BetterHelp Reviews

  This company has claimed this profile, is getting alerted on any new customer reviews entering this page, and may engage in dialogue with its customers to address their matters.

Companies cannot pay money or provide goods in order to remove or alter customer reviews.
BetterHelp

Overall Rating

4.7

1418 Customer Reviews

Write a Review

Summary

BetterHelp is an online counseling platform that will pair you with a professionally licensed counselor. Access to counseling can be scheduled at any time, anywhere, and through any smart device. The efficacy of BetterHelp is linked to provider skill and intervention protocols but there are some drawbacks if you fall into certain categories of needs.

Pros

  • Flexibility of schedule that is convenient for your schedule
  • Access to a licensed professional counselor

Cons

  • Results and efficacy are dependent on your paired provider
  • Scheduled counseling sessions will require and will depend on available internet connection and speeds
  • Not covered through insurance

Customer Reviews

4.7 Stars out of 1418 Reviews
5 Star:85% 4 Star:6% 3 Star:0% 2 Star:0% 1 Star:6%
93% Recommend This Service
Start your review of BetterHelp:
Sort Reviews By
This company is actively collecting reviews from its customers. All reviews submitted are subject to moderation and approval to ensure they meet our Review Guidelines.

Posted on Jan 23, 2021

Quick, easy, and useful

By Shannon F., Gansevoort, NY, Verified Reviewer

BetterHelp provides professional support in an easy platform. In addition to your counselor you are able to access webinars on so many topics!

Length of Use: Less than 3 months

Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Pros and Cons

Easy access

Helpful counselor

Helpful webinars

Tech issues

Posted on Jan 23, 2021

Perfect service for today's times

By Gale G., Albuquerque, NM, Verified Reviewer

BetterHelp has made it possible to receive quality, professional mental help services from home. One can text and get a same-day response or schedule phone calls or tele-visits. The team is trained and licensed and if you don't click with a therapist you can easily switch to another. Highly recommend.

Length of Use: 6–12 months

Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Pros and Cons

Unlimited texts

Safe environment

Easily accessible

Challenge at times finding open slots

Posted on Jan 21, 2021

Pleasantly surprised

By Lauren C., Pennsylvania, Verified Reviewer

I haven't had the best experiences connecting with therapists in the past. I went through some recent losses/grief and found BetterHelp and decided to give it a shot. I was matched with a therapist who has expertise in helping me cope with my specific feelings and we instantly connected. She had me come up with therapy "goals" which gave me tangible items to work through during our sessions but my therapist also makes sure to incorporate "vent" time as well. My sessions are constructive, cathartic, and I am really glad I decided to take the plunge. I am working towards becoming my better self. And BetterHelp is a great tool to help me do that.

Length of Use: Less than 3 months

Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Pros and Cons

Ease of scheduling

Weekly therapy visits via video but also options to chat with therapist during the week

Worth the money

I think it might be a bit expensive for some people so definitely not accessible for everyone

Posted on Jan 21, 2021

Highly tailored support at my fingertips

By Elena F., United Kingdom, Verified Reviewer

I had been in therapy previously and, although the contexts are completely different, it is great to experience therapy sessions that do not feel "clinical" for a change. I joined BetterHelp to get some much-needed support through my grieving process, but after the first couple of sessions with my therapist, I decided to do this long term to explore other avenues beyond my current concern. My therapist's approach to therapy feels tailored to the needs I voice as well as to latent ones they pick up on. My therapist is extremely supportive and somehow always perfectly calibrates the balance between empathetic active listening and calls to action to every issue we explore. I am deeply grateful for the support I am receiving every week! Additionally, the groupinars are extremely helpful and the variety of topics seems to cover all relevant issues most of us deal with.

Length of Use: 3–6 months

Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Pros and Cons

Great match with my therapist

Highly tailored support

Great groupinars

No “cons” were specified in this review

Posted on Jan 21, 2021

Great service

By Kerissa V., Miami, FL, Verified Reviewer

I turned to BetterHelp during an extremely stressful time in my life and it was the best decision I could have made.

I have personally had two counselors. The first one I really liked, but didn't seem like the right fit. After a few weeks, I decided to switch and was matched with my current counselor whom I have been meeting with for 8 months or so. It was very easy to switch.

I like that there are many options for communicating with my counselor and don't feel like the online-based service is less helpful than in-person meetings. I choose to do video calls and I think it makes a big difference for creating a more human connection in my sessions.

BetterHelp's pricing is fair and makes this valuable service accessible to me. If you are investing in your mental health, you need to give it time which is the reason I choose to pay in advance - it saves a lot of money over the course of the year. I have recommended this service to many of my friends and family members and will continue to do so.

Length of Use: 6–12 months

Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Pros and Cons

Flexibility

Price

Highly qualified counselors

First counselor didn't reach out between sessions or check-in

Posted on Jan 20, 2021

I can be honest

By Diane H., Las Vegas, NV, Verified Reviewer

I loved that I am able to express my concerns honestly in messages and they are addressed later on either in messages or live sessions. My counselor was very kind and helped me through some tough times. She went above and beyond for me and offered her advice and guidance with respect and attention. I liked that I was able to talk to her live once a week and I felt much better after a few calls with her expressing the things that were bothering me which were causing stress and anxiety. She provided such good direct advice that has helped me and I will take with me forever.

Length of Use: 3–6 months

Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Pros and Cons

Counselor

Easy access

Privacy/secure

Connection issues with video sessions

Posted on Jan 20, 2021

Great counseling service

By Femi O., New York, Verified Reviewer

You are matched with a counselor based on your needs. The service can be a bit expensive. And the sessions are only half an hour. However, my counselor dives right in. Also, you are matched with a counselor based on your religious beliefs. Which is definitely a plus because you lead and end in prayer.

Length of Use: Less than 3 months

Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Pros and Cons

The interaction method

The ease of use of the app

The appointment flexibility

The price is a bit expensive

The sessions could be longer, 30 minutes is too short

Posted on Jan 20, 2021

BetterHelp truly is better

By Ashley L., Westford, MA, Verified Reviewer

BetterHelp has changed the way I view therapy. When you see someone once a week or once every couple of weeks, sometimes you forget all of the little things that have happened in the meantime that you had wanted to mention. Knowing that as I’m feeling extra anxious I can write out all of my concerns and that my counselor will get back to me within the next day to address them, is such a freeing feeling. It makes me feel heard and validated.

Length of Use: Less than 3 months

Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Pros and Cons

Freedom of time

Availability of schedule

Ease of use

Cost

Posted on Jan 19, 2021

BetterHelp, therapy at your own pace and comfort

By Cara C., Philadelphia, PA, Verified Reviewer

I prefer using this app for therapy for multiple reasons. There is no stress or pressure with in-person therapy sessions. I have access to my therapist at any time of the day. From the comfort of my home, I can journal, view professional mental health talks, and have online sessions either voice/video/or text.

Length of Use: 6–12 months

Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Pros and Cons

Multi-media capabilities

Professional

Access to mental health talks/papers/panels

Not enough people of color available

I asked for a black woman and received a white woman

Journaling interface

Posted on Jan 19, 2021

BetterHelp can help you!

By Stephen B., Canmore, Alberta, Canada, Verified Reviewer

I have been really impressed with BetterHelp and have used the platform for 6 months. The combination of journalling, video-counseling, and self-help talks is a useful mix to address any mental wellness issues.

The platform is well designed and the IT support has been very good. My counselor has been excellent and the ability to switch to another counselor is appealing if needed.

I have not felt the online platform has detracted from my counseling experience. If anything, I think the convenience of an online meeting and the other tools on the platform make this better than F2F counseling!

Give it a go. Your mental wellness is so important and BetterHelp is a great platform to use to look after that aspect of yourself.

Length of Use: 6–12 months

Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Pros and Cons

My great counselor

The online journal

The convenience of online therapy

Website design is a bit outdated

Posted on Jan 19, 2021

BetterHelp is better

By David S., Milwaukee, WI, Verified Reviewer

It’s convenient and does not sacrifice quality for it. My consoler is nice and practical, I think they put a lot of effort into getting people with the right consoler.

Length of Use: Less than 3 months

Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Pros and Cons

Ease of engagement

Friendly prices

Works on my schedule

No “cons” were specified in this review

Showing 133-143 of 1418

Our Promise to You

In order to safeguard you and ensure helpfulness and relevance, our compliance team manually assess every customer review before it goes live.

We have a zero-tolerance policy for fake reviews, and companies cannot control or alter any reviews at any time.