What Is Bell & Howell Light Bar?

By Tyler Cooper
HighYa Staff Published on: Jul 19, 2017

Described as providing 60 times as much light as a flashlight, the Bell & Howell Light Bar is a portable, rechargeable device that uses an array of 60 individual LEDs (light-emitting diodes) to provide illumination whenever and wherever needed.

With up to 720 lumens of brightness, the manufacturer claims that the bar's light can be seen from up to two miles away. Compare that to an entry level flashlight, which, based on our research, might have anywhere from 10 to 300 lumens. The bar itself weighs in at only one pound according to its makers, allowing you to take it on the go, or even mount it on the wall or under a cabinet.

The Light Bar also includes a fold-out stand that works to stabilize the light source for hands-free operation. For emergency use, the device features a built-in sensor that will automatically trigger the lights should it detect a loss of power (loss of light) in the room.

What isn’t stated on the website, however, is whether or not this feature can be turned off, as it is unlikely that you’d want Light Bar to switch on every time you turned off the lights. For clarification, we reached out to customer support, who told us that the on/off switch has a third setting, which is called “auto.”

In this mode, we’re told the sensor will be operational, but when set to “off,” the device will not trigger should it detect a lack of available light. It’s important to keep this mind if you plan to use the Light Bar as an emergency preparedness tool.

Using The Bell & Howell Light Bar

The manufacturer states that the product is ideal for a variety of situations, such as using it to light up a shed, a backyard BBQ, or a room in your house during a power outage. They also suggest that the Light Bar would be an ideal companion for camping, hunting, fishing, or just general maintenance work around the house.

To use the Light Bar, you need to charge the device fully by utilizing the included USB-to-wall-outlet charging cable. The manufacturer claims that a one hour charge will deliver up to 24 hours of unplugged use, so once you’ve charged the device fully, you only need to turn it on using the power button on the side of the bar.

There are two modes you can choose from; bright and insane. Insane mode will give you the full 720-lumen power, according to the product’s makers, allowing for greater visibility. Customer service was not able to provide details on the lumen output for the bright mode.

Seeing as the Light Bar utilizes LEDs in its design, let’s now take a closer look at this technology and how it might relate to you when considering making a purchase.

The Benefits of LED’s vs. Conventional Lighting

Since the early 2000’s, LED lighting has been transforming the way we light our homes, roads, businesses, and everything in between, by providing affordable, energy efficient illumination to the masses. But how exactly are LED’s superior, and how does this superiority relate to the Light Bar?

Put simply, LED’s work by passing an electrical signal through semiconductor material, which in turn illuminates tiny diodes built into the light source.

According to Energy.gov, LED lights in general use less energy than conventional incandescent lighting sources. This efficiency has led to the miniaturization of the technology over the years, allowing for increasingly portable, versatile lighting solutions (such as the Light Bar).

Just as the manufacturer suggests, LED bulbs also give off much less heat than traditional bulbs, which can contribute to their ease of use and portability by allowing you to operate them without fear of burns or restricted movement due to high temperatures. Finally, LED’s tend to last much longer than other lighting sources. In fact, the creators of the Light Bar claim that the bulbs used in the product will last for up to 10,000 hours.

So, now that we’ve learned a bit more about the technology that underpins the Light Bar, how much does the device cost?

Bell & Howell Light Bar Pricing & Return Policy

The Bell & Howell Light Bar is currently available both directly through the manufacturer and on Amazon.com. If purchased through the former, the product will run you $19.95 and includes free shipping. You can also opt to receive a second Light Bar by paying a $10 fee at checkout.

Through Amazon, the product costs $24.95, and there is no double offer option.

As for returns, we reached out to customer service, who told us that you have a 90-day money back guarantee on all orders processed through the website. If the product is defective, they will pay return shipping, but if you simply decide it’s not for you, you will be required to pay the fees.

To initiate a return directly, you can reach out to customer support at 1-888-313-0858.

Through Amazon, you can take advantage of the marketplace’s well-known 30-day return policy by contacting customer support through the dashboard on the company’s main website.

Customer Feedback on the Bell & Howell Light Bar

Looking at the product on Amazon.com, as of the time of our research, we found 14 customer reviews, nine of them being five stars. Customers frequently mentioned that they enjoyed the portability and flexibility that it offered, and many stated that it was bright enough for their needs.

The feedback was not 100 percent positive, however. A few reviewers noted that the Light Bar did not provide a full day’s worth of light, as advertised. One verified user reported usage times of four to six hours, depending upon whether you were using the bright or insane mode. Another reviewer stated that the light was not as bright as they had imagined, but again, these comments were in the minority, overall.

Bell & Howell Light Bar vs. Other Portable Lighting Options

We wanted to see what options consumers had when considering purchasing a product like this, so we searched various online outlets for terms like “portable LED light bar” and “portable LED lighting system.”

Many of the products we found during our research were optimized for specific roles, such as stick-on lights for under cabinet or bathroom use, or motion-sensing magnetic strips for late-night kitchen runs.

We also found a number of portable, bar-style lights similar to Bell & Howell’s product, but we didn’t come across anything that matched its specs exactly. Most of the portable LED bars we found had at least double the amount of lights, and provided lumen counts ranging from 850 to 1200.

These products also tended to cost more for this additional power, with average prices ranging between $60 and $120+. If you’re looking for something with this much power, paying a bit more might be the route to go in order to ensure you’re covered.

If you don’t have a need for that level of illumination, however, you could potentially save money by going with the Light Bar (and its 720 lumen output) instead.

Final Thoughts on the Bell & Howell Light Bar

So, looking at everything we’ve learned, can you still expect the Bell & Howell Light Bar to live up to the expectations set by the manufacturer? Consider the following.

For one thing, the device features 720 lumens of brightness, which should, in theory, provide enough lighting to carry out the tasks shown in the product’s explainer video. Several customer reviews also back this claim up, showing that real, live people have used the product and are happy with the results it provided them.

It’s important to keep in mind that the 720 lumen spec only relates to the product’s “insane mode,” which will draw more power and meaningfully reduce your total run time. And as mentioned earlier, customer service did not have any insight into how many lumens you could expect from “bright mode.”

Another potential factor to keep in mind if you are looking to mount the product somewhere using nails or velcro is the availability of electrical outlets in the immediate area. Seeing as the Light Bar is battery powered, having to make sure it’s always charged in an area with no outlets seems like a potential hassle, especially if you’re wanting to mount it somewhere that is normally difficult to reach.

As for the claim that the device will deliver 60 times as much light as a flashlight, this highly depends upon the model being used as a benchmark. For example, at peak brightness, the Light Bar would deliver 60 times more light than a 12 lumen flashlight. But a quick Google search will show you that standard flashlights can range a great deal, both below and well above this number, in terms of lumen count.

While we didn’t test it ourselves, the Bell & Howell Light Bar ultimately seems like it might provide what it claims, based on our research. There were a few outlying customer complaints, to be sure, but the 90-day money back guarantee could help ensure that you are happy with your purchase if you decide to give the product a shot.

Sign Up for HighYa Newsletter

Sign up for HighYa newsletter and get our best content delivered in your inbox as well as 3 free eBooks to help you save money and shop smarter. Enter your email below to get started!

11 Consumer Reviews for Bell & Howell Light Bar

Average Consumer Rating: 1.6
Rating Snapshot:
5 star: 0 4 star: 1 3 star: 2 2 star: 0 1 star:  8
Bottom Line: 18% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 1-11 of 11
Sort reviews by:

  • This light is crap

    • Maine,
    • Sep 20, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I bought two. Both ceased to work in less than six months. It is complete garbage. Too big to be used as a paper weight. Not round enough to be a sex toy. Do not waste your money. Buy candles instead. They don't need charging.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 2 out 2 people found this review helpful

    Bell &Howell Light Bar has a short lite span!

    • Henderson, NV,
    • Jul 26, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I purchased two of these light bars and have been using them for about a year now. Once fully charged, I only get about four hours of light from either one. I never get the super brightness that was advertised, just the same brightness with either switch position.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 1 out 1 people found this review helpful

    Nice light output but it blew up after four months

    • Tennessee,
    • Jul 21, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I purchased two of these (one of them still works), but this one wouldn't charge since it came from "wally world" on the As Seen On TV. I bought two. Well, I took the back off and the board had smoked, it was black. Keeping the lightbar of LEDs itself maybe I can make a new board for it. For only having it four months I give it a 3.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 5 out 5 people found this review helpful

    Fail to work

    We purchased this as emergency lighting. I mounted it and plugged it in to charge and left it plugged in, then tested it the next day to make sure it worked, and it did. A few months later our power went out several times and each time the light failed to come on once it should have sensed the power was out. I tried different positions of the switch and it does not respond. I removed it to a different outlet plug and tried to charge it, which it should have remained fully charged as it was always kept plugged in; now I got it to light up and noticed a row of LED's are out (not lit) and the light will not turn off now that I have it plugged in to a different working (tested) outlet.

    Don't waste your money, buy an LED flashlight instead. FYI, it is not very bright as advertised. I should have spent the money on lottery tickets. If there was a rating option of zero stars that would be how I'd rate this junk!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 4 out 4 people found this review helpful

    Worth the money. A decent LED light source.

    • Fort Lauderdale, FL,
    • Apr 12, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I have a fairly high level of experience with LED lights being a member of a number of LED lighting forums and owning numerous top-tier LED lighting devices.

    This LED light is not a great deal, but is a good deal compared to the light output, duration, and quality you get for comparable money for other LED lighting systems.

    In my tests, fully charged, the output could remain at high intensity (as bright as the light could get on LOW setting) for about 2 - 2.5 hours at which time the light slowly begins to dim.

    So this light is good for a solid 2 hours of approximately 500 lumens. At 6 hours, the lightbar was still producing light, but only at about 100 lumens. At 7 hours the light was down to about 70 lumens. I'm not sure the light would make it 12 hours, but if you consider that in a power outage, even 70 lumens is very helpful compared to total darkness, then you can see that the light would be very good in an emergency such as a power outage because any light is better than no light at all and 7 hours of light is a good long time. Mine was still putting out enough light to be very helpful in a power outage at 7 hours. I stopped my test at 7 hours. I think it would have gone on for at least another hour or two with enough light to be useful in a power outage at night even though the light output was minimal at maybe 70 lumens (enough to dimly light a 15 x 18 room so that you can see and avoid total darkness).

    It's very convenient to recharge this light, and you just plug it into an AC wall outlet. It would have been great if the charging indicator light, which is RED, would either change to green or at least go off when the unit is fully charged, but it doesn't. It stays red as long as it's plugged in.

    If the design was such that you could turn off half the LEDs, that would have gone a long way into making the light last for a lot longer, but there is no way to do that as delivered. Just high and low. By the way, fully charged HI setting is about 500-600 lumens and LOW is about 400-500 lumens. There is not much difference in the Hi and Low settings.

    I bought two which brought the price down to $14.00 each. That made them a VERY good deal for the light output and duration. I don't know the quality of the batteries, so the true value of this lightbar will depend on how long the batteries and LEDs actually last. Only time will tell that.

    As far as customer service, I can say that one of my lightbars arrived broken and the company was surprisingly accommodating and quickly sent out a replacement. Customer service was as good as I could expect...or better.

    I would recommend this light. For the money, even if you buy just one at $19.95 delivered, it is a reasonably good deal and will give you very good light for about 2 hours and reasonably good light for at least another 5-7 hours for a total of at least approximately 9 hours if for example your power goes out.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 10 out 11 people found this review helpful

    Light really does not work.

    • Sodus Point, NY,
    • Feb 12, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I bought this light at Kinney Drug store. When I got home, the first thing I did was charge it for 24 hours. After charging, the light lit for about two hours, which I was happy with since this is all the time I needed to complete my work. The next day I turned it on, and the light lasted about 15 minutes. So I charged it again. Now the light will only last about 20 minutes, after a charge of 8 hours.

    This light was really something I was looking for, and now I am so disappointed. I would not recommend this Bell & Howell Light Bar to anyone. It is not that expensive, maybe that is why it does not work. So save your money and don't buy.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 18 out 18 people found this review helpful

    Do not buy Bell & Howell!

    • Trenton, NJ,
    • Jan 18, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I told the family that I wanted a Bell & Howell Light Bar for Christmas. Lo and behold, I got four! Hence, I don't have receipts as family members didn't keep them.

    Light Bar #1: I charged it up 25 hours, used it in my shed and it lasted 12 hours before going completely dead. I went to charge it a second time, and still plugged in, to this day, it will NOT charge!

    Light Bar #2: I plugged it in to charge, and at 3 am the Light Bar comes on and will not shut off. I let it run until it died, set it to charge, and it will not charge to this date.

    Light Bar #3: I plugged it in to charge, and the unit popped and has not charged to date.

    Light Bar #4: My family member tried to stop the online order the day after Christmas when they saw that I had three other Light Bars, going through all kinds of problems and doubletalk to cancel the order. This was ordered around Halloween and had not arrived by Christmas Day. Well, they shipped it anyway and charged them after she requested to cancel the order. This one arrived January 17th, and I don't even want to open the box!

    I have bought a better light much cheaper at Harbor Freight; not name brand, but it still works! My family members spent about $100 and all I have is about five pounds of junk. How many batteries and pieces of plastic are in the landfill behind Bell & Howell's useless piece of crap. The EPA and the Better Business Bureau should investigate this company with a 100% FAILURE RATE!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 17 out 17 people found this review helpful

    False advertising

    This item is marketed on a number of different cable stations with various delivery commitments. When I ordered, the delivery commitment was 2 to 3 weeks.

    I am under the impression that the third party company that markets this item intentionally and willingly falsely promises delivery with no intention or ability to ship the item in order to meet delivery commitment time.

    After not receiving after 2-3 weeks as promised, I’ve called the marketer's call center repeatedly. The so-called customer service reps have repeatedly lied about when they were going to ship. It has now been over six weeks, and when I called today, I was told for the umpteenth time that the item is on backorder (their favorite word) and that they don't know when it will ship.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 4 out 7 people found this review helpful

    Works for me

    • Port Hope, Ontario, Canada,
    • Nov 4, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    I use it in my remote garage which has no power, but I have a small generator.

    The said generator is used when I use my welder or table saw. Any time the generator is running it also charges all of my battery tools including the light, most often this keeps everything charged.

    As I work mostly in the daytime, this works very well. I took advantage of the double offer as for security reasons I have no windows, and so even in daylight, I need a little extra light toward the back.

    Part of my success was to divide the hype by two so that I got about what I was expecting. I would recommend this to a friend, but only with an explanation of my usage.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 18 out 18 people found this review helpful

    Disappointment

    Not nearly as bright as shown on TV, even when charged for two days. The light that is there doesn't last through dinner. Sad.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 29 out 36 people found this review helpful

    Charged without clicking the confirmation button

    • Henderson, TX,
    • Aug 29, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    Hi there. The other day I was about to order the light, but at the last moment I decided not to go through with the order, but I had everything filled out and only had to click the confirmation button. So I just closed the webpage. Today I received an email stating they charged my bank and were sending it out to me.

    What kind of crap is this? I didn't ok the payment, so why did they go ahead and take it? Is this legal to do? I don't think it would be legal.

    Then I have this page that makes me check a box that says I ordered the light and I actually didn't, so I can make people aware of this. Well, I checked it only because I wanted to put the review up and to state that in no way was this order completed or ok'd to be processed.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


Showing 1-11 of 11

Write a Review for Bell & Howell Light Bar!

Share your experience to help others shop smarter & discover great products.

Write a Review