Read 39 Bowflex MAX Trainer Customer Reviews and Complaints (Page 3)

Write a Review
Average Consumer Rating: 3.6
Rating Snapshot:
5 star: 22 4 star: 3 3 star: 2 2 star: 2 1 star:  10
Bottom Line: 67% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 23-33 of 39
Sort reviews by:

  • 20 out 22 people found this review helpful

    Frustrated

    • San Luis Obispo, Ca,
    • Sep 23, 2015
    • Verified Reviewer

    We ordered our machine and received it in great time. We paid for the set up, however, the tech left town for a vacation and was unable to assemble the machine for us. I contacted Bowflex and they refunded my credit card. My wife and I assembled the machine last night, and I used it this morning. It was a great workout! More intense than I think a lot of people are expecting. However, my wife came home from work tonight and was excited for her first session. The squeaking was unbelievable. We have a big house. I thought an animal was scratching at the back door. We are hoping this will be resolved as it appears some customers have had the squeak just go away. Funny as when I ordered the machine, I asked the sales rep on the phone about the squeak complaints. She said the problem has been resolved and there was an issue at the plant with proper lubrication. I'm not a huge fan of B.S. or being fed a line to get my 1,500.00. Wish us luck.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (2)
    View all 2 commentsHide comments
    • Nov 9, 2015

      Marianne

      Get a can of WD40 and you're on your way.

    • Nov 9, 2015

      Jim

      Yeah, it's been a bit and we use the heck out of the machine. The squeak goes away after time. If it picks up again, the WD40 will be applied.

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 15 out 18 people found this review helpful

    Day one

    • Beverly Hills, CA,
    • Jul 16, 2016
    • Verified Reviewer

    The very first thing that you should know about these is that it feels like you're almost squatting while you run. I'm 6 feet 255lbs coming off knee surgery (hence massive weight gain, my ideal is 185) and the front of my thighs were definitely burning just from a couple of quick spins for 30 seconds. It made me think of doing steps. Well not as intense as a stepper it's certainly feels like I'm not upright fully and my knee ached a little, but it is soft enough to not reinjure. The faster you go, the less you notice.

    The noise is not that bad unless you are really sprinting. The app is interesting and resetting user profiles is not easy.

    I am a former employee of a well know fitness company and will follow up with one of their programs after a few months with the M5. This device is a good way to get ready for something like those.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 11 out 11 people found this review helpful

    Bowflex MAX Trainer M3 (No Backlit Display)

    I just recently purchased the M3 and like it very much. I am still getting used to the control settings. My only complaint is why Bowflex did not make the display backlit just like the M5 model. I found it very hard to see, especially without my reading glasses. The only way I can really make out the display is by shining a LED flashlight at it.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 12 out 12 people found this review helpful

    Aftermarket improvement

    The pedal rollers are a critical flaw in the machine, and I have found some fantastic aftermarket versions which improve the user experience and have no squeaking!

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 4 out 4 people found this review helpful

    Knee pain in under 60 seconds

    • California,
    • Nov 2, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I had a torn meniscus and as part of my rehabilitation, I looked into elliptical machines. The Bowflex made a very attractive package in both the size that it takes up is relatively small, and the promises that it makes of being gentle on your body, especially those with knee and hip and back problems. Unfortunately, in three years of ownership, I've only been able to use it a couple of days every few months or so because my knees hurt with what feels like terrible arthritic pain and I'm in my early forties. I actually have a 4-flight walk up from the street to my front door and then an additional 2 flights from the downstairs to the upstairs of my home, and I make these trips so many times per day that my Fitbit says that I do approximately 60 flights of stairs between work and home, and just inclined walking in general. With the Bowflex, however, it is just taking up space in my room as it hurts my knees within 1 minute of use.

    It looks pretty, but if you start out overweight with any joint pain, it is going to be hell on you. I used to play field sports and was an avid cyclist, so I have stamina, but this is dreadful.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 12 out 23 people found this review helpful

    A bit frustrated with Bowflex

    • Whitehall, MI,
    • Jul 6, 2015
    • Verified Reviewer

    I know the feeling. I made a purchase on 2/8/15 and then received an email stating that it would be shipped in 15-30 days. I paid with two different debit cards and my account said that the money was on hold waiting for them to take out, but Bowflex said the bank wouldn't release anything. The bank said they just need to remove funds. After 2 days of fighting, I canceled the order and placed a new one using only one card this time. Now they say the Bowflex will ship in 30-45 days. They removed money out of my account, a week later they put the money back into my account. I called to check on status, they say my cards denied. Ok. How did you keep the money for a week, then put it back in my account? Now I finally was able to get them to remove money out of my account and keep it. It's now 3/22/15 and still waiting. Very disappointed, having to pay $1,599 for this type of service is plain craziness.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (3)
    View all 3 commentsHide comments
    • Dec 22, 2015

      Knez011,

      So, you have a problem with the customer service, you never saw the product yet you gave it 2 stars. Great review, totally useless.

    • Dec 23, 2015

      Chris

      Yep, and I would still give it 2 stars after receiving it. After only 6 months of use, it started making a worn bearing noise. I contacted customer service. After 2 hours of trying troubleshot the problem and having to continually stick my hand in the unit so they could hear the noise in which it was making and tearing the unit completely apart while talking to them on the phone and trying to explain that it was a bearing going out the opted to replace the unit (again 2 hours later). That type of money unit shouldn't wear out that fast, plain and simple.

    • Dec 23, 2015

      Chris

      Also, my husband has used the unit 4 times a week. Since we received, we had absolutely no result whatsoever. So yeah, 2 stars remain.

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 38 out 43 people found this review helpful

    Started out great and took a nosedive!

    • Greenwood, SC,
    • Nov 24, 2016
    • Verified Reviewer

    I purchased the Bowflex Max Trainer M3 model just over a year ago and was happy with the cardio and the overall workout that I got from this machine.

    I hurt my knee in an unrelated experience and couldn't use it for a while. Got back to the machine a few months ago and have had nothing but issues with it since. Loud screeching from the right side (when standing on the machine), a thud on the left side when the left foot pedal hits the bottom of the cycle.

    A call into Customer Service and two hours later, we'd taken the unit apart only to find that I needed a gear puller. They ordered (at BowFlex's expense) for me.

    This arrived a week or so later. We'd determined that there were bolts that were loose and needed to be tightened. So I tear down the machine to get to the gear. I get the bolts tightened and reassemble. Problem solved, or so I thought.

    After a few hours of use, the problem returned so I tear it down again and tighten further but make sure that all is tight this time. I reassembled and used the machine for a few more hours until the machine sounds like it's going to fly apart.

    This time it was my bad, bolt on the arm was not tightened enough last time. So far I have used it for two hours since this occurrence and it still shakes and squeaks when in use.

    I think the premise for this machine is good but I've found too many similar issues from users all over North America. Sounds like a poor part design and/or poor assembly. It's disappointing as I've had my BowFlex PowerPro for over a decade with limited issues.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 29 out 46 people found this review helpful

    Too hard to use

    I'm 60 and in pretty good shape but I could not go for more than 3 minutes. My wife (53) couldn't do more than 2 minutes and it hurt her back enough so that I had to take her to the chiropractor. My athletic grandson did the best but even he had a hard time, so I sent it back. But get this, that cost me $360!. Free shipping refers to one way, there to you. Buyer beware.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 31 out 36 people found this review helpful

    Piece of junk

    • Texas,
    • Nov 13, 2015
    • Verified Reviewer

    It started off great then after a couple of months it started squeaking. I tightened loose screws and it worked again for about a week then got loose. I called customer service and they suggested we use tight lock to secure it. Did that and it continues to get loose. Six months later we are paying for a piece of junk that sounds like it's fixing to fall apart. What a rip off!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 37 out 40 people found this review helpful

    Junk

    I originally purchased the Bowflex Max Trainer M5 5 in October 2014 had the Machine for a month and started having problems. The belt slipped off the internal drive and cut into the plastic cover. I called customer service and they sent a new belt. However, that was not the problem so they finally sent a tech out and he had no idea how to fix machine. After fighting with them for two months, they eventually sent out a new machine. The replacement took two months to arrive. I used the machine for another month and the control Panel stopped working. They sent a new one and it went bad a month later again. I figured out that my sweat was dripping in and out of the control panel.

    Well needless to say, after getting three replacements I now put a towel over it so that I don't sweat on it. Last week the internal nut fell completely off the machine and I began tightening it every workout. I called customer service to get a new part and they sent it two weeks later. Apparently I need some special tool to replace that part. Every bolt and screw on this machine starts to rust and strip out if you attempt to tighten it.

    If you are looking for a serious machine and not a place where you can just hang your cloths, I don't recommend the Bowflex Max Trainer. By the way, I have had a Nordictrack elliptical Audio Strider 900 machine for seven years and is a serious machine. They took very good care of any problems which were minimal and cost half of what the M5 does. You might want to look at that machine. I know I will be using mine because the M5 is always broken.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Jan 13, 2016

      Hal,

      Wow, can't blame you for this review, but my experience (6 months thus far) is total opposite! The machine is fantastic, killer workout & especially for my old arthritic knees. The main muscle worked is the quads, but everything else gets hit a bit as well. My machine is working flawlessly so far. Hope it stays that way. And it takes up oh so little space, bet your elliptical is soaking way more square footage.

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 48 out 55 people found this review helpful

    Makes a Horrible Grinding Noise

    We received our Max Trainer at the beginning of December. After we put it together, it made a horrible grinding noise, and the speedometer was not working. After 3 hours on the phone with technical support, they shipped out new parts and scheduled a service call in 2 weeks. On December 28th the repair guy came and said the frame was bent, and he would immediately order what was needed, and get our machine fixed ASAP. I've been calling to get an update, and nothing. I paid $1,700 for a machine, and have yet to be able to workout on it. Their after sale customer service is horrible.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


Showing 23-33 of 39

Write a Review for Bowflex MAX Trainer!

Share your experience to help others shop smarter & discover great products.

Write a Review