About Big Boss Oil-Less Fryer

The Big Boss Oil-less Fryer claims you will have the delicious taste of deep fried foods using just a spritz of oil. They say you can enjoy fried chicken or french fries up to 3x faster than regular deep frying and without the mess or extra calories.

The Big Boss Oil-Less Fryer website is brought to you by Digital Target Marketing, a marketer-for-hire that specializes in ASOTV products. There is no specific information available on the company behind it.

How Big Boss Oil-Less Fryer Works

The Big Boss is essentially a giant 16-quart glass bowl with a heating unit that attaches on top. They claim it uses a halogen light, convection, and infrared heat to “deep fry” foods. They also claim it’s easy to use, but advise you to read the manual and follow the cooking instructions in the recipe book.

For example, for fried chicken, they claim you should take the pieces, dipped in your favorite breading, and place inside the bowl on the provided tray. Then, they tell you to set the timer and temperature (400 degrees for 25 minutes) and that’s it—no pre-heating is required.

The manufacturer also makes a similar claim for french fries, saying they can be cooked with a setting of 450 degrees in 15 minutes. In fact, they also claim that your meal will be done three times faster and that you can make fish sticks, popcorn shrimp, steak, hot wings, kabobs, and chicken strips (for some recipes, they suggest using a small spritz of oil with the provided pump-sprayer.)

Despite how fast it cooks your food, the company claims the Oil-Less Fryer’s halogen light makes the food crispy on the outside, the convection element circulates heat evenly, and the infrared technology cooks from the inside-out which they say keeps it moist and delicious. Finally, they tout the Big Boss Oil-Less Fryer saves energy and is self-cleaning, but offer no other specific information.

The Big Boss Oil-Less Fryer is also claimed to provide “heart healthy” foods that have less oil, fat, grease, and calories. To outline this, one portion of french fries normally has 425 calories, but the Big Boss results in just 130 calories. They also state one portion of fried catfish has just 120 calories instead of 260 when you deep-fry. On top of this, you can also use Big Boss to broil, dehydrate, air-fry, bake, and cook meal-in-a-bag options.

Big Boss Oil-Less Fryer includes:

  • Base
  • 16-quart glass cooking unit
  • 1300-watt heating unit with timer
  • 2 wire racks
  • Mesh rack
  • Tongs
  • Extender ring
  • Oil sprayer bottle
  • User manual
  • Recipe book

Big Boss Oil-Less Fryer Pricing, Shipping, and Returns

Big Boss OIl-Less Fryer is sold on the company’s website for either 5 payments of $19.95 or one payment of $99.75. Either way, S & H is free. If you do not like the Big Boss, you can return for a full refund, but you must pay to ship it back to the manufacturer.

Bottom Line: Is Big Boss Oil-Less Fryer a Scam?

Many people seem to like their Big Boss Fryer, especially those with dietary restrictions, once they get the hang of using it. There are complaints, however, about its large size not being countertop or storage friendly; that it emits a lot of heat and takes longer than advertised; that it cooks some items unevenly; and that it’s essentially just baking foods like a standard convection oven, versus frying like a deep fryer. We do appreciate the free shipping and return policy, so if the Big Boss Oil-Less Fryer sounds appealing, you don’t have much to lose to try it (other than a few dollars in return S&H charges).

Sign Up for HighYa Newsletter

Sign up for HighYa newsletter and get our best content delivered in your inbox as well as 3 free eBooks to help you save money and shop smarter. Enter your email below to get started!

11 Consumer Reviews for Big Boss Oil-Less Fryer

Average Consumer Rating: 3.5
Rating Snapshot:
5 star: 6 4 star: 1 3 star: 0 2 star: 0 1 star:  4
Bottom Line: 82% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 1-11 of 11
Sort reviews by:

  • I love it but...

    I use this fryer/oven all the time. It works great except for french fries, but it does tater tots great. I cook most meats in it. Some people are complaining that it is not really a fryer, but the ones that are "fryers" have a Teflon coating inside and I have birds that the fumes emitted from that would kill my babies. I got the Boss due to no Teflon coating of sorts at all.

    The problem I have is the top of the control face where the temperature and time is written washes off. I've had to rewrite it on every time I clean it. Also, I wish you could unscrew the glass dome cover from the heating elements to clean it more efficiently.

    All in all, I love this cooker.

    P.S. I didn't receive a spray bottle with mine.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 2 out 2 people found this review helpful

    Not happy

    My sister Marilyn gave me this Big Boss for Christmas. My husband and I work out of town and sometimes are working two weeks at a time. By the time I got to open it, it was over 30 days because of our jobs.

    I used it for the first time last week and it didn’t work; the fan wouldn’t blow so it would get hot and shut off.

    I called the company and told them it didn’t work and they said because it was over 30 days and out of warranty, it was mine to do whatever I wanted to with. I asked them to give me the manufacture's phone number, and they gave it to me.

    It ended up being the shipping company. I send it to them, and they send it to the company, and I couldn’t get any more information than that.

    I wouldn’t buy anything from this company, and my sister said she’s never again going to either.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 5 out 12 people found this review helpful

    Big Boss Oil-Less Fryer

    • Ohio,
    • Jan 9, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    It doesn't work what so ever, and I'm sending mine back. I tried to make some chicken and it wouldn't even get hot. I tried for over 2 hours and still nothing. A Big Boss scam, that's all this is.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (2)
    View all 2 commentsHide comments
    • Feb 20, 2018

      LYN

      Why would you recommend it to a friend?

    • Feb 22, 2018

      Ricks

      I would not, that was a mistake.

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 4 out 6 people found this review helpful

    Big Boss halogen, counter top oven, great.

    I just received my Big Boss from Amazon.ca, great stuff. I already have two Flavorwave Turbo Ovens, one of which I have already replaced the halogen light, after about three years if use, got a package of 5 and 7/8" diameter (150mm) lights from China, where all of these things are made (the lights cost $75 CAN). It's back up and running, and I use it every day.

    I got the other Flavorwave and this Big Boss to use as proofing ovens for letting bread dough rise in. NO, I don't use the halogen light for heating or warming, just use the units as small proofing ovens, I use 25-watt standard bulbs in each along with a digital thermostat to keep the temperature down around 80 F or 25 C. Works great. Besides, I have extra ovens if I ever need them.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 3 out 3 people found this review helpful

    Great so far!

    • Wisconsin,
    • Dec 29, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    Our daughter bought us this air fryer for Christmas and we roasted a chicken last night, and it took one hour! I washed it with the self-washing after, nothing stuck. We just wanted to see how it worked, and it was pretty neat, LOL. I'm not sure how old this post is, but there was no oil spray bottle with the packaging, but I'm not sure it'll be needed. I really cannot wait to dive in to find out what I can cook/bake.

    On a side note, it would be great if the recipe book had a tad more baked goods recipes, like cake/cookie/muffin type. But I'm sure I can figure it out.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 5 out 6 people found this review helpful

    Use this thing all the time!

    • West Virginia,
    • Nov 21, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    I use my air fryer every day. I don't batter my food. I put the food on the racks, season, turn it on and watch it crisp up. Chicken legs are so juicy and crispy. The fat drips off them and collects on the bottom of the bowl. Super easy to clean up. My kids love grilled cheese and pizza made in it too. A DiGiorno pizza fits on the rack.

    I like that there's a timer on the fryer so it'll shut off automatically. Helps so I don't burn it. I love the glass bowl, I can check on the food without taking the lid off. I have a family of 4 and it's the perfect size.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 4 out 4 people found this review helpful

    Love it

    • Phoenix, AZ,
    • Oct 19, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    I got this a couple of years ago as a gift. I absolutely love it. I fixed a turkey breast this morning, and it took only 2 hours versus 5 in the oven. It didn't heat the kitchen up, which is a big plus in Pheonix, Arizona. It is so versatile. I can't say enough good things about it. I wish I could post pictures.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 6 out 7 people found this review helpful

    Great to cook with.

    • El Paso, Texas,
    • Apr 11, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    I purchased the Big Boss, used it three times and the halogen light failed. I purchased it from Amazon.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 10 out 38 people found this review helpful

    First thoughts

    • Oklahoma City,
    • Jan 25, 2016

    I just took my new Big Boss out of the box and separated all of the parts. I did not receive the spray bottle or an instruction manual. I did receive 3 cookbooks, one in English. Now, I'm not sure how to use this machine and am afraid of it. I was so excited to try it out and tell all my friends. I hate to have to tell them this.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Nov 20, 2017

      Sarah Light

      You should try the fryer, just experiment and watch some YouTube videoes. You're missing out.

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 18 out 20 people found this review helpful

    Great unit

    • Ontario Canada,
    • Nov 10, 2015

    We have been using ours now for chicken and fries. Not exactly like deep fried but very tasty. We love our unit. We use it 2-3 times a month. We have owned it for about 18 months. Until today I have no complaints. But while cooking chicken tonight for dinner the element quit working, seems to be no fix for it.

    Disappointed that it has not lasted longer considering we only use it 2-3 times a month. It is large to handle and store but we love the way it cooks. Considering buying a new one.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 21 out 25 people found this review helpful

    Best purchase ever!

    I saw this, or something similar on QVC years ago but I could not afford it. I considered putting off my house payment but I came to my senses and waited for the price to drop. I did not know it would take over 15 years to come down or I would have paid all that money for it then, really.

    The fried chicken is the best fried chicken ever, and I do not use any oil at all, I just coat it in Larry the Cable Guy's chicken coating and it put it in. the fat in the chicken comes out and uses that for the frying, and the excess chicken fat drips off into the bottom!

    Even my skinny health over-conscious daughter ate the skin because it was so healthy and tasty. She says I use too much oil to pop popcorn! Buy it, don't wait, you will not be disappointed, and they have great customer service and return policy, you can't go wrong!

    P.S For those with dogs, I put a pie in at the bottom for the drippings and make gravy for their food, they love the oven too!

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Feb 1, 2018

      Carol Ann Allen

      Has anyone ever used it for baking bread? If so, can you tell me the timing?

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


Showing 1-11 of 11

Write a Review for Big Boss Oil-Less Fryer!

Share your experience to help others shop smarter & discover great products.

Write a Review