About Bootea

By HighYa Research Team
Published on: Aug 1, 2014

Bootea is a UK-based company that sells 100% natural, green tea-based health supplements that are claimed to “promote an active, healthy, and balanced lifestyle.” All Bootea “Teatox” supplements are claimed to be pure, natural, and preservative-free, and to use an intense mix of natural ingredients that can help you achieve your goals and get the figure you want.

If you’ve spent much time online or watching TV lately, you’ve probably noticed that you’re constantly bombarded with ads for one weight loss supplement or another, each claiming to be better than next. Because of this, it can be hard to tell the difference between the ones that are legitimate, and those who are simply out to get your money.

With this in mind, is Bootea a supplement that really can help you reach your weight loss goals, or is it simply hype in a teabag? Keep reading to uncover the facts.

How Bootea Works

As a company, Bootea specializes in green tea-based, all natural health products that are claimed to help you lose weight and feel energized. Regardless of your shape, size, or age, the company claims to focus on promoting a healthy body image and to help their customers feel “Boo-Tea-ful.”

With this in mind, Bootea offers 7 products:

  • Daytime Tea – Part I of the “Teatox,” this product is claimed to help regulate blood sugar levels, promote better sleep, and to improve digestion. Ingredients include: Chinese Oolong tea, Maté leaves, Ginger root, Fennel seeds, Lemongrass, Dandelion leaf, Ginseng root, Gotu Kola leaves, and Nettle leaves.
  • Bedtime Cleanse Tea – Part II of the “Teatox,” these teas are claimed to induce a laxative effect that removes toxins from your stomach and digestive tract. Ingredients include: Senna leaves, Peppermint leaves, Fenugreek seeds, Liquorice root, Burdock root, Hawthorn leaves, Valerian root, and Psyllium seeds.
  • 14 & 18-Day Teatox – Includes a 14 (or 28)-day supply of loose leaf tea, as well as 7 (or 14) days worth of Bedtime Cleanse.
  • Bootea Shake – A mixed berry-flavored drink that is claimed to help you lose weight by making you feel fuller and providing much-needed vitamins. Ingredients include: Glucomannan (similar to Skinny Fiber and Lipozene), green tea, and a vitamin B mix.
  • Bootea Fitness Plan – An e-book that claims to provide step-by-step instructions on how to get the body you’ve always wanted, regardless of whether you’re a beginner or a pro.
  • Bootea Flexible Eating Program – Claims to provide breakfast, lunch, dinner, and snack recipes that can help the detoxification process work more effectively, while also maximizing weight loss.

According to Bootea, their supplements are safe for men and women over the age of 16, and do not cause side effects, other than minor cramping and more frequent visits to the bathroom.

Bootea Pricing & Refund Policy

Bootea products are priced as follows:

  • 14-Day Teatox: $33.80
  • 28-Day Teatox: 59.16
  • Bedtime Cleanse Tea: $18.58
  • Daytime Tea: $18.58
  • Bootea Shake: $59.16
  • Bootea Fitness Plan: $5.06
  • Bootea Flexible Eating Program: Free

Bootea expressly states that they do not sell “money back guarantee” products, which means that refunds are only available if they have not been opened or used in any way, even if you’re dissatisfied. However, if you need to contact Bootea, you’ll have to do so using their online form, as no phone number is listed.

Should You Buy Bootea if You’re Looking to Cleanse Your Body or Lose Weight?

According to the Bootea website, healthy eating is a lifestyle, and not a short-term fix. But even if you already have these healthy habits in place, can Bootea supplements provide you with any benefits? Perhaps, but note the following:

The Necessity of Cleansing

According to WebMD, your liver and bacteria in your colon are capable of adequately detoxifying your body, in conjunction with natural processes associated with your colon. However, even if one or more of these systems were impaired, there is insufficient medical evidence showing that cleanses (herbal or otherwise) provide any detoxification benefits. However, it’s perfectly reasonable to expect that Bootea’s laxative effects might help decrease stomach bloating (e.g. your belly “pooch”).

Ingredient & Side Effects

Although Bootea’s supplements include ingredients that appear to be generally safe, keep in mind that their Daytime Tea includes a number of stimulants, such as caffeine and yerba mate, although the company claims that the overall percentage of stimulants is very low. However, you may want to avoid these supplements if you’re sensitive to stimulants.

On top of this, Bootea claims that the ingredients in Daytime Tea may also cause dehydration, so it’s important that you remember to drink plenty of water.

Finally, according to the Bootea website, their cleanses may effect contraceptive pills. Because of this, the company recommends waiting more than 4 hours after the laxative effect occurs before taking contraceptives.

Other Miscellaneous Factors

Last, it should be noted that Bootea’s flexible Eating Plan is meat-free. However, the company claims that you can add small portions of very lean meat to the Plan, although this may negate some of the detoxification benefits it provides.

Also, while natural supplements such as Bootea may help give you a boost, the company explicitly mentions that it should be supplemented with regular exercise and a healthy diet.

Bottom line:

Overall, while Bootea supplements will certainly work better for some individuals than others, it’s important to note that most of the benefits will probably be derived from the laxative effective, which might make your belly look more trim. Outside of this however, there is little medical evidence showing that you need to undergo cleanses in the first place, or that they measurably detox your body in any way.

Sign Up for HighYa Newsletter

Sign up for HighYa newsletter and get our best content delivered in your inbox as well as 3 free eBooks to help you save money and shop smarter. Enter your email below to get started!


Read 15 Bootea Customer Reviews and Complaints

Write a Review
Average Consumer Rating: 1.9
Rating Snapshot:
5 star: 0 4 star: 4 3 star: 0 2 star: 2 1 star:  9
Bottom Line: 27% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 1-11 of 15
Sort reviews by:

  • 3 out 6 people found this review helpful

    4 Stars for Taste

    • WA,
    • Sep 12, 2014

    I honestly didn't finish the detox because I would forget to drink it and then felt I had to start over but what I can say is that it's a pleasant taste. Feels like a aromatic green tea with mint. It was easy to pay for the tea and it came fast. I'd like to start it again. It does come with food recommendations on the site so check that out first. I feel that without the right food it wont do much.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 3 out 4 people found this review helpful

    It's alright

    • Apr 30, 2015

    The morning one is really good, it certainly works as a hunger suppressant and I would recommend.

    The night time one is ok. It makes you need to go number two in the bathroom some time mid-morning and your body doesn't give you a lot of notice for it. I would not recommend this.

    As a laxative, you will loose some weight, as I have noticed but not a huge amount.

    If I get this again, I would buy the daily one but get cheaper herbal tea with the same effect and use that instead of the night time one.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 12 out 18 people found this review helpful

    Brilliant

    • England,
    • Sep 14, 2015

    Excellent! I'm only on day three of this product, however, I have already lost 7 pounds! The daytime tea leaves me feeling energized and I feel fuller for longer.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 1 out 1 people found this review helpful

    Bootea

    • United Kingdom,
    • Aug 6, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I enjoyed drinking the Bootea. I suffer with IBS and the last couple of months have been suffering with severe IBS and bloating. I have a healthy diet and avoid fast food completely. When I started drinking Bootea I found it restricted me from going to the toilet but after my first seven days I was fine; I feel less bloated and feel good within myself. You have to be careful with IBS, and I was a bit unsure at first, but a friend of mine constantly advised me it will help with the bloating and it really has helped. I'm glad I have tried Bootea and am nearly at the end of my 28-day detox. I will take a two-week break and see if I fee a difference without it or not.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 6 out 7 people found this review helpful

    Bootea.

    • Los Angeles, CA,
    • Jul 12, 2015

    Both day and night tea itself tasted great. Although it didn't really feel like it worked well. The only times I made a trip to the bathroom was my last two days of the fourteen day detox. I exercised daily and ate healthy. I lost no weight nor do I feel any different.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 7 out 9 people found this review helpful

    You can find better products at the grocery store

    • Jun 26, 2015

    I was really excited about this product but read mixed reviews. However, I'm trying anything to lose weight, so I wanted to see for myself.

    The daytime tea did absolutely nothing. If anything, I felt like I had less energy and ate more. It might as well have been water.

    The night one was good. Some people had issues with cramping but I didn't experience any of that. Honestly though, you can get "smooth move" tea from any store (or any tea with Senna) and it works just the same if not much better.

    No reason to pay so much, plus shipping, and get your hopes up when in the end, green tea and smooth move tea would work much better and be much cheaper and more convenient.

    Though it wasn't totally ineffective, it still leaves me with the feeling that I was a bit scammed.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 4 out 10 people found this review helpful

    Gross

    • Sandwich MA,
    • Feb 27, 2015

    Never buy this.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 7 out 9 people found this review helpful

    Severe cramping

    • Fort Worth, TX,
    • Jul 22, 2015

    I drank the tea just like I was supposed to. I felt great the first few days and even saw a difference. The last two days of my 14 day teatox, I got severely sick. I begged my mother to take me to the hospital because I was in so much pain. I haven't had the tea in two days and I am still in so much pain. It has been three days of this cramping and if it doesn't clear up by tomorrow, I will be going to the hospital. I have not been able to eat or sleep because of this pain. Do not do this to yourself.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 3 out 6 people found this review helpful

    Takes a full month to arrive to the U.S and Canada

    • Canada,
    • Jun 8, 2015

    Bootea claims they will deliver the tea within 1-3 business days to Canada/US but it’s been almost a month and I still haven’t received it! They claimed it was held up by customs but I still don’t think it’s acceptable to take a full month. I was hoping to start the tea four weeks before my vacation and now if I’m lucky, I'll have a few days. They're definitely NOT RELIABLE. I would order a tea from a different company now.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 3 out 7 people found this review helpful

    Honestly dreadful

    • UK,
    • Jun 6, 2015

    Sorry to say the tea was one of the worst things ever. Firstly, it messed up my cycle leaving my body messed up and nasty. There are no weight loss benefits that come with this tea. After 12 days, I had to stop my 28-day Teatox as I was throwing up and feeling awfully sick. You should save your money and buy a gym membership because this tea is awful! They tasted revolting as well, was a struggle to bring myself to drink the night time one.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 8 out 10 people found this review helpful

    Terrible Product

    • Annapolis, MD,
    • Jun 25, 2015

    I was very excited for this product and to see the before and after affects, however, after not even two days I quit this product. The morning tea was lovely, I felt a jolt in energy although it quickly disappeared. The night tea was extremely inconvenient for me. The laxative effects don't occur until 8 hours after taking. By this time I'd have to be up and getting ready for work. I tried it, and absolutely hated it. It had slow moving affects and left me having to run to the bathroom the entire day. So I found that it simply wasn't practical and stopped.

    The night I was supposed to take the tea again (but didn't) I was at work and started experiencing severe stomach pain and nausea. I begged my boss to let me go home, where I repeatedly threw up. I've been home for days, and am still feeling sick. I'm scheduled for a doctors visit tomorrow.

    This product is terrible, and will more than likely mess up your digestive system. So trust me, just eat healthier and go to the gym.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

Showing 1-11 of 15

Write a Review for Bootea!

Share your experience to help others shop smarter & discover great products.

Write a Review