Big Boss Oil-Less Fryer Reviews

Big Boss Oil-Less Fryer

Overall Rating

3.6

19 Customer Reviews

Summary

The Big Boss Oil-Less Fryer claims to help you enjoy all your favorite fried foods, but without as much unhealthy grease, as well as with reduced calories. See what customers are saying about this fryer.

Write a Review

Customer Reviews

3.6 Stars out of 19 Reviews
5 Star:52% 4 Star:15% 3 Star:0% 2 Star:0% 1 Star:31%
79% Recommend This Company
Start your review of Big Boss Oil-Less Fryer:
Sort Reviews By

Posted on Apr 8, 2015

Best purchase ever!

By Carol Ann Roberts, Gustine, CA, Verified Reviewer

I saw this, or something similar on QVC years ago but I could not afford it. I considered putting off my house payment but I came to my senses and waited for the price to drop. I did not know it would take over 15 years to come down or I would have paid all that money for it then, really.

The fried chicken is the best fried chicken ever, and I do not use any oil at all, I just coat it in Larry the Cable Guy's chicken coating and it put it in. the fat in the chicken comes out and uses that for the frying, and the excess chicken fat drips off into the bottom!

Even my skinny health over-conscious daughter ate the skin because it was so healthy and tasty. She says I use too much oil to pop popcorn! Buy it, don't wait, you will not be disappointed, and they have great customer service and return policy, you can't go wrong!

P.S For those with dogs, I put a pie in at the bottom for the drippings and make gravy for their food, they love the oven too!

Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 22 People Have Voted

Posted on Nov 10, 2015

Great unit

By Gisele , Ontario Canada

We have been using ours now for chicken and fries. Not exactly like deep fried but very tasty. We love our unit. We use it 2-3 times a month. We have owned it for about 18 months. Until today I have no complaints. But while cooking chicken tonight for dinner the element quit working, seems to be no fix for it.

Disappointed that it has not lasted longer considering we only use it 2-3 times a month. It is large to handle and store but we love the way it cooks. Considering buying a new one.

Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 22 People Have Voted

Posted on Jan 25, 2016

First thoughts

By Karen , Oklahoma City

I just took my new Big Boss out of the box and separated all of the parts. I did not receive the spray bottle or an instruction manual. I did receive 3 cookbooks, one in English. Now, I'm not sure how to use this machine and am afraid of it. I was so excited to try it out and tell all my friends. I hate to have to tell them this.

Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 12 People Have Voted

Posted on Mar 10, 2018

Not happy

By Vickie Southerland, Oklahoma City, OK, Verified Reviewer

My sister Marilyn gave me this Big Boss for Christmas. My husband and I work out of town and sometimes are working two weeks at a time. By the time I got to open it, it was over 30 days because of our jobs.

I used it for the first time last week and it didn’t work; the fan wouldn’t blow so it would get hot and shut off.

I called the company and told them it didn’t work and they said because it was over 30 days and out of warranty, it was mine to do whatever I wanted to with. I asked them to give me the manufacture's phone number, and they gave it to me.

It ended up being the shipping company. I send it to them, and they send it to the company, and I couldn’t get any more information than that.

I wouldn’t buy anything from this company, and my sister said she’s never again going to either.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 9 People Have Voted

Posted on Apr 11, 2017

Great to cook with.

By Kim Martin, El Paso, Texas, Verified Reviewer

I purchased the Big Boss, used it three times and the halogen light failed. I purchased it from Amazon.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 8 People Have Voted

Posted on Nov 21, 2017

Use this thing all the time!

By Sarah Light, West Virginia, Verified Reviewer

I use my air fryer every day. I don't batter my food. I put the food on the racks, season, turn it on and watch it crisp up. Chicken legs are so juicy and crispy. The fat drips off them and collects on the bottom of the bowl. Super easy to clean up. My kids love grilled cheese and pizza made in it too. A DiGiorno pizza fits on the rack.

I like that there's a timer on the fryer so it'll shut off automatically. Helps so I don't burn it. I love the glass bowl, I can check on the food without taking the lid off. I have a family of 4 and it's the perfect size.

Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 8 People Have Voted

Posted on Jan 9, 2018

Big Boss Oil-Less Fryer

By Ricks, Ohio, Verified Reviewer

It doesn't work what so ever, and I'm sending mine back. I tried to make some chicken and it wouldn't even get hot. I tried for over 2 hours and still nothing. A Big Boss scam, that's all this is.

Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 8 People Have Voted

Posted on Jun 29, 2018

A user of this type of ovens for 30 years

By Chuck T., Ontario, Canada, Verified Reviewer

I have been using these super useful tabletop ovens for half my life.

As a rule, they are extremely versatile and easy to use. I cook for two people and they do a great job. The first oven I had lasted 10 years (not a Big Boss). Eventually, they started to burn out in 5 years then down to 2. This brings me to the Big Boss.

About 4 years ago I needed a replacement. The only oven I could find locally was a Big Boss at Walmart. I just wanted regular heating with the halogen. So I bought it.

It took a while to get used to it. But it was faster and did a good job once I got used to it. Two years later it died. I purchased a new one. This one lasted 8 months. I was going to call customer service but needed a replacement right away so I ordered from Walmart online. This one died in 4 months. Ok, just call customer service, right? Wrong. The phone number and website are gone. The contact name on mine was Deni. I checked Amazon and there are now numerous brands of this type of ovens.

So now a review of when it was working.

These ovens are amazing. You can cook 2 steaks in about 15 minutes. Bacon in 10 minutes. Amazing burgers in under 15 minutes while cooking the bacon at the same time. Best part - all the oil and grease ends up in the bottom of the bowl. I keep a pie plate on the bottom just to catch the droppings. You will not believe how much fat gets collected in a month. I use this for most of my cooking and heating. I use it every day. It cannot cook pizza, but it does a great job reheating it. By the way, if you are using this oven, I use a low rack sitting on a pie plate. I find using the high rack tends to burn the food and the heating element turns off and on to many times.

As a conclusion, this type of oven is amazing. A very useful replacement for a frying pan and normal oven. I await my new unit (not a Big Boss) from Amazon. I recommend this type of oven. They cost under $100 these days, and if I get a year's use before they burn out, I feel its money well spent.

I highly recommend this type of oven, just not the Big Boss model. Unless they send me their correct contact information and replace the 2 heating elements that lasted less than a year.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 8 People Have Voted

Posted on Oct 19, 2017

Love it

By June, Phoenix, AZ, Verified Reviewer

I got this a couple of years ago as a gift. I absolutely love it. I fixed a turkey breast this morning, and it took only 2 hours versus 5 in the oven. It didn't heat the kitchen up, which is a big plus in Pheonix, Arizona. It is so versatile. I can't say enough good things about it. I wish I could post pictures.

Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 7 People Have Voted

Posted on Jan 8, 2018

Big Boss halogen, counter top oven, great.

By Gordon Steeves, Alberta, Canada, Verified Reviewer

I just received my Big Boss from Amazon.ca, great stuff. I already have two Flavorwave Turbo Ovens, one of which I have already replaced the halogen light, after about three years if use, got a package of 5 and 7/8" diameter (150mm) lights from China, where all of these things are made (the lights cost $75 CAN). It's back up and running, and I use it every day.

I got the other Flavorwave and this Big Boss to use as proofing ovens for letting bread dough rise in. NO, I don't use the halogen light for heating or warming, just use the units as small proofing ovens, I use 25-watt standard bulbs in each along with a digital thermostat to keep the temperature down around 80 F or 25 C. Works great. Besides, I have extra ovens if I ever need them.

Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 6 People Have Voted

Posted on Apr 28, 2018

I love it but...

By Eva-lynn DellaGuardia, Deltona, FL, Verified Reviewer

I use this fryer/oven all the time. It works great except for french fries, but it does tater tots great. I cook most meats in it. Some people are complaining that it is not really a fryer, but the ones that are "fryers" have a Teflon coating inside and I have birds that the fumes emitted from that would kill my babies. I got the Boss due to no Teflon coating of sorts at all.

The problem I have is the top of the control face where the temperature and time is written washes off. I've had to rewrite it on every time I clean it. Also, I wish you could unscrew the glass dome cover from the heating elements to clean it more efficiently.

All in all, I love this cooker.

P.S. I didn't receive a spray bottle with mine.

Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 6 People Have Voted

Posted on Dec 29, 2017

Great so far!

By Jeni, Wisconsin, Verified Reviewer

Our daughter bought us this air fryer for Christmas and we roasted a chicken last night, and it took one hour! I washed it with the self-washing after, nothing stuck. We just wanted to see how it worked, and it was pretty neat, LOL. I'm not sure how old this post is, but there was no oil spray bottle with the packaging, but I'm not sure it'll be needed. I really cannot wait to dive in to find out what I can cook/bake.

On a side note, it would be great if the recipe book had a tad more baked goods recipes, like cake/cookie/muffin type. But I'm sure I can figure it out.

Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 5 People Have Voted

Posted on Jan 21, 2019

Don't work and cost to return is half of the price paid.

By Dwight W., Shelton, NE, Verified Reviewer

We received Big Boss Fryer as a gift from our children. It doesn't work out of the box. We are instructed to return it for a replacement by our children. It will cost over $42.00 in shipping to return for replacement. In a dilemma, we can't pay shipping cost and don't want to disappoint children when they ask about it. I would not recommend based on that reasoning.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 5 People Have Voted

Posted on Nov 25, 2018

Great Customer Service!

By Arla M., Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada, Verified Reviewer

I bought my Big Boss Oil-less Fryer a while back.

I had stored it in the closet and the bowl broke. I called the customer service department to see if I could get a replacement. The glass bowl arrived quickly and did not have a bill with it. I am waiting for my credit card bill to see if there is a charge on there. The customer service was polite, efficient and hopefully, I do not have a charge on my credit card. A happy customer who is eating better!

Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 4 People Have Voted

Posted on May 7, 2019

Great

By Cin H., Portland, OR, Verified Reviewer

We got the Big Boss Air Fryer over a year ago and it is still going strong. Some of the decals have smeared and worn off but well after we were used to the settings. I wish the timer were digital because the clicking sound is annoying, but the air fryer works fantastic. We have it in our counter in the corner and use it multiple times per day. I honestly don't think we will ever stop using it. The glass bowl is great because it can go directly into the dishwasher and you can see your food while cooking and none of the others we looked at have that option. Helps keep things from getting too cooked. We have never used oil at all. We love it.

Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 3 People Have Voted

Posted on Mar 23, 2019

Big Boss Fryer

By Liz E., Florida, Verified Reviewer

I bought the Big Boss Fryer back in November and the fan did not turn on. I was very disappointed. I decided to reorder it since some friends made a 15-pound turkey and it was the best turkey by far. This time it worked. I am very impressed. I have had fish sticks, bacon, thick pork chops, French fries and even made 2 large yellowtail fish and it came out as we fried them. I love this product!

Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 2 People Have Voted

Posted on Dec 31, 2018

Bakes great

By DC B., Sacramento, CA, Verified Reviewer

I've baked whole chickens and they came out delicious, and took about 1 hour and 20 minutes. I had to turn the chickens over, so one side didn't look raw. It cooked fries ok, but it took about half an hour. The fried chicken was ok if you like it "finger licking good," but I like mine crispy. Maybe it'll get better as I use it more. I remember when I got my first air fryer everything I cooked was disastrous and I didn't touch it for months. Finally, I challenged it again and now can't do without it.

Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 1 Person Has Voted

Posted on Mar 28, 2019

Works great but...

By Keith-Cordell R., Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada, Verified Reviewer

I have had this unit for eight months. The way it cooks is great, so is the confidence once you get used to it. However, there are some annoying issues, such as the decals for time wear off very easy, and I was only using warm water. I will most likely get another convection unit, but because of the decals on the dial and timer, it will most likely be another brand.

I will recommend this to a friend with the advisory of the decals wearing off.

Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 1 Person Has Voted

Posted on Aug 19, 2020

Love it

By Frank L., Grifton, NC, Verified Reviewer

I have had mine for years and love it. It makes the best fried chicken, french fries, steak, and chicken fingers. I bought a new one, different brand, and ended up getting my Big Boss fryer back out because it works better and is easier to clean.

Length of Use: 2+ years

Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Pros and Cons

Great grease-less air fryer

My cousin and I bought ours at the same time. His had a cook book and mine did not have one but I was not going to drive back over an hour to take it back and trying to find the site is crazy.

Showing 1-19 of 19

Our Promise to You

In order to safeguard you and ensure helpfulness and relevance, our compliance team manually assess every customer review before it goes live.

We have a zero-tolerance policy for fake reviews, and companies cannot control or alter any reviews at any time.