What is Bionic Steel Hose?

Published on: Feb 10, 2017

Featuring a pressure resistant inner lining and a flexible, puncture proof, stainless steel outer housing, Bionic Steel Hose promises to deliver super-tough performance, avoid cracking in the sun, deter corrosion and rust, and to be more durable than any standard garden hose.

In fact, the commercial shows Bionic Steel Hose working perfectly after being dragged through sharp objects, grinded with a power tool, frozen in a block of ice, and even set on fire.

Despite its tough metal coating, though, we’re told that Bionic Steel weighs less than three pounds and its compact, patented design will never twist, tangle, or kink, so it’s perfect for homeowners and professionals alike.

But is the Bionic Steel Hose worth the money? Are there any other competing products? Is it really indestructible?

Let’s kick things off by taking a look at the competition.

Is Bionic Steel Hose a Unique Product and Is There Any Customer Feedback?

Is Bionic Steel Hose swimming in competition? Not at the time of our research.

However, we recently wrote an article about Flex Steel Hose. And based on what we can tell (we didn’t test either product firsthand), it and Bionic Steel appear to be identical in every meaningful respect.

What’s going on here? Over there years, the HighYa team has reviewed more than 800 As Seen on TV products, and we’ve learned that it’s not uncommon for companies to ‘share’ products and sell them at the same time.

Based on this overall lack of competition, we might be able to logically deduce one of two things: Either, 1) these stainless steel-wrapped hoses represent a legitimately revolutionary idea currently only offered by a couple of companies, or 2) no one else sells them because it’s a flawed concept.

Unfortunately, without any online customer feedback, it’s impossible to realistically understand which way the situation is headed with Bionic Steel Hose.

While we're not told exactly who it is, it appears that Bionic Steel's manufacturer also makes Forever Comfy, a foam seat cushion. Overall, customers seemed to give it a middle-of-the-road rating; some were pleased with its performance, while others complained it didn't live up to its promises.

With this said, it’s important to note two things: First, since this is a completely different product, so we’re certainly not saying you can expect the same with Bionic Steel Hose.

Second, this is the most common complaint among all ASOTV products, not just those from Bionic Steel’s manufacturer.

Now, how does Bionic Steel compare to Flex Steel from a price perspective?

How Much Does Bionic Steel Hose Cost?

The 25' Bionic Steel Hose is priced at $19.95 plus $6.95 S&H. You can order a second during checkout for an additional $6.95 fee.

Not unsurprisingly, Flex Steel is priced similarly at $19.99 plus $7.99 S&H. Flex Steel is also available in 50', 75', and 100' lengths.

According to the commercial, additional Bionic Steel Hose sizes are also available by calling customer service at 866-304-4271. We contacted support at this number twice, although both times we waited on hold 5+ minutes without anyone picking up, until we decided to disconnect the call.

Regardless, all Bionic Steel Hoses come with a 30-day money back guarantee, less S&H. This is important to keep in mind if you plan on taking advantage of the BOGO offer.

Whether online or lining the aisles of your local home improvement store come springtime, you’ll find that Bionic Steel (and its close competition) is priced similarly.

But will Bionic Steel’s stainless steel exterior feasibly provide more value for the same amount of money?

How Does Bionic Steel Hose Compare to Traditional Garden Hoses?

Most consumer-grade garden hoses are constructed of vinyl, rubber, or a combination of the two (specifically, PVC).

Pro tip: Safe water drinking hoses (aka fresh water hoses) are typically made with nickel or plastic fittings and constructed of medical-grade vinyl. Bionic Steel Hose doesn’t claim to meet these criteria, so don’t plan on taking a sip on a hot day this summer.

Higher-end rubber hoses usually feature embedded nylon or polyester cord for reinforcement.

Because of this, as well as their thickness, they’re durable and not very prone to kinking or puncturing caused by everyday use. However, they’re heavy and need to be kept away from UV exposure.

Vinyl hoses, on the other hand, are often lighter and less expensive, although they’re easiest to puncture and have a tendency to kink.

Given Bionic Steel’s construction, it certainly seems to address the kinking issue. Will it provide more durability, though?

Again, we didn’t test Bionic Steel Hose ourselves. However, we think there are a handful of important points to keep in mind:

First, whether stainless steel, rubber, or vinyl (especially if reinforced), you can freeze pretty much any hose in water and still have it work—as long as there’s not frozen water inside the hose, either.

Second, grazing a regular garden hose (again, especially one that’s reinforced) with a power grinder in a light, side-to-side motion probably wouldn’t puncture it, either.

Obviously, this isn’t something you’d want to do on a regular basis, but for demonstration purposes, we don’t think this stunt in the Bionic Steel commercial necessarily amounts to anything more than ASOTV showmanship.

Finally, BobVila.com tells us that even the least expensive traditional garden hoses feature two-layer designs, while upper-end models feature six. So it doesn’t seem like Bionic’s two-layer construction (an inner lining and metal shell) is necessarily unique.

In fact, without this inner lining, it seems like Bionic Steel’s linked metal shell would quickly leak water. More than anything then, this lining appears to be more of a functional necessity than a real-world benefit.

In the end, what does all of this mean for you?

Is Bionic Steel the Six Million Dollar Hose?

When it comes to Bionic Steel Hose, what are we looking at here? Is this some marvelous feat of engineering, accomplished only by the greatest minds in consumer products?

Or, is this some half-baked idea that a couple of companies are using as guinea pigs to test consumer demand? Again, we can't know since we didn't test it.

However, if it comes down to a choice between Bionic Steel and Flex Steel, the former comes with less expensive shipping charges, while the latter features a longer 60-day refund policy.

Either way, though, keep in mind that your original S&H charges (as well as whatever it costs you to ship them back) aren’t refundable if you process a return. Just remember that, like us, you might experience some difficulty reaching customer service.

Before you go, tell us about your decision regarding Bionic Steel Hose. Did you make the right choice, or did it fail miserably? Give us some insight below in your review.

What to Learn How to Shop Smarter for TV Products?

Join over 3 million HighYa readers who receive weekly how-to guides, tips & reviews and get a FREE COPY of our 145 Scam Hacks e-book. Enter your email below to get started!

15 Consumer Reviews for Bionic Steel Hose

Average Consumer Rating: 1.4
Rating Snapshot:
5 star: 0 4 star: 0 3 star: 2 2 star: 2 1 star:  11
Bottom Line: 13% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 1-11 of 15
Sort reviews by:

  • 1 out 2 people found this review helpful

    Leaking Bionic Hose

    • Dayton, OH,
    • Sep 11, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    The Bionic Steel Hose is light weight but the hose to faucet connection started to leak after only a few times it was used. The hose was not unusually used before it started to leak.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 2 out 3 people found this review helpful

    Bionic Hose, NOT bionic

    • California,
    • Sep 1, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    I bought three; 25 ft, 50 ft, and 100 ft ones. Within 2-3 weeks, like with other consumers, coils unraveled. I considered mending it with Flex Tape to prevent more unraveling, but I might try customer service for a replacement or refund. The box says "Lifetime Guarantee." I got the 100 ft from Fry's Electronics, 50 ft from Publishers Clearing House (good 5+ weeks to arrive), and the 25 ft one, I think, was from Rite Aid as I was waiting for the 50 ft one to arrive. The 25 ft one is good so far, but there are no bricks, rocks, etc. obstacles to pull over.

    I recommend the hose for gentle use (DON'T gentle tug or risk coils unraveling), but if you're tough on hoses, I would not recommend. Bionic Hose is not all it claimed to be, but the Flex & rubber hoses haven't survived my terrain/usage either. Two sayings to live by: If it sounds too good to be true, it probably is" and "only believe about 50% of what someone says/claims."

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 3 out 3 people found this review helpful

    Terrible quality, cut my hand!

    • Ontario, Canada,
    • Aug 21, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    This was quite possibly one of the worst purchases I have ever made. It was $60 at Canadian Tire. It lasted less than three weeks. Initially, the washer fell out, then the link where the hose connects to the faucet became stuck on the neck (which made it so I couldn't attach it to the faucet). Finally, the top of the hose beneath the plastic neck stuck slipped, exposing a sharp piece of metal which cut into my finger when I was trying to fix it.

    I returned it in a hurry. Huge waste of money. It's a good idea (light, rustproof), but a terrible design!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 2 out 2 people found this review helpful

    Bionic Steel Hose

    • Santa Fe, Texas,
    • Aug 18, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    Called twice, no answer. The ends come off. I have two hoses and have been lucky to repair them my self. Would not buy them as their QC is not where it needs to be. The company will not respond to any calls.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 3 out 4 people found this review helpful

    Poor quality

    • Ontario, Canada,
    • Jul 19, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    I have purchased this hoses one week ago, and the metal outer layer has broken off. Do not waste your money on this product. Purchase a less expensive hose and it will last a lot longer.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 5 out 5 people found this review helpful

    Bionic or Titanic?

    I ordered two of the Bionic Steel Hoses because I loved the concept of the hose and I hoped that it would work better than the snake-like Flex Hose that expanded when water filled it and shrank when you turned it off, as all three of those broke and leaked fairly quickly.

    It took a long time to receive my Bionic hoses because they were out of stock, but once I did get them, I hooked them up, attached a nozzle to the end, turned it on, and the fitting on the end blew off and the hose leaked like crazy! I thought, well, I have another hose, let me try that one. Within one week, the fitting on THAT hose blew off!

    I figured I was out the money that I spent on these hoses, but I called customer service just to take a chance and see what they said. The lady immediately offered me two more hoses or a full refund! I asked her opinion, and she declined to give her opinion, so I asked for the refund.

    Good customer service policy but lousy product! They need to upgrade this item and try again!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 8 out 8 people found this review helpful

    Not living up to claims

    • Alexandria, VA,
    • Jul 5, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    I have had the Bionic Steel Hose for about two weeks, and it runs in front of my garage doors. It is not holding up and flattening out where the tires drive over it. It is not living up to its claims.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 15 out 16 people found this review helpful

    Bought three, have failed after less than three months

    I was very excited to try this. It was a new hose, and after less than one month, the fitting popped off. I took it back to Walmart and got hassled, so I fussed, and they gave me another 50-foot hose. Forty days later, the same end fitting came off. I was very. Upset, I went and bought another 50-foot, and it has been 52 days, and the fitting popped off again.

    I called their customer service, and it has been just over 52 days, so now I'm out for two of these hoses. I think they're over rating them. I'm not a happy customer (912 328 9471). If it will do any good, I have my last receipt.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 12 out 13 people found this review helpful

    Have not received my hose after 60 days

    I ordered this hose in April. I called at the end of April and was told they would be shipped by the end of May. It is now June 6th and still no hose. I just got off the phone with customer service, and they don't know when it will be shipped.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 11 out 13 people found this review helpful

    Still waiting for my hoses.. ordered 2 50' ones..

    I like the aforementioned customers am sick of waiting to receive these hoses. I ordered the 50' ones so am waiting for 2 hoses. The site said on backorder. I like the idea of getting two of them and am hoping they are a whole lot more durable than one of the customers reported.

    At this point, with no contact from the company as to the fact that it is on back order or when I might expect to receive it, I too have considered the Hercules hoses instead. I realize this is a holiday weekend but if I don't hear something by the end of next week, I will cancel this and look elsewhere.

    I heard they had them at Walmart and they are on Amazon. Hopefully someone will get back to me. I'm unhappy by not having hoses and it's memorial day weekend with planting and yard work to do.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 11 out 13 people found this review helpful

    Still waiting

    It's been nearly a month since I purchased the hose(s). Since it said to allow 2 to 3 weeks for delivery, I haven't been thinking too much about it. But when I decided to check for a possible delivery date, I find that the product is back ordered. I called customer service, and they assured me the products will be shipped on May 30th. I will call them on May 29th to see if I get the same story. Due to the lack of notification that the product is out of stock, I wouldn't recommend dealing with this company.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • May 30, 2017

      B. Lorenz

      I ordered these on April 12 and I still haven't received them. I got the same story about back orders.

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


Showing 1-11 of 15

Write a Review for Bionic Steel Hose!

Share your experience to help others shop smarter & discover great products.

Write a Review