• 33 Customer Reviews
  • 15% Recommend This Product
1.5 out of 5
5 star: 3% 4 star: 6% 3 star: 9% 2 star: 3% 1 star: 78%

 Our Promise to You

To safeguard you and ensure helpfulness and relevance, our compliance team manually assess every customer review before it goes live.

We have a zero-tolerance policy for fake reviews, and companies cannot control or alter any reviews at any time.

Sort reviews by:

  • A word about the reviews, some other information, and my experience

    • By Matthew C.,
    • Virginia,
    • Sep 25, 2020
    • Verified Reviewer
    • Length of Use: 3–6 months
    Overall Experience:

    Let me start by saying this is my own unbiased review.

    I am not affiliated with this company and product in any way, nor have I been paid to write this. This is more of a review about the reviews. I will also leave my experiences along with some realistic standards along with some things the instructions never explain.

    FIRST A REVIEW OF THE REVIEWS.

    I've been reading a lot of the reviews about the issues people have been having, and while some issues are what I call legitimate due to either a defective product or damage from shipping, a lot of them seem as though people aren't reading the instructions correctly, or at all. People have actually listed things they did, which the instructions specifically say NOT to do, such as leaving it plugged in constantly.

    Here is a list of things that are not explained in the instructions that should have been. I found this information by digging around and calling the company.

    1. This light bar is not meant to remain plugged in. The plug is there specifically to charge the battery. Once it's charged, unplug it. It's never a good idea to leave things of this nature plugged in, it's not a lamp.

    2. Usually when something is fully charged, the light goes out indicating that charging is complete. However, the red light on the light bar isn't a charge light, it's a power light, and does not go ever go out while it's plugged in. It's always going to be red to let you know there is power going to it.

    3. The light will only last for 10-12 hours on low, putting the light on high will only give you around 5 hours of light.

    4. This is a disposable light. While the claim is 100,000 hours of light, realistically it's more like 50,000-80,000. As with anything disposable, after a certain length of charging/use, it becomes worn down, becoming dimmer, and not lasting as long. The longer, and more you use it, the faster it will wear down.

    5. You absolutely can overcharge this light, doing so will result in something called diminishing returns. Overcharging will cause poor performance and not last as long during current use (I could be wrong on this but I am almost certain diminishing returns does not affect the long term use wear-down).

    6. Not using it, temperature, and other factors, can drain the battery charge. Even though it's a rechargeable battery in this light bar, it's still just a battery, which means anything that affects batteries (i.e. weather, direct heat, cold, water, etc.) also applies to the battery in the light bar.

    7. One charge can last up to 10-12 hours (remember that length is on low). So what is one charge? Regardless of what anyone tells you or shows in a YouTube review, this light bar cannot be fully charged with just an hour. A full charge for this light is around 10 hours. It breaks down for every 1 hour of use, you need 1 hour of charge time which doesn't exceed 12 hours and that's pushing it (again remember that 10-12 hours is on low). After it's been charging for 10-12 hours, keeping it plugged in is pointless and most likely result in piss poor performance and also run down the life span of the bar faster,

    The instructions say to regularly charge it for about 8 hours every 3 months. This will keep the internal battery working properly and near peak proficiency.

    MY EXPERIENCE:

    I am an urban explorer, and these light bars have been really good for what I need them for. I always have 4 of them. They are extremely lightweight, and the stand in the back is great for what I do with them.

    During my last exploration I had one hit the ground and broke. I was not really surprised when it broke due to it basically being made of plastic. It was also my fault for not securing it like I normally do.

    I never knew what the auto setting was supposed to do until I read it here.

    I still have no clue how the SOS on it is supposed to work. I'm not even sure what is supposed to happen when SOS is switched on. Turning the switch to SOS is the same as having the switch on the light to off.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend


  • Junk

    • By Matt R.,
    • Fredericktown, PA,
    • Sep 4, 2020
    • Verified Reviewer
    • Length of Use: Less than 3 months
    Overall Experience:

    Used it twice now, it won't hold a charge. Junk junk junk. I have nothing else to say besides they are cheap junk and don't buy them.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Don't buy! Fire hazard! Danger!

    • By Richard L.,
    • Holyoke, MA,
    • Jul 3, 2020
    • Verified Reviewer
    • Length of Use: 3–6 months
    Overall Experience:

    Had it for approximately 6 months. Plugged it in to use in SOS mode as an "Emergency Light". Little did I realize that I was installing the biggest emergency this light would live to see...the fire it started!

    COMPLETE CRAP INSIDE! This product was a cheap disappointment all the way around, and now it's scorched and dead.

    THIS DEVICE IS JUST A FIRE HAZZARD. AVOID.

    Pros and Cons:

    • Reputable (I thought) name
    • Power failure functionality
    • Their product almost burned my house down

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Light bar malfunction

    • By Michael M.,
    • Uniondale, NY,
    • Jun 20, 2020
    • Verified Reviewer
    • Length of Use: 1–2 years
    Overall Experience:

    Malfunction, no light, no recharge.

    Can't recharge, recharge light is blank, no light at all, started blinking before crashing.

    Pros and Cons:

    • Reputation
    • No “cons” were specified in this review

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend


  • Typical cheap China-made trash

    • By Jon D.,
    • Kelowna, Canada,
    • May 22, 2020
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    I got the 2 light bars for $19.99 and used them both for about 4 months with no real issues. I charged for 18-24 hours and could get a solid 4 hours of the so-called insane light. Then one day they just didn't stay bright. Charged for 200 hours and the red light doesn't go off and still dim after 30 mins. I ended up smashing one of them in 100 pieces due to frustration and when the second one died I took it apart and was amazed how thin the wiring was. The batteries are weird too. Only 4.25v each as per what my multimeter says. So I decided to take all the wiring out and replace with some decent sized wiring. Also switched the capacitors as well. The thing works alright now but I may just put my own rechargeable batteries inside it pretty soon. As far as I'm concerned, for my needs...it was worth $19.99, but the product is very cheaply made and I wouldn't buy again ever.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • The bars are awesome!

    • By Earl W.,
    • Virginia,
    • Jan 13, 2020
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    I received my order of light bars this summer and sold them to people for a profit. None of them complained about all the shortfalls I read about in the review. Still have two out of the eight they sent me and they work ok. I never had to try to charge them in a power failure so I can't say they are perfect but for the simple illumination I use them for, they are perfect!

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend


  • Many great features, BUT...

    • By Charles I.,
    • Pittsburgh, PA,
    • Aug 5, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    Lighting is great, portability is great, it is lightweight and pretty sturdy. But I found the ultra-thin wires inside burn off if it is plugged in all the time. Mounted one at the top of an enclosed stairwell going upstairs, one at the bottom of stairs going to the cellar. Noticed once when the power went off they did not come on. (Yes I had it in auto mode and had tested them by unplugging them when I mounted them.) Opened them up to find a thin (really thin) yellow wire in each had burnt off at a connection. They were very very difficult to solder back on. One I could not and the other would no longer work in auto mode.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Horrible and dangerous product

    • By Arthur R.,
    • Maryland,
    • May 30, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    Bell & Howell should be ashamed to have their name on this badly designed cheaply built fire hazard! The capacitor on the charging circuit blew. The wiring in series with the 2 batteries actually melted (desoldered) and the light coming on while charging and the smell (thank God I was home) alerted me to unplug and take apart to see what happened! SHAMEFUL Bell & Howell! Get your name off this trash!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Bell & Howell Light Bar

    • By Diana G.,
    • Spokane, WA,
    • May 6, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    As soon as I took it out of the package and hung it, it already needed to be charged. I charged it, hung it, didn't use it for a while. Turned it on, needs charging again. Would never recommend to anyone. I can't afford to waste money on junk. The only thing good about it is that it was as bright as stated. A lot of good that does if it doesn't even stay charged. Sorry Bell & Howell, thumbs down to you. Maybe you should spend more on your product and less on your advertising.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Very badly built product

    • By James K.,
    • Dallas, TX,
    • Mar 21, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    In 6 months or less, after being connected to power, it failed to illuminate when the power went out. Yes, it was set to auto. Upon inspection internally, the connections to the batteries were badly corroded/broken. These are UNSAFE! Maybe we shouldn't import these anymore.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • A dud...

    • By Kenneth R.,
    • Valley Springs, CA,
    • Mar 14, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    I purchased this light at Costco last week. The red charging light never goes off after 24 hours of being plugged in. When the light turns on it is great for about 30 minutes and then goes dim. Whether it is plugged in or not plugged in does not make any difference. I tried to find the link to tell me how to replace the batteries as it is over 1 and 1/2 hours to get back to Costco. Cannot find anything, the light is essentially just trash.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Won’t work after a year

    • By Richard S.,
    • Franklin, MA,
    • Feb 28, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    I got a dud when I first ordered the light bar, and within days Bell & Howell sent a replacement set. Great service and great response. Several times during blackouts, the SOS worked as advertised. Now, one year on, the light bar lit for no reason and refuses to go out. Once dead, the unit won’t recharge. All units have now done the same thing.

    I just hung up from Bell & Howell customer service and they said that the units are out of warranty so they can/will do nothing.

    So, the product may last you one year, but after that, in the trash. I will never buy anything from Bell & Howell again. A real waste.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Not nearly as good as advertised!

    • By Alex P.,
    • Miami, FL,
    • Feb 7, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    Same complaints as everyone above - red charging light never goes off! Same brightness on either setting. Light only lasts an hour or two at best. Doesn't hold a charge long enough. Completely misleading!

    Looks great, but it doesn't deliver on performance. Not even close!

    I'm very disappointed in this product.

    By the way, I never completed the purchase and they sent it two me anyways! I had put in my info, then reconsidered without completely processing the order, and they still charged me and sent it! BEWARE...

    They're asking for my order number, but I lost my receipt.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • If it quacks like a duck

    • By Jeff L.,
    • Maryland,
    • Jan 19, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    I viewed an actual lightbar in a store and the brighter level was not labeled "Insane." I turned it on and got a 40-watt bulb power, the brighter level was closer to 60 watts. For my use, I just needed to buy a few more for the inside of a trailer. The website gave a number to order by voice. It took a while of asking for customer service but I finally got a human. She offered me the Family Pack of three bars for $29.95 plus $6.50 shipping but only after purchasing the original TV offer package. Still a good deal, until she asked me if I would like the "SPECIAL UPGRADE?" 25% more light power for only $10.00 more a light bar? I heard ducks quacking loudly. I asked for the second product spects. She read me the orginal light bar specs.

    I canceled the order and asked for B&H's Customer Service, the rep gave me a stone wall. I emailed Bell & Howel home office and asked for upgraded specs. NO ANSWER. Buyers please beware - and don't get "ducked."

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Bell & Howell are thieves.

    • By Dave S.,
    • Los Angeles, CA,
    • Jan 16, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    Bell & Howell are con men. Their disks light practically do not work and all. The advertising is fraudulent. They are thieves...do not buy anything from this company. They should refund my money and take their junk back. I swear everything above is the truth.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Defective product for sure!

    • By David T.,
    • New York,
    • Dec 28, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    44 hours and the red charging light is still on. From the reviews I have read, this is a fire hazard. I tried to call the company and can't get through. For safety, I should throw it in the trash!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Not worth the money

    • By Jay S.,
    • Wisconsin,
    • Dec 28, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    I bought two through the Bell & Howell website. I planned to use them to replace two emergency lights I had with failing batteries. Mounted them and set both in SOS mode, which turns on the light if they lose power, and tested them occasionally. Other than that, one was also used for about 5 minutes as a mobile light. One lasted two months, and the other stopped working just shy of three months. There's no mention of any type of warranty supplied with the products and emails I sent asking about a warranty or replacement went unanswered. Corrosion from the batteries inside, it ate through the tiny wires, which fell off. Note; a 60 watt LED replacement bulb puts out more lumens (800) than the lightbar (720). I wouldn't buy again or suggest anyone else waste money on one or any other Bell & Howell labeled product.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Sparks and smoke

    • By Giovaina G.,
    • Manahawkin, NJ,
    • Dec 10, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    We followed the directions. The light went on very bright, we shut the light on the off button and there were sparks, noise, and smoke - it was light a firecracker going off.

    This is very dangerous and should not be on the market.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Am on the fence

    • By Little S.,
    • British Columbia,
    • Nov 28, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    We bought 8 of these to light our barn for a few hours each night. We charged them all properly and had them mounted overhead. The lights at full brightness only last 2 hours and became so dim there was little point. We charged them again and this time none would produce the full brightness of that first time. They have gotten progressively dimmer with every charge. Incredibly disappointed as these are $29.99 at Canadian Tire each and we have never really got full use out of a single one.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • They are a ripoff and junk

    • By John M.,
    • New York,
    • Nov 12, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    I bought six of these, and they worked fine for about a month. They advertise them that when they are plugged in, and the power goes out they will come on is emergency lighting. So that's how we kept them plugged in, period. After a month all the batteries in all six have gone bad. Now even plugged in they barely light up. Complete junk, a total rip-off. Buyer beware.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Mine both failed within a few months.

    • By Larry S.,
    • Kenosha, WI,
    • Nov 10, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    I bought two Light Bars. One worked for two months before faling, and the other failed about a month later. Tech support from Nell & Howell failed to respond to a replacement request. I definitely would never buy one again or recommend it to anyone else.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Bad deal

    • By Freddy C.,
    • Louisiana,
    • Oct 8, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    I bought two Light Bars and charged them like they said. I had to use them today and only one works. It's hard to contact someone to try and get help. I will never buy from them. I had to send the first order back because they sent an order I didn't approve and had to wait for them to put my money back. They try to make you buy what they want.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • This light is crap

    • By Alan R.,
    • Maine,
    • Sep 20, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    I bought two. Both ceased to work in less than six months. It is complete garbage. Too big to be used as a paper weight. Not round enough to be a sex toy. Do not waste your money. Buy candles instead. They don't need charging.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Bell &Howell Light Bar has a short lite span!

    • By Calvin H.,
    • Henderson, NV,
    • Jul 26, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    I purchased two of these light bars and have been using them for about a year now. Once fully charged, I only get about four hours of light from either one. I never get the super brightness that was advertised, just the same brightness with either switch position.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Nice light output but it blew up after four months

    • By Richard M.,
    • Tennessee,
    • Jul 21, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    I purchased two of these (one of them still works), but this one wouldn't charge since it came from "wally world" on the As Seen On TV. I bought two. Well, I took the back off and the board had smoked, it was black. Keeping the lightbar of LEDs itself maybe I can make a new board for it. For only having it four months I give it a 3.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Fail to work

    Overall Experience:

    We purchased this as emergency lighting. I mounted it and plugged it in to charge and left it plugged in, then tested it the next day to make sure it worked, and it did. A few months later our power went out several times and each time the light failed to come on once it should have sensed the power was out. I tried different positions of the switch and it does not respond. I removed it to a different outlet plug and tried to charge it, which it should have remained fully charged as it was always kept plugged in; now I got it to light up and noticed a row of LED's are out (not lit) and the light will not turn off now that I have it plugged in to a different working (tested) outlet.

    Don't waste your money, buy an LED flashlight instead. FYI, it is not very bright as advertised. I should have spent the money on lottery tickets. If there was a rating option of zero stars that would be how I'd rate this junk!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Worth the money. A decent LED light source.

    • By Randy Hamilton,
    • Fort Lauderdale, FL,
    • Apr 12, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    I have a fairly high level of experience with LED lights being a member of a number of LED lighting forums and owning numerous top-tier LED lighting devices.

    This LED light is not a great deal, but is a good deal compared to the light output, duration, and quality you get for comparable money for other LED lighting systems.

    In my tests, fully charged, the output could remain at high intensity (as bright as the light could get on LOW setting) for about 2 - 2.5 hours at which time the light slowly begins to dim.

    So this light is good for a solid 2 hours of approximately 500 lumens. At 6 hours, the lightbar was still producing light, but only at about 100 lumens. At 7 hours the light was down to about 70 lumens. I'm not sure the light would make it 12 hours, but if you consider that in a power outage, even 70 lumens is very helpful compared to total darkness, then you can see that the light would be very good in an emergency such as a power outage because any light is better than no light at all and 7 hours of light is a good long time. Mine was still putting out enough light to be very helpful in a power outage at 7 hours. I stopped my test at 7 hours. I think it would have gone on for at least another hour or two with enough light to be useful in a power outage at night even though the light output was minimal at maybe 70 lumens (enough to dimly light a 15 x 18 room so that you can see and avoid total darkness).

    It's very convenient to recharge this light, and you just plug it into an AC wall outlet. It would have been great if the charging indicator light, which is RED, would either change to green or at least go off when the unit is fully charged, but it doesn't. It stays red as long as it's plugged in.

    If the design was such that you could turn off half the LEDs, that would have gone a long way into making the light last for a lot longer, but there is no way to do that as delivered. Just high and low. By the way, fully charged HI setting is about 500-600 lumens and LOW is about 400-500 lumens. There is not much difference in the Hi and Low settings.

    I bought two which brought the price down to $14.00 each. That made them a VERY good deal for the light output and duration. I don't know the quality of the batteries, so the true value of this lightbar will depend on how long the batteries and LEDs actually last. Only time will tell that.

    As far as customer service, I can say that one of my lightbars arrived broken and the company was surprisingly accommodating and quickly sent out a replacement. Customer service was as good as I could expect...or better.

    I would recommend this light. For the money, even if you buy just one at $19.95 delivered, it is a reasonably good deal and will give you very good light for about 2 hours and reasonably good light for at least another 5-7 hours for a total of at least approximately 9 hours if for example your power goes out.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend


Showing 1-27 of 33

Write a Review for Bell & Howell Light Bar!

Share your experience to help others discover great products!

Write a Review
Bell & Howell Light Bar