Start your review of Better.com:
  • 82 Customer Reviews
  • 65% Recommend This Company
3.6 out of 5
5 star: 59% 4 star: 4% 3 star: 2% 2 star: 1% 1 star: 31%

 Our Promise to You

To safeguard you and ensure helpfulness and relevance, our compliance team manually assess every customer review before it goes live.

We have a zero-tolerance policy for fake reviews, and companies cannot control or alter any reviews at any time.

Sort reviews by:

  • Scam! Stay away!

    • By Brandon H.,
    • Georgia,
    • Jan 3, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I was offered the better price guarantee for $1000 if I sent in my loan info. If they couldn't beat it then they give you $1000. I sent them my loan estimate but when they couldn't beat or match it, then I didn't qualify because they can write a loan the way a big bank can. This is after they sent us two or three estimates. This is a scam; they do this to try and get your business.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    • Jan 7, 2019

      Company Response from Better.com

      Hi Brandon, I’m sorry you weren’t pleased with your experience at Better. We previously responded to your comment on other sites and value your feedback. I cannot speak publicly about your situation, however, if you’d like to discuss your experience in detail feel free to contact us. Sincerely,

      Megan Bellingham (Head of Mortgage Operations).


  • Impressed.

    • By Vicki P.,
    • Corning, CA,
    • Dec 5, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I did not complete the loan because of health issues and life events but was impressed with both their fast online application process and follow up with loan consultant, Holly Haynes. When ready to proceed, I will go back to Better Mortgage.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    • Dec 19, 2018

      Company Response from Better.com

      Hi Vicki, thank you for your feedback. I’m happy to hear that we could make the mortgage process easier. We can’t wait to work with you again in the future.

      Sincerely, Megan Bellingham (Head of Mortgage Operations)


  • Easiest mortgage experience ever!

    • By Stephen G.,
    • San Francisco, CA,
    • Dec 4, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    Taking a mortgage with Better was such a smooth and easy experience. I found Better while shopping for an investment property when I needed to obtain a mortgage pre-approval letter. I had the pre-approval letter in my hands within 5 minutes of finding Better - it was amazing!

    Better continue to deliver after my initial experience with them - they were consistently easy to use, smooth, with extremely helpful and professional loan consultants to guide me along the way. Their platform and notification systems kept me on track, so I knew exactly what I had to do at every step.

    Super simple process, great people. I'd absolutely use Better again in a heartbeat!

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    • Dec 19, 2018

      Company Response from Better.com

      Hi Stephen, I am happy to hear your Better experience was enjoyable. I’m glad you found Better’s digital application useful, making your mortgage process both fast and transparent. Best of luck in your new home.

      Sincerely, Megan Bellingham (Head of Mortgage Operations)


  • WORSE mortgage!

    • By Paige K.,
    • Florida,
    • Nov 29, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    This is the 6th house purchase we have made, thus we are not new to the mortgage application process. Compared with previous mortgages, Better required much more documentation. We were required to upload the finest detail, sometimes the same information was required more than once! I had to answer a question as to why my work location is more than 50 miles from my residence, and many more apparently inane irrelevant questions.

    After submitting all the info repeatedly, we were concerned that there may have been some sort of problem, so we reached out to them to make sure we were still on target for closing on 11/30/18. They assured us that it was.

    However, yesterday, 11/26/18 at approximately 4 pm, we received an email suggesting that there was a problem with the HOA's insurance coverage on the condo and they "are still trying to get clarification, but are pretty sure...we would not be able to complete the loan, even though you are well qualified borrowers, we would not have clearance on the HOA." The last time any discussion was documented regarding HOA insurance policies was 10/31.

    After uploading hundreds of documents, and several weeks of work and time, they left us high and dry three days before closing.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    • Dec 17, 2018

      Company Response from Better.com

      Hi Paige, I’m sorry you weren’t pleased with your experience at Better. We previously responded to your comment on other sites and value your feedback. I cannot speak publicly about your situation, however, if you’d like to discuss your experience in detail feel free to contact me at mbellingham@better.com.

      Sincerely, Megan Bellingham (Head of Mortgage Operations)


  • Easy to use

    • By Kenton K.,
    • Illinois,
    • Nov 17, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    Great mortgage experience. Starting the processing and getting approved were extremely easy. We dealt with two different banks on our first home, and it was a hassle. This process was simple, and I could do it on my own.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    • Dec 17, 2018

      Company Response from Better.com

      Hi Kenton, it’s great to hear Better was one of your top choice lenders. We strive for customer delight and are thrilled you were happy with your experience. It was a pleasure working with you and thank you again for choosing Better.

      Sincerely, Megan Bellingham (Head of Mortgage Operations)


  • Nothing better about this mortgage company.

    • By Barry D.,
    • Nashville, TN,
    • Nov 5, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    Nothing better about this company, I would suggest trying someone else, I know we will next time and will tell anyone that asks the same. The following is our experience with the Better mortgage company when doing a cash out refinance.

    First, a little background as a reference. Between my spouse and I, we have gone through the mortgage process six times in the past seven years, plus my spouse worked for several years in the housing finance industry, so we are both familiar with the process and know what is expected and why. This was not the worst mortgage company we have worked with, that would be Fifth Third Bank, but this was far from a good experience.

    The underwriting department was the majority of the problem. They would ask for documentation that was completely irrelevant and repeatedly read the credit report incorrectly then refused to correct their oversights. They refused to provide us with a copy of the credit report they were using. We explained that we paid for the credit report and that we were comfortable signing a release to have an electronic copy sent to us for review. They refused again telling us they “do not have the right” to send us a copy of the credit report even if we had paid for it to be run. So we ran my credit report so we could explain what we suspected they were seeing and how they were interrupting it incorrectly. This was not on just one account, there were several that they read incorrectly, including one for a previous mortgage that was clearly paid off and the account closed.

    There were several other problems with the underwriting process. My favorite was that they repeatedly told me that I had to provide proof that I did not own a specific other property. Before you say that is not an odd question, you are right, if they had asked if I owned any other property that would be understandable. But that was not what they wanted, they wanted me to provide proof that I did not own a specific property. We were dumbfounded. I have no claim to the property they were questioning, have no liens in my names against the property, and had never even lived at that address. After repeatedly telling them I had nothing to do with the property, they still demanded that I provide proof that I did not own that property. To put it simply, they said I had to prove that I did not own this other person’s house. For those who do not know, property ownership is public record and available at your local county clerk’s or tax assessor’s office, most modern areas offer this information for free if you can navigate to it from their website. So the information they were requesting from us is something that they should regularly have to do as underwriters. After refusing to move forward with the process until I provided proof that I did not own the property, I found the information from the tax assessor’s website and send them the link showing the actual property owner.

    Now that it is believed we have resolved all their issues and are ready to move forward, they come back saying that we have to renew our property insurance before we could move forward. So we had to contact our insurance agents and request to renew our policy two months early because the mortgage company will not move forward until it is renewed and paid. For those still reading are probably thinking this seems like it is taking a long time, and you are right, it is so long in fact that they inform me that if I do not close Monday, the rate lock will expire. So what is happening here is that they have taken upfront fees from us saying to lock a certain rate. They have pushed the process along so slowly that the locked rate was about to expire and they would be able to increase the rate of the mortgage.

    Our insurance agent gets us the renewal quickly, we get everything paid and copies of the renewal to provide the lender, then when we go in to upload, low and behold, they bypassed the insurance renewal requirement to schedule the closing, which for those that do not remember had told us everything was on hold until the insurance was renewed.

    Now the underwriting fiasco was complete on to closing. On the latest closing disclosure document, it has a line item with a change to pay the annual insurance premium, which this is not uncommon at all, the insurance needs to be paid. We called, informing the lender that the insurance had been renewed and sent in a copy of the renewal to have the line item removed.

    A couple of hours later before the closing, we get a new closing disclosure, which still has the insurance change. We call back and they explain after the closing that a new disclosure will be created with the line item removed and the amounts disbursed will reflect what is on that disclosure. But to no surprise, the amount disbursed was the incorrect amount. When I called back after the closing, I first spoke with a rep named Corin, who was very rude, and when I asked for his last name, refused, saying it was not relevant. The person he transferred me to, which was not even the correct person, was nice enough to give me his full name, Corin M, then transferred me to the correct person.

    That is the end of my review. There were more issues - they wanted us to explain how we paid off previous debt, had to verify employment more than once, and canceled then rescheduled mobile notaries without informing us, but figured this was already too long and I should skip that stuff. Hopefully, this helps someone, if you choose to go with another company. Good luck for those that decide to give them a try, do not say that at least someone did not try to warn you, and if you get Corin M, you should hang up right away and call back.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    • Dec 17, 2018

      Company Response from Better.com

      Hi Barry, I'm sorry you weren't pleased with your experience at Better. Although we have responded to previous comments on other sites, we value all feedback. I cannot speak publicly about your situation, however, if you'd like to discuss your experience in detail feel free to contact me at mbellingham@better.com.

      Sincerely, Megan Bellingham (Head of Mortgage Operations)


  • Amazing company, great customer service, best rates, will use again!

    • By Brian A.,
    • Cumming, GA,
    • Oct 12, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I can't say enough great things about Better Mortgage. I've re-financed many times over the years, and Better was the best. Not only did they smash the rate I received from Quicken Loans by .25% but charged me ZERO origination points and fees were extremely low. It was also the web interface that was easy to use, the process, and the excellent customer service I received from Michael and James. They answered all my questions very quickly and efficiently.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend


  • Excellent process

    • By Carl P.,
    • East Meadow, NY,
    • Oct 11, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    From start to finish, the entire team made our mortgage process quick and painless. They responded promptly to all questions and concerns, and electronically held our hands the entire time. I would definitely recommend them to all my family and friends. Thank you again!

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    • Dec 17, 2018

      Company Response from Better.com

      Hi Carl, thank you for choosing Better Mortgage. We enjoyed working with you and are glad you could utilize our dedicated customer support team. Best of luck in your new home!

      Sincerely, Megan Bellingham (Head of Mortgage Operations)


  • Other mortgage companies cannot compare!

    • By Wisdom A.,
    • Frisco, TX,
    • Oct 9, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    First, Better had a lower interest rate than any other lender I received quotes from. And I had around a dozen.

    Second, Better did not charge an origination fee, which saved me thousands of dollars. No other lenders offered this.

    Third, Better has a very nice interactive user portal for tracking and uploading your documentation. Plus the user receives email reminders when there are actions to be taken.

    If they keep this up, they're going to change the way the lending industry operates.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    • Dec 17, 2018

      Company Response from Better.com

      Hi Wisdom, I am happy to hear your Better experience was enjoyable. I’m glad you found Better’s digital application useful, making your mortgage process both fast and transparent. Best of luck in your new home.

      Sincerely, Megan Bellingham (Head of Mortgage Operations)


  • Very pleased

    • By Herb P.,
    • Orlando, FL,
    • Oct 6, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I refinanced, and was my first time to refinance a loan in my life, so was a little nervous about the whole process. But the way Better.com does things makes the whole process go smooth. As long as you have all your documents you should have no problem because Better gives you a to-do list so you know what paperwork or documents are needed and at what time you need them. I made various phone calls and emails due to questions I had being my first time and every one of my phone calls and emails were answered quickly. All the loan personel that helped me (Samual, Dane, Tim, Eric) and the ladies at the front desk were very helpful to me. I would recommend Better.com to anyone!

    Thank you.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    • Dec 17, 2018

      Company Response from Better.com

      Hi Herb, I’m glad you enjoyed loaning/refinancing with Better. Feedback such as yours is appreciated, as we work to remove old mortgage processes. Thank you again for working with Better.

      Sincerely, Megan Bellingham (Head of Mortgage Operations)


  • Do not recommend

    This was a terrible buying experience. My wife and I just used Better.com to buy our new home. At first, the process seemed too good to be true. Everything was "streamlined" and "accessible" through the fancy dashboard - and it was, at first. That was until we got down to crunch time. The first few steps in the process were very smooth, but once our loan went to underwriting, it slowed waaayy down and communication basically disappeared. In the final weeks up to our closing, we were constantly reaching out to our Better rep looking for updates, and we were assured over and over that we were on track.

    Then, the day before our scheduled closing, we messaged them, only to find that they had FAILED to send us a required disclosure and complete underwriting, moving our ENTIRE closing process and move-in back! We only found out about this BECAUSE WE CALLED THEM - no communication from on their part. This caused us to reschedule the closing of the home we were selling, our movers, days off work, getting utilities turned on at the new property, etc. It was a total disaster. Even though we had been told, repeatedly, that we were on track for our scheduled close.

    After that discovery, it was basically like pulling teeth to get anyone on the phone or to get anything done. By some miracle (it felt), we were finally able to close.

    I do not recommend this company or anyone associated with it. This experience was made WAY more stressful than it should have been all because of "Better.com" and their sub-par communication and outright lies.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    • Oct 11, 2018

      Company Response from Better.com

      Hi Harrison, while we cannot speak publicly about the specifics of your situation, I am sorry we were not able to meet your expectations. Our team worked diligently on your loan, but ultimately, issues can arise in the homebuying process that are outside of any lender’s control. We do appreciate your feedback on our communication and will keep working to improve it. Sincerely, John Moffatt (Head of Loan Origination)


Showing 12-22 of 82

Write a Review for Better.com!

Share your experience to help others discover great products!

Write a Review
Better.com