What is Bionic Steel Hose?

Published on: Feb 10, 2017

Featuring a pressure resistant inner lining and a flexible, puncture proof, stainless steel outer housing, Bionic Steel Hose promises to deliver super-tough performance, avoid cracking in the sun, deter corrosion and rust, and to be more durable than any standard garden hose.

In fact, the commercial shows Bionic Steel Hose working perfectly after being dragged through sharp objects, grinded with a power tool, frozen in a block of ice, and even set on fire.

Despite its tough metal coating, though, we’re told that Bionic Steel weighs less than three pounds and its compact, patented design will never twist, tangle, or kink, so it’s perfect for homeowners and professionals alike.

But is the Bionic Steel Hose worth the money? Are there any other competing products? Is it really indestructible?

Let’s kick things off by taking a look at the competition.

Is Bionic Steel Hose a Unique Product and Is There Any Customer Feedback?

Is Bionic Steel Hose swimming in competition? Not at the time of our research.

However, we recently wrote an article about Flex Steel Hose. And based on what we can tell (we didn’t test either product firsthand), it and Bionic Steel appear to be identical in every meaningful respect.

What’s going on here? Over there years, the HighYa team has reviewed more than 800 As Seen on TV products, and we’ve learned that it’s not uncommon for companies to ‘share’ products and sell them at the same time.

Based on this overall lack of competition, we might be able to logically deduce one of two things: Either, 1) these stainless steel-wrapped hoses represent a legitimately revolutionary idea currently only offered by a couple of companies, or 2) no one else sells them because it’s a flawed concept.

Unfortunately, without any online customer feedback, it’s impossible to realistically understand which way the situation is headed with Bionic Steel Hose.

While we're not told exactly who it is, it appears that Bionic Steel's manufacturer also makes Forever Comfy, a foam seat cushion. Overall, customers seemed to give it a middle-of-the-road rating; some were pleased with its performance, while others complained it didn't live up to its promises.

With this said, it’s important to note two things: First, since this is a completely different product, so we’re certainly not saying you can expect the same with Bionic Steel Hose.

Second, this is the most common complaint among all ASOTV products, not just those from Bionic Steel’s manufacturer.

Now, how does Bionic Steel compare to Flex Steel from a price perspective?

How Much Does Bionic Steel Hose Cost?

The 25' Bionic Steel Hose is priced at $19.95 plus $6.95 S&H. You can order a second during checkout for an additional $6.95 fee.

Not unsurprisingly, Flex Steel is priced similarly at $19.99 plus $7.99 S&H. Flex Steel is also available in 50', 75', and 100' lengths.

According to the commercial, additional Bionic Steel Hose sizes are also available by calling customer service at 866-304-4271. We contacted support at this number twice, although both times we waited on hold 5+ minutes without anyone picking up, until we decided to disconnect the call.

Regardless, all Bionic Steel Hoses come with a 30-day money back guarantee, less S&H. This is important to keep in mind if you plan on taking advantage of the BOGO offer.

Whether online or lining the aisles of your local home improvement store come springtime, you’ll find that Bionic Steel (and its close competition) is priced similarly.

But will Bionic Steel’s stainless steel exterior feasibly provide more value for the same amount of money?

How Does Bionic Steel Hose Compare to Traditional Garden Hoses?

Most consumer-grade garden hoses are constructed of vinyl, rubber, or a combination of the two (specifically, PVC).

Pro tip: Safe water drinking hoses (aka fresh water hoses) are typically made with nickel or plastic fittings and constructed of medical-grade vinyl. Bionic Steel Hose doesn’t claim to meet these criteria, so don’t plan on taking a sip on a hot day this summer.

Higher-end rubber hoses usually feature embedded nylon or polyester cord for reinforcement.

Because of this, as well as their thickness, they’re durable and not very prone to kinking or puncturing caused by everyday use. However, they’re heavy and need to be kept away from UV exposure.

Vinyl hoses, on the other hand, are often lighter and less expensive, although they’re easiest to puncture and have a tendency to kink.

Given Bionic Steel’s construction, it certainly seems to address the kinking issue. Will it provide more durability, though?

Again, we didn’t test Bionic Steel Hose ourselves. However, we think there are a handful of important points to keep in mind:

First, whether stainless steel, rubber, or vinyl (especially if reinforced), you can freeze pretty much any hose in water and still have it work—as long as there’s not frozen water inside the hose, either.

Second, grazing a regular garden hose (again, especially one that’s reinforced) with a power grinder in a light, side-to-side motion probably wouldn’t puncture it, either.

Obviously, this isn’t something you’d want to do on a regular basis, but for demonstration purposes, we don’t think this stunt in the Bionic Steel commercial necessarily amounts to anything more than ASOTV showmanship.

Finally, BobVila.com tells us that even the least expensive traditional garden hoses feature two-layer designs, while upper-end models feature six. So it doesn’t seem like Bionic’s two-layer construction (an inner lining and metal shell) is necessarily unique.

In fact, without this inner lining, it seems like Bionic Steel’s linked metal shell would quickly leak water. More than anything then, this lining appears to be more of a functional necessity than a real-world benefit.

In the end, what does all of this mean for you?

Is Bionic Steel the Six Million Dollar Hose?

When it comes to Bionic Steel Hose, what are we looking at here? Is this some marvelous feat of engineering, accomplished only by the greatest minds in consumer products?

Or, is this some half-baked idea that a couple of companies are using as guinea pigs to test consumer demand? Again, we can't know since we didn't test it.

However, if it comes down to a choice between Bionic Steel and Flex Steel, the former comes with less expensive shipping charges, while the latter features a longer 60-day refund policy.

Either way, though, keep in mind that your original S&H charges (as well as whatever it costs you to ship them back) aren’t refundable if you process a return. Just remember that, like us, you might experience some difficulty reaching customer service.

Before you go, tell us about your decision regarding Bionic Steel Hose. Did you make the right choice, or did it fail miserably? Give us some insight below in your review.

Sign Up for HighYa Newsletter

Sign up for HighYa newsletter and get our best content delivered in your inbox as well as 3 free eBooks to help you save money and shop smarter. Enter your email below to get started!

26 Consumer Reviews for Bionic Steel Hose

Average Consumer Rating: 1.3
Rating Snapshot:
5 star: 0 4 star: 0 3 star: 2 2 star: 5 1 star:  19
Bottom Line: 8% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 1-11 of 26
Sort reviews by:

  • 3 out 3 people found this review helpful

    Very disappointed

    • Bedford, TX,
    • Jun 29, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I purchased the 100-foot Bionic Steel heavy duty steel garden hose in November 2017 and placed in a hose container under the eaves of my home so it stays protected from the elements and was initially very pleased with the product. Very lightweight and easily stored. I used to hand water my flower pots and garden and some parts of my lawn. Then June 2018 it started to leak about thirty or so inches from the water spigot, which is weird because it is the other parts of the hose which would scrape on our deck or around wooden posts. I like the concept, but the product did not stand up to its claims.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 2 out 2 people found this review helpful

    Not worth it. Waste of money.

    • Glasgow, MT,
    • Jun 24, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I do have to say, I like the idea that they are light and easy to move around and roll up when finished but, we bought this 50-foot hose last year and followed all the instructions and when I hooked up this year it leaked terribly in the middle of the hose. Since it doesn’t produce much water flow in the first place, it had no water flow at all with the leak! So since there’s only a 30-day money back guarantee, it’s now on the trash can!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 1 out 1 people found this review helpful

    Bad experience

    • Michigan,
    • Jun 19, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I have purchased three of the hoses, and two of the three have created holes in them. They are great hoses as far as flexible, but they just don't last without holes created in them. I would not purchase anymore because of those weak hoses inside the flexible steel outer cover.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 1 out 2 people found this review helpful

    No pressure

    • Texas,
    • Jun 6, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I would not purchase this hose. It can’t be used with an oscillating sprinkler because it puts out no water pressure. I bought it because of the no kink, and it hasn’t kinked, but the main purpose I bought it for was to water using sprinklers, and it doesn’t do the job. Very disappointed.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 1 out 1 people found this review helpful

    Horrible. Do NOT buy!

    • Cleveland, OH,
    • Jun 4, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    The hose came apart after two uses. Horrible quality, waste of money. The company won’t honor the warranty. Do NOT buy!

    Also, the fittings are so cheap and flimsy, and there’s no way they would last. Of course, that doesn’t matter because the hose itself won’t last either.

    I am very disappointed in wasting my money.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 1 out 1 people found this review helpful

    Bionic Steel garden hose

    I just received my 100' Bionic Steel garden hose. I followed the directions and used it. What they advertise is true. It did not kink and rolled up very easily. But the hose is skinny for a hose, low pressure.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 4 out 4 people found this review helpful

    Not happy with this hose

    • Edmonton, Canada,
    • May 18, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I bought two of these hoses on May 31, 2017. I live in Canada and do not water my lawn, only my flowers. We have summer from June to September. I went to check my hose this year, and it has two leaks. I tried getting in touch with the company and left my number and no reply. I am not happy with this hose.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 6 out 6 people found this review helpful

    Bionic Hose

    • California,
    • May 11, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I bought from the TV ad the Bionic Hose and believed that the 100-foot hose would be to my benefit. After receiving the hose and using it, I get very little water pressure, hardly enough to spray the soap off my washed car.

    I called the 866# for Bionic Steel Hose and the person wondered if I wanted to replace the hose. I was told I would have to pay to send the hose back. I asked her if she had any other complaints as to the problem I was having and she said she had heard this before. I said I doubted that a different hose would be any better and then why would I pay more to have the same problem. She then said I could call Corporate to see if they would help me and she gave me a number (800 432-4248), which when I called they were a health survey line for seniors and just a recording.

    I am not very happy with being ripped of. Do not buy this hose!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 4 out 4 people found this review helpful

    Hose without ends, as I was reading the other reviews I realize I'm not the only one with this problem

    I purchased two Bionic Steel Hoses, 25 feet. I used one twice and the other one once and the ends blew off, where the hose connects to the faucet. I believe what's happening here is that I have a well and the water gets very cold after a few minutes and the metal of the hoses and the medal of the ends is either just a different metal or different thickness and it's contracting at a different rate than the actual hose. Hence, they do not stay together very well. I called customer service and because it is over 30 days they said they can't do anything but the box says lifetime warranty. Time for Consumer Protection.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 9 out 9 people found this review helpful

    Waste of money, terrible product!

    I purchased this hose 50-ft in May 2017. I used it to wash my car. This year the water is dripping down my arm. Thinking it the inexpensive nozzle I purchase a new one, which didn't help. I pulled away the metal exposing a plastic tube which was no longer sealed under the connection from the hose end connection to the nozzle, thus causing a spray of water down my arm. With a 30-day guarantee, it is a waste of $35.00 Never buy this product!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 5 out 5 people found this review helpful

    Bionic Steel Hose

    My kids have totally trashed 2 hoses, one 25 ft, and one 50 ft, while using them to wash trucks. The 25 footer never leaked, but the outer cover literally fell apart. The 50 footer outer cover fell apart before the inner hose ruptured. They were both replaced under warranty.

    The new hoses arrived pre-damaged with dents in the outer cover. I replaced them with a 50 ft Hercules ss hose and it fell apart in 3 months doing the same job (washing trucks).

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


Showing 1-11 of 26

Write a Review for Bionic Steel Hose!

Share your experience to help others shop smarter & discover great products.

Write a Review