About Blue Diamond Pan

By HighYa Staff
Published on: Jun 4, 2018

Using ultra-durable ceramic that’s infused with millions of diamond particles, Blue Diamond Pan promises to deliver a coating that’s five times harder, lasts 10 times longer, and transfers heat four times better than the competition.

Together with its solid forged base, heat-safe functionality up to 850°, and ability to roast, broil, bake, low-fat fry, sear, and sauté, the manufacturer advertises it delivers extreme strength and warp prevention, toxin-free (PFOA, PFAS, lead, cadmium) cooking, and is dishwasher safe for quick and easy cleanup. In fact, they claim you can even use metal utensils.

These certainly sound like some fantastic benefits. But, once we move away from marketing sound bites and look at real-world performance, is Blue Diamond really the strongest, longest lasting non-stick pan available? Even then, does it represent the best non-stick option for you?

Let’s start by taking a look at non-stick cookware in general, and coatings infused with diamond particles, specifically.

How Does Diamond-Infused Cookware Work?

In How to Buy the Best Non-Stick Cookware, we explain there are three different types of coatings used in these types of products:

  • Fluoropolymer Gel – Typically sold under the Teflon brand name, this is made from polytetrafluoroethylene (PTFE), a plastic polymer resin that’s known for its durability.
  • Silicone – The least expensive option that's baked onto metal, but which is known to lose its non-stick ability quickly.
  • Sol-Gel Ceramic – A ceramic like blend “that incorporates a release agent in the coating to give a slippery texture,” provides good temperature resistance, and offers a variety of color choices.

Related: Non-Stick Cookware 101: Is Teflon Safe?

In the instance of cookware like Blue Diamond, ultra-small diamond particles are added to the ceramic mixture before it’s baked onto the metal, which these manufacturers typically advertise improves hardness, durability, and heat transferability.

However, it’s worth emphasizing that the company behind Blue Diamond Pan doesn’t provide evidence to support their claims that their diamond-infused coating is five times harder, lasts 10 times longer, or transfers heat four times better than the competition. Even the originator of these diamond-infused non-stick coatings (more soon) doesn’t provide evidence to support these claims.

Furthermore, zooming out and looking at the information reported by sites like Geek.com, MSN.com, and ChowHound.com, based on real-world testing (including some conducted by professional chefs), popular diamond-infused non-stick coatings don’t necessarily deliver better performance compared to standard PTFE-based coatings, regardless of price.

Let’s continue our discussion about money in the next section.

How Much Does Blue Diamond Pan Cost?

One 9.5” Blue Diamond Pan is priced at $19.99, plus $8.95 S&H, while you can purchase a second pan during checkout for an additional $8.95 fee.

Each order comes with 50 quick and easy recipes, a 60-day refund policy (less S&H and any fees associated with the second pan), and a limited lifetime warranty against defects in materials and workmanship.

Note: Per the Warranty listed on the Blue Diamond Pan website, if a claim is filed more than 60 days after purchase, customers are required to pay for S&H to the manufacturer and also include an $8.95 check for return S&H.

In order to request a refund or file a warranty claim, you’ll need to call customer support at 800-430-0475. Next, let’s quickly take a look at who you’ll call and what their online customer reputation is.

Who Makes Blue Diamond Pan?

The Cookware Company (USA), LLC is based out of Tarrytown, NY and has been in business since 2007.

In addition to Blue Diamond, they also manufacture popular brands such as GreenPan (more in the next section), GreenChef, GreenLife, VitaVerde, Twiztt, Michel Roux, Cookware Holland, GERO, Keltum, van Kempen & Begeer, and Fiesta cookware.

Blue Diamond Pan vs. the Competition

While traditional Teflon-based non-stick cookware has been on the market for decades, and ceramic cookware is newer but has still been available for years, it appears that Swiss Diamond is the original diamond-infused non-stick manufacturer. They’ve been in business since 2001.

Based on their length of time in the marketplace, it seems they’ve dominated this cookware niche for a while, although several other companies have recently entered their territory. Some of the top options at the time of our research included:

Company Size(s) Available Price(s)
Blue Diamond Pan 9.5” $19.99
Swiss Diamond Fry pans: 7” - 12.5” $39.95 - $229.95
Copper Chef Diamond Pan 10” $24.99+
Diamotech Pan 9.5”, 12.5” $19.99, $29.99
GreenPan Diamond EverShine 8”, 10”, 12” $89.95 - $99.96
WOLL Diamond Lite Fry Pan 8” - 12" $60 - $135
Happycall 5-Layer Diamond Coating Fry Pan 7.9” - 12.6” $25 - $50

Considering the wide variety of sizes and price points available, how can you choose the best diamond-infused option? As with most consumer purchases, it’s largely going to come down to your individual needs.

For example, returning to our non-stick cookware buying guide, we emphasize that sol-gel ceramic coatings typically boast a better initial release than traditional Teflon.

“However, the non-stick property of sol-gel can degrade faster than conventional PTFE coatings. While a proper use and care play a significant role, if treated similarly, ceramic would lose its non-stick qualities sooner. Not only will ceramic-like non-stick pans wear more quickly, but they are more prone to scratching, reducing their overall durability.

On the other hand, ceramic coatings like Blue Diamond’s are often heat resistant up to 850°, while traditional Teflon begins deteriorating and losing its quality at temps above 500°. So, if high temps are your main concern—as long as you’re ultra-careful when using utensils and washing, then it might deliver a solid option.

Does this necessarily mean you should go ahead and place an order? Let’s fully answer this important question as we come to a conclusion.

Our Final Thoughts About Blue Diamond Pan

While we didn't test any of these pans ourselves to provide firsthand feedback when choosing a non-stick pan, we’ve learned from writing previous articles that quality largely comes down to three distinct—but closely related—factors:

  • The coating’s specific formula, which is frequently proprietary to each manufacturer
  • The number of layers in the coating
  • Each layer’s thickness

We contacted several customer support representatives at the number above looking for these types of details about Blue Diamond, although none were able to provide anything more than what was listed on the website.

If you decide to give the 9.5” pan a try, though, it comes from a company with many years in business and who stands behind it with a 60-day refund and a lifetime limited warranty. Just keep in mind that since you’ll lose your initial $8.95 S&H charge (plus the additional $8.85 fee if you ordered the second pan), it’s not a completely risk-free transaction.

Read next: How to Season, Use, Clean, and Store Your Non-Stick Cookware

Sign Up for HighYa Newsletter

Sign up for HighYa newsletter and get our best content delivered in your inbox as well as 3 free eBooks to help you save money and shop smarter. Enter your email below to get started!

24 Consumer Reviews for Blue Diamond Pan

Average Consumer Rating: 1.9
Rating Snapshot:
5 star: 4 4 star: 0 3 star: 1 2 star: 3 1 star:  16
Bottom Line: 21% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 1-11 of 24
Sort reviews by:

  • Sticks

    • Florida,
    • Jan 21, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    This pan sticks not as bad as some but it does stick. I would not buy another, it is not worth the money. It doesn't matter if you use nothing or if you use butter or Pam, it sticks. It is an easy cleanup.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • Water could stick to this fry pan

    • Columbus, OH,
    • Jan 20, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    This is the worst pan I have ever used. Everything sticks to it.

    I wish I could upload a picture of the first omelet I tried to make with this joke of a non-stick pan. It should be called a scam pan.

    I bought it from my local Kroger and I see they no longer stocking the pan. What a disappointment. If I could give this a less than one star I would. I have a ceramic copper and this performs as it should.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 2 out 2 people found this review helpful

    Not good

    • Iceland,
    • Jan 17, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I bought a Blue Diamond frying pan at Kohl's.

    In The Villages in November 2018 when I started to use it, it is rolling on the ceramic cooking machine, so I am not happy. If you want to send me a new one, then I am visiting the US on 24th-30th of January.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 3 out 3 people found this review helpful

    I bought a Blue Diamond skillet through Kohl's

    • Tucson, AZ,
    • Jan 15, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    This skillet does not work. Every time I cook eggs, it blackens. The skillet does not clean up, this blackish white eggs sticks to the pan. I am very disappointed in this product. I try scrubbing, baking soda, detergent, nothing works. I would love to get my money BACK.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 4 out 4 people found this review helpful

    Not as advertised.

    • Palm Desert, CA,
    • Jan 12, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I used this pan for about a month or so and it was fine, but then suddenly the pan lost its slickness and eggs stick to the pan and are difficult to clean.

    I thought about returning under the manufacturer's warranty, however, it cost more to ship back and also pay shipping for the replacement.

    So in the trash it goes.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 3 out 3 people found this review helpful

    Pan scratch

    • Arkansas,
    • Jan 7, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    My wife bought a 10" frying pan for me for Christmas and I used it two times and it got several scratches on the inside. And I was under the impression that it would not scratch. I would not recommend it to anyone.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 8 out 8 people found this review helpful

    Disappointed

    • Elk River, MN,
    • Dec 29, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I bought this set two weeks ago and two of the larger frying pans already have scratches and chips in the surfaces. I feel like this set was a waste of money. I am very dissatisfied with this product.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 5 out 5 people found this review helpful

    Cookware

    • Ottawa, Ontario, Canada,
    • Dec 28, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I bought the 10-piece set and I made mashed potatoes in the pot with a medal masher. When I washed the pot out, there were some scratches. I am disappointed to see the scratches for I waited a whole year to get them. I feel that they are doing false advertising. The frying pans are not bad, but you do need grease or margarine in them.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 5 out 13 people found this review helpful

    Greatest pan on earth

    • Saint Francis, KS,
    • Dec 27, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I tested this pan by first running over it with my truck to see if it was durable, then took a torch to inside, after it withstood all of that, I treated it like directions said, I cooked hash browns and eggs in it. Wow, amazing, nothing sticks. Then I baked bread in it, fantastic, the bread just fell right out. I stuck the pan in the freezer to test it, handled that just great. Next, I cooked a steak at high heat and it seared it perfect. Buy this pan, you can hit your husband in the head, and it will still work.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 10 out 10 people found this review helpful

    Hot handle

    • Nevada,
    • Dec 26, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I bought two of the frying pans at Bed Bath & Beyond. I used it the next morning and it cooked breakfast really well. The only problem was the handle got hot. And I wasn't even using it for a long time. The last time I used it was when I was making fried rice and wanted to switch to a different burner. I instinctively grabbed the handle to move it and dropped the pan and all the dried rice with it, because the handle was extremely hot. I checked the packaging and it even said there the handle stays cool. Very dangerous pan. The least they could have done was provide a leather sheath for the handle. Very bad design.

    Unless they fix this problem, I would not recommend this pan.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 6 out 7 people found this review helpful

    Blue Diamond 11" frying pan review

    • Florida,
    • Dec 21, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    We have used this frying pan almost daily for three months without any issues that others are complaining about. We never put it in the dishwasher, or use high heat. Our choice of oil is organic butter and we have never had any issues of sticking, chipping, scratching or marking. The inside is still perfect, and so is the bottom. Let it cool off before rinsing or washing. We are very health-conscious and did not want the Teflon type the emits nasty harmful gases. This one seems to be a healthier choice, although who can you believe these days. I bought it at Bed Bath & Beyond using their coupons. It appears that the manufacturer's website sells them for less, especially the lids at $10.00 each.

    So far, we are very pleased as we tried the Green Ceramic pan and it was a flop, barely lasted six months and made by this very same company.

    Emptor Caveat! Merry Christmas everyone!

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


Showing 1-11 of 24

Write a Review for Blue Diamond Pan!

Share your experience to help others shop smarter & discover great products.

Write a Review