Bookit.com Reviews

Bookit.com

Overall Rating

1.1

107 Customer Reviews

Summary

BookIt.com is a service that provides deals on discounted travel services including flights, hotels, cruises, and more. Learn what customers are saying about this service.

Write a Review

Customer Reviews

1.1 Stars out of 107 Reviews
5 Star:0% 4 Star:0% 3 Star:1% 2 Star:1% 1 Star:95%
2% Recommend This Service
Start your review of Bookit.com:
Sort Reviews By

Posted on Mar 30, 2020

Worst

By Debbie M., Rhode Island, Verified Reviewer

I had a trip scheduled to Cancun for 3/18/20. I changed the trip to 7/15/20 to be notified by the Hotel that Bookit.com has not paid for this trip and if I wanted to book directly they would give me the small discounted rate. I have sent all the information to my credit card company, also the Florida Attorney General's office. Hopefully they are able to help us get the trip we all deserve! NEVER AGAIN. They will be back in business under a new name, I'M SURE OF THAT.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 2 People Have Voted

Posted on Mar 23, 2020

Out of business

By Deb R., Boston, MA, Verified Reviewer

Received an email today stating my vacation was canceled due to the Coronavirus. Information on their website stated that all reservations are canceled between now and June 2020. However, my reservation was for NOVEMBER 2020. Can’t get on their website and no answer at customer service. So I called the hotel directly in Mexico and they informed me that Bookit was in financial trouble and out of business. I guess we all got screwed.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 3 People Have Voted

Posted on Mar 19, 2020

Something is very wrong here!

By Barbara R., Wyoming, Verified Reviewer

My friends and I booked a trip too. The resort is telling us Bookit did not pay them and they are requiring us to pay again. The airlines, ground transportation, and the excursion we went on had no problems. The resort is threatening to call authorities if we don't pay again. They are saying Bookit is not working because of the Coronavirus. Don't know who is the problem that is sure causing us a lot of stress.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 1 Person Has Voted

Posted on Mar 18, 2020

Coronavirus but still took my money.

By Jorge V., New York, NY, Verified Reviewer

Horrible service. Company wants to charge even with the Coronavirus epidemic. Very unethical. I would understand if I was changing my plans for personal reasons, but a worldwide epidemic? The government should do something about these companies that still adhere to their policies even though we are all going through an emergency.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Posted on Mar 16, 2020

Don’t use Bookit

By Kimberly M., Pasadena, MD, Verified Reviewer

I had to cancel a reservation in Virginia Beach because the cheerleading competition I was going to attend was canceled due to the Carona virus, they would not refund any of my money. Trying to get ahold of anyone at their customer service was impossible, their system was down every time I called. Lesson learned - I will only book a reservation directly through the hotel. That’s what my daughter did and she was not penalized. I was charged the full amount of $175.00 for one night. I hope this review helps someone, I wish I did a little research before I used them.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 1 Person Has Voted

Posted on Mar 12, 2020

Denial, lack of responsibility, poor services

By Gene B., Nebraska, Verified Reviewer

I recently finished my third Bookit.com vacation and am completely dissatisfied with their arrangements and customer support on my most recent trip.

The hotel we stayed at in Puerto Vallarta was under major construction (expanding 3x its current size) and the airport transportation we arranged through Bookit.com expected us to sit through additional trip excursion sales. Additionally, we were expected to sit through a time-share presentation when we arrived at our hotel (which we did not attend, but confirmed through discussion with other guests).

I received a request notification from Bookit.com upon return from our trip asking for a review on their site. After giving an honest full review they posted a Bookit.com edited version of my review on the Bookit.com's site.

Portions of the review that were critical of the service I received from Bookit.com were removed as well as my complaints concerning the attempts at the additional sales meetings that had been made as part of my trip.

I called Bookit.com to ask that my review be removed since it had not been posted in its entirety. Of course, their customer service is outsourced to India. I was told that the review process was automated and that no one would have edited my review nor would they remove it. I am not stupid and know what I wrote so I was infuriated by that response.

When I widened the scope of my complaint to include the construction at the hotel and the additional sales attempts during my trip the phone magically started to cut in/out (no transmission problems before that point) and the representative began their long litany of denial from bookit.com that they had any responsibility for the quality of services provided. i.e. they had no idea of the construction and since the transportation services were not directly provided by them, they had no responsibility for how that was provided.

I will no longer book my trips through Bookit.com!

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 1 Person Has Voted

Posted on Dec 30, 2019

Forget a refund

By Tony W., Decatur, AL, Verified Reviewer

I made an error on the dates for a hotel. We showed up 3 weeks early to the hotel. The hotel had space on the weekend we arrived but they didn’t have our reservation. When we tried to cancel with Bookit telling them we made a mistake on dates. They refused to refund and were never helpful; therefore we paid them 3 days that we didn’t need. I would never recommend them to anyone!

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 3 People Have Voted

Posted on Oct 10, 2019

Poor scheduling

By Eric N., Wildwood, FL, Verified Reviewer

Me and my wife returned from Jamaica to find out our layover 4 hours from home was scheduled for the wrong day while we were in Jamaica by Bookit.com. They scheduled it wrong and refused to correct it. After trying to tough it out and sleep at the airport and not showering, we got really hungry and tried to go to a restaurant in the airport and were denied access to part of the airport with food, and the nearest restaurants were miles away. Ended up buying a rental car to drive 4 hours to the airport in Tampa, then another hour and a half home once we got our personal vehicle. Got home at 2:00 in the morning. Completely ruined our vacation.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 1 Person Has Voted

Posted on Sep 4, 2019

Do not use Bookit.com

By C M., Maryland, Verified Reviewer

My friend and I booked through Bookit.com on August 12, 2019. The reservation was for the Grand Sunset Princess Resort in Mexico for August 22, 2019 - August 25, 2019. It was a horrible experience and safety concern. We traveled from 2 separate states, however, we booked our hotel together. So when she received the confirmation email because she was the only one getting her plane ticket through them, she was the only person on the reservation. My plane was set to arrive hours before hers so she called and requested that my name also be added to the reservation so that I could check us in. After contacting Bookit.com they assured her that I would be ok to check in, just provide her name and our confirmation at the desk during check in...WRONG! We had the worst experience, it cost me an additional $541 US at the resort or else I would've been HOMELESS in Mexico. While there Bookit.com refused to help they just kept saying that it's nothing they could do...which the hotel front desk said as long a Bookit tell them it's two people, we'll be fine, and we told Bookit this. They left me to fend for myself (single, young, female) in a foreign which cost me every dime I had to my name. Even the onsite travel agency BD emailed Bookit on our behalf.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 3 People Have Voted

Posted on Jul 29, 2019

Charged for their error!

By Henry E., South Carolina, Verified Reviewer

I have used Bookit previously without error. This time their site errored out while I was attempting to pay. It stated I had to call in for assistance. I was told it went through but the wrong flight went through. The agent told me he had to cancel the order and process it manually. Once he canceled my order he told me the room I had was sold out and I had to select something else. Of course, I refused! He then wanted to charge me the price of one person ($1,000+), I refused and asked for a supervisor. He then said he was going to charge me a $50 fee and keep the $198 I paid down, I was like heck no. I continued to ask for a supervisor and he continued to refuse to connect me to a supervisor. He then said he would just charge me the $50 fee to cancel. I agreed just to get off the phone! I felt like those people that falsely confess to the police. Bottom line, I paid $50 for their error! I will not use them again!

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 1 Person Has Voted

Posted on Jul 23, 2019

Horrible customer service and the site doesn't work properly

By C W., Catricejlsc@gmail.com, Verified Reviewer

I booked a trip on their website and requested delay pay where it’s $99 down with 6 additional payments. The system charged my account for the entire vacation. I called their customer service number and spoke with a representative who’s name is Casheka who advised there's nothing they can do but cancel my trip and wait 7-10 days for a refund. I told her I’m in the middle of a family weekend getaway and I need my funds to be available. Casheka didn’t seem concerned but continues to say there’s nothing she could do. I requested to speak to a manager, she placed me on hold for 10 minutes and came back to the phone to advice a manager wasn’t available and the manager is taking a call from another customer. I began to express stress and frustration and my tone expressed it, she put me on hold for another 20 minutes and connected me with a manager by the name of Kenneal S. Kenneal was very rude and cut me off every time I spoke. He asked me a question and refused to let me answer it. I asked to speak to his manager and he told me his manager name was Brandon C but is not in the building. He explained that he’s the highest rep in the building and said the only way I’ll get my money back is to cancel and wait 7-10 days. Kenneal stated there's no way to verify that it was their system that caused the error and it wasn’t their fault so there’s nothing whatsoever they can do to accommodate me.

Kenneal transferred me back to the original rep, Casheka, who placed me on hold while she canceled the flights. It’s been almost 2 hours now and no resolve and I’m still holding while writing this review. This is the WORSE CUSTOMER SERVICE I’VE EVER EXPERIENCED IN MY LIFE. Never again.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 2 People Have Voted

Posted on Jul 13, 2019

Horrible customer service

By Juanita P., Philadelphia, PA, Verified Reviewer

I don't see how ya'll are getting all of these 4 and 5 stars when y'all customer service suck. All I want to do is modify my trip and I even saved my search to my member's lounge. I was emailing a Beth Walton trying to get an earlier date for my scheduled appointment and she claims there are no slots available. I explained to her that I recently picked up a second job and that there are only 4 packages left for the place that I'm trying to go. My brother just modified his trip today and it took less than 10 minutes. Why are ya'll making it so difficult for people to modify, but ya'll still are booking new trips? It just doesn't make any sense. My trip is scheduled for July 15th and all I want is to change the date and location. I've emailed corporate, and social@bookit and still no response. Y'all really have to improve on serving your customers better.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 2 People Have Voted

Posted on Jul 10, 2019

TOTAL RIP OFF

By Josh G., Toppenish, WA, Verified Reviewer

Trip got canceled in back July 2018. Flight credit was promised to be available for 1 year. We kept looking for prices to come down throughout the following months and decided to wait until May or June of 2019, only to find out that the credit was only good for the same original destination otherwise a $200 fee per person would be applied (group of 4). When the Bookit representative looked for flights in their inventory, only business class seats were available, almost 5 times more expensive than what we paid in 2018. We were stuck with a credit we couldn't even redeem. We tried changing our destination anyway, but not only did the $200 fee apply but the tickets were also $200 more expensive per person than their actual website. Which meant our whole credit was a wash. It was the same price to just purchase directly online again. So much for our so-called credit.

Long story short, we lost over $1600. They promised a flight credit and ended up keeping all our money. Bookit.com simply left me a bad taste I will never forget. Come to find out their BBB is an F rating. Never ever again! No recommendations from me. Wasted time and money.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 2 People Have Voted

Posted on Jun 27, 2019

Rebook

By Janet W., Salt Lake City, UT, Verified Reviewer

After waiting many hours with no resolution they won’t even give an answer, they said unless reservations are less than 3 days away, was told yesterday that within 24 hours they would have a solution, after waiting over 2 hours today, said 7-10 days. They are holding over $8k hostage, will not even put a supervisor on the line or give a confirmation number of the changes I am trying to do. Service rep hung up. We book many trips and will never use them again.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 1 Person Has Voted

Posted on Jun 26, 2019

50-50 Bookit.com experience

By Raymonde K., North Carolina, Verified Reviewer

UPDATE 6/19/2019: After writing this review and posting the same review on other review sites and with Bookit as well, I was contacted by a Bookit employee Kristine Jenson. Kristine professionally, politely, and generously took care of the issues in a satisfactory manner. It's unfortunate we were treated so poorly in our original dealings with Bookit but Kristine Jenson took care of things and I would now chance it and use Bookit again hopefully, with a "Kristine" experience.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 5 People Have Voted

Posted on Jun 18, 2019

Changing a reservation

By Percy M., Colorado, Verified Reviewer

It sucks that they are not going to be able to modify your reservation. And that Expedia who collaborate with booking it wants me to do another reservation instead of moving my reservation just 1 day prior to my original reservation. The service is NOT GOOD and NOT CONSUMER FRIENDLY. All they want is YOUR MONEY!

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 1 Person Has Voted

Posted on May 22, 2019

Bookit is absolutely horrible

By Liz C., Massachusetts, Verified Reviewer

So many issues with this company. Will never ever book again. Not helpful, can never get in touch with a live agent, did not refund for canceled flights, paid for transport and never received it after entering Cancun airport - nobody answered in customer service to help. No refund for time or money spent on flights and transport. Absolutely outraged. Do not book through Bookit. I saved and saved for this dream vacay, being a single mom it was not easy, their company made my vacation so difficult to enjoy. Zero stars. Someone needs to report them to the BBB.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 4 People Have Voted

Posted on May 21, 2019

The absolute most worst booking agency! THIEVES!

By Emiliano G., California, Verified Reviewer

Let's start that when you first call it's all jolly time and never tell you anything negative, they encourage to buy insurance for X-Y-Z reason. I bought 7 tickets, 3 out of those 7 couldn't attend and I just wanted to have them do a name change since the ticket was already paid for and take a loss for the other tickets. NOPE! Supposedly you get insurance to be able to do those kinds of changes, the only way they give you a PARTIAL refund, not even a full refund, is if you died or Jesus himself comes down to refund you. A total and complete scam. Don't ever, and I mean ever, book with these shady people!

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 4 People Have Voted

Posted on May 15, 2019

Terrible company, DO NOT USE.

By Kathleen K., Punta Cana, Dominican Republic, Verified Reviewer

This company charged me $875 USD more then we agreed upon. Then assured me I could change my flight but did not send flight vouchers until days after the 24-hour period passed. When I called the hotel they were unable to confirm my reservation. After repeated calls and bring on hold spending over 50 hours I finally have up and accepted the $100 refund. I am taking my moms ashes in this Mother’s Day weekend. This trip is important to me, my mom just passed. The company would not give me a refund so I could book a different trip. Will never ever work with the company again.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 4 People Have Voted

Posted on Apr 5, 2019

Stay away!

By Yaz J., Aljraki , Verified Reviewer

Do not book any vacation through this site. They are faulty advertising, which leads to conspiracy after you booked. They take your money and then ask you to pay for penalties for mistakes that they committed. Book it.com is absolutely a conspiracy to take over your money. Stay away.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 7 People Have Voted

Posted on Jan 23, 2019

Worst travel experience of my life

By Trevor M., Murrieta, CA, Verified Reviewer

I purchased a trip from Bookit.com for a trip to "The Royal Playa del Carmen."

I had a seizure after purchasing this trip. I had a seizure in -light on an airplane. I purchased travel insurance through Bookit.com (AIG Travel Guard), I have since been fighting for over two months trying to get this handled.

I have filled out all the forms they have supplied, as well as have medical proof of my seizure, and they still refuse to approve my claim.

At this point, I consider at $3,000 I had spent a complete loss and was one of the largest learning experiences I've ever gone through.

Long story short, use a different online booking service, this company is here to make a profit even at the expense of their customer. Worst travel experience I've ever had, and I didn't even get to go on the trip.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 8 People Have Voted

Posted on Dec 27, 2018

Never again plus Florida Attorney General Pam Bondi

By John H., Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada, Verified Reviewer

Some time ago I booked through Bookit for a vacation to Mexico.

They screwed up both the flights and canceled the hotel without just reason. Many problems in trying to obtain a full refund.

Since then I tried Florida's Attorney General Pam Bondi's office. They appear to do good work - but NO JOY of them investigating and having Bookit's license revoked. If EVERYONE with a Bookit problem writes to Pam Bondi's office then maybe they will soon be closed down.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 9 People Have Voted

Posted on Oct 26, 2018

Beware of Bookit.com

By Lora Z., California, Verified Reviewer

I screwed up. Beware of Bookit.com and their confusing policy, check your bank statements for extra charges. I booked with them last night and I found out they changed my flight to overnight flight. I immediately sent an email to them to cancel or change my booking, but they never responded on my email. The next day I called to customers service and tried to figure out this situation, but they hung up on me. I called the second time, and the operator finally told me if I want to change the flight they will charge an additional $400, and if I will to cancel my booking, they will charge my credit card for $50, which is a non refundable fee and my first payment of $198 is also non refundable. Here is a trick in their terms and conditions:

Cancellation Terms

Cancellations made before December 4, 2018 Eastern Time will be charged $25.00 per-person. Cancellations made on or after December 4, 2018 Eastern Time will be considered non-refundable. Airline Cancellation: Airfare is non-transferable and non-refundable.

I am so disappointed because it wasn't my fault, they switched my non-overnight flight to overnight, and I had to pay for their mistake.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 14 People Have Voted

Posted on Sep 24, 2018

Save yourself the struggle - go somewhere else

By William P., Verified Reviewer

Bookit gets you in the door with promises of great deals, but the problem is, they fall to actually follow through with anything. We could never reach a live person after purchasing the package. Additionally, we had to redo our flights with JetBlue (a 2-hour ordeal) because somehow Bookit only sent over our names, resulting in us not being able to check in. Now my new wife and I will not even be able to sit beside each other on our honeymoon. We finally reached a live person who hung up on us.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 11 People Have Voted

Posted on Sep 13, 2018

Car rental gone BAD!

By Scott K., Odessa, TX, Verified Reviewer

We landed in Punta Cana, Dominican Republic, and excited for our trip went up to the Bookit representatives just to be told very rudely that we didn't have a car rental. I called Bookit and talked to an agent who referred me to his boss, just to be told we didn't have a rental. Pissed now and can't speak the language, we go to National where they had Bookit just to be told no go. We finally found another company and paid $600.00 for a crap car. Back home we go online, pull the itinerary, sit on the phone for three hours to be told there is nothing they can do. Horrible service, rude service booked something they couldn't follow through with. We will never use them again!

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 6 People Have Voted

Posted on Sep 8, 2018

Bookit is a scam

By Cynthia F., Georgetown, KY, Verified Reviewer

Bookit.com is only there to take your money. They do not return calls or emails. This is the worse place to book a vacation. Never again and I will make sure I advertise this scam business all over social media. I'm going to BBB about them also.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 5 People Have Voted

Posted on Aug 29, 2018

Not happy

By Dorothy H., Chicago, IL, Verified Reviewer

I booked a flight/hotel package online for Couples Swept Away in Negril, Jamaica. I wanted to book the Great House Verandah Suite, but mistakenly clicked on the Garden Verandah Suite. Within minutes of booking it, I saw my mistake on my itinerary and called customer service. Monique said she could change the room but that it would be more than $300.00 extra to change it. I told her I saw the exact same package and the total difference was $61.50. Monique said that if I didn't want to pay the $300.00, that I would have to cancel my entire trip and would get a refund. However, it would take 7-10 business days to post back to my credit cards. It's ridiculous to up-charge when a customer makes a simple mistake...it's even worse that Bookit can take my money quickly but is slow to refund.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 4 People Have Voted
Showing 1-27 of 107

Our Promise to You

In order to safeguard you and ensure helpfulness and relevance, our compliance team manually assess every customer review before it goes live.

We have a zero-tolerance policy for fake reviews, and companies cannot control or alter any reviews at any time.