• 43 Customer Reviews
  • 21% Recommend This Product
2.0 out of 5
5 star: 9% 4 star: 9% 3 star: 9% 2 star: 16% 1 star: 55%

 Our Promise to You

To safeguard you and ensure helpfulness and relevance, our compliance team manually assess every customer review before it goes live.

We have a zero-tolerance policy for fake reviews, and companies cannot control or alter any reviews at any time.

Sort reviews by:

  • Won't stay open

    • By Lisa W.,
    • California,
    • Apr 10, 2020
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    I am very disappointed! After attempting to open the first time, it won't stay open. I was hoping that this would be the perfect alternative to help keep dry getting out of the car. I was so excited to finally be able to use my beautiful umbrella. In the pouring rain...total fail! I need a refund or at least exchange for another try. Please help me!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Umbrellas (Better Brella)

    • By Dianne G.,
    • Plaquemine, LA,
    • Jan 6, 2020
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    The worst umbrella I ever had. In fact, I have had 3 of them. First one fell apart the second I used it. Second one the frame broke up and wouldn't go up or down. Third one was an LSU one and you push and it wouldn't latch kept sliding down.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Garbage

    • By Stacey F.,
    • New York,
    • Dec 24, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    Bought this with high hopes. Great idea, if it would stay open. But it never does. The mechanism doesn’t catch properly and it closes on my head. I called the company, who walked me through "how to open an umbrella" (you need to jiggle it, you need to...), then told me I was "out of warranty." Followed by crickets on their end of the line. So, $25 piece of garbage that has not, does not, and will not stay open. Maybe I can use it as a doorstop. Lousy product, lousy company.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Poor quality, bad service

    • By Sarah A.,
    • Philadelphia, PA,
    • Nov 19, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    Purchased two Better Brellas one month ago, one broke after using it two times and the second one after one month.

    Contacted the company by email, they never responded.

    Very poor quality and bad customer service.

    There is no zero star because that is what they deserve.

    My next stop, BBB.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Better Brella is actually not better

    • By Casey W.,
    • Richmond, VA,
    • Oct 18, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    Well, I've had my Better Brella for a little over a year, and honestly, the only thing I like about it is the folding inside out feature. The spokes are constantly coming loose, and I am not impressed with the overall integrity of its quality. Maybe I'll switch back to my Regular Brella soon. Will not buy another Better Brella. VERY DISAPPOINTED!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Not good

    • By Tom T.,
    • Alberta, Canada,
    • Sep 23, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    I bought and used this umbrella maybe 6 times. The last time I tried to open it, the slide traveled to the top and is stuck there. No effort in trying to close it is successful. I found no way to contact customer service via email. I will not be buying another one as it has poor quality opening mechanism. Prior to this happening, the end cover at the top which screws on, cracked and would not stay on.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • The Better Brella co. is a rip-off scammer, based on my experience.

    • By Helen S.,
    • Sarasota, FL,
    • Jun 24, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    Better Brella is probably an OK product. If you want one, go to Bed Bath & Beyond and buy one for $20 (or less with a BBY coupon.) Based on my experience, I urge you to stay away from the Better Brella company itself. I saw their TV ad for two Better Brellas for $29.95 + tax, no shipping fees. So I placed an order. They charged me $57.98, and would not cancel the order, and disputed my dispute with my credit card company, even though I refused the package and had the USPS return it to them. First they claimed they never received the package I shipped back to them. Then they refused to issue the credit because they claimed (falsely) that more than 30 days had passed.

    The Better Brella company is a rip-off scammer. Also, the product is not unique. When I went to BBY to buy one, I saw a similar umbrella made by ShedRain, whose products I bought previously and have been happy with. And that's the umbrella I actually bought. Avoid the Better Brella company. They might try to rip you off and scam you too.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Purchased and got five

    • By Teresa H.,
    • Salisbury, NC,
    • Feb 27, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    I purchase them when I got it for my family and me. I spend around $80. I don't know about the other ones, but I've used mine twice and the tip end of it on one side is pulling apart in the storm. I paid such good money for these umbrellas and I'm highly disappointed. I would like to know if anybody knows how I can get in contact with the company to see if they would send me another one in the place of this one. I like the umbrella. It has done good, but it's tearing up on one end, on the outside. If anyone knows how, please text it to me. Thank you so much.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend


  • Sad, twice disappointed

    • By Allana B.,
    • South Australia, Australia,
    • Feb 5, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    I bought my first one at the Post Office - it lasted about a month before the inside frame broke and the metal pieces came thru and then, of course, it would not fold up or work again.

    I thought I'd try a slightly different style, but same make...this one won't shut or open properly, and again, the metal snapped and came thru.

    Wasted $60. Back to my old fashioned umbrella!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Only one of the two opens

    • By Audrey S.,
    • Georgia,
    • Jan 27, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    I received my order (two for $29) yesterday. I tried to open one, following the directions, but the slide never clicked into place and the umbrella would not stay open. I tried the other one and it did open. I fear the second one will not last very long because of the poor quality.

    I was seeking a means to return the malfunctioning one when I came upon this site. I just need an address so that I can return either one or both of them in order to have my money refunded.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Pieces of junk

    • By Joseph P.,
    • Southaven, MS,
    • Jan 21, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    A piece of junk, and neither work. Do not buy these, they are terrible. Yuck yuck. Sorry, but they really REALLY stink. Garbage garbage. Do not buy. Do not buy. I can tell you they stink by time. Sucks sucks.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • It is NOT broken.

    • By Patti N.,
    • Port Hueneme, CA,
    • Jan 18, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    I had the same experience as most people here. The umbrella would open perfectly when you pushed the button, then close when you pushed it again. This closes it most of the way, like when you get into your car. Then you get out of the car and the umbrella will not open either with the button or manually. Grrr! I did some research and found the answer in a video (of another brand of umbrella). Watch it if you want, but the answer is that you have to push the umbrella stem down to fully close it, then it will again open perfectly when you push the button. Here is the link to the video: https://catladybox.zendesk.com/hc/en-us/articles/218445657-My-umbrella-is-broken-won-t-open-or-is-stuck-Help-VIDEO-.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend


  • Poor quality

    • By Gaik N.,
    • Sydney, Australia,
    • Jan 12, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    I bought two of these push button flip open umbrellas. They don’t open! What a waste of money. I had bought two standard ones previously and they were fantastic, so I thought the quality would be the same, but they are not. People are being ripped off with no recourse.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Concept good. Quality poor.

    • By Alicia S.,
    • San Diego, CA,
    • Dec 9, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    Good concept, but like most reviews I've read, poor quality. It broke before I even used it. The tips constantly come off. In all fairness, my aunt loves hers. I'm going to try to gorilla glue mine.

    I would not recommend this product. Keep your old umbrella.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Umbrella function

    • By Daniel J K.,
    • Philadelphia, PA,
    • Nov 7, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    I had this umbrella a little over a year. I keep it in my SUV. It never really closed right. I called customer service. They said there is no replacement warranty. I go back to buying $5 umbrellas from Home Depot. I had that for at least 4 years. This is not worth the money they charge, even if they give you buy 1 and get 2 free. I would not recommend it to anybody.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Better Brella is better

    • By Ron D.,
    • Massachusetts,
    • Nov 7, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    I purchased the Better Brella one night when I couldn’t sleep and it popped on TV. Much to my surprise, I love my Better Brella and won’t use anything else. It is windproof. It does keep the rain off me when getting in and out of the car.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend


  • Won't stay open, used fewer than 5 times

    • By L T.,
    • Kaimuki, HI,
    • Nov 2, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    Similar problem to what others described. After very little use, the umbrella doesn't snap open when I push the button. When I open it manually, it doesn't "catch," so it doesn't stay open. Of course, we're beyond the 30-day warranty.

    I was hoping others found a simple way to correct the problem, but no such luck!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Better Brella

    • By Dale S.,
    • Loveland, OH,
    • Sep 25, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    Better Brella should be called "Worse Brella."

    This umbrella is not worth the money. If you want an umbrella that only lasts 6 months with MINIMAL use, then this is for you! It was raining yesterday, I opened it and the button got stuck at the top and won't release. The "arms" that keep the Brella open collapsed and now it's stuck that way and I can't close it. What a waste of money.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Poorly made

    • By Barry M.,
    • Kentucky,
    • Sep 18, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    I bought two of these. I gave one to my niece and I kept one. I used mine three times in a year and the little ball bearing in the top that keeps the umbrella open broke off, rendering it useless. I called the company and they told me that it has been over a year and there was nothing they would do. After speaking to my niece, she had the same issue with the bearing after using it about the same. The idea was good, but the quality is very poor.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • No replacement parts

    • By Lisa R.,
    • North Carolina,
    • Sep 16, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    I've only had my Better Brella about four months. I went to use it the other day and realized that the tip had fallen off. I didn't realize that it just screws on, and that I should check it and make sure it was still tight. After calling the company, I was told no, they don't sell just the tip, that I would have to buy a new one. Really? They offer NO replacement parts on a $30 umbrella? If this piece of junk, just screws together, they should have at least put some lock tight on the threads, so it doesn't come apart.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Nothing in life is free

    • By Rudy C.,
    • Deerfield Beach, FL,
    • Sep 4, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    I ordered the item online, you can get a second one free just pay for shipping. When I checked my bank statement, I was charged over $50. Brella people claim I ordered the deluxe. Long story short, they charged almost three times the amount stated on TV. They want to refund me $5.00. Buyers beware.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Worst umbrella I've ever purchased

    • By Valezca K.,
    • Ontario, Canada,
    • Jul 30, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    Dollar store regular umbrella lasts longer, at least more than one use. Where can I send back these two broken umbrellas? I am not asking for any refund. I'm just so disgusted with these expensive umbrellas.

    One of the umbrellas won't fold at all after one use, the other one, the short stem or rib close to the top broke immediately upon opening. The product is very, very, very, poorly made! I would never, never, never recommend it to anybody. I bought three and I have not heard anything yet from the person I gifted it to. Where can I send these two broken expensive umbrellas?

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • My experience with Better Brella

    • By Anita D.,
    • Owings Mills, MD,
    • Jul 3, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    My Better Brella broke and I only had it for eight months. My light stop working and the handle no longer ejects the umbrella. I'm really disappointed with the product because I really liked the style and features. I purchased the Better Brella on HSN and unfortunately, it's only a 30-day warranty. I probably would have been better off buying an umbrella at Walmart for less money, and the return policy is better. So to answer your question, no, I would not recommend to my friends and family.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • At least one works

    Overall Experience:

    I bought one and got one free. One works, and the other one won't latch in the "up" position. Did I pay for the broken one or is it the free one that won't work?

    I called the "customer service" number, and it just rings, no answer.

    My dad always said, "If you think you're getting something for free, you're gonna get hosed."

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Better Brella-tip broke

    • By Sharon Wiehe,
    • Cincinnati,
    • Mar 31, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    I bought it at Walgreen's almost a year and 3 months ago. I use it when it rains, which has been probably 20 times. I really like the design – it's great for getting out of and into the car in the rain – the rain from the umbrella doesn't get all over me!

    However, I went to use it yesterday and realized one of the tips broke off – so the fabric is no longer connected on one spoke. I went to the website and I see they only offer a 30-day guarantee. I expect more from a $20 umbrella! I'll probably wind up sewing it, so it won't look as good, but it'll work.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend


  • Not the best

    • By Thia Fay,
    • Groton, CT,
    • Mar 9, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    I have the Better Brella for about a year. It works great in the rain, but horrible in the wind. My umbrella broke quicker than the last cute polka dot fashion umbrella I got from Target. I purchase the umbrella for wind purposes, but it doesn't work.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Good umbrella

    • By Olivia Magee,
    • Charlotte, NC,
    • Mar 2, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    I did not order my Better Brella. I got it at a local store. The price was $19.99. It has worked well. I like the bright red color and the material. I have used it in rain and wind. I would recommend it to others.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend


Showing 1-27 of 43

Write a Review for Better Brella!

Share your experience to help others discover great products!

Write a Review
Better Brella