About Bookit.com

Now that summertime has arrived, if you’re searching for some of the best travel deals online, BookIt.com might be just what you’re looking for. This web-based company claims to feature deeply discounted flights, hotels, cruises, packages, and more and to have “perfected the art of online travel.”

With this in mind, is BookIt.com deserving of your hard-earned money? Let’s sift through the facts and see what we dig up.

How Bookit.com Works

By providing deeply discounted travel deals for flights, hotels, cruises, packages, car rentals, and activities and services, BookIt.com claims to be the perfect online destination to plan and book your travel. In fact, BookIt.com claims to use FROM™ (Fast-Relevant-Origin-Method) Pricing Technology to condense a great deal of highly-relevant data into just five seconds of search time, and to provide the best, most user-friendly web interface and fantastic guest service.

Like most travel deals sites like CheapCaribbean and Vacations to Go, you’ll begin your BookIt.com search by choosing what kind of deal you’re looking for, and entering your departure and arrival cities, dates, the number of rooms you’ll need, and the number of adults and children in attendance. You can also specify what types of travel deals you’re interested in, such as flights, hotels, and rental cars, or any combination thereof. Alternately, you can be redirected to travel deals for popular destinations and themes (e.g. all-inclusive, luxury, family, and many others).

After pressing the Search button, your results will be displayed per-package, and will include flight details (e.g. dates, carrier, departure and arrival times), hotel information, Guest ratings, amenities, and per-person price. If you find a package you’re interested in, simply click the More Info button, at which point you’ll be able to view details such as hotel descriptions, photos, maps, TripAdvisor ratings, and more.

If you decide to purchase a package on BookIt.com, you’ll need to press the Select button. On the following page, you’ll be given the opportunity to upgrade your flight (if available) and add activities or services specific to your destination, such as guided tours, museum passes, and other unique experiences. Afterward, you can then add guest information, purchase travel insurance, and enter your payment information.

If you’d prefer to book your travel deals on the go, BookIt.com also offers iDevice and Android mobile apps.

BookIt.com Pricing & Refund Policy

BookIt.com basically acts as a travel agent, and takes a commission from the service provider (e.g. airline, hotel, rental car company, etc.) for each sale they make. As such, the company’s services are completely free to use as a consumer.

If you’re looking to save a little extra money, you can enter your email address to become a BookIt.com member, which claims to provide access to coupon codes valued anywhere from $15 to $50. However, if you scroll down to the bottom of the BookIt home page, you can find many coupon codes available under the Coupon Codes link.

BookIt.com claims to match any price advertised through another travel website, but only within 24 hours of making your reservation. Once you’re ready to purchase your vacation, the website accepts all major credit cards and PayPal, as well as their own PayDelay service that allows you to split the total cost of your deal into 2 equal payments.

According to the company’s Terms of Use, all services provided by BookIt.com are non-refundable.

What Do Other Consumers Have to Say About BookIt.com?

BookIt.com is based out of Panama City Beach, FL, and was founded in 2000 by Bud Finlaw. The company has a B+ rating with the Better Business Bureau, based on more than 450 closed complaints over the past three years. Most of these appear to reference poor customer service, difficulty obtaining refunds, website errors (prices displaying incorrectly, pictures displayed not of actual hotel rooms, etc.), and bad travel experiences (hotel was overbooked upon arrival, ground transportation failed to show, etc.).

Outside of the BBB, customer sentiment appears to be quite negative, with the most common complaints citing very poor customer support (more about this in the following section).

What’s the Bottom Line About BookIt.com?

Even though BookIt.com claims to offer deeply discounted travel deals and outstanding customer service, is this really the case?

At its most basic, it appears the biggest benefit associated with BookIt.com is their ability to feature good deals. In fact, even among the numerous complaints we read, many customers specifically found lower prices than advertised through many of the heavy hitters in the industry, including Expedia and Travelocity.

However, the biggest complaint we found during our research overwhelmingly referenced poor customer service. Based on these reviews, it would appear that customer support staff are very disinterested in helping Guests solve their problems, and are often rude and keep you on hold for extended periods of time (>30 minutes), which are disconnected without warning and without callbacks.

Also, it’s important to keep in mind that like other travel websites we’ve reviewed, BookIt.com is not responsible for errors on their website. Also, unlike a traditional travel agency, remember that if something happens outside of BookIt.com’s control, such as a flight being delayed due to weather, a hotel being overbooked, etc., you’re often on your own to figure how to make it work. And even when something is under the control of BookIt, such as changing flight details, customers often find little help through support.

Bottom line: If you’re willing to roll the dice and hope nothing goes wrong (whether caused directly by BookIt.com or by a third party service), you might find that the company provides very low prices on travel deals to most global destinations.


Read 106 Bookit.com Customer Reviews and Complaints

Write a Review
Average Customer Rating: 1.1
Rating Snapshot:
5 star: 0 4 star: 1 3 star: 2 2 star: 2 1 star:  101
Bottom Line: 2% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 1-11 of 106
Sort reviews by:

  • Out of business

    • By Deb R.,
    • Boston, MA,
    • Mar 23, 2020
    • Verified Reviewer

    Received an email today stating my vacation was canceled due to the Coronavirus. Information on their website stated that all reservations are canceled between now and June 2020. However, my reservation was for NOVEMBER 2020. Can’t get on their website and no answer at customer service. So I called the hotel directly in Mexico and they informed me that Bookit was in financial trouble and out of business. I guess we all got screwed.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Something is very wrong here!

    • By Barbara R.,
    • Wyoming,
    • Mar 19, 2020
    • Verified Reviewer

    My friends and I booked a trip too. The resort is telling us Bookit did not pay them and they are requiring us to pay again. The airlines, ground transportation, and the excursion we went on had no problems. The resort is threatening to call authorities if we don't pay again. They are saying Bookit is not working because of the Coronavirus. Don't know who is the problem that is sure causing us a lot of stress.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Coronavirus but still took my money.

    • By Jorge V.,
    • New York, NY,
    • Mar 18, 2020
    • Verified Reviewer

    Horrible service. Company wants to charge even with the Coronavirus epidemic. Very unethical. I would understand if I was changing my plans for personal reasons, but a worldwide epidemic? The government should do something about these companies that still adhere to their policies even though we are all going through an emergency.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Don’t use Bookit

    • By Kimberly M.,
    • Pasadena, MD,
    • Mar 16, 2020
    • Verified Reviewer

    I had to cancel a reservation in Virginia Beach because the cheerleading competition I was going to attend was canceled due to the Carona virus, they would not refund any of my money. Trying to get ahold of anyone at their customer service was impossible, their system was down every time I called. Lesson learned - I will only book a reservation directly through the hotel. That’s what my daughter did and she was not penalized. I was charged the full amount of $175.00 for one night. I hope this review helps someone, I wish I did a little research before I used them.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Denial, lack of responsibility, poor services

    • By Gene B.,
    • Nebraska,
    • Mar 12, 2020
    • Verified Reviewer

    I recently finished my third Bookit.com vacation and am completely dissatisfied with their arrangements and customer support on my most recent trip.

    The hotel we stayed at in Puerto Vallarta was under major construction (expanding 3x its current size) and the airport transportation we arranged through Bookit.com expected us to sit through additional trip excursion sales. Additionally, we were expected to sit through a time-share presentation when we arrived at our hotel (which we did not attend, but confirmed through discussion with other guests).

    I received a request notification from Bookit.com upon return from our trip asking for a review on their site. After giving an honest full review they posted a Bookit.com edited version of my review on the Bookit.com's site.

    Portions of the review that were critical of the service I received from Bookit.com were removed as well as my complaints concerning the attempts at the additional sales meetings that had been made as part of my trip.

    I called Bookit.com to ask that my review be removed since it had not been posted in its entirety. Of course, their customer service is outsourced to India. I was told that the review process was automated and that no one would have edited my review nor would they remove it. I am not stupid and know what I wrote so I was infuriated by that response.

    When I widened the scope of my complaint to include the construction at the hotel and the additional sales attempts during my trip the phone magically started to cut in/out (no transmission problems before that point) and the representative began their long litany of denial from bookit.com that they had any responsibility for the quality of services provided. i.e. they had no idea of the construction and since the transportation services were not directly provided by them, they had no responsibility for how that was provided.

    I will no longer book my trips through Bookit.com!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Forget a refund

    • By Tony W.,
    • Decatur, AL,
    • Dec 30, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I made an error on the dates for a hotel. We showed up 3 weeks early to the hotel. The hotel had space on the weekend we arrived but they didn’t have our reservation. When we tried to cancel with Bookit telling them we made a mistake on dates. They refused to refund and were never helpful; therefore we paid them 3 days that we didn’t need. I would never recommend them to anyone!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Poor scheduling

    • By Eric N.,
    • Wildwood, FL,
    • Oct 10, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    Me and my wife returned from Jamaica to find out our layover 4 hours from home was scheduled for the wrong day while we were in Jamaica by Bookit.com. They scheduled it wrong and refused to correct it. After trying to tough it out and sleep at the airport and not showering, we got really hungry and tried to go to a restaurant in the airport and were denied access to part of the airport with food, and the nearest restaurants were miles away. Ended up buying a rental car to drive 4 hours to the airport in Tampa, then another hour and a half home once we got our personal vehicle. Got home at 2:00 in the morning. Completely ruined our vacation.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Do not use Bookit.com

    • By C M.,
    • Maryland,
    • Sep 4, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    My friend and I booked through Bookit.com on August 12, 2019. The reservation was for the Grand Sunset Princess Resort in Mexico for August 22, 2019 - August 25, 2019. It was a horrible experience and safety concern. We traveled from 2 separate states, however, we booked our hotel together. So when she received the confirmation email because she was the only one getting her plane ticket through them, she was the only person on the reservation. My plane was set to arrive hours before hers so she called and requested that my name also be added to the reservation so that I could check us in. After contacting Bookit.com they assured her that I would be ok to check in, just provide her name and our confirmation at the desk during check in...WRONG! We had the worst experience, it cost me an additional $541 US at the resort or else I would've been HOMELESS in Mexico. While there Bookit.com refused to help they just kept saying that it's nothing they could do...which the hotel front desk said as long a Bookit tell them it's two people, we'll be fine, and we told Bookit this. They left me to fend for myself (single, young, female) in a foreign which cost me every dime I had to my name. Even the onsite travel agency BD emailed Bookit on our behalf.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Charged for their error!

    • By Henry E.,
    • South Carolina,
    • Jul 29, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I have used Bookit previously without error. This time their site errored out while I was attempting to pay. It stated I had to call in for assistance. I was told it went through but the wrong flight went through. The agent told me he had to cancel the order and process it manually. Once he canceled my order he told me the room I had was sold out and I had to select something else. Of course, I refused! He then wanted to charge me the price of one person ($1,000+), I refused and asked for a supervisor. He then said he was going to charge me a $50 fee and keep the $198 I paid down, I was like heck no. I continued to ask for a supervisor and he continued to refuse to connect me to a supervisor. He then said he would just charge me the $50 fee to cancel. I agreed just to get off the phone! I felt like those people that falsely confess to the police. Bottom line, I paid $50 for their error! I will not use them again!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Horrible customer service and the site doesn't work properly

    • By C W.,
    • Catricejlsc@gmail.com,
    • Jul 23, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I booked a trip on their website and requested delay pay where it’s $99 down with 6 additional payments. The system charged my account for the entire vacation. I called their customer service number and spoke with a representative who’s name is Casheka who advised there's nothing they can do but cancel my trip and wait 7-10 days for a refund. I told her I’m in the middle of a family weekend getaway and I need my funds to be available. Casheka didn’t seem concerned but continues to say there’s nothing she could do. I requested to speak to a manager, she placed me on hold for 10 minutes and came back to the phone to advice a manager wasn’t available and the manager is taking a call from another customer. I began to express stress and frustration and my tone expressed it, she put me on hold for another 20 minutes and connected me with a manager by the name of Kenneal S. Kenneal was very rude and cut me off every time I spoke. He asked me a question and refused to let me answer it. I asked to speak to his manager and he told me his manager name was Brandon C but is not in the building. He explained that he’s the highest rep in the building and said the only way I’ll get my money back is to cancel and wait 7-10 days. Kenneal stated there's no way to verify that it was their system that caused the error and it wasn’t their fault so there’s nothing whatsoever they can do to accommodate me.

    Kenneal transferred me back to the original rep, Casheka, who placed me on hold while she canceled the flights. It’s been almost 2 hours now and no resolve and I’m still holding while writing this review. This is the WORSE CUSTOMER SERVICE I’VE EVER EXPERIENCED IN MY LIFE. Never again.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Horrible customer service

    • By Juanita P.,
    • Philadelphia, PA,
    • Jul 13, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I don't see how ya'll are getting all of these 4 and 5 stars when y'all customer service suck. All I want to do is modify my trip and I even saved my search to my member's lounge. I was emailing a Beth Walton trying to get an earlier date for my scheduled appointment and she claims there are no slots available. I explained to her that I recently picked up a second job and that there are only 4 packages left for the place that I'm trying to go. My brother just modified his trip today and it took less than 10 minutes. Why are ya'll making it so difficult for people to modify, but ya'll still are booking new trips? It just doesn't make any sense. My trip is scheduled for July 15th and all I want is to change the date and location. I've emailed corporate, and social@bookit and still no response. Y'all really have to improve on serving your customers better.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


Showing 1-11 of 106

Write a Review for Bookit.com!

Share your experience to help others shop smarter & discover great products.

Write a Review
Bookit.com