About Bookit.com

Now that summertime has arrived, if you’re searching for some of the best travel deals online, BookIt.com might be just what you’re looking for. This web-based company claims to feature deeply discounted flights, hotels, cruises, packages, and more and to have “perfected the art of online travel.”

With this in mind, is BookIt.com deserving of your hard-earned money? Let’s sift through the facts and see what we dig up.

How Bookit.com Works

By providing deeply discounted travel deals for flights, hotels, cruises, packages, car rentals, and activities and services, BookIt.com claims to be the perfect online destination to plan and book your travel. In fact, BookIt.com claims to use FROM™ (Fast-Relevant-Origin-Method) Pricing Technology to condense a great deal of highly-relevant data into just five seconds of search time, and to provide the best, most user-friendly web interface and fantastic guest service.

Like most travel deals sites like CheapCaribbean and Vacations to Go, you’ll begin your BookIt.com search by choosing what kind of deal you’re looking for, and entering your departure and arrival cities, dates, the number of rooms you’ll need, and the number of adults and children in attendance. You can also specify what types of travel deals you’re interested in, such as flights, hotels, and rental cars, or any combination thereof. Alternately, you can be redirected to travel deals for popular destinations and themes (e.g. all-inclusive, luxury, family, and many others).

After pressing the Search button, your results will be displayed per-package, and will include flight details (e.g. dates, carrier, departure and arrival times), hotel information, Guest ratings, amenities, and per-person price. If you find a package you’re interested in, simply click the More Info button, at which point you’ll be able to view details such as hotel descriptions, photos, maps, TripAdvisor ratings, and more.

If you decide to purchase a package on BookIt.com, you’ll need to press the Select button. On the following page, you’ll be given the opportunity to upgrade your flight (if available) and add activities or services specific to your destination, such as guided tours, museum passes, and other unique experiences. Afterward, you can then add guest information, purchase travel insurance, and enter your payment information.

If you’d prefer to book your travel deals on the go, BookIt.com also offers iDevice and Android mobile apps.

BookIt.com Pricing & Refund Policy

BookIt.com basically acts as a travel agent, and takes a commission from the service provider (e.g. airline, hotel, rental car company, etc.) for each sale they make. As such, the company’s services are completely free to use as a consumer.

If you’re looking to save a little extra money, you can enter your email address to become a BookIt.com member, which claims to provide access to coupon codes valued anywhere from $15 to $50. However, if you scroll down to the bottom of the BookIt home page, you can find many coupon codes available under the Coupon Codes link.

BookIt.com claims to match any price advertised through another travel website, but only within 24 hours of making your reservation. Once you’re ready to purchase your vacation, the website accepts all major credit cards and PayPal, as well as their own PayDelay service that allows you to split the total cost of your deal into 2 equal payments.

According to the company’s Terms of Use, all services provided by BookIt.com are non-refundable.

What Do Other Consumers Have to Say About BookIt.com?

BookIt.com is based out of Panama City Beach, FL, and was founded in 2000 by Bud Finlaw. The company has a B+ rating with the Better Business Bureau, based on more than 450 closed complaints over the past three years. Most of these appear to reference poor customer service, difficulty obtaining refunds, website errors (prices displaying incorrectly, pictures displayed not of actual hotel rooms, etc.), and bad travel experiences (hotel was overbooked upon arrival, ground transportation failed to show, etc.).

Outside of the BBB, customer sentiment appears to be quite negative, with the most common complaints citing very poor customer support (more about this in the following section).

What’s the Bottom Line About BookIt.com?

Even though BookIt.com claims to offer deeply discounted travel deals and outstanding customer service, is this really the case?

At its most basic, it appears the biggest benefit associated with BookIt.com is their ability to feature good deals. In fact, even among the numerous complaints we read, many customers specifically found lower prices than advertised through many of the heavy hitters in the industry, including Expedia and Travelocity.

However, the biggest complaint we found during our research overwhelmingly referenced poor customer service. Based on these reviews, it would appear that customer support staff are very disinterested in helping Guests solve their problems, and are often rude and keep you on hold for extended periods of time (>30 minutes), which are disconnected without warning and without callbacks.

Also, it’s important to keep in mind that like other travel websites we’ve reviewed, BookIt.com is not responsible for errors on their website. Also, unlike a traditional travel agency, remember that if something happens outside of BookIt.com’s control, such as a flight being delayed due to weather, a hotel being overbooked, etc., you’re often on your own to figure how to make it work. And even when something is under the control of BookIt, such as changing flight details, customers often find little help through support.

Bottom line: If you’re willing to roll the dice and hope nothing goes wrong (whether caused directly by BookIt.com or by a third party service), you might find that the company provides very low prices on travel deals to most global destinations.

Sign Up for HighYa Newsletter

Sign up for HighYa newsletter and get our best content delivered in your inbox as well as 3 free eBooks to help you save money and shop smarter. Enter your email below to get started!

85 Consumer Reviews for Bookit.com

Average Consumer Rating: 1.1
Rating Snapshot:
5 star: 0 4 star: 1 3 star: 1 2 star: 2 1 star:  81
Bottom Line: 2% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 1-11 of 85
Sort reviews by:

  • 1 out 1 people found this review helpful

    Beware of Bookit.com

    • California,
    • Oct 26, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I screwed up. Beware of Bookit.com and their confusing policy, check your bank statements for extra charges. I booked with them last night and I found out they changed my flight to overnight flight. I immediately sent an email to them to cancel or change my booking, but they never responded on my email. The next day I called to customers service and tried to figure out this situation, but they hung up on me. I called the second time, and the operator finally told me if I want to change the flight they will charge an additional $400, and if I will to cancel my booking, they will charge my credit card for $50, which is a non refundable fee and my first payment of $198 is also non refundable. Here is a trick in their terms and conditions:

    Cancellation Terms

    Cancellations made before December 4, 2018 Eastern Time will be charged $25.00 per-person. Cancellations made on or after December 4, 2018 Eastern Time will be considered non-refundable. Airline Cancellation: Airfare is non-transferable and non-refundable.

    I am so disappointed because it wasn't my fault, they switched my non-overnight flight to overnight, and I had to pay for their mistake.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 2 out 2 people found this review helpful

    Save yourself the struggle - go somewhere else

    Bookit gets you in the door with promises of great deals, but the problem is, they fall to actually follow through with anything. We could never reach a live person after purchasing the package. Additionally, we had to redo our flights with JetBlue (a 2-hour ordeal) because somehow Bookit only sent over our names, resulting in us not being able to check in. Now my new wife and I will not even be able to sit beside each other on our honeymoon. We finally reached a live person who hung up on us.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 1 out 1 people found this review helpful

    Car rental gone BAD!

    • Odessa, TX,
    • Sep 13, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    We landed in Punta Cana, Dominican Republic, and excited for our trip went up to the Bookit representatives just to be told very rudely that we didn't have a car rental. I called Bookit and talked to an agent who referred me to his boss, just to be told we didn't have a rental. Pissed now and can't speak the language, we go to National where they had Bookit just to be told no go. We finally found another company and paid $600.00 for a crap car. Back home we go online, pull the itinerary, sit on the phone for three hours to be told there is nothing they can do. Horrible service, rude service booked something they couldn't follow through with. We will never use them again!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 2 out 2 people found this review helpful

    Bookit is a scam

    • Georgetown, KY,
    • Sep 8, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    Bookit.com is only there to take your money. They do not return calls or emails. This is the worse place to book a vacation. Never again and I will make sure I advertise this scam business all over social media. I'm going to BBB about them also.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 2 out 3 people found this review helpful

    Not happy

    • Chicago, IL,
    • Aug 29, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I booked a flight/hotel package online for Couples Swept Away in Negril, Jamaica. I wanted to book the Great House Verandah Suite, but mistakenly clicked on the Garden Verandah Suite. Within minutes of booking it, I saw my mistake on my itinerary and called customer service. Monique said she could change the room but that it would be more than $300.00 extra to change it. I told her I saw the exact same package and the total difference was $61.50. Monique said that if I didn't want to pay the $300.00, that I would have to cancel my entire trip and would get a refund. However, it would take 7-10 business days to post back to my credit cards. It's ridiculous to up-charge when a customer makes a simple mistake...it's even worse that Bookit can take my money quickly but is slow to refund.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 1 out 1 people found this review helpful

    For me it's a scam! My experience was sad and bad.

    • Brooklyn, NY,
    • Aug 24, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    Beware of Bookit.com and their confusing policy, check your bank statements for extra charges. Do not book unless you know 100% you can fly anytime anywhere. My father-in-law lost $800 in credit. In their cancelation policy, it does not state he must use his credits to fly within one year. He was told he has to book his vacation by August 18th, 2018. There's nothing anywhere written in their policy that mentioned he has to fly before August 18th, 2018. Bookit.com told him he was not able to use his $800 credit because his one year will expire August 2018 and he was then told his trip was suppose to be before August 18th of 2018.

    This is a catch, their policy between Bookit.com and JetBlue and other airlines is that customers must fly within one year. However, Bookit.com and their customers did not have such an agreement in their policy. We were not aware of their policy with the airlines until we were ready to book my father-in-laws 2019 vacation. It is NOT written anywhere in Bookit.com's policy explaining that their customers must fly within the one year. We ended up losing our $800 as of August 18th, 2018. Bookit.com should update their policy and make sure it's written in their policy of their agreement between the airlines and provide expiration dates. We were heartbroken and lost our money. They didn't even attempt to give us half our credit back. Just be careful with bookit.com. Good luck.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • Negative 20 stars if possible

    • Massachusetts,
    • Aug 1, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    Booking with them was the worst decision I ever made. My friend and I booked transportation with BestDay (with a recommendation from a BookIt travel agent) for our trip to Mexico, and they are the most unorganized and shady business I have ever dealt with.

    We arrived in Mexico at 1 AM and soon realized that the BestDay driver was nowhere to be found. When we called, they told us that they didn't even provide that service from our airport. A travel agent from BookIt.com informed us that the drive would only be an hour and a half. BestDay told us to take a taxi to our resort and promised to refund us. Not only was the taxi ride actually 6 hours (making us miss our first night) but it has been over 4 months of me struggling to get the money they promised us.

    BookIt works with them directly but will not help me get in contact for the money we were promised. Their customer service is terrible as I have been hung up on while I explain the situation and have been put on hold for long periods of time. Even their management is shady as they have confirmed bank information and payment yet no one will take our calls now. We are just college students and they are stealing 9,000 pesos that we didn't plan on spending.

    Do NOT ever book with this awful company (especially college students)!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 1 out 2 people found this review helpful

    This company strikes me as close to a scam

    • Michigan,
    • Jul 9, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I screwed up. Using Google search, by typing in "book," Bookit.com popped up at the top of the list as a travel booking site. I clicked on it, thinking it was the site I wanted (it wasn't, the site I was looking for was actually booking.com, so close). This mistakenly clicked on website cost me a "nonrefundable" $168. I certainly hope I have no problems with check-in at the hotel.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 1 out 1 people found this review helpful

    Bad experience

    • May 31, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I've tried this twice and faced the same issue again and again. The customer support won't give help. I've pushed mails to higher authorities as well, but no results. Just a confirmation that your email is received and we will get back to you.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 7 out 7 people found this review helpful

    Bookit.com poor service, left stranded at airport and resort

    • Jamaica,
    • Apr 23, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I booked a 5-day vacation package online with Bookit.com flights and hotel, the person I spoke with when booking the vacation was very nice, however, when we arrived at the airport there was no transportation arranged to the resort. My group had to find our own way and take the risk of being robbed by hiring a random taxi. Very nerve racking, to say the least, as we had all of our luggage and spending money on us.

    Upon the end of our stay, we called Bookit.com to follow up on our transportation to the airport and the first person we spoke with emailed us a link to our ground transportation vouchers, but the link was broken. We called back and spoke to another agent, and she advised us that the ground transportation to the resort was an added feature. This was very surprising as we were told that ground transportation to the hotel was included when we booked the vacation package. We asked to be transferred to a supervisor, and when we spoke to the supervisor, coincidently he could not find our Booking ID, email or names in the system and gave us a phone number to call that was disconnected. When we tried to call the supervisor back, the answering machine advised that they are not accepting calls from our number and our number is blocked.

    BookIt.com service is terrible, and we will never use the service again as they have no consideration for travelers' well being and will say anything to get the sale, but god forbid you to run into any issues and try to contact Bookit.com, they will block your number and leave you to die on your vacation. This is my truthful experience with Bookit.com. Take heed.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 8 out 8 people found this review helpful

    Deceptive and misleading

    • Washington DC,
    • Mar 23, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I will never use Bookit.com again. I booked with them last night and found a better price. They would not honor their price guarantee when I found a better price at the hotel's website.

    When I tried to cancel, they said the hotel is non-refundable. So a $5k trip is non-refundable. And it says this in the very, tiny, small print. This should be prominent and in bold so that others do not get misled this way.

    Talking to their customer service was painful. They would not do anything to remedy the situation. Basically, it's your fault, and we are keeping your money. I literally contacted them an hour after booking. I've learned a valuable lesson. Please learn from my mistake and do not use this company.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


Showing 1-11 of 85

Write a Review for Bookit.com!

Share your experience to help others shop smarter & discover great products.

Write a Review