About Bissell Symphony

According to the company’s website, the Bissell Symphony’s specially constructed foot allows it to vacuum and steam mop at the same time, and to provide you with “superior hard floor cleaning in one easy step.” In addition, the Bissell Symphony is even capable of cleaning your carpets after removal of the Easy Release Mop Pad Tray.

The Symphony is manufactured by Bissell Homecare, Inc. based out of Walker, MI, which has been in business for nearly 140 years. The company holds a C- rating with the Better Business Bureau, based on 90 closed complaints, most of which appear to relate to defective products, warranty issues, and poor customer service. Regarding the Bissell Symphony specifically, online reviews appear to be overwhelmingly positive, though some common complaints include poor vacuum performance, and that a slight learning curve is involved to become proficient with the machine.

How the Bissell Symphony Works

The Bissell Symphony is claimed to be an “all-in-one vacuum and steam mop” that provides you with a faster, more convenient way to “keep your floors barefoot clean.” The device is “ready to go in as little as 30 seconds,” and works using only water to clean and sanitize, which can help to avoid the use of harsh chemicals. When you’re ready to move on to carpet, the company claims you simply need to remove the Easy Release Mop Pad Tray.

Each Bissell Symphony includes the following:

  • The Bissell Symphony hard floor cleaner
  • Two (1 soft, 1 scrubby) Microfiber Mop Pads
  • Water cup

The Bissell Symphony’s Easy Touch Digital Controls give you three ways to clean: cyclonic vacuum, high steam, and low steam. Additional features include a five-way adjustable handle, Dry Tank Technology that keeps your dirt retention tank clean and dry, and Easy Release Mop Pad Tray.

Bissell Symphony Pricing

While the Bissell Symphony is also available from Walmart and HSN, if purchased directly through the manufacturer, it’s priced at four payments of $49.95, or one single payment of $199.80, plus S&H. Also, you’ll receive three free bonuses with your order:

  • 2 Microfiber Mop Pads with Microban antimicrobial protection.
  • BISSELL Steam Shot™ Hard Surface Cleaner.

In addition, you’ll have the option of adding two upgrades at checkout:

  • Performance Upgrade – Includes water filter and vacuum filter for an additional $5 per payment (total of $20).
  • Pet Hair Eraser Cordless Hand Vacuum – An additional one-time payment of $39.96.

All Bissell Symphony Vacuum and Steam Mops come with a 60-day risk-free guarantee, less shipping and handling charges. Keep in mind that you’ll also be responsible for S&H back to the manufacturer, which could be relatively expensive, considering that it’s measurements are 46.5 x 11.0 x 9.0, and that it weighs 7 pounds. On top of this, the appliance also comes with a three-year limited warranty against defects in workmanship.

If you need to process a return, simply call Bissell Customer Service at 800-237-7691 or via an online contact form.

Pros:

  • Claims to be the only household appliance that allows you to vacuum and steam mop at the same time.
  • Claims to kill harmful bacteria.
  • Made by Bissell, a company that has been in business for nearly 140 years.
  • 60-refund policy and three-year warranty.

Cons:

  • Some common complaints include poor vacuum performance, and that a slight learning curve is involved to become proficient with the machine.

Bottom Line:

Even though the Bissell Symphony appears to have an overwhelmingly positive online reputation, keep in mind that the most common complaints include poor vacuum performance, and that a slight learning curve is involved to become proficient with the machine.

Furthermore, while you may be able surface clean relatively quickly, in order to deep clean bacteria and other contaminants such as E. coli and salmonella, you’ll need to leave the steam mop in place for 15-20 seconds. And with a cleaning pad that only measures 11 inches, it may take you a while to deep clean all of your hard surface flooring.

Finally, the Bissell Symphony should only be used on sealed surfaces. This means that it should not be used on older wood floors that haven’t be recently refinished, or on bare, porous tile surfaces.


Read 30 Bissell Symphony Customer Reviews and Complaints

Write a Review
Average Customer Rating: 2.4
Rating Snapshot:
5 star: 9 4 star: 0 3 star: 0 2 star: 6 1 star:  15
Bottom Line: 33% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 1-11 of 30
Sort reviews by:

  • 53 out 53 people found this review helpful

    This is a scam, don't buy

    • Orlando,florida,
    • Aug 24, 2014

    As most are saying, this symphony is made to last for three months just enough to finish the warranty. The first two months it runs great and then it is a piece of junk... As a vacuum it doesn't pick up a thing and then as a steamer, it will start getting bad after 4 months.

    My 13 year old saved all year to buy this for her mom and they scammed her and me although I have warned my baby not to buy it...

    Please don't make my mistake, they are lying to you and they will never return it if one day passes after three months. Contact me if you don't believe this and I will send you videos.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 36 out 46 people found this review helpful

    Unbelievable. 5 plus stars.

    • Westchester, NY,
    • Aug 8, 2015

    This the most amazing cleaning product I own. Love it. Wish I had one years ago. Bissell has done it again.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 33 out 38 people found this review helpful

    Not what I was expecting, more of a hassle

    • Tampa, FL,
    • Jun 30, 2015

    I researched online reviews before buying this product directly through Bissell. The symphony is not all it's advertised to be. The suction was ok, but the steam, which I could barely see was more of a hassle than anything. Unplug the unit before refilling with water, which was at least two times within the 30 minutes I was using it. This might be a big deal using no chemicals, but I'd rather smell a clean floor then see it's kind of clean. I have tile floors with grout, and this vacuum was not at all what I expected for the amount I spent.

    Bissell is saying they will refund the amount back to my cc, within 2-3 weeks after they receive it. I asked for manager, and they said they would refund right away.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 33 out 33 people found this review helpful

    stopped steaming at exactly 3 months

    • Cocoa, FL,
    • Sep 23, 2014

    I'm so disappointed. I thought this would be a great product. I used the Symphony about 12 times in the 3 months I've had it and the steam function no longer works. I sent an email to customer service and they sent me a checklist to run through & the number for customer service if the checklist did not correct the problem. Well it didn't! I called customer service & they made me run through the exact checklist again. It's still not working, no clicking, no steam. They wanted to send me a new filter (my unit has a dummy filter that is working just fine. water runs thought it) & wait the 5-7 days for it to be delivered before they will address anything else. Ridiculous!

    I told them I was going to file a dispute with my credit card company. That got some attention. Now they want me to cut the cord off the machine & mail them the cord, once they receive the cord they will send me a new machine. I guess I'll be waiting another 2-3 weeks to get the new machine. I unfortunately did recommend this product to a friend, who bought it. Now I'm so sorry I did...

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 31 out 31 people found this review helpful

    Not living up to the expectations

    • Madison, GA,
    • Aug 21, 2014

    I bought this "awesome'" steam vacuum about 4 months ago. At first I was very impressed, now I am disappointed. It has no suction! I have to vacuum with out the pad attachment for it to even pick up a hair! I have kept the filter and all parts clean and clog free. It just does a poor job! Then the steam is streaking my floors. I love the fact of steamed floors but it leaves streaks and now leaks water everywhere. I actually just disposed of the box 2 months ago and now I have no way of returning this to the store. So I guess it will take its place in on the wall of other useless mops, vacuums, and wood floor polishers I have collected. Now I am on the mission to find a product to vacuum my hardwood floors.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 30 out 32 people found this review helpful

    Works better than I anticipated.

    • Miramar, FL,
    • Jun 30, 2015

    I have over 3,000 sq. ft. of tile floor and it takes forever to first vacuum or sweep and then mop the floors and usually there is a bit of residue. The vacuum part of the Symphony works just dandy even with little bits of cat food etc. The steamer heats up very fast and the small amount of water lasted a long time. Not the constant refilling like a carpet cleaner. I'm going on-line to buy whatever they sell to make the steam smell clean. That's the only part I miss from the bucket and mop.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 25 out 31 people found this review helpful

    Great machine

    • Masontown Pa,
    • Jun 5, 2014

    I don't know why there was some reviews that wasn't good. Just got this machine a week ago and I love it. It works so fast cuts down on extra work. My floors look so clean. Just hope it lasts. I've had problems with other steam cleaners. They stopped working in just a few months. I say go for it as it works great.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 22 out 22 people found this review helpful

    3 months and now lost steam!

    • Haleiwa, HI,
    • Nov 9, 2014

    So disappointed as well. I bragged about it. Today the steam just stopped. I was using it everyday. I am going to utilize all the tactics shared on this review site and get a refund or new machine.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 22 out 24 people found this review helpful

    Do not buy this machine!

    • Henderson, Nevada,
    • Nov 18, 2014

    I have had this machine for less than 3 months and I know that when I purchased this item it came with a 90 day warranty but miraculously after 2 months the steam stopped working and I called customer service they refuse to refund my money-back and told me that it was a 60 day warranty. I went over everything with the representative before I purchased it and he assured me of the 90 day money-back warranty. They want me to cut the cord and send it in and once they received the cord they will replace the unit. I preferred a refund and then purchase it from a local retailer like (WALMART) who stands by their products! If anyone have the commercial where it says 90 day warranty please send it to me or point me to the site where I can locate it? Thank you and I hope this review was helpful.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 21 out 23 people found this review helpful

    Great Device

    • Jun 30, 2015

    I have mostly hard floors (wood/tile) this is a time saver. I have a robot vacuum and it does a great job of picking up hair, dirt, etc, but it does not clean up the sticky messes that can form. This is where the Bissell Symphony shines. I hate walking on floors that feel dirty, and this solves that problem.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 19 out 19 people found this review helpful

    Yep, broke down after 4 months. Definitely avoid this

    • Toronto, ON,
    • Feb 6, 2015

    Like so many people here, the unit stopped working on me after four months. This is clearly a faulty product. $200 gone and if this isn't a scam then I don't know what to call it.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

Showing 1-11 of 30

Write a Review for Bissell Symphony!

Share your experience to help others shop smarter & discover great products.

Write a Review