About BookBub

If you’re an avid—but price-conscious—reader, BookBub claims to send you email alerts any time a book matching your interests is offered at a deeply discounted price, or even completely free. In fact, with more than 2 million subscribers, the company claims to be the #1 service for e-book price promotions.

But is BookBub really all that it’s cracked up to be? Let’s peek behind the cover and find out.

Quick Facts About BookBub

According to the BookBub website, publishers often provide flash sales on their books in order to stimulate sales or to make them stand out from the competition. However, these price reductions are generally only offered for a limited period of time, and finding out when they occur can be a painstaking process.

To change this, BookBub claims to “help you discover your next great book” by sending you daily email updates for ebooks that meet the following criteria:

  • Free or deeply discounted
  • Top quality content
  • Limited time offers
  • Matches your preference

BookBub emails feature content from top-tier authors and publishers, as well as from up-and-coming standouts, across the following genres:

  • Bestsellers
  • Mysteries, Thrillers, & Action
  • Romance
  • Other Fiction
  • Fantasy, Science Fiction, & Horror
  • Nonfiction

In order to sign up for BookBub daily emails, you’ll only need to provide your email address, which the company claims is not shared with any third-party entities. After entering your email address, you’ll then be taken to a page where you can choose which genres and sub-genres you prefer, as well as your preferred formats (e.g. Amazon Kindle, Barnes & Noble Nook, Apple iBooks, etc.). Once you’ve completed the process, you can visit your home page, which will feature a list of titles based on your specifications, as well as a short description of each title and the platform(s) it’s available on.

BookBub Pricing & Refund Policy

BookBub daily email alerts are free, and you can unsubscribe at any time.

Publishers and independent authors can submit their books to the company for review, which will entail a fee (if selected).

What Do Other Consumers Have to Say About BookBub?

BookBub was founded in 2012 by Josh Schanker and is based out of Boston, MA. Although the company has been widely featured in the media, including the New York Times and Forbes, they are not listed with the Better Business Bureau. However, since they provide a free service for consumers, this makes perfect sense.

All online reviews we encountered during our research were positive, and no complaints not related to personal preference were noted.

What’s the Bottom Line About BookBub?

At its most basic, BookBub can be likened to the Groupon for ebooks. Unlike Groupon though, BookBub comes risk-free: You’re not required to spend money in order to receive discounts, or to go through a complicated redeeming process. Instead, simply sign up for a free account, and when you find a book you’d like to download, all you have to do is click on the link and you’ll be taken directly to the download page.

With this in mind, our initial impressions about BookBub are positive, as the company provides a completely free, no-commitment-required service that can potentially save you money. In our limited experience, we've found that some BookBub daily emails may only contain one recommendation, while others may include 8-10—so if you're expecting to receive dozens of recommendations each day, you may be disappointed. This seems to be especially the case if you're looking for nonfiction and/or short stories or novellas, as BookBub focuses primarily on fiction, and any book they feature must be a full-length novel of 150 pages or more.

Want to Learn Expert Tips for Online Safety?

Join over 3 million HighYa readers who receive weekly how-to guides, tips & reviews and get a FREE COPY of our Complete Online Safety e-book. Enter your email below to get started!

23 Consumer Reviews for BookBub

Average Consumer Rating: 4.2
Rating Snapshot:
5 star: 14 4 star: 3 3 star: 4 2 star: 1 1 star:  1
Bottom Line: 87% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 1-11 of 23
Sort reviews by:

  • 1 out 1 people found this review helpful

    Free books

    • Ireland,
    • Nov 10, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    I have gotten some very good books in the last year, but lately, the free ones mentioned in the email are not free. On searching Amazon, one is presented with "audio version," which is really expensive and not free. The "free books" also appear to be missing.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 3 out 4 people found this review helpful

    I have 65 free books on my computer

    • Jackson, GA,
    • Sep 25, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    I have loaded over 65 free BookBub ebooks on my computer. You can't beat free. What do you have to lose? I have told my friends about it. I read in the winter because I don't have time in the summer. I am both a reader and an author and intend to place my first novel, DEATH TO THE NOVICE ATTORNEY, on BookBub.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 7 out 7 people found this review helpful

    Great!

    • Montreal, Quebec, Canada,
    • Sep 6, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    At first, I was skeptical but decided to join. I like getting email alerts, some books I am not really interested in, and so I pass, and I have already downloaded about 15 books ranging from $0.00 to $2.99. The great thing about this site is that they do not ask for any payment info, but instead take you to your already set up account with (in my case) Amazon (for Kindle) and so you deal directly with your e-book provider. I have saved a lot of money going this way!

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 1 out 15 people found this review helpful

    Outstanding book

    What a fun book to read. It has a great plot with lots of twists, suspense, and action. The lead characters have spunk and were well written. A very fast read. I thoroughly enjoyed reading it and can't wait for more. The more books I read from Noree, the more I enjoy her style of writing.

    I was given a copy of the book with nothing expected in return.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 23 out 23 people found this review helpful

    Great site

    • Milwaukee, WI,
    • Jan 17, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    I recently was told about BookBub, so I joined (which was EASY) and have already gotten one free book and one for $.99! I am retired and an avid reader, doing 2-3 books weekly, so this service really fits my reading needs and budget. Listing my genre choices lets me get what I am interested in. It's a WIN WIN for me!

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 33 out 33 people found this review helpful

    Do your homework

    • Pacifica, CA,
    • Nov 23, 2016
    • Verified Reviewer

    I really like this app and have downloaded several books that I've received free or paid as much as $2.99 (oh my), so I think it's super.

    I came across an interesting quirk, I wanted a book that they were charging $2.99. When I checked on Amazon separately, not from their link, I found it for $1.99. Not a huge difference and for the convenience, this could be worth it to a lot of people but just be aware that you may not be seeing the best price, no matter how ridiculously low it is!

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 22 out 22 people found this review helpful

    Fantastic

    How can anyone give this site less than 5 stars? It's completely free, sends you an email everyday with a selection of books and allows you the opportunity to try new authors. Anyone who complains that Bookbub doesn't give you more free books to choose from has a warped idea of what this site offers. When they signed up it was spelled out what was being offered. I believe there has been only one day since I joined that I didn't choose a book and EVERY BOOK I RECEIVED WAS FREE. What more can you ask for.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 44 out 48 people found this review helpful

    Disappointed I no longer receive BookBub email.

    • Fort Worth, TX,
    • May 11, 2016
    • Verified Reviewer

    I loved this service. However, about a month ago I stopped receiving daily email notices of new books.

    I tried to create a new account using my same email address. BookBub site confirmed I already had an existing account. I attempted to reset my password, but never received email instruction as indicated by BookBub site.

    I emailed BookBub and they suggested I look in my other email folders or in junk mail. This was not the problem.

    I'm very disappointed. I've purchased my books elsewhere for several weeks now. Wish someone could have helped me reset my password.

    If you attempt to give less than a 3 star rating, the site will not allow you to finish and post your review.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Jun 23, 2017

      Gerard Fichet

      I live in a mountainous region of Chile, and BookBub was a great connection for me. I have the same problem about being disconnected without notice. It is impossible to reconnect by myself. I cannot connect every day to Amazon.com looking for book offers at a reasonable price.

      Sincerely, Gerard.

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 35 out 43 people found this review helpful

    Not what I expected.

    • Tucson, AZ,
    • Jan 26, 2016

    Out of 10 books that they suggest on any given day, only 1 or 2 are free, the rest are $0.99 to $2.99 or so. I happen to know that authors and publishers on Amazon's Kindle frequently offer a day or two of FREE ebooks. I thought I would see a good selection of those on BookBub, but they're just not here.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Feb 10, 2016

      May

      That would be because BookBub promo costs us, authors, a lot of money (up to $270 in my category to have my free e-book listed) so a lot of authors aren't advertising their free books on there. But those who advertise on BookBub obviously spare no expense, you can expect good quality, well written, error free books.

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 53 out 58 people found this review helpful

    Awesome service

    • Edmonton, Alberta,
    • Oct 15, 2015
    • Verified Reviewer

    BookBub does exactly what it claims to do and it does it well. I am an avid reader but can't afford to pay the hefty price of a new book. I receive the email every day as promised and I've enjoyed just about every book I've gotten. I also like that they provide a variety of choices of different genres. One of my favorite parts about this service is that I have discovered many authors whom I've not read before and have found that I thoroughly enjoy their work.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Nov 27, 2015

      Alan

      Just get a Library Card and ALL the books are free. I have gotten dozens of them that cost up to 15 bucks on Amazon for free. Read on a Kindle, it's a free program.

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 42 out 46 people found this review helpful

    From a reader's and author's point of view

    • Oct 12, 2015

    Fundamentally, BookBub is for authors who want to promote their books since this is how BookBub makes its money. BookBub.com and KindleBookPromotions.com remain my favorite sites from an author's point of view since it's a great way to get a lot of people to download your book. From a reader's perspective I also enjoy it as a way to try out new authors.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


Showing 1-11 of 23

Write a Review for BookBub!

Share your experience to help others shop smarter & discover great products.

Write a Review