information available for that person.

      If you've submitted your search with a specific city, middle name, or age and received no results try removing some of that information and running the search again. You may find that we have a record for that individual, but that it is in a different city than you were looking for them in, or we have a result for them, but it does not have an age attached.

      By adjusting the search parameters to be wider you may be able to find a record that was not showing up at first.

      I hope this helps to clarify and that you are able to find the record you're looking for. In addition, your account is canceled, as you requested.

      If you still have any paid time remaining in your plan, you still have access for the remainder of that time, however, you will not be billed going forward.

      Respectfully,

      BeenVerified Customer Care


  • 75% to 25% it will be wrong, website very slow!

    • By Elsie J.,
    • Hogansville, GA,
    • Feb 19, 2020
    • Verified Reviewer

    Not many arrests show up, even people I know have been in jail several times. Information is old. Not many deaths show up. WEBSITE IS VERY SLOW TODAY! Sometimes I do find out something I didn't know!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    • Feb 20, 2020

      Company Response from BeenVerified, Inc

      Hello Elsle,

      The Criminal Records section of the background report may include criminal records from county courts, department of corrections, Administration of the Courts, and other state legal agencies. Positive or false matches in criminal searches may not provide confirmation of an individual's criminal background. While we put every effort into making our data as accurate as possible, we are dependent upon the criminal data made digitally available to us by the courts.

      We do not have full death records in our reports, or access to death certificates. This information comes in part from the Social Security Death Index, which contains information on millions of deceased individuals whose deaths were reported to the Social Security Administration.

      If we can be of further assistance please contact support@beenverified.com

      Respectfully,

      BeenVerified Customer Care


Showing 1-11 of 66

Write a Review for BeenVerified!

Share your experience to help others discover great products!

Write a Review
BeenVerified