What Is Biocilium?

By HighYa Research Team
Published on: Dec 31, 2016

Using a blend of folic acid, biotin, and other multivitamins, Biocilium hair health support supplement promises to nourish your hair follicles and provide them with the essential nutrients they need to regrow.

By energizing follicle growth, the manufacturer claims that Biocilium’s intensive nourishment may also help naturally thicken hair, as well as prevent future damage from occurring.

What's the deal here? If you're one of the millions of men (or women!) who is currently experiencing hair loss, have you finally found a solution with Biocilium?

Or, is all of this just more overblown marketing hype for nothing more than an overpriced sugar pill?

Here, we’ll discuss what we learned during our research and leave the final decision up to you.

Your Quick Reference Hair Supplements Buyer’s Guide

Before understanding how Biocilium might address hair loss, we first need to know what causes it. Stick with us as we quickly run through the details.

In Laymen's Terms, How Does Hair Grow?

The human head contains about 100,000 hairs, each made up of protein filaments. These filaments grow from individual cells formed in the root of follicles, where they slowly push up until exiting the scalp.

Hair doesn’t constantly grow, though. Instead, there are three distinct stages: 1) Anagen, the growth stage that lasts 2-6 years; 2) telogen, the rest phase that lasts about 100 days; and 3) catagen, the phase in between.

Now, what can cause this process to temporarily stall, or stop altogether?

What Can Cause Hair Loss and Is It Possible to Regrow with Products like Biocilium?

There are likely thousands of different conditions that can cause hair to become unhealthy and fall out, including medical conditions (e.g. diabetes and vitamin deficiencies), some medications, too much stress, and heart disease.

By far the most common cause is male or female pattern baldness, which itself is caused by a hormonal imbalance that results in the gradual shrinking of hair follicles. The hair produced by these follicles becomes increasingly thinner until they eventually cease producing hair at all.

There are some products, such as topical treatments like Rogaine and prescription medications like Propecia, that can help delay this process. Often, though, they'll stop working after a couple of years or come with some unwanted side effects.

Are There a Lot of Different Hair Supplements?

Because of this, thousands of men and women have started turning to “natural” supplements like Biocilium over the past several years to reduce hair loss and improve thickness. As a result, hundreds of products have entered the market in order to meet this demand.

We’ve reviewed many of these competing options here at HighYa, including TLS Hair, Hairburst, Hairfinity, Viviscal, and Hair Vitality. This is to say nothing about the other topical treatments and systems like Hair La Vie, Ovation Hair, and E-VOSS Hair Loss Control.

Including Biocilium, how can you possibly decide which of these is right for you?

First, if you browse through feedback for many of the products above, you’ll quickly learn that many customers claimed to have experienced no results, making them feel like their high prices weren’t worth it. Additionally, many found it next to impossible to cancel their free trials and autoship programs.

Obviously, without testing it firsthand, we’re not necessarily saying this is the case with Biocilium. But based on the frequency of this feedback, it’s definitely worth noting.

Second, as we outlined in Everything You Need to Know About Hair Supplements, most of these supplements feature ingredients that haven’t been clearly shown to provide real-world hair-related benefits. Is it the same for Biocilium?

Are Biocilium’s Ingredients Effective?

Important note: The manufacturer appears to have made a substantial change to Biocilium’s ingredients since first writing our review in December 2016. Whereas the original formulation listed Biotin, Vitamin C, Folic Acid, Silica (Silicon), and Beta Carotene, the updated list now shows:

  • Ginkgo Biloba (24% extract) 50mg
  • Phosphatidylserine Complex 125mg
  • Acetyl-L-Carnitine 50mg
  • St. John's Wort (0.3% hypericin) 250mg
  • Glutamine (L-Glutamine HCL) 150mg
  • DMAE Bitartrate 50mg
  • Bacopin (20% Bacosides) 100mg

Will any of these substances help regrow hair, pause or stop the hair loss process, or otherwise improve hair quality?

In short: According to authoritative websites like WebMD and Examine.com, there is insufficient clinical evidence for these ingredients. In fact, many of these new ones are commonly found in memory and testosterone supplements; not hair supplements.

And here's why: 240-600mg of ginkgo per day may help improve mental function and reduce anxiety, while 300mg of phosphatidylserine daily and 1,500-4,000mg of acetyl-l-carnitine have both been shown to help address some aspects of Alzheimer’s and age-related memory loss.

300mg to 2,000mg of DMAE per day has been shown to help with symptoms of depression and 300mg of bacopa (active ingredient bacopin) have been shown to help improve memory and thinking in otherwise healthy individuals.

The problem is that, even if Biocilium were marketed as a brain supplement, based on what we learned from authoritative websites, it doesn’t contain high enough concentrations of most ingredients to make a meaningful impact.

As far as the original list of ingredients? All of these vitamins are critically important for human health. Vitamin C, for example, helps make collagen, which is basically the “glue” that keeps our body together.

As a result, if you’re deficient in any of them, you can experience some nasty side effects—hair loss included.

However, authoritative sites like WebMD indicate there’s insufficient evidence showing these ingredients can help reverse hair loss, regrow hair, or improve thickness in otherwise healthy individuals.

The question to ask here is how exactly will Biocilium's ingredients address your hair health.

Looking for something to point you in the right direction? Folica.com provides a detailed list of ingredients that have been clinically shown to address hair loss and/or improve hair quality—none of which appear to be featured in Biocilium.

Will Biocilium’s Ingredients Cause Any Side Effects?

Except in the rarest of instances, it doesn’t appear than Biocilium’s ingredients will cause anything worse than mild, temporary digestive upset.

However, in some instances, acetyl-l-carnitine can cause a "fishy" odor of the urine, breath, and sweat; ginkgo may cause a forceful heartbeat and allergic skin reactions, and St. Johns Wort might cause trouble sleeping, vivid dreams, restlessness, anxiety, and irritability.

Bacopa may lead to dry mouth and fatigue, while deanol can sometimes cause insomnia, confusion, depression, and even unwanted movements of the face and mouth.

Finally, phosphatidylserine has been used in research studies for up to six months, so long-term safety isn’t fully understood.

How Much Does Biocilium Cost?

There seemed to be some confusion about how much Biocilium costs. For example, on the left side of the ordering screen, the following prices were listed:

  • 1 Bottle: $59.99
  • 3 Bottles: $119.97
  • 5 Bottles: $139.95
  • 7 Bottles: $188

We also found the following text underneath the credit card field:

  • 7 Bottle Membership - You will be billed $139.97 and sent a fresh 5 month supply in 150 days.
  • 5 Bottle Membership - You will be billed $119.97 and send a fresh 3 month supply in 90 days.
  • 3 Bottle Membership - You will be billed $94 and send a fresh 2 month supply in 60 days.
  • 1 Bottle Membership - You will be billed $49.99 and send a fresh 1 month supply in 30 days.

It appears this membership will cost you $9.99 per month, in addition to the cost of your products.

There wasn’t any shipping or refund information available listed on the Biocilium website.

As a result, we reached out to the company for more information at contact@getBiocilium.com and customer@getBiocilium.com. As of 2/6/17 (a month and a half after sending) we hadn’t received a response.

A Quick Note About Biocilium’s Arbitration

In a nutshell, an arbitration agreement is a contract between two parties who have agreed to settle a dispute outside of the court system. This means you’ll be waiving some important rights as soon place your Biocilium order, including a trial by jury or becoming part of a class action lawsuit.

How Can You Decide If Biocilium Is the Right Hair Supplement?

As we mentioned at the beginning, our goal isn't to tell you what to do with your hard-earned money. Instead, it's to provide you with the information and allow you to make up your own mind.

At the same time, we’re consumers too! And based on our experience reviewing hundreds of nutritional supplements (many of which directly compete with Biocilium), as well as reading thousands of reviews from consumers just like you, we have a handful of concerns:

1. Ingredients, Clinical Evidence, & Dosage

Yes, it’s positive that Biocilium’s manufacturer chose to provide an ingredients label and dosages on the supplement’s website.

However, there seems to be a vast difference between their original formulation and their updated list of ingredients, so we’re not quite sure what’s going on here. But, more important is the fact that neither of these ingredients lists contains any substances—according to authoritative websites—that can address hair loss or hair quality in any meaningful way.

Furthermore, even if Biocilium was marketed for purposes that have plenty of clinical support (addressing memory, for example), it doesn’t seem to contain enough to deliver.

Taken together, the clinical evidence doesn’t seem to support any of the manufacturer’s claims.

2. What Do We Know About the Manufacturer?

Biocilium's URL was just over a month old at the time of our research, so the supplement hadn't been around long enough to garner any customer feedback. Their registration information was also masked so that we couldn't learn more information about the company.

Speaking of the website, it featured multiple spelling and grammatical errors.

Taken together, this gives us pause, especially since we’re discussing a product that you’ll ingest. And in this instance, you’re basically putting a largely unknown substance in your body from an almost completely anonymous company.

3. Missing Information

Finally, because this is something you’ll be putting in your body, we think any reputable manufacturer should provide as much information as possible. From this perspective, can we trust that this updated formula truly represents the ingredients contained in the supplement?

Considering that it’s vastly different than the original ingredients list, and that authoritative sites report none of these new ingredients will have any impact on hair loss or quality, we’ll leave the answer up to you. At the very least, it’s our opinion that you should be wary before placing your order.

Also, because you work hard for your money, you deserve to know the correct prices, refund details (including restocking fees and restrictions), and shipping costs.

We reached out to the manufacturer about each of these concerns, and we’ll be sure to update this review as soon as a response is received.

In the meantime, we'd recommend speaking with your doctor about your different options for addressing hair loss. While you’re there, you can also ask what they think about supplements like Biocilium.

Did you purchase Biocilium? How long did you use it? Did it provide real-world hair growth? Tell us in your review below!

Sign Up for HighYa Newsletter

Sign up for HighYa newsletter and get our best content delivered in your inbox as well as 3 free eBooks to help you save money and shop smarter. Enter your email below to get started!


Read 27 Biocilium Customer Reviews and Complaints

Write a Review
Average Consumer Rating: 1.1
Rating Snapshot:
5 star: 0 4 star: 0 3 star: 0 2 star: 2 1 star:  25
Bottom Line: 0% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 1-11 of 27
Sort reviews by:

  • 64 out 65 people found this review helpful

    Biocilium

    I have never done this before but I am very frustrated after ordering this product on December 21st.

    I called again on January 3rd and was told it was reshipped (when I asked where the product was). On January 16th I called again and was told it was shipped, but after talking a bit, he told me it was on hold. After several questions to him, he had to admit it had not been sent.

    It was so confusing that I called again on January 19th, and this time I was told it was not shipped. I was told to watch for an email in three days with a notice of shipment. So today, January 23rd, I called to check again, as I had no email about the shipment.

    I did get a refund of $59.99 for some prostate medication that I did not even want, and also was refunded partially for this not being taken care of. I appreciated that but still wanted to receive the product. Now they are telling me after three calls today (two of which they very quickly read their policy and hung up) that if canceled I only get a partial refund.

    So when does a company give a partial refund when it is their fault that the product has never been sent? Anyone out there have any advice? It is the company I am reviewing, as the product never came!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 63 out 65 people found this review helpful

    Wrong product

    • Maryland,
    • Feb 14, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    I placed an order on 1/5/17 of Biocilium for female hair growth. I finally received a package on 1/26/17, but with two bottles of Proactive Prostate Support tablets. I was charged $59.99 and $119.97.

    What am I to do with prostate support tablets and where do I send this back too? I am very angry with the service and will not order anything again. The company should be ashamed to allow this.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 57 out 58 people found this review helpful

    Never arrived

    • Kennewick, WA,
    • Jan 28, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    First, I was billed $119.97 for only three bottles. I ordered it on 12/29/16 and was told when I called the company on 1/9/17 that there was a hold on my order and it would be shipped out immediately.

    As of this morning 1/18/17, I still haven't received my order. When I called again, I was told that it had shipped on the 9th, but they would not have a tracking number for me until next week. When I shared that I believed this was a scammy company, I was offered a 30% refund on my order! I argued until I was told I would get a 100% refund. We'll see if that happens.

    The product sounds good, and I was looking forward to trying it. This experience has been nothing but frustrating.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 55 out 56 people found this review helpful

    Never received

    • Doylestown, PA,
    • Feb 24, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    I ordered Biocillium in early February, and as of February 23rd, I have not received it.

    I called last week, and customer service said it was in Atlanta on its way, and provided me with a tracking number. The girl said it should be arriving Tuesday, February 21st and gave me a tracking number. Today is 2/23/17, and I have not received my order. I tried tracking the order with the number provided and the number is bogus. I tried calling the customer service number again, and it is out of service.

    There is no way to reach this company. DO NOT order this product or deal with these people.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 39 out 39 people found this review helpful

    Scam

    So I ordered the item. They said that I ordered more than what I did and wouldn't refund me. I only got back 40 percent of what I paid. They also said that my order would be here in two weeks, but it has been a month. I called to find out where my order was, but the number is no longer in service. Scam.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 34 out 34 people found this review helpful

    Attention: I have unusual heartbeat when taking one a day!

    • Los Angeles, CA,
    • Feb 28, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    I have a noticeable heartbeat after an hour taking one pill a day, and my hair quality felt thin. I am depressed over the whole process, so is it normal and maybe is not good hearing your heart beat? What should I do?

    Please advise and guide! Thank you.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 30 out 30 people found this review helpful

    A victim

    I saw the ad for this product online and it was supposed to be on a special "buy one, get one free for only $29.99." That caught me, and I decided to place an order, which I did.

    After I placed the order, I decided to check my bank account and I realized that they took $59.99 for the product. I called them back and was told that the price is $59.99. I said, "Well, I don't want it so put my money back on the card." He put me on hold and them came back and told me he spoke with the Supervisor and they can offer me 40% back. I took that offer, and they refunded me the difference.

    I was told the product would coming in a couple of days. Almost two weeks pass and I did not receive the product. I called them back, and the person on the phone said that they mailed it out and because there was an error with the address it was returned to them. I verified the address with him, and again he said I would get it in a couple if days.

    Now, this is the month of April, and I still have not received the product. I tried calling the telephone number, and I cannot get them. The number seemed to be associated with another company. I am advising people not to buy this product.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 30 out 33 people found this review helpful

    Do not buy

    • Layton, UT,
    • Apr 23, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    I'm now on my third bottle of Biocilium. I ordered four bottles because it saved so much money. However, after almost finishing my third bottle, I can honestly say that I have regrown not one single hair.

    I have taken the pills exactly as the instructions on the bottle said and have not missed a single dose. So, this does not work.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 21 out 22 people found this review helpful

    Don't be fooled by them!

    • San Diego, CA,
    • May 4, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    I ordered three bottles, and they said I would have one or two bottles for free. They actually don't put the price in their ads, but they will only tell you once you tried to click the "order now," and you already have given them all of your information, including your card. That's the time that you will be able to see how much it is per bottle. I saw that the price per bottle is about $29(?). I thought it's fair enough because if I buy three plus one bottles, the price will go down.

    When I clicked the "order now," the total price still didn't show up. I only got to know how much did they charge me was when my bank emailed me an alert. So I got the most shocking thing in my life! I was charged for $188.00(?)! For three bottles plus a free bottle? Holy cow.

    I immediately called the company and mind you, the lady over the phone said that they cannot reverse anything and that I just have to wait for the order to come. I said to cancel it right away. The lady said, no they cannot do that. I told them I just ordered it two minutes ago and yet they can't stop my order. The lady was persistent not to do anything, so I didn't stop yelling at them and called my bank and filed a dispute. Then after few seconds, I received an email that they finally canceled it.

    This product for sure is fake! Don't be fooled by them. The price is hidden because they have a hidden agenda to fool people!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 17 out 18 people found this review helpful

    It is beyond a doubt a scam!

    On 4/6/17 I made a three-bottle order of Biocilium. The Biocilium folks charged my credit card immediately and then took off for the hills. I still have not received the product.

    This is one of the most blatant scams by a bunch of very practiced shysters that I have seen. When you realize that they are not legit and you google "Biocilium," there are numerous comments and reviews, virtually all of which were apparently placed by the ITs within Biocilium. When you try to call them at the (888) 777-8113, you get some poor $3.00 an hour answering service clerk who can only tell you that he/she will pass your name on to the shysters and they will contact you.

    I'm almost ashamed to be pulled into this scam, however, who doesn't want a full head of hair. I now will contact my credit card company to retrieve my $120 and proceed to contact both state and federal agencies who police such scams. I only hope that this site was not set up by the Biocilium crooks.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 16 out 17 people found this review helpful

    Ordered Biocilium, but have not received it

    I order Biocilium and was charged on my credit card, but I never received the product. It's been about one month, and they did not send me what I should have received. They should let you know how long before you could expect to receive the product.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

Showing 1-11 of 27

Write a Review for Biocilium!

Share your experience to help others shop smarter & discover great products.

Write a Review