About Bissell Symphony

According to the company’s website, the Bissell Symphony’s specially constructed foot allows it to vacuum and steam mop at the same time, and to provide you with “superior hard floor cleaning in one easy step.” In addition, the Bissell Symphony is even capable of cleaning your carpets after removal of the Easy Release Mop Pad Tray.

The Symphony is manufactured by Bissell Homecare, Inc. based out of Walker, MI, which has been in business for nearly 140 years. The company holds a C- rating with the Better Business Bureau, based on 90 closed complaints, most of which appear to relate to defective products, warranty issues, and poor customer service. Regarding the Bissell Symphony specifically, online reviews appear to be overwhelmingly positive, though some common complaints include poor vacuum performance, and that a slight learning curve is involved to become proficient with the machine.

How the Bissell Symphony Works

The Bissell Symphony is claimed to be an “all-in-one vacuum and steam mop” that provides you with a faster, more convenient way to “keep your floors barefoot clean.” The device is “ready to go in as little as 30 seconds,” and works using only water to clean and sanitize, which can help to avoid the use of harsh chemicals. When you’re ready to move on to carpet, the company claims you simply need to remove the Easy Release Mop Pad Tray.

Each Bissell Symphony includes the following:

  • The Bissell Symphony hard floor cleaner
  • Two (1 soft, 1 scrubby) Microfiber Mop Pads
  • Water cup

The Bissell Symphony’s Easy Touch Digital Controls give you three ways to clean: cyclonic vacuum, high steam, and low steam. Additional features include a five-way adjustable handle, Dry Tank Technology that keeps your dirt retention tank clean and dry, and Easy Release Mop Pad Tray.

Bissell Symphony Pricing

While the Bissell Symphony is also available from Walmart and HSN, if purchased directly through the manufacturer, it’s priced at four payments of $49.95, or one single payment of $199.80, plus S&H. Also, you’ll receive three free bonuses with your order:

  • 2 Microfiber Mop Pads with Microban antimicrobial protection.
  • BISSELL Steam Shot™ Hard Surface Cleaner.

In addition, you’ll have the option of adding two upgrades at checkout:

  • Performance Upgrade – Includes water filter and vacuum filter for an additional $5 per payment (total of $20).
  • Pet Hair Eraser Cordless Hand Vacuum – An additional one-time payment of $39.96.

All Bissell Symphony Vacuum and Steam Mops come with a 60-day risk-free guarantee, less shipping and handling charges. Keep in mind that you’ll also be responsible for S&H back to the manufacturer, which could be relatively expensive, considering that it’s measurements are 46.5 x 11.0 x 9.0, and that it weighs 7 pounds. On top of this, the appliance also comes with a three-year limited warranty against defects in workmanship.

If you need to process a return, simply call Bissell Customer Service at 800-237-7691 or via an online contact form.

Pros:

  • Claims to be the only household appliance that allows you to vacuum and steam mop at the same time.
  • Claims to kill harmful bacteria.
  • Made by Bissell, a company that has been in business for nearly 140 years.
  • 60-refund policy and three-year warranty.

Cons:

  • Some common complaints include poor vacuum performance, and that a slight learning curve is involved to become proficient with the machine.

Bottom Line:

Even though the Bissell Symphony appears to have an overwhelmingly positive online reputation, keep in mind that the most common complaints include poor vacuum performance, and that a slight learning curve is involved to become proficient with the machine.

Furthermore, while you may be able surface clean relatively quickly, in order to deep clean bacteria and other contaminants such as E. coli and salmonella, you’ll need to leave the steam mop in place for 15-20 seconds. And with a cleaning pad that only measures 11 inches, it may take you a while to deep clean all of your hard surface flooring.

Finally, the Bissell Symphony should only be used on sealed surfaces. This means that it should not be used on older wood floors that haven’t be recently refinished, or on bare, porous tile surfaces.

Sign Up for HighYa Newsletter

Sign up for HighYa newsletter and get our best content delivered in your inbox as well as 3 free eBooks to help you save money and shop smarter. Enter your email below to get started!

31 Consumer Reviews for Bissell Symphony

Average Consumer Rating: 2.4
Rating Snapshot:
5 star: 9 4 star: 0 3 star: 0 2 star: 6 1 star:  16
Bottom Line: 32% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 1-11 of 31
Sort reviews by:

  • 17 out 41 people found this review helpful

    Don't buy it!

    • Portland, OR,
    • Jul 3, 2014

    It's a SCAM. I used it once and it put permanent scratches on hard wood floors.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Jan 24, 2015

      Tm,

      Bottom line says would recommend to a friend, I guess this person does not like the friend!

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 53 out 53 people found this review helpful

    This is a scam, don't buy

    • Orlando,florida,
    • Aug 24, 2014

    As most are saying, this symphony is made to last for three months just enough to finish the warranty. The first two months it runs great and then it is a piece of junk... As a vacuum it doesn't pick up a thing and then as a steamer, it will start getting bad after 4 months.

    My 13 year old saved all year to buy this for her mom and they scammed her and me although I have warned my baby not to buy it...

    Please don't make my mistake, they are lying to you and they will never return it if one day passes after three months. Contact me if you don't believe this and I will send you videos.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Jan 17, 2015

      icebergen 78 ,

      There's 3 year warranty so why not take it back if you bought of the infomercial not Walmart or the others stores. They will take it back after that, no question asked.

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 33 out 33 people found this review helpful

    stopped steaming at exactly 3 months

    • Cocoa, FL,
    • Sep 23, 2014

    I'm so disappointed. I thought this would be a great product. I used the Symphony about 12 times in the 3 months I've had it and the steam function no longer works. I sent an email to customer service and they sent me a checklist to run through & the number for customer service if the checklist did not correct the problem. Well it didn't! I called customer service & they made me run through the exact checklist again. It's still not working, no clicking, no steam. They wanted to send me a new filter (my unit has a dummy filter that is working just fine. water runs thought it) & wait the 5-7 days for it to be delivered before they will address anything else. Ridiculous!

    I told them I was going to file a dispute with my credit card company. That got some attention. Now they want me to cut the cord off the machine & mail them the cord, once they receive the cord they will send me a new machine. I guess I'll be waiting another 2-3 weeks to get the new machine. I unfortunately did recommend this product to a friend, who bought it. Now I'm so sorry I did...

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 22 out 22 people found this review helpful

    3 months and now lost steam!

    • Haleiwa, HI,
    • Nov 9, 2014

    So disappointed as well. I bragged about it. Today the steam just stopped. I was using it everyday. I am going to utilize all the tactics shared on this review site and get a refund or new machine.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 22 out 24 people found this review helpful

    Do not buy this machine!

    • Henderson, Nevada,
    • Nov 18, 2014

    I have had this machine for less than 3 months and I know that when I purchased this item it came with a 90 day warranty but miraculously after 2 months the steam stopped working and I called customer service they refuse to refund my money-back and told me that it was a 60 day warranty. I went over everything with the representative before I purchased it and he assured me of the 90 day money-back warranty. They want me to cut the cord and send it in and once they received the cord they will replace the unit. I preferred a refund and then purchase it from a local retailer like (WALMART) who stands by their products! If anyone have the commercial where it says 90 day warranty please send it to me or point me to the site where I can locate it? Thank you and I hope this review was helpful.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (2)
    View all 2 commentsHide comments
    • Feb 23, 2015

      Inez Oakman,

      I saw the commercial and is does state "90 day money-back warranty. 1-800-889-9365. BisellClean.com. I was thinking about buying this vacuum.

    • Oct 4, 2015

      Nicole,

      I am watching the infomercial right now and it says 60 days. So I don't know if they changed it from when you ordered yours, but it definitely says 60 days refund now. I'm so sorry you had to put up with all the aggravation. I will definitely buy it from a local store though, if I decide to get it. Thank you for sharing your cautionary tale.

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 15 out 17 people found this review helpful

    Customer Dis-service.

    • Texas,
    • Jul 9, 2015

    I ordered the Symphony and accessories as well as a handheld vacuum which were a housewarming gift for my daughter. The items never arrived. The company refuses to resend or refund in time for the party. The agent and supervisor had such thick accents as to be very difficult to understand, but they are able to repeat "forward to corporate" about 20 times (which helps no one). Avoid this product and these people unless you enjoy aggravation.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 8 out 11 people found this review helpful

    Confused and Angry

    • Indiana,
    • Aug 8, 2015

    There are three models of the Bissell Symphony. 1132 at Walmart, 11322 at Lowes and 1132P at Kohl's.

    Called Bissell and they told me they were all three the same machine. They are not. The one at Lowes has what's called a steam boost kit where you can also use disposable pads. I took the Lowes one back and got the Walmart one because I wanted the red since they were supposedly the same. The red is not compatible with the disposable stem body technology. I called Bissell back and this time they told me the steam boost kit came with the blue and green only. Ha. Well don't think the blue does? Don't really know but it is not advertised that way. It is advertised with some sort of air freshening disk. Anyways now thanks to Bissell I have to take the red one back and get the one I had to begin with.

    Haven't used it yet. To be continued...

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (2)
    View all 2 commentsHide comments
    • Jan 12, 2015

      Jay,

      Why would you give this a 1 star review for your own mistakes?

    • Jun 1, 2015

      Mlnamaste,

      I have tried numerous type vacuums, they all can say what ever they want. The only one I have found that works is not sold in stores. I wish I would of never let my ex talk me on to trading it in. It's the Rexiar Rainbow. The one I had, nothing was wrong with it worked wonderful. Just old but still worked as it was new. Bagless one of the best I ever used. I plan on purchasing another one soon.

      They last for ever. You want a awesome carpet, tile, any type of floor cleaner this is it. And if you like, you can purchase a shampooer that comes with the unit.

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 19 out 19 people found this review helpful

    Yep, broke down after 4 months. Definitely avoid this

    • Toronto, ON,
    • Feb 6, 2015

    Like so many people here, the unit stopped working on me after four months. This is clearly a faulty product. $200 gone and if this isn't a scam then I don't know what to call it.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 4 out 4 people found this review helpful

    Do not waste your hard earned money on it!

    • Jun 7, 2015

    Bissell Symphony quit working after about 8 uses!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 4 out 4 people found this review helpful

    Worst Customer Service

    • Colorado Springs, CO,
    • Jul 28, 2015

    I bought this through an infomercial. I asked if it works on laminated floors and was assured it would. I received product and in the instructions it states that it is not recommended for non-sealed floors (laminated). I sent it back immediately. Two weeks pass and no communication. Three weeks later instead of giving me a credit, my account that I originally charged it on, started to dwindle. $233.00, then two days later another $266 withdrawn! I called and the heavy accented Chinese lady was not helping me at all. So I ask for a Supervisor. Nope, the Chinese lady is back telling me to prove it with bank statement! Really? I am out $266 until they open the office on Monday. Idon't recommend buying this product online.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 4 out 4 people found this review helpful

    Bought a Symphony 6 months ago, quit working, out $160.

    • Zephyrhills FL,
    • Nov 8, 2015

    I would not recommend this to anyone. I've had it for 6 months, paid 160.00 for it and now the steam part doesn't work any more. What a piece of...

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


Showing 1-11 of 31

Write a Review for Bissell Symphony!

Share your experience to help others shop smarter & discover great products.

Write a Review