Read 27 Bell & Howell Light Bar Customer Reviews and Complaints (Page 2)

Write a Review
Average Consumer Rating: 1.3
Rating Snapshot:
5 star: 0 4 star: 1 3 star: 2 2 star: 1 1 star:  23
Bottom Line: 7% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 12-22 of 27
Sort reviews by:

  • 8 out 9 people found this review helpful

    Sparks and smoke

    • Manahawkin, NJ,
    • Dec 10, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    We followed the directions. The light went on very bright, we shut the light on the off button and there were sparks, noise, and smoke - it was light a firecracker going off.

    This is very dangerous and should not be on the market.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 7 out 7 people found this review helpful

    Am on the fence

    • British Columbia,
    • Nov 28, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    We bought 8 of these to light our barn for a few hours each night. We charged them all properly and had them mounted overhead. The lights at full brightness only last 2 hours and became so dim there was little point. We charged them again and this time none would produce the full brightness of that first time. They have gotten progressively dimmer with every charge. Incredibly disappointed as these are $29.99 at Canadian Tire each and we have never really got full use out of a single one.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 10 out 10 people found this review helpful

    They are a ripoff and junk

    • New York,
    • Nov 12, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I bought six of these, and they worked fine for about a month. They advertise them that when they are plugged in, and the power goes out they will come on is emergency lighting. So that's how we kept them plugged in, period. After a month all the batteries in all six have gone bad. Now even plugged in they barely light up. Complete junk, a total rip-off. Buyer beware.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 5 out 5 people found this review helpful

    Mine both failed within a few months.

    • Kenosha, WI,
    • Nov 10, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I bought two Light Bars. One worked for two months before faling, and the other failed about a month later. Tech support from Nell & Howell failed to respond to a replacement request. I definitely would never buy one again or recommend it to anyone else.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 6 out 7 people found this review helpful

    Bad deal

    • Louisiana,
    • Oct 8, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I bought two Light Bars and charged them like they said. I had to use them today and only one works. It's hard to contact someone to try and get help. I will never buy from them. I had to send the first order back because they sent an order I didn't approve and had to wait for them to put my money back. They try to make you buy what they want.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 6 out 6 people found this review helpful

    This light is crap

    • Maine,
    • Sep 20, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I bought two. Both ceased to work in less than six months. It is complete garbage. Too big to be used as a paper weight. Not round enough to be a sex toy. Do not waste your money. Buy candles instead. They don't need charging.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 7 out 7 people found this review helpful

    Bell &Howell Light Bar has a short lite span!

    • Henderson, NV,
    • Jul 26, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I purchased two of these light bars and have been using them for about a year now. Once fully charged, I only get about four hours of light from either one. I never get the super brightness that was advertised, just the same brightness with either switch position.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 3 out 4 people found this review helpful

    Nice light output but it blew up after four months

    • Tennessee,
    • Jul 21, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I purchased two of these (one of them still works), but this one wouldn't charge since it came from "wally world" on the As Seen On TV. I bought two. Well, I took the back off and the board had smoked, it was black. Keeping the lightbar of LEDs itself maybe I can make a new board for it. For only having it four months I give it a 3.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 8 out 9 people found this review helpful

    Fail to work

    We purchased this as emergency lighting. I mounted it and plugged it in to charge and left it plugged in, then tested it the next day to make sure it worked, and it did. A few months later our power went out several times and each time the light failed to come on once it should have sensed the power was out. I tried different positions of the switch and it does not respond. I removed it to a different outlet plug and tried to charge it, which it should have remained fully charged as it was always kept plugged in; now I got it to light up and noticed a row of LED's are out (not lit) and the light will not turn off now that I have it plugged in to a different working (tested) outlet.

    Don't waste your money, buy an LED flashlight instead. FYI, it is not very bright as advertised. I should have spent the money on lottery tickets. If there was a rating option of zero stars that would be how I'd rate this junk!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 6 out 9 people found this review helpful

    Worth the money. A decent LED light source.

    • Fort Lauderdale, FL,
    • Apr 12, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I have a fairly high level of experience with LED lights being a member of a number of LED lighting forums and owning numerous top-tier LED lighting devices.

    This LED light is not a great deal, but is a good deal compared to the light output, duration, and quality you get for comparable money for other LED lighting systems.

    In my tests, fully charged, the output could remain at high intensity (as bright as the light could get on LOW setting) for about 2 - 2.5 hours at which time the light slowly begins to dim.

    So this light is good for a solid 2 hours of approximately 500 lumens. At 6 hours, the lightbar was still producing light, but only at about 100 lumens. At 7 hours the light was down to about 70 lumens. I'm not sure the light would make it 12 hours, but if you consider that in a power outage, even 70 lumens is very helpful compared to total darkness, then you can see that the light would be very good in an emergency such as a power outage because any light is better than no light at all and 7 hours of light is a good long time. Mine was still putting out enough light to be very helpful in a power outage at 7 hours. I stopped my test at 7 hours. I think it would have gone on for at least another hour or two with enough light to be useful in a power outage at night even though the light output was minimal at maybe 70 lumens (enough to dimly light a 15 x 18 room so that you can see and avoid total darkness).

    It's very convenient to recharge this light, and you just plug it into an AC wall outlet. It would have been great if the charging indicator light, which is RED, would either change to green or at least go off when the unit is fully charged, but it doesn't. It stays red as long as it's plugged in.

    If the design was such that you could turn off half the LEDs, that would have gone a long way into making the light last for a lot longer, but there is no way to do that as delivered. Just high and low. By the way, fully charged HI setting is about 500-600 lumens and LOW is about 400-500 lumens. There is not much difference in the Hi and Low settings.

    I bought two which brought the price down to $14.00 each. That made them a VERY good deal for the light output and duration. I don't know the quality of the batteries, so the true value of this lightbar will depend on how long the batteries and LEDs actually last. Only time will tell that.

    As far as customer service, I can say that one of my lightbars arrived broken and the company was surprisingly accommodating and quickly sent out a replacement. Customer service was as good as I could expect...or better.

    I would recommend this light. For the money, even if you buy just one at $19.95 delivered, it is a reasonably good deal and will give you very good light for about 2 hours and reasonably good light for at least another 5-7 hours for a total of at least approximately 9 hours if for example your power goes out.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 14 out 15 people found this review helpful

    Light really does not work.

    • Sodus Point, NY,
    • Feb 12, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I bought this light at Kinney Drug store. When I got home, the first thing I did was charge it for 24 hours. After charging, the light lit for about two hours, which I was happy with since this is all the time I needed to complete my work. The next day I turned it on, and the light lasted about 15 minutes. So I charged it again. Now the light will only last about 20 minutes, after a charge of 8 hours.

    This light was really something I was looking for, and now I am so disappointed. I would not recommend this Bell & Howell Light Bar to anyone. It is not that expensive, maybe that is why it does not work. So save your money and don't buy.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

Showing 12-22 of 27

Write a Review for Bell & Howell Light Bar!

Share your experience to help others shop smarter & discover great products.

Write a Review