What is Bionic Steel Hose?

By HighYa Research Team
Published on: Feb 10, 2017

Featuring a pressure resistant inner lining and a flexible, puncture proof, stainless steel outer housing, Bionic Steel Hose promises to deliver super-tough performance, avoid cracking in the sun, deter corrosion and rust, and to be more durable than any standard garden hose.

In fact, the commercial shows Bionic Steel Hose working perfectly after being dragged through sharp objects, grinded with a power tool, frozen in a block of ice, and even set on fire.

Despite its tough metal coating, though, we’re told that Bionic Steel weighs less than three pounds and its compact, patented design will never twist, tangle, or kink, so it’s perfect for homeowners and professionals alike.

But is the Bionic Steel Hose worth the money? Are there any other competing products? Is it really indestructible?

Let’s kick things off by taking a look at the competition.

Is Bionic Steel Hose a Unique Product and Is There Any Customer Feedback?

Is Bionic Steel Hose swimming in competition? Not at the time of our research.

However, we recently wrote an article about Flex Steel Hose. And based on what we can tell (we didn’t test either product firsthand), it and Bionic Steel appear to be identical in every meaningful respect.

What’s going on here? Over there years, the HighYa team has reviewed more than 800 As Seen on TV products, and we’ve learned that it’s not uncommon for companies to ‘share’ products and sell them at the same time.

Based on this overall lack of competition, we might be able to logically deduce one of two things: Either, 1) these stainless steel-wrapped hoses represent a legitimately revolutionary idea currently only offered by a couple of companies, or 2) no one else sells them because it’s a flawed concept.

Unfortunately, without any online customer feedback, it’s impossible to realistically understand which way the situation is headed with Bionic Steel Hose.

While we're not told exactly who it is, it appears that Bionic Steel's manufacturer also makes Forever Comfy, a foam seat cushion. Overall, customers seemed to give it a middle-of-the-road rating; some were pleased with its performance, while others complained it didn't live up to its promises.

With this said, it’s important to note two things: First, since this is a completely different product, so we’re certainly not saying you can expect the same with Bionic Steel Hose.

Second, this is the most common complaint among all ASOTV products, not just those from Bionic Steel’s manufacturer.

Now, how does Bionic Steel compare to Flex Steel from a price perspective?

How Much Does Bionic Steel Hose Cost?

The 25' Bionic Steel Hose is priced at $19.95 plus $6.95 S&H. You can order a second during checkout for an additional $6.95 fee.

Not unsurprisingly, Flex Steel is priced similarly at $19.99 plus $7.99 S&H. Flex Steel is also available in 50', 75', and 100' lengths.

According to the commercial, additional Bionic Steel Hose sizes are also available by calling customer service at 866-304-4271. We contacted support at this number twice, although both times we waited on hold 5+ minutes without anyone picking up, until we decided to disconnect the call.

Regardless, all Bionic Steel Hoses come with a 30-day money back guarantee, less S&H. This is important to keep in mind if you plan on taking advantage of the BOGO offer.

Whether online or lining the aisles of your local home improvement store come springtime, you’ll find that Bionic Steel (and its close competition) is priced similarly.

But will Bionic Steel’s stainless steel exterior feasibly provide more value for the same amount of money?

How Does Bionic Steel Hose Compare to Traditional Garden Hoses?

Most consumer-grade garden hoses are constructed of vinyl, rubber, or a combination of the two (specifically, PVC).

Pro tip: Safe water drinking hoses (aka fresh water hoses) are typically made with nickel or plastic fittings and constructed of medical-grade vinyl. Bionic Steel Hose doesn’t claim to meet these criteria, so don’t plan on taking a sip on a hot day this summer.

Higher-end rubber hoses usually feature embedded nylon or polyester cord for reinforcement.

Because of this, as well as their thickness, they’re durable and not very prone to kinking or puncturing caused by everyday use. However, they’re heavy and need to be kept away from UV exposure.

Vinyl hoses, on the other hand, are often lighter and less expensive, although they’re easiest to puncture and have a tendency to kink.

Given Bionic Steel’s construction, it certainly seems to address the kinking issue. Will it provide more durability, though?

Again, we didn’t test Bionic Steel Hose ourselves. However, we think there are a handful of important points to keep in mind:

First, whether stainless steel, rubber, or vinyl (especially if reinforced), you can freeze pretty much any hose in water and still have it work—as long as there’s not frozen water inside the hose, either.

Second, grazing a regular garden hose (again, especially one that’s reinforced) with a power grinder in a light, side-to-side motion probably wouldn’t puncture it, either.

Obviously, this isn’t something you’d want to do on a regular basis, but for demonstration purposes, we don’t think this stunt in the Bionic Steel commercial necessarily amounts to anything more than ASOTV showmanship.

Finally, BobVila.com tells us that even the least expensive traditional garden hoses feature two-layer designs, while upper-end models feature six. So it doesn’t seem like Bionic’s two-layer construction (an inner lining and metal shell) is necessarily unique.

In fact, without this inner lining, it seems like Bionic Steel’s linked metal shell would quickly leak water. More than anything then, this lining appears to be more of a functional necessity than a real-world benefit.

In the end, what does all of this mean for you?

Is Bionic Steel the Six Million Dollar Hose?

When it comes to Bionic Steel Hose, what are we looking at here? Is this some marvelous feat of engineering, accomplished only by the greatest minds in consumer products?

Or, is this some half-baked idea that a couple of companies are using as guinea pigs to test consumer demand? Again, we can't know since we didn't test it.

However, if it comes down to a choice between Bionic Steel and Flex Steel, the former comes with less expensive shipping charges, while the latter features a longer 60-day refund policy.

Either way, though, keep in mind that your original S&H charges (as well as whatever it costs you to ship them back) aren’t refundable if you process a return. Just remember that, like us, you might experience some difficulty reaching customer service.

Before you go, tell us about your decision regarding Bionic Steel Hose. Did you make the right choice, or did it fail miserably? Give us some insight below in your review.

Sign Up for HighYa Newsletter

Sign up for HighYa newsletter and get our best content delivered in your inbox as well as 3 free eBooks to help you save money and shop smarter. Enter your email below to get started!


Read 32 Bionic Steel Hose Customer Reviews and Complaints

Write a Review
Average Consumer Rating: 1.5
Rating Snapshot:
5 star: 1 4 star: 0 3 star: 3 2 star: 6 1 star:  22
Bottom Line: 13% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 1-11 of 32
Sort reviews by:

  • 1 out 4 people found this review helpful

    Great product

    • McDonald, PA,
    • Oct 22, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I bought a 25" first in 2017 and got the second with the first order - one for the front and other for the back of the house. The second order was for a 50" and I still use the two together in the back to wash the car, etc. Not reading info, DO NOT leave the hose turned on over a long period or it will burst on the end from pressure. My fault! I just replaced the burst one this September. I was and am still happy with the performance and handling of this product!

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 10 out 16 people found this review helpful

    Still waiting for the product

    • Janesville, WI,
    • Apr 27, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    I ordered the Bionic Steel Hose online, not from an 800-number, on March 6th.

    Here it is April 21st, and I just called Customer Service and they say it still is on back order. Customer Service has been easy to reach, with less than a 5-minute wait both times I called them.

    I liked the deal of a second 25' hose for just a $6.95 shipping charge. In my last call to Customer Service, they offered to remove one of the shipping charges because my product is so late.

    I have been tempted by the online Hercules Hose, which seems similar although it does not seem to have the rugged connectors the Bionic Hose has. I am only tempted because I am hoping they will ship a product faster than Bionic Hose. Also, the Hercules BOGO offer is a full price hose X2 but the same shipping charge, and you get a spray nozzle for free.

    Again, I am not that tempted, but if it comes in two weeks, I might make the jump. I think I will wait another two weeks.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 6 out 7 people found this review helpful

    Bionic Hose, NOT bionic

    • California,
    • Sep 1, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    I bought three; 25 ft, 50 ft, and 100 ft ones. Within 2-3 weeks, like with other consumers, coils unraveled. I considered mending it with Flex Tape to prevent more unraveling, but I might try customer service for a replacement or refund. The box says "Lifetime Guarantee." I got the 100 ft from Fry's Electronics, 50 ft from Publishers Clearing House (good 5+ weeks to arrive), and the 25 ft one, I think, was from Rite Aid as I was waiting for the 50 ft one to arrive. The 25 ft one is good so far, but there are no bricks, rocks, etc. obstacles to pull over.

    I recommend the hose for gentle use (DON'T gentle tug or risk coils unraveling), but if you're tough on hoses, I would not recommend. Bionic Hose is not all it claimed to be, but the Flex & rubber hoses haven't survived my terrain/usage either. Two sayings to live by: If it sounds too good to be true, it probably is" and "only believe about 50% of what someone says/claims."

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 1 out 3 people found this review helpful

    Can't be fixed?

    • Honolulu, HI,
    • May 17, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I like the hose but like all things, it breaks. My biggest problem is I've been searching the internet and can't find a way to fix the leak. I sure would like some help from someone!

    The bottom line is the hose can't be mistreated. It's BS to think it is indestructible. Be careful with it and it is a good purchase: don't pull the hose using the hose nozzle, don't run over it with your car or even step on it, etc. Be careful with it!

    I would recommend this to a friend IF I can find how to fix it!

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 12 out 14 people found this review helpful

    Still waiting

    It's been nearly a month since I purchased the hose(s). Since it said to allow 2 to 3 weeks for delivery, I haven't been thinking too much about it. But when I decided to check for a possible delivery date, I find that the product is back ordered. I called customer service, and they assured me the products will be shipped on May 30th. I will call them on May 29th to see if I get the same story. Due to the lack of notification that the product is out of stock, I wouldn't recommend dealing with this company.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 12 out 14 people found this review helpful

    Still waiting for my hoses.. ordered 2 50' ones..

    I like the aforementioned customers am sick of waiting to receive these hoses. I ordered the 50' ones so am waiting for 2 hoses. The site said on backorder. I like the idea of getting two of them and am hoping they are a whole lot more durable than one of the customers reported.

    At this point, with no contact from the company as to the fact that it is on back order or when I might expect to receive it, I too have considered the Hercules hoses instead. I realize this is a holiday weekend but if I don't hear something by the end of next week, I will cancel this and look elsewhere.

    I heard they had them at Walmart and they are on Amazon. Hopefully someone will get back to me. I'm unhappy by not having hoses and it's memorial day weekend with planting and yard work to do.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 5 out 5 people found this review helpful

    Bionic Steel Hose

    My kids have totally trashed 2 hoses, one 25 ft, and one 50 ft, while using them to wash trucks. The 25 footer never leaked, but the outer cover literally fell apart. The 50 footer outer cover fell apart before the inner hose ruptured. They were both replaced under warranty.

    The new hoses arrived pre-damaged with dents in the outer cover. I replaced them with a 50 ft Hercules ss hose and it fell apart in 3 months doing the same job (washing trucks).

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 3 out 3 people found this review helpful

    Bionic Steel garden hose

    I just received my 100' Bionic Steel garden hose. I followed the directions and used it. What they advertise is true. It did not kink and rolled up very easily. But the hose is skinny for a hose, low pressure.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 5 out 5 people found this review helpful

    Bad experience

    • Michigan,
    • Jun 19, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I have purchased three of the hoses, and two of the three have created holes in them. They are great hoses as far as flexible, but they just don't last without holes created in them. I would not purchase anymore because of those weak hoses inside the flexible steel outer cover.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 4 out 4 people found this review helpful

    Far from what I expected

    • Farmville, NC,
    • Aug 20, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I purchased the 50-foot Bionic Steel hose so I could reach our flower bed and a little garden, with hopes that it would be easier than dragging a regular water hose back and forth, and at 72, it has been hard to do that every day.

    The first few times I used it, it worked really good. Then I took it off the hose reel and cut the water on, and it was like I had stabbed a knife in it. It leaked so bad I could no longer use it.

    I called customer service, and they told me I was out of luck since I didn't keep the original receipt. I had a copy, but no longer the original. I blew $38, and I will never do that again. So now, I'll wrap this shiny new hose up, put it in a bag along with the receipt and throw it in a corner or my shop as a reminder that being old is no fun and expensive!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 41 out 41 people found this review helpful

    Metal garden hose

    • Texas,
    • Apr 25, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    I have one! Used it three, maybe four times. It has a leak where the flexible metal hose joints to the coupling. It is not worth having; it craps out after just a few uses. Also, the MFG only warranties the item for 30 days. I guess they know what their product is worth! I would never buy another.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

Showing 1-11 of 32

Write a Review for Bionic Steel Hose!

Share your experience to help others shop smarter & discover great products.

Write a Review