Read 41 Bowflex MAX Trainer Customer Reviews and Complaints (Page 2)

Write a Review
Average Consumer Rating: 3.5
Rating Snapshot:
5 star: 22 4 star: 3 3 star: 2 2 star: 3 1 star:  11
Bottom Line: 63% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 12-22 of 41
Sort reviews by:

  • 12 out 23 people found this review helpful

    A bit frustrated with Bowflex

    • Whitehall, MI,
    • Jul 6, 2015
    • Verified Reviewer

    I know the feeling. I made a purchase on 2/8/15 and then received an email stating that it would be shipped in 15-30 days. I paid with two different debit cards and my account said that the money was on hold waiting for them to take out, but Bowflex said the bank wouldn't release anything. The bank said they just need to remove funds. After 2 days of fighting, I canceled the order and placed a new one using only one card this time. Now they say the Bowflex will ship in 30-45 days. They removed money out of my account, a week later they put the money back into my account. I called to check on status, they say my cards denied. Ok. How did you keep the money for a week, then put it back in my account? Now I finally was able to get them to remove money out of my account and keep it. It's now 3/22/15 and still waiting. Very disappointed, having to pay $1,599 for this type of service is plain craziness.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 38 out 43 people found this review helpful

    Started out great and took a nosedive!

    • Greenwood, SC,
    • Nov 24, 2016
    • Verified Reviewer

    I purchased the Bowflex Max Trainer M3 model just over a year ago and was happy with the cardio and the overall workout that I got from this machine.

    I hurt my knee in an unrelated experience and couldn't use it for a while. Got back to the machine a few months ago and have had nothing but issues with it since. Loud screeching from the right side (when standing on the machine), a thud on the left side when the left foot pedal hits the bottom of the cycle.

    A call into Customer Service and two hours later, we'd taken the unit apart only to find that I needed a gear puller. They ordered (at BowFlex's expense) for me.

    This arrived a week or so later. We'd determined that there were bolts that were loose and needed to be tightened. So I tear down the machine to get to the gear. I get the bolts tightened and reassemble. Problem solved, or so I thought.

    After a few hours of use, the problem returned so I tear it down again and tighten further but make sure that all is tight this time. I reassembled and used the machine for a few more hours until the machine sounds like it's going to fly apart.

    This time it was my bad, bolt on the arm was not tightened enough last time. So far I have used it for two hours since this occurrence and it still shakes and squeaks when in use.

    I think the premise for this machine is good but I've found too many similar issues from users all over North America. Sounds like a poor part design and/or poor assembly. It's disappointing as I've had my BowFlex PowerPro for over a decade with limited issues.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • Nice machine/horrible company

    • Montana,
    • May 9, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    Why do all these reviews feel like they are commercials? Bought and paid for by Bowflex? Almost all these glowing reviews are the same, and use the same pictures and verbiage...it’s suspect. There’s literally no evidence to support these "14 minutes burns 2.5 times the calories!"

    I bought into the hype, got the M6 a little over a week ago. It’s a nice machine, but I worry about its long term durability, especially given the consumer reviews popping up around the web. I also have to say that the Bowflex customer service/support is among the worst I’ve ever dealt with, you either get someone who doesn’t know what they are talking about, or someone who is quite rude. I had an issue where I wondered why the M5/7 supported Apple Health and Android but I couldn’t get the app to work with the M6/8. To me, this is a huge deal, and something so basic. The first customer service rep sent me to the Max Trainer app, it wouldn’t pair...so I called back. The next agent told me that Apple Health and Android Fit aren’t supported (something not mentioned in any of these canned reviews), and that they want you to use their Max Intelligence App ($150 a year or $15 a month!). They say you don’t have to, but are badgered everywhere in the app to upgrade. There’s a handful of free training sessions, but even basic ones like calorie and fat burn aren’t included, you have to disconnect the app and use the panel. Also, I logged out from the app so my wife could create a profile...and it would not let me log back in, telling me the password was wrong, then when I asked for a new password it sent me a code that would also not work...took 40 minutes and four resets to get it to work.

    I contacted support again with my frustrations and dealt with an incredibly rude agent by email, who simply stopped responding after two emails.

    I tried to leave a review on their website twice, wrote a lengthy review like this and gave them 3/5 stars, the review never posted. I contacted them again about the review and they told me they got my feedback and didn’t have to posted my review...totally sleazy and dishonest. I like the machine ok, but I would never recommend Bowflex to anyone.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 12 out 12 people found this review helpful

    Aftermarket improvement

    The pedal rollers are a critical flaw in the machine, and I have found some fantastic aftermarket versions which improve the user experience and have no squeaking!

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 4 out 4 people found this review helpful

    Knee pain in under 60 seconds

    • California,
    • Nov 2, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I had a torn meniscus and as part of my rehabilitation, I looked into elliptical machines. The Bowflex made a very attractive package in both the size that it takes up is relatively small, and the promises that it makes of being gentle on your body, especially those with knee and hip and back problems. Unfortunately, in three years of ownership, I've only been able to use it a couple of days every few months or so because my knees hurt with what feels like terrible arthritic pain and I'm in my early forties. I actually have a 4-flight walk up from the street to my front door and then an additional 2 flights from the downstairs to the upstairs of my home, and I make these trips so many times per day that my Fitbit says that I do approximately 60 flights of stairs between work and home, and just inclined walking in general. With the Bowflex, however, it is just taking up space in my room as it hurts my knees within 1 minute of use.

    It looks pretty, but if you start out overweight with any joint pain, it is going to be hell on you. I used to play field sports and was an avid cyclist, so I have stamina, but this is dreadful.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 20 out 22 people found this review helpful

    Frustrated

    • San Luis Obispo, Ca,
    • Sep 23, 2015
    • Verified Reviewer

    We ordered our machine and received it in great time. We paid for the set up, however, the tech left town for a vacation and was unable to assemble the machine for us. I contacted Bowflex and they refunded my credit card. My wife and I assembled the machine last night, and I used it this morning. It was a great workout! More intense than I think a lot of people are expecting. However, my wife came home from work tonight and was excited for her first session. The squeaking was unbelievable. We have a big house. I thought an animal was scratching at the back door. We are hoping this will be resolved as it appears some customers have had the squeak just go away. Funny as when I ordered the machine, I asked the sales rep on the phone about the squeak complaints. She said the problem has been resolved and there was an issue at the plant with proper lubrication. I'm not a huge fan of B.S. or being fed a line to get my 1,500.00. Wish us luck.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 15 out 18 people found this review helpful

    Day one

    • Beverly Hills, CA,
    • Jul 16, 2016
    • Verified Reviewer

    The very first thing that you should know about these is that it feels like you're almost squatting while you run. I'm 6 feet 255lbs coming off knee surgery (hence massive weight gain, my ideal is 185) and the front of my thighs were definitely burning just from a couple of quick spins for 30 seconds. It made me think of doing steps. Well not as intense as a stepper it's certainly feels like I'm not upright fully and my knee ached a little, but it is soft enough to not reinjure. The faster you go, the less you notice.

    The noise is not that bad unless you are really sprinting. The app is interesting and resetting user profiles is not easy.

    I am a former employee of a well know fitness company and will follow up with one of their programs after a few months with the M5. This device is a good way to get ready for something like those.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 12 out 12 people found this review helpful

    Bowflex MAX Trainer M3 (No Backlit Display)

    I just recently purchased the M3 and like it very much. I am still getting used to the control settings. My only complaint is why Bowflex did not make the display backlit just like the M5 model. I found it very hard to see, especially without my reading glasses. The only way I can really make out the display is by shining a LED flashlight at it.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 13 out 17 people found this review helpful

    Wow.

    • Gorham nh,
    • Jul 31, 2015
    • Verified Reviewer

    Just got my M3 in, put together in less than an hour. I figured I would jump on and do a quick 14 minute work out. Wrong. What a work out this is going to be, it will be a challenge but fun. Thanks Bow Flex

    Will do a follow up review in a month.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 20 out 20 people found this review helpful

    Very happy!

    To start with, I found an online coupon that took $100 off of my order so my shipping was essentially free. They said it would be 30-45 days for delivery, I received it in 5 days. I put my M3 together in less than an hour so I am really glad I didn't pay for their assembly. It was really very easy. I am definitely having to work up to doing a full workout. I have had knee and ankle surgery and have no problems at all using the Max Trainer (other than me being badly out of shape). The small footprint is perfect for our living room. I would highly recommend this equipment. We figured it up and will have it paid off by just paying what we were paying for a membership to a gym that we never had time to get to. Having the Bowflex Max Trainer at home has already made a huge difference even in our 12 year old daughter who loves working out on the machine!

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 24 out 24 people found this review helpful

    I absolutely love this machine!

    • Monroe, LA,
    • Aug 6, 2015
    • Verified Reviewer

    I own a TreadClimber and it's good. But wanted something more engaging and challenging and this is it. My husband is in great shape, motor lifting mechanic. I am not in great shape. Sad/Bad for a RN. It takes me a few breaks to get finished with 14-minute interval. And even his first couple of times he needed to take a break.

    Bottom line: there aren't any shipping delays. I ordered the Max Trainer on 7/19 and was delivered on Friday, July 24th. We put it together and it was not hard for us. And I believe if a person uses the machine in consistently and with some dietary changes, even if it's just for 14 minutes for three days each week, you will tone up and lose weight. I feel my abs, buttocks, thighs, arms. Wow. This thing is awesome. I have never been so excited to workout. Mot much strain on my knees either like with the TreadClimber. This thing is well worth the money.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

Showing 12-22 of 41

Write a Review for Bowflex MAX Trainer!

Share your experience to help others shop smarter & discover great products.

Write a Review