About Bissell Symphony

According to the company’s website, the Bissell Symphony’s specially constructed foot allows it to vacuum and steam mop at the same time, and to provide you with “superior hard floor cleaning in one easy step.” In addition, the Bissell Symphony is even capable of cleaning your carpets after removal of the Easy Release Mop Pad Tray.

The Symphony is manufactured by Bissell Homecare, Inc. based out of Walker, MI, which has been in business for nearly 140 years. The company holds a C- rating with the Better Business Bureau, based on 90 closed complaints, most of which appear to relate to defective products, warranty issues, and poor customer service. Regarding the Bissell Symphony specifically, online reviews appear to be overwhelmingly positive, though some common complaints include poor vacuum performance, and that a slight learning curve is involved to become proficient with the machine.

How the Bissell Symphony Works

The Bissell Symphony is claimed to be an “all-in-one vacuum and steam mop” that provides you with a faster, more convenient way to “keep your floors barefoot clean.” The device is “ready to go in as little as 30 seconds,” and works using only water to clean and sanitize, which can help to avoid the use of harsh chemicals. When you’re ready to move on to carpet, the company claims you simply need to remove the Easy Release Mop Pad Tray.

Each Bissell Symphony includes the following:

  • The Bissell Symphony hard floor cleaner
  • Two (1 soft, 1 scrubby) Microfiber Mop Pads
  • Water cup

The Bissell Symphony’s Easy Touch Digital Controls give you three ways to clean: cyclonic vacuum, high steam, and low steam. Additional features include a five-way adjustable handle, Dry Tank Technology that keeps your dirt retention tank clean and dry, and Easy Release Mop Pad Tray.

Bissell Symphony Pricing

While the Bissell Symphony is also available from Walmart and HSN, if purchased directly through the manufacturer, it’s priced at four payments of $49.95, or one single payment of $199.80, plus S&H. Also, you’ll receive three free bonuses with your order:

  • 2 Microfiber Mop Pads with Microban antimicrobial protection.
  • BISSELL Steam Shot™ Hard Surface Cleaner.

In addition, you’ll have the option of adding two upgrades at checkout:

  • Performance Upgrade – Includes water filter and vacuum filter for an additional $5 per payment (total of $20).
  • Pet Hair Eraser Cordless Hand Vacuum – An additional one-time payment of $39.96.

All Bissell Symphony Vacuum and Steam Mops come with a 60-day risk-free guarantee, less shipping and handling charges. Keep in mind that you’ll also be responsible for S&H back to the manufacturer, which could be relatively expensive, considering that it’s measurements are 46.5 x 11.0 x 9.0, and that it weighs 7 pounds. On top of this, the appliance also comes with a three-year limited warranty against defects in workmanship.

If you need to process a return, simply call Bissell Customer Service at 800-237-7691 or via an online contact form.

Pros:

  • Claims to be the only household appliance that allows you to vacuum and steam mop at the same time.
  • Claims to kill harmful bacteria.
  • Made by Bissell, a company that has been in business for nearly 140 years.
  • 60-refund policy and three-year warranty.

Cons:

  • Some common complaints include poor vacuum performance, and that a slight learning curve is involved to become proficient with the machine.

Bottom Line:

Even though the Bissell Symphony appears to have an overwhelmingly positive online reputation, keep in mind that the most common complaints include poor vacuum performance, and that a slight learning curve is involved to become proficient with the machine.

Furthermore, while you may be able surface clean relatively quickly, in order to deep clean bacteria and other contaminants such as E. coli and salmonella, you’ll need to leave the steam mop in place for 15-20 seconds. And with a cleaning pad that only measures 11 inches, it may take you a while to deep clean all of your hard surface flooring.

Finally, the Bissell Symphony should only be used on sealed surfaces. This means that it should not be used on older wood floors that haven’t be recently refinished, or on bare, porous tile surfaces.


Read 30 Bissell Symphony Customer Reviews and Complaints

Write a Review
Average Customer Rating: 2.4
Rating Snapshot:
5 star: 9 4 star: 0 3 star: 0 2 star: 6 1 star:  15
Bottom Line: 33% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 1-11 of 30
Sort reviews by:

  • 36 out 46 people found this review helpful

    Unbelievable. 5 plus stars.

    • Westchester, NY,
    • Aug 8, 2015

    This the most amazing cleaning product I own. Love it. Wish I had one years ago. Bissell has done it again.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 30 out 32 people found this review helpful

    Works better than I anticipated.

    • Miramar, FL,
    • Jun 30, 2015

    I have over 3,000 sq. ft. of tile floor and it takes forever to first vacuum or sweep and then mop the floors and usually there is a bit of residue. The vacuum part of the Symphony works just dandy even with little bits of cat food etc. The steamer heats up very fast and the small amount of water lasted a long time. Not the constant refilling like a carpet cleaner. I'm going on-line to buy whatever they sell to make the steam smell clean. That's the only part I miss from the bucket and mop.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 21 out 23 people found this review helpful

    Great Device

    • Jun 30, 2015

    I have mostly hard floors (wood/tile) this is a time saver. I have a robot vacuum and it does a great job of picking up hair, dirt, etc, but it does not clean up the sticky messes that can form. This is where the Bissell Symphony shines. I hate walking on floors that feel dirty, and this solves that problem.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 25 out 31 people found this review helpful

    Great machine

    • Masontown Pa,
    • Jun 5, 2014

    I don't know why there was some reviews that wasn't good. Just got this machine a week ago and I love it. It works so fast cuts down on extra work. My floors look so clean. Just hope it lasts. I've had problems with other steam cleaners. They stopped working in just a few months. I say go for it as it works great.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 10 out 12 people found this review helpful

    A must have if you love barefoot clean floors.

    • Sarasota, FL,
    • Aug 4, 2015

    I am extremely happy with this product so far. I purchased the Bissell Symphony for my wife who has difficulty with traditional methods, due to disability. The first time we used it, we were amazed at how much dirt and buildup it removed from our tile floors! The only negative has been that we had to wash the mop heads twice to remove the filth on them. Our floors now look and feel better than when we moved in.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 5 out 5 people found this review helpful

    Loving It.

    • Kansas,
    • Jul 11, 2015

    I have been checking around for something to make the cleaning of my house more efficient. I have a Swiffer vacuum that I just love but it doesn't mop. I found the Bissell Symphony online and got one for Christmas. I am loving it. It is light weight enough that I can vacuum and mop every single day. The first time I used it I had to re-read the directions two times to make sure that I really could steam while I was vacuuming but once I got started I was just thrilled. I only have three rugs on my main floor and an additional five or so upstairs and in the basement, but for what I use the vacuum by itself I am still just tickled to pieces with the convenience and quality.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 4 out 4 people found this review helpful

    The Greatest

    • Fort Pierce, FL,
    • Apr 27, 2015

    This Bissell Symphony is the best investment I have ever made. I also told all my friends about how well it cleans it all. Wow.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 5 out 6 people found this review helpful

    Symphony All-in-One

    • Englewood, FL,
    • Jun 26, 2015
    • Verified Reviewer

    In June 2015 I purchased a Bissell Symphony All-in-One Vacuum/Steam Mop Model 1132P directly from Bissell.

    I have tile and Laminated floors. I waited for my floors to have enough dirt and grime on them before I use my Bissell. I was very impressed how much suction the vacuum had and it picked up 95% of the items on the floor. Anything larger than a very small pebble, it would just push it around on the floor. I noticed the vacuum worked best by pushing the unit in a forward direction. Pulling the unit backwards, as you would do with a regular vacuum, would not pick up too much particles.

    As for the steam unit, I was a little disappointed. I had some sticky grime on my kitchen tile and the unit would not remove the grime. I sprayed a little Tilex on the area, let it soak for a minute, then ran the steam mop over it again. It came off and the rest of my floor cane out super clean. My laminate floors were spotless after a light steaming. I read complaints that the steam unit stopped working after 2 or 3 months. I believe that the users where using tap water instead of distilled water. If you follow the owners directions on maintenance, the unit should last a good 10 years.

    I would rate this item 4.5 out of 5.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 3 out 3 people found this review helpful

    Sigh of relief

    The Bissel Symphony Vacuum and Steam Mop has rocked my tile floor world!

    I have over 2,000 sq ft of a mostly white tile floor, and two cats (one of which is long haired). It used to take between 4 to 6 hours (from start to finish) to vacuum and "mop" my floor using a competitor's Floor "Buddy". I used this today, and in less than 1 and a 1/2 hours, learning curve included, it moped and vacuumed my floor to a glorious clean. I used to cry with dread thinking about cleaning my floors. I was even looking at selling my home and buying a small condo. I know it sounds like I'm a sales rep, but I'm not. I'm just that happy!

    I found the vacuum feature to work well. The only learning curve was getting used to the vacuum pushing forward over a new area and the mop pulling straight back to avoid wetting the surface before the vacuum had a chance to suck up the yuck. Other than that, easy peasy!

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 33 out 38 people found this review helpful

    Not what I was expecting, more of a hassle

    • Tampa, FL,
    • Jun 30, 2015

    I researched online reviews before buying this product directly through Bissell. The symphony is not all it's advertised to be. The suction was ok, but the steam, which I could barely see was more of a hassle than anything. Unplug the unit before refilling with water, which was at least two times within the 30 minutes I was using it. This might be a big deal using no chemicals, but I'd rather smell a clean floor then see it's kind of clean. I have tile floors with grout, and this vacuum was not at all what I expected for the amount I spent.

    Bissell is saying they will refund the amount back to my cc, within 2-3 weeks after they receive it. I asked for manager, and they said they would refund right away.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 31 out 31 people found this review helpful

    Not living up to the expectations

    • Madison, GA,
    • Aug 21, 2014

    I bought this "awesome'" steam vacuum about 4 months ago. At first I was very impressed, now I am disappointed. It has no suction! I have to vacuum with out the pad attachment for it to even pick up a hair! I have kept the filter and all parts clean and clog free. It just does a poor job! Then the steam is streaking my floors. I love the fact of steamed floors but it leaves streaks and now leaks water everywhere. I actually just disposed of the box 2 months ago and now I have no way of returning this to the store. So I guess it will take its place in on the wall of other useless mops, vacuums, and wood floor polishers I have collected. Now I am on the mission to find a product to vacuum my hardwood floors.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

Showing 1-11 of 30

Write a Review for Bissell Symphony!

Share your experience to help others shop smarter & discover great products.

Write a Review