What Is Better.com?

By J.R. Duren
HighYa Staff
Updated on: Apr 10, 2019

If you’re looking for a mortgage, you’ve entered the arena at a pretty good time in history.

Instead of doing hours of research online before making your first phone call to a lender, you can use a service like Better.com and get pre-approved for a purchase or refinance loan in a matter of minutes.

That’s a pretty big sigh of relief, especially considering the stress that comes with the money, responsibility and information of buying a home or refinancing.

Thankfully, Better.com and similar sites say, they’ve come up with a better way of getting you a loan based on your credit score, income, down payment and price of the home you want. But this nearly automated world of lending isn’t always what it seems.

For instance, a site like LendingTree.com provides you dozens of mortgage quotes in less than 15 minutes. But customers have complained that they have no control over who calls them, or, in some cases, who taints their credit score by running hard checks.

Does Better.com offer a “better” mortgage solution? How exactly does it work? Are there drawbacks?

We’re going to answer these questions in our review within the next few minutes.

How Does Better.com Work?

We did a test run on Better.com's site to get a feel for what the average consumer can expect. We entered a California zip code (92115), along with our credit score (740-759) and our down payment amount ($100,000 on a $500,000 house).

The results came in less than five seconds. We had several different options across six types of loans: 30-, 20-, and 15-year fixed rates and 10/1, 7/1 and 5/1 adjustable-rate mortgages. We found this refreshing, as most lending sites lure you in with low percentages for adjustable rate mortgages (ARM). ARM’s are usually a bad idea because you pay lower rates for a period of five, seven or 10 years, but after the higher rates kick in many homeowners have a hard time making their payments.

Let’s get back to the quotes: two of the three included points payments. What that means is that they calculated our monthly payment based on us paying a percentage point of our APR up front, rather than spreading it out over the life of the loan.

The reason that’s interesting to us is that buying points is a hotly debated topic and there’s no one answer as to whether or not it’s the right thing to do. To help you decide if paying points is right for you, Better.com created a video located on their homepage, to explain points.

Now, points aside, we appreciated how simple Better.com makes the rates page.

Better Mortgage Interest RatesAn example taken from Better.com's website of us trying to obtain interest rate quotes. Credit: better.com

The refinance option worked exactly the same way.

To get a pre-approval for a mortgage or refinance, you choose which offer you like the best and fill out additional information, including the address of the home you want to buy/refi.

Quick note: It’s common to confuse Better.com with a site like LendingTree.com who connects you to “direct lenders”.

However, the two aren’t the same. Lending Tree connects you with direct lenders. Better.com is a direct lender.

You’re basically cutting out the middleman (and a lot of annoying emails and phone calls…check our Lending Tree review for the details) by skipping Lending Tree-style sites and going directly to Better.com.

Where Do the Loans Come From?

As a direct lender, Better.com originates (processes) and funds your loan. Once your loan is finalized, you’ll be making payments to the final investor who services the loan until it’s paid off.

Here’s how the Better.com application process works:

  • Better.com analyzes your income, debt, credit history and the value of your home as compared to its price tag.
  • They come up with a loan amount and interest rate you get to see.
  • Meanwhile, Better.com finds investors who are willing to buy the loan and service it.

What Are The Fees?

When you secure a mortgage, you end up paying what’s known as “closing costs.” That’s cash out of your pocket, so to speak, that you need to pay up front. At Better.com, you can also roll it into your mortgage by accepting a higher interest rate in exchange for no closing costs.

According to Better.com, closing costs for 2015 typically ranged from $1,500 to $3,500.

We double checked these closing costs with Bankrate.com’s figures for California. They calculated the average closing costs on a $200,000 home to be about $2,225.

Even though you’re buying your home with money you secured through Better.com, you still have to pay third-party costs like appraisals, title changes and other fees common to the home buying experience.

You won’t have to pay an origination fee, though, which is basically a charge for processing your application. In most cases, that fee is 0.5 or 1% of your loan amount. In the example where we used ($400K), that would total out to between $2,000 and $4,000.

How Sure Are the Rates You’re Quoted?

Rates are a way for lending companies to lure you in. In many cases, they’ll plaster a landing page or home page with a low-interest rate. Come to find out, that rate is actually for a 5/1 adjustable rate mortgage and not the traditional 30-year fixed rate mortgage (which typically has a higher percentage rate than ARMs).

Better.com, as we pointed out, doesn’t do that. They give you the 30-year fixed rate as the first result when you ask for a quote. And, according to their FAQs, that rate will remain the same if your answers are consistent.

Word to the wise: Be very straightforward about your credit score, income, and other related numbers. The more truthful you are, the better the chance that your final rate will be the same as, or close to, what you were first quoted.

Better.com will do a basic credit check and income verification, so fudging the numbers won’t help you.

In What States does Better.com Offer Mortgages and Refinancing?

Better.com's purchase and refinance mortgages are available in 31 states:

  • Alaska
  • Alabama
  • Arizona
  • Arkansas
  • California
  • Colorado
  • Connecticut
  • Delaware
  • District Of Columbia
  • Florida
  • Georgia
  • Illinois
  • Iowa
  • Kansas
  • Kentucky
  • Louisiana
  • Maine
  • Michigan
  • Mississippi
  • North Carolina
  • North Dakota
  • New Jersey
  • Oklahoma
  • Oregon
  • Pennsylvania
  • South Dakota
  • Tennessee
  • Texas
  • Washington
  • West Virginia
  • Wisconsin

Better.com Consumer Reviews

Better.com receives good reviews from borrowers.

As of 4/10/19, the company had an average rating of 3.8 from 72 HighYa reviewers. The best reviews noted how easy and fluid the process was, while negative reviews focused on the funding process taking too long.

From our perspective, the reviews are indicative of the type of reviews you get with mortgage lenders. The good reviews laud the process while the bad reviews lampoon it.

What’s most important for you to know is that Better.com's reviews on HighYa are pretty solid and indicate that there’s a good chance you’ll enjoy your experience.

Reviews of the company are great on other sites as well, with most consumers giving Better.com high praise.

In terms of how often the initial quoted rate for your mortgage matches the rate you actually get, Bankrate says borrowers had a 95% success rate.

Is Better.com a Good Choice?

Based on the research we’ve done on Better.com, we think the site offers some advantages you won’t find on a bigger site like LendingTree.

For example, LendingTree connects you with a bunch of companies who lend. Better.com is actually one of those lenders, so you don’t have to go through the hassle of picking one lender out of many.

Another factor which works to the consumer’s advantage, in our opinion, is that Better.com does research to understand exactly what kind of borrower you are. So, when they give you a rate quote, you most likely won’t see a big rate jump.

It’s kind of like how car companies say they’re selling cars with 0% APR, but when you read the fine print there are certain requirements you must meet to get that amazing interest rate.

From what we’ve seen in our research, Better.com doesn’t do that. In fact, when you go to their site, you aren’t hit with ARM rates that try to lure you in.

What we’ve read and heard says that Better.com is a reliable site, and it appears that customers are overall happy with the company according to positive reviews on websites around the web.

Also, at this time, Better.com only offers loans and refi’s in 31 states (Including District of Columbia) – since first writing about Better.com, this state of states has been gradually increasing.


Customer Reviews

Start your review of Better.com:
  • 82 Customer Reviews
  • 65% Recommend This Company
3.6 out of 5
5 star: 59% 4 star: 4% 3 star: 2% 2 star: 1% 1 star: 31%

 Our Promise to You

To safeguard you and ensure helpfulness and relevance, our compliance team manually assess every customer review before it goes live.

We have a zero-tolerance policy for fake reviews, and companies cannot control or alter any reviews at any time.

Sort reviews by:

  • Don't waste your time

    • By Mary Davis,
    • Van Nuys, CA,
    • Jul 13, 2016
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    Please don't jump through all the hoops as I did. This has been my worst refinancing experience. Even when all the documentation is provided, there is another form that must be filled out. I ended up pulling the plug on the loan even after I had paid for an appraisal.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    • Sep 20, 2016

      Company Response from

      Hi Mary,

      I'm so sorry to hear that you had a frustrating experience working with us. We're working every day to make the mortgage process simpler for all Americans, so feedback like yours is very valuable as we constantly improve our process. We would love to hear more about your experience so that we can explore how we can improve in the future. Please reach out to hello@better.com if you'd like to discuss your experience with a representative from our team.

      Sincerely,

      The Better Team


  • Not good, too much aggravation

    • By Corey G.,
    • Pequannock, NJ,
    • Sep 23, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    At first, I really liked this site, it quickly spiraled out of control. Looking back there were a few "red flags" I should have recognized. I read some negative reviews and my first instinct was well, you can't please everyone. I wish I had realized that anything you read about other posters' experiences are absolutely true! Don't be a sucker like me and fall for the most likely false positive reviews. Here is my honest unbiased experience.

    I found Better.com while looking for rates for a second home condo refinance. I filled out some information to get my rate, which seemed a little high, but since it's on a second home I felt it may be in line. Immediately calls and texts start coming in. I ignored them for a day, and at one point someone named Andrew left me a voicemail with a number to reach him. A few minutes after his call I called back the number he left and listened to muzak for about 5 minutes. No answer, no automated system, nothing. I pictured the movie boiler room for a split second. But didn't dwell on it. Needless to say, I paid the $550 for an appraisal. Their portal asked for some uploads which seemed so smooth and user-friendly. Seemed like an amazing process. Right off the bat, they asked for my homeowner's policy on my primary residence, and my secondary. When I sent them my primary residence, it was rejected saying they wanted the HO6 policy for secondary...oversight I thought, and I just uploaded everything to their portal. Had an appraisal done, which according to their site if it was less than $550 they would refund the difference. Coincidentally it was $550.

    A few days later, a fellow owner and board member in our small condo community forwarded me emails that they were sending him. They were relentless, and so poorly written, it almost seemed like a fraudulent email telling you that you are the winner of a foreign lottery. He replied to all the questions they had, and more emails came. Asking for HOA insurance policies, and contact info and all stuff I had already provided. He said he even tried calling them to help and listened to Muzak, no one would answer. Finally, after a few days, I myself replied to the email, almost in a curt tone, saying you already have been provided this information, and there were no harassing messages to fellow owners. This concerned me, but I thought after this hurdle, or hoop as another reviewer called it, we would be in the clear.

    After that I spoke to a mortgage officer based in california, who was very friendly and said the underwriting was complete, everything looked good, would be closing within two weeks. In our conversation though he stated he is not licensed in the state of NJ, which was concerning.

    Then the insurance fiasco started. My insurance agent called me and unbeknownst to me said someone called him saying they needed to change the payee on my policy. However, the caller would not verify any information on my policy and he wouldn't do it. We finally straightened that out and I can't tell you how many times I uploaded my policy declarations. After a few days, they tell me I don't have enough coverage on my unit. The same policy I had for 7 years, and no other bank had an issue. I had to triple the amount of coverage and payout of pocket about $300. I have more insurance on a walls in condo policy than I do on my house currently. Another hurdle complete. And another concern making me wonder why I keep sending my insurance info. Where is all this information going on the mystery portal?

    Next, I had to obtain my own payoff statement from my current lender. When I contacted them their reaction was, why are you calling and not the lender you are dealing with? I got it anyway from them and sent it to the portal. $20 out of pocket, and another hurdle.

    There were small things throughout the process that were concerning, they said my property taxes weren't current and wanted me to pay them. They were paid by my current lender, were on to date and paid weeks prior.

    Finally, things were quiet for a few days and I started getting emails overnight. One, while I was on vacation with my family came at 12:30 AM. It basically said there were some things with a credit line that showed up, and I may or may not receive a call from a third party company to look into it. This was VERY VERY concerning, nauseating actually. I was worried that something may be wrong. I emailed my unlicensed NJ rep about it and he basically said someone will call you. I waited for DAYS! Sick about it. No one called. This is when I had enough. I checked my portal one day and it asked if I received a call. I answered no. Didn't hear anything. Then there was the "Have a better offer? We'll beat it screen." This got the gears turning in my head. It took me less than 5 minutes to find a lender with lower fees and rate, by a half an over half a point. And I sent it in. No answer for a few days.

    A few more days pass and I get another request on my portal requesting my mortgage statement, account number and just a repeat of everything I had sent over and over. I emailed my unlicensed rep and said you already have all this info. He said we, unfortunately, do not. And that is when I reached the end. I informed them I don't want to proceed. I have no idea where all my personal info is going, who sees it. But this experience has been a financial and emotional burden. I'm roughly $1000 out of pocket.

    To anyone reading this, please take my experience seriously and do not think yours may be better. There are much more professional and organized lenders. I really wanted to like this company and thought it would be easy and smooth. It was brutal. To any Better.com employee who reads this, please do not respond with a generic "sorry for your experience." You have a ton of my information, you know how to reach me.

    As a side note, I just checked my Better.com portal. Still no competing offer.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    • Sep 24, 2019

      Company Response from Better.com

      Hi Corey,

      We apologize for the inconvenience we may have caused you. We appreciate your feedback and truly value it, however, since we cannot discuss your situation in public, can you email us directly at reviews@better.com with your full name, contact information, and the details of what happened so we can look into your situation. We strive to improve our processes so that borrowers can have a better experience.

      Sincerely,

      The Better.com Team


  • Horrible Waste of Time

    • By Matt,
    • Los Angeles, CA,
    • Sep 26, 2016
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    Waste of time and money. Better Mortgage approved me right out of the gate and strung me along for a month making me jump all sorts of hoops and provide crazy documentation, which I supplied all of.

    I had to remove inaccuracies in my credit report also which was a huge pain. After a month of them saying “just do this one more thing and we will be good”, they denied my loan and set my project back at least 30-60 days.

    Better Mortgage is not better and I suggest you stay away.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    • Nov 11, 2016

      Company Response from

      Hi Matt,

      I'm so sorry that you didn't have a good experience working with us. I completely understand how frustrating that experience must have been, and I do wish that we had been able to help you out. If you'd like to discuss your situation further, please reach out to our team at hello@better.com.

      Sincerely,

      The Better Team


  • Terrible

    Overall Experience:

    With the help of my daughter, we applied online to refinance my investment property and my personal residence. Everything changed continually with them in one day. There were three changes in the amount of money that it was going to be for the mortgage and they needed documents constantly (the same documents many times). Every time my daughter dealt with them, it was insanely aggravating.

    I went to another mortgage company, and in less than two weeks I had refinanced both loans, signed on them and closed, and I gave them fewer documents than I gave Better Mortgage; it was half the hassle. The place they sent me for an appraisal (I had to get an appraisal at my new mortgage company) and one of my house is appraised $30,000 higher at the new place. I even got into an argument with them when they decided that the address of my house was not the address of my house, and they wanted to call it a different street name, even though I took pictures of the street sign. I showed them insurance papers and sent them mortgage documents, but it was constantly aggravating.

    I finally walked away from it. I'm so much happier with my rate (my rate is 4% on one loan and 4.75% on the other). For an investment that is great.

    This company gave me nothing but a headache and aggravation for over five weeks, and every time I dealt with them my blood pressure went through the roof. I would not recommend this place for anyone to do a mortgage with; they don't listen to what you have to say and they don't listen to the documents. Keep looking, you will find a better company to deal with. When we started with the loan, we gave them all the information they would need, all of the problems that we've had in the past, every piece of document they would need, and it still wasn't enough. With the new company, I gave them the same information and they were ready to go immediately. In fact, they told me I gave them too many documents.

    So please, go elsewhere, unless you want aggravation and a headache.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • They need help. The process is painful and they don't know what they are doing.

    • By B R,
    • Connecticut,
    • Sep 27, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    The pre-screening to determine whether you might be eligible is not serious and not useful. This part should be done with care so that the lender and borrower do not waste their time. However, at Better they don't spend enough time here to determine whether a borrower has a real chance of being approved. So they end up wasting a lot of the borrower's time when a little easy work up front could prevent this

    The website they use for underwriting your loan is full of problems. Links and uploads don't work in certain areas. They don't update your progress. The progress bar is always at "lock you rate" which is the very beginning. The communication through the website is very unclear. There is almost no interaction verbally which causes great misunderstanding when they have questions about your financial picture.

    They conclude things about a person's financial situation that don't make sense and don't follow mortgage industry convention.

    Unless your loan is pure plain vanilla and you can't find a rate as low as what they are offering, I would stay away from Better. I should have read reviews before I started with them because many reviews make similar points.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    • Oct 4, 2017

      Company Response from

      Hi,

      Thanks for your thorough feedback. While we cannot speak publicly about the specifics of your situation, I am sorry we were not able to meet your expectations. We tried very hard to find a solution, but I understand how from your perspective it was inefficient. We'll keep working to improve the process, as well as the interface, and our communication.

      Sincerely, Kristen Connor


  • Nothing better about this mortgage company.

    • By Barry D.,
    • Nashville, TN,
    • Nov 5, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    Nothing better about this company, I would suggest trying someone else, I know we will next time and will tell anyone that asks the same. The following is our experience with the Better mortgage company when doing a cash out refinance.

    First, a little background as a reference. Between my spouse and I, we have gone through the mortgage process six times in the past seven years, plus my spouse worked for several years in the housing finance industry, so we are both familiar with the process and know what is expected and why. This was not the worst mortgage company we have worked with, that would be Fifth Third Bank, but this was far from a good experience.

    The underwriting department was the majority of the problem. They would ask for documentation that was completely irrelevant and repeatedly read the credit report incorrectly then refused to correct their oversights. They refused to provide us with a copy of the credit report they were using. We explained that we paid for the credit report and that we were comfortable signing a release to have an electronic copy sent to us for review. They refused again telling us they “do not have the right” to send us a copy of the credit report even if we had paid for it to be run. So we ran my credit report so we could explain what we suspected they were seeing and how they were interrupting it incorrectly. This was not on just one account, there were several that they read incorrectly, including one for a previous mortgage that was clearly paid off and the account closed.

    There were several other problems with the underwriting process. My favorite was that they repeatedly told me that I had to provide proof that I did not own a specific other property. Before you say that is not an odd question, you are right, if they had asked if I owned any other property that would be understandable. But that was not what they wanted, they wanted me to provide proof that I did not own a specific property. We were dumbfounded. I have no claim to the property they were questioning, have no liens in my names against the property, and had never even lived at that address. After repeatedly telling them I had nothing to do with the property, they still demanded that I provide proof that I did not own that property. To put it simply, they said I had to prove that I did not own this other person’s house. For those who do not know, property ownership is public record and available at your local county clerk’s or tax assessor’s office, most modern areas offer this information for free if you can navigate to it from their website. So the information they were requesting from us is something that they should regularly have to do as underwriters. After refusing to move forward with the process until I provided proof that I did not own the property, I found the information from the tax assessor’s website and send them the link showing the actual property owner.

    Now that it is believed we have resolved all their issues and are ready to move forward, they come back saying that we have to renew our property insurance before we could move forward. So we had to contact our insurance agents and request to renew our policy two months early because the mortgage company will not move forward until it is renewed and paid. For those still reading are probably thinking this seems like it is taking a long time, and you are right, it is so long in fact that they inform me that if I do not close Monday, the rate lock will expire. So what is happening here is that they have taken upfront fees from us saying to lock a certain rate. They have pushed the process along so slowly that the locked rate was about to expire and they would be able to increase the rate of the mortgage.

    Our insurance agent gets us the renewal quickly, we get everything paid and copies of the renewal to provide the lender, then when we go in to upload, low and behold, they bypassed the insurance renewal requirement to schedule the closing, which for those that do not remember had told us everything was on hold until the insurance was renewed.

    Now the underwriting fiasco was complete on to closing. On the latest closing disclosure document, it has a line item with a change to pay the annual insurance premium, which this is not uncommon at all, the insurance needs to be paid. We called, informing the lender that the insurance had been renewed and sent in a copy of the renewal to have the line item removed.

    A couple of hours later before the closing, we get a new closing disclosure, which still has the insurance change. We call back and they explain after the closing that a new disclosure will be created with the line item removed and the amounts disbursed will reflect what is on that disclosure. But to no surprise, the amount disbursed was the incorrect amount. When I called back after the closing, I first spoke with a rep named Corin, who was very rude, and when I asked for his last name, refused, saying it was not relevant. The person he transferred me to, which was not even the correct person, was nice enough to give me his full name, Corin M, then transferred me to the correct person.

    That is the end of my review. There were more issues - they wanted us to explain how we paid off previous debt, had to verify employment more than once, and canceled then rescheduled mobile notaries without informing us, but figured this was already too long and I should skip that stuff. Hopefully, this helps someone, if you choose to go with another company. Good luck for those that decide to give them a try, do not say that at least someone did not try to warn you, and if you get Corin M, you should hang up right away and call back.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    • Dec 17, 2018

      Company Response from Better.com

      Hi Barry, I'm sorry you weren't pleased with your experience at Better. Although we have responded to previous comments on other sites, we value all feedback. I cannot speak publicly about your situation, however, if you'd like to discuss your experience in detail feel free to contact me at mbellingham@better.com.

      Sincerely, Megan Bellingham (Head of Mortgage Operations)


  • Better Mortgage is trying to cheat customers out of their $500 deposit

    • By J W,
    • Los Angeles, CA,
    • Jun 15, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    Better.com and Alex are cheats. They consistently reassured me throughout the initial refinancing process that I would receive the full $500 appraisal deposit refund if the appraisal did not take place and I decided to go with another lender.

    Well, I never met with their appraiser, nor did their appraiser ever come to my residence or enter my home to perform the appraisal. When I contacted Better.com to notify them that I was going with another lender, I was told that I would only receive a $300 refund, and that I would be charged $200 for a "Desktop Review Property Inspection Report," which is essentially a Google search of property facts easily found on Zillow, etc. I never requested to have this "report" performed, nor was I ever asked about it. In fact, this "Desktop Review Property Inspection Report" was never once mentioned on the loan estimate, nor was it ever mentioned the numerous times I had asked various Better.com representatives whether I needed to worry about not receiving my full $500 refund if I did not have an appraisal performed and did not follow through on the refinancing process through Better.com.

    It's obviously some imaginary, made-up report which the company uses as a vehicle by which to scam potential customers out of a portion of their appraisal deposit refunds and to make an extra profit. Clearly.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    • Jun 15, 2017

      Company Response from

      Thanks for your candid feedback. I am very sorry for the difficulty you faced receiving the full refund of your $500 appraisal deposit. As I communicated to you via email, we refunded you the additional $200 on June 13, which is the same day this issue was brought to my attention.

      Our experience can only improve if we understand where we've failed. It's clear we should have informed you of the inspection fee prior to ordering the Desktop Underwriter® Property Inspection Report that was required to complete a refi given the location of your home. Even though we followed regulatory guidelines for a legitimate inspection, we could have avoided this confusion by speaking with you first.

      I am grateful that you raised the issue. It gave us visibility into a way we can improve our practices. Should you have any additional feedback, please feel free to email me directly at kconnnor@better.com.


  • WORSE mortgage!

    • By Paige K.,
    • Florida,
    • Nov 29, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    This is the 6th house purchase we have made, thus we are not new to the mortgage application process. Compared with previous mortgages, Better required much more documentation. We were required to upload the finest detail, sometimes the same information was required more than once! I had to answer a question as to why my work location is more than 50 miles from my residence, and many more apparently inane irrelevant questions.

    After submitting all the info repeatedly, we were concerned that there may have been some sort of problem, so we reached out to them to make sure we were still on target for closing on 11/30/18. They assured us that it was.

    However, yesterday, 11/26/18 at approximately 4 pm, we received an email suggesting that there was a problem with the HOA's insurance coverage on the condo and they "are still trying to get clarification, but are pretty sure...we would not be able to complete the loan, even though you are well qualified borrowers, we would not have clearance on the HOA." The last time any discussion was documented regarding HOA insurance policies was 10/31.

    After uploading hundreds of documents, and several weeks of work and time, they left us high and dry three days before closing.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    • Dec 17, 2018

      Company Response from Better.com

      Hi Paige, I’m sorry you weren’t pleased with your experience at Better. We previously responded to your comment on other sites and value your feedback. I cannot speak publicly about your situation, however, if you’d like to discuss your experience in detail feel free to contact me at mbellingham@better.com.

      Sincerely, Megan Bellingham (Head of Mortgage Operations)


  • Don't waste your time

    • By Curt C.,
    • Dallas, TX,
    • Aug 7, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    I thought I would receive a lower level of financial scrutiny at Better.com due to me being self employed. Instead, I've received two good offers from BANKS, where Better.com wouldn't give me the time of day.

    Forget this company regardless of its high ratings here or elsewhere. Waste of time.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    • Aug 21, 2019

      Company Response from Better.com

      Hi Curt,

      I apologize you didn’t enjoy your Better experience. We value all feedback as we strive for customer satisfaction. I cannot speak publicly about your situation, however, if you’d like to discuss your experience in detail, feel free to contact us at reviews@better.com.

      Sincerely, the Better.com Team


  • Awful company

    • By Michelle B.,
    • Sanford, FL,
    • Jun 18, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    I pre-qualified with this company and explained my entire financial situation, including a short sale from a few years ago. I did everything they asked - submitted all my paperwork, found homeowners insurance, paid for my inspection and even took money from my retirement account for the larger down payment they were requiring. Three days before closing they refused to fund the loan, and everything had to be canceled. Be very wary of this company!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    • Jun 19, 2018

      Company Response from Better.com

      Hi Michelle, I'm sorry to hear you were unhappy with your Better experience. Because I cannot speak publicly about the specifics of your situation, please feel free to contact Better’s Head of Loan Rangers, Meg McDermott, at mmcdermott@better.com if you'd like to further discuss your experience. Sincerely, John Moffatt (Head of Loan Origination)


  • False advertisement

    • By Reginald N.,
    • Bayonne, NJ,
    • Jul 24, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    They say they offer lower rates because they don’t charge lender fees but I was able to get better rates from other lenders. They promote a best price guarantee of $1000, either beating a competitor’s offer by that amount or crediting you $1000 if they can’t beat it. I provided them with a loan estimate within three days and then they pulled a fast one and stated "oh, the loan amount has to be less than $500,000 to qualify," which is not mentioned anywhere on their site!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    • Aug 21, 2019

      Company Response from Better.com

      Hi Reginald, I'm sorry you weren't pleased with your experience at Better. Although we have responded to previous comments on other sites, we value all feedback. I cannot speak publicly about your situation, however, if you'd like to discuss your experience in detail, feel free to contact us at reviews@better.com. Sincerely, the Better.com Team.


Showing 1-11 of 82

Write a Review for Better.com!

Share your experience to help others discover great products!

Write a Review
Better.com