Bionic Trimmer Reviews

Bionic Trimmer

Overall Rating

1.2

17 Customer Reviews

Summary

Instead of the traditional plastic line, the Bionic Trimmer by Bell + Howell utilizes zip ties and also features an adjustable pole, ergonomic handle, and protective metal shield. Read what customers are saying.

Write a Review

Customer Reviews

1.2 Stars out of 17 Reviews
5 Star:5% 4 Star:0% 3 Star:0% 2 Star:0% 1 Star:94%
6% Recommend This Product
Start your review of Bionic Trimmer:
Sort Reviews By

Posted on Feb 19, 2020

Bionic Trimmer

By Gaston O., New South Wales, Australia, Verified Reviewer

What a useless piece of garbage. Four hours to charge it and it only takes one piece of grass to make it cut out. I don't see how it can do any edging at all as that takes some consistent power availability. The sales promotion as all crap!

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 2 People Have Voted

Posted on Jan 3, 2020

Bionic Trimmer

By Gaye D., Eden Hill, Western Australia, Australia, Verified Reviewer

Absolute rubbish, it has no power, just a cheap heap of crap, better of buying a pair of scissors, a real con job. So disappointed, it was supposed to be a Christmas gift, how can television stations advertise rubbish like this, they probably didn't try it.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 1 Person Has Voted

Posted on Sep 4, 2019

This is a trimmer JOKE!

By Frank M., Old Town, FL, Verified Reviewer

What are you people doing? This is awful, just awful. I ordered the one trimmer and the second for $7.95 and the zip ties for $9.99 but I got charged $92 and 3 trimmers got sent to me. Now I am having the most difficult time reaching someone to get a refund. How do you people sleep at night?! Bionic Trimmer 400 Returns Road Wallingford, CT 06494 is the address you guys shipped these 3 piles of garbage from...LOL, really? That's fitting! Get so many returns you have a road named for it? BUYER BEWARE! I wouldn't recommend this to an enemy.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 8 People Have Voted

Posted on Sep 2, 2019

Worthless

By John C., Nampa, ID, Verified Reviewer

I bought two trimmers, one never worked again after I charged it and after about three short uses the second one quit working also. Junk and very fragile, not even good enough to be considered a toy. Waste of time and money, very upset with it totally.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 5 People Have Voted

Posted on Aug 14, 2019

I bought one with the second one for $7.99, paid $19.98 for 100 zip ties, I would like a refund because it's worthless.

By Doris L., Washington, Verified Reviewer

Not only does it take 4 hours to charge, the charge does not last long. As soon as you start the zip tie breaks right away.

And this is not a fake review. I'm 75 years old and thought it would help me with being lightweight. I would like at least part of my money back. Being on a limited income I can't just give away money. But it taught me a good lesson NOT to buy stuff off the TV.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 6 People Have Voted

Posted on Aug 8, 2019

Total junk

By Eileen S., Montana, Verified Reviewer

This does not work and is super cheap. Can't get hold of anyone to return. The other offers are scams! This company is a total fraud - stay away! I upgraded to the commercial trimmer and paid an additional $10.00 - which is a total scam. This company should not be allowed to do business!

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 6 People Have Voted

Posted on Aug 5, 2019

Very disappointed

By Bev P., Pontiac, IL, Verified Reviewer

This is the worst piece of crap I ever bought. It stalls on the smallest grass, the commercials are so false, if I was the one selling this I would be so ashamed. Scissors would work better. I would never recommend buying this item.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 4 People Have Voted

Posted on Aug 5, 2019

Don't bother

By Dan R., Illinois, Verified Reviewer

The trimmer is unusually small, which in and of itself is not a problem. The unit is very underpowered, which is a problem. The unit is incapable of cutting even the thinnest of stems. Only bluegrass, which is not very tall, seemed to provide adequate results.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 2 People Have Voted

Posted on Jul 30, 2019

Not pleased

By J P P., Nettleton, MS, Verified Reviewer

Just received my trimmer, charged it and headed for the grass. Turned on the trimmer, perched near the grass and prepared for the attack. Attack?! No way! I tried trimming a very small patch on the edge of my patio. I continued to work on this 5" x 6" area for about 5 minutes and never got the area cleanly trimmed.

Would I recommend the Bionic Trimmer? NO!

Definitely not worth the effort if you have a real yard. Might work if you have no more than a few feet to trim. Don't waste your time and money!

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 2 People Have Voted

Posted on Jul 25, 2019

Scissors work better than this product

By Betty M., Colorado Springs, CO, Verified Reviewer

SAVE YOUR MONEY AND TIME!

Cuts about 2 THIN blades of grass at a time or bogs up. Start at the top and it just spins the blades of grass around each other and cut WRONG.

Then they offer you $5-$10 to keep it - WHY THEY DON'T WORK.

Really get the scissors out, LESS frustration.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 3 People Have Voted

Posted on Jul 18, 2019

Total disappointment

By Orvis B., Arizona, Verified Reviewer

When I first saw the commercial for the trimmer I thought it was for some kind of adapter to use the ties. Later, I saw the commercial again and indeed it was for the trimmer. What a deal, and with the Bell & Howell name it has to be good. I even ordered the second one for $7.95. Absolute junk. Every time it touches grass it stalls. It will not trim even the thinnest grass. Works on TV like everything else but not so good when you buy one and use it yourself. I'm trying to find a phone number so I can return both of them.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 8 People Have Voted

Posted on Jul 2, 2019

Not bionic

By Loretta K., Thunder Bay, Ontario, Canada, Verified Reviewer

Total waste of money. Very disappointed. Motor is weak; blades do not cut and the part holding the ties keeps popping out. Grass kept getting tangled when it did work. It kept shutting off in spite of a full charge. How was this product allowed to be sold? Showcase should be ashamed. This is the worst product I’ve ever ordered.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 10 People Have Voted

Posted on Jul 1, 2019

Piece of garbage

By Jeffrey S., New York, Verified Reviewer

Bought this because I had good luck with the Bell & Howell led light bar. Got it all put together and after a full charge, I took it outside to trim. What a huge disappointment...the second it gets any resistance from the grass or weeds it stalls. No way near powerful enough to trim even grass. And trusting the brand name I destroyed and threw away the packaging it came in so I can't even return it. I'm stuck with this garbage that I can't use and my wallet is 40 dollars lighter. DO NOT BUY THIS!

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 10 People Have Voted

Posted on Jun 22, 2019

Worthless product

By Tom S., Asbury Park, NJ, Verified Reviewer

This company should be ashamed. It doesn’t cut grass, and it surely doesn’t edge. How they can claim otherwise is an abomination. I want my money back. I’m bringing it back to the store I bought it from.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 11 People Have Voted

Posted on Jun 18, 2019

Love the Bionic Trimmer

By Vicki K., Illinois, Verified Reviewer

I live in a townhouse. I have a small area where the landscapers never cut around my rocks and bushes. This is perfect for small areas, I absolutely love it. I'm buying my sister one!

Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 5 People Have Voted

Posted on May 22, 2019

Wasted money

By Linda R., South Shore, KY, Verified Reviewer

I ordered the Bionic Trimmer and paid $10 extra to upgrade to a commercial one. I doubt that is what I received as it is very cheap and mostly plastic. I even ordered the second one for $9.99 with an upgrade. I knew better as I learned not to buy off TV but thought Bell & Howell had a reputable name. So I thought I'll just make the best of it. Not so. Put it together and went out to trim around flower bed. Trimmer kept stalling. Got tired restarting so I quit.

Save your money!

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 38 People Have Voted

Posted on May 14, 2019

Piece of junk. Don't waste your money.

By Anthony L., Georgia, Verified Reviewer

Bought it, took it home, charged it up, put it together and tried it out. I was extremely disappointed. This thing has ZERO torque so, even the thinnest grass will bog it down and often stop it completely. Any grass longer than a couple of inches will get wrapped around the shaft, which will also bog it down. The zip ties they provide are extremely brittle and break easily. After replacing the zip ties 3 times, I finally got about a 1-foot diameter circle trimmed.

I bought it from a local store and can't find my receipt so, there's $30 I'll never get back.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 48 People Have Voted
Showing 1-17 of 17

Our Promise to You

In order to safeguard you and ensure helpfulness and relevance, our compliance team manually assess every customer review before it goes live.

We have a zero-tolerance policy for fake reviews, and companies cannot control or alter any reviews at any time.