• 16 Customer Reviews
  • 44% Recommend This Service
2.9 out of 5
5 star: 43% 4 star: 0% 3 star: 6% 2 star: 6% 1 star: 43%

 Our Promise to You

To safeguard you and ensure helpfulness and relevance, our compliance team manually assess every customer review before it goes live.

We have a zero-tolerance policy for fake reviews, and companies cannot control or alter any reviews at any time.

Sort reviews by:

  • Not a scam, but not too far either

    • By Daniel P.,
    • Delaware,
    • Mar 17, 2020
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    Go to the bottom if you want the quick bottom line.

    If you're like me, you likely found out about Bright Cellars from an invitation to take an "online quiz" that can figure out what wine is best for you. I already knew what wine was right for me, but I took it and it got pretty close to my actual preferences. They deserve a little credit for this but not too much, it's really not that hard to find out what kind of wine people would like from just asking a few questions.

    I'm all for trying new things so with a half-off new customer discount I figured I'd try it out. The box came within the week, not bad. Unboxing, all the wines had really interesting labels, all different but interesting. It's the last positive thing I can say about Bright Cellars.

    They sent me two Cabernets. "Folk & Fable 2017" was a "California" Cabernet aged in bourbon barrels - such things are all the rage nowadays and can be done in interesting ways. No statement of where it was from in CA led me to look at the back - bottled in Santa Rosa. They do grow wine there so whatever. While the wine had some of the same tasting notes listed on the website, they were quite muted and uninteresting. There was absolutely no tannin whatsoever, and Cabs are all about how well structured the tannins are with the flavors. Had no finish. It started to dawn on me that this was not going to go well. The second Cab, "Supergenre" was from Washington. Again, not Columbia Valley or any specific place, just "Washington." I looked on the back and it was "cellared and bottled in"... Santa Rosa, CA? The pieces started to come together, but we'll get to that. This wine was even worse than the previous, at least the F&F had some fruity character in the beginning, this was along with having no structure or tannin was even more watery, with that classic "bad grape juice" taste that every wine enthusiast should experience to see exactly what bad wine tastes like.

    The next one, "Lost City," was a Malbec from Mendoza! An actual specific place! Albeit a rather large one. Argentina is known for making good stuff at a good value. I flip the bottle over and...there's "bottled in Santa Rosa, CA" again! So I pour it out and it hardly even looks like a Malbec - too light in color. It had a slight tangy taste to it before it became all water with no finish. At this point my expectations for the last one, appropriately called the "Last Room" and had the coolest label, were nonexistent. It's a "Red Blend" from "Columbia Valley, WA" though there's no information on the website or the bottle about what it is a blend of. That's when I tasted it...tannin! Just a little bit of tannin, but tannin nonetheless! Overall this was the best one but it's telling that two Cabs had no tannin where the Red Blend did.

    Now, on to what it seems like is really going on here. I noticed all the bottles had the same foil design at the top, the bottles all clearly came from the same bottle makers (two of them were the exact same shape, the other two were different shapes but had the same pattern at the bottom). But you don't have to think too hard about this, all of the wines were bottled in Santa Rosa - which is bad as it means these wines were likely created and then shipped quite a ways before being bottled and cellared. This is not how proper wines are made, not even $20 budget wines.

    After this awful tasting flight, I pulled out a $20 bottle of my own, a blend from Argentina, and it was like finally being at home after sitting in traffic for a couple of hours. It really put in perspective how bad what I just tasted was.

    Bright Cellars likely owns several vineyards around the world, but these are crappy plots in places not ideal for wine. They then take this crappy wine and ship it to a big facility in Santa Rosa where they put it in one of 10 different bottle designs. They put more work into designing the labels and website than on the wine, that much is certain. All of the wines have websites, but they are copied and pasted from one another with very little information- the prices of the wine on there being double what is on the Bright Cellars' website.

    Bottom Line: This is not a wine club that picks out small indie producers that make good value wines. This is a macro-winery that makes a bunch of garbage-tier wine from nondescript places around the world, then slaps cool labels on them to make you think you're getting four different bottles from four different wineries. You're much better off just going down to the store and picking out four random bottles of red if you like red. Unfortunately less experienced wine drinkers may think this is the real deal. So, not a scam in technicality, but there is enough misleading and obfuscation here to say that it is a scam in spirit.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Only gave 1 star because it wouldn’t let me do 0

    • By Maggie C.,
    • Baltimore, MD,
    • Dec 12, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    I used this website once about a year ago. Canceled my account (so I thought). A year later they reactivated my account without my knowledge, charged me $88 for 4 bottles of wine that I did not order, then sent the wine to my old address. I asked for a refund multiple times and still have yet to get one. They never addressed the fact that they charged my card without my knowledge. DO NOT USE THIS WEBSITE. It’s not even a good deal...4 bottles for $88? I have used other wine clubs with way better deals.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Not worth it.

    • By John F.,
    • Louisiana,
    • Nov 14, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    Customer service is great and packaging is good - however, quality of wines do not match the price. Not a good value. The ratings do not seem to impact the selection of future wines to any significant degree.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Great service!

    • By Emily Y.,
    • Minneapolis, MN,
    • Nov 9, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    I loved this service, I was very impressed with the selections they sent me, and their customer service was INCREDIBLE! Unfortunately I had to cancel due to budget reasons (grad student debt issues, hello!), but I feel that their service is worth the price, they sent me fun things I don't see anywhere else, and when I had to cancel they were VERY willing to offer options like postponing shipments or even putting my account on hold. And even when I confirmed I needed to cancel, there was no issue about it...two emails, and confirmed, my account was canceled. Would recommend to anyone who likes wine (or is like me and doesn't even really love wine, but wants to try something new and fun!).

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend


  • Awful!

    • By Judy N.,
    • Uniontown, OH,
    • Jul 30, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    I received the trial offer and after trying 3 bottles I did not want any additional shipments. I rated the wines on their website, at their request, and thought they would take the poor rating seriously and call me before shipping another order. They sent me an email on a Friday that my next shipment was scheduled and I had 24 hours to respond. I did not see the email until Sunday. Unfortunately, the wine was already shipped on Sunday. Be very cautious of this offer. You would think that the first bottles would be of good quality to encourage you to purchase additional wine.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Don't buy from Bright Cellars!

    • By Danicia W.,
    • Ohio,
    • Jul 25, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    Whatever you do don't buy from Bright Cellars! Go for Wine Awesomeness or something because they are HORRIBLE. I've never been so annoyed. I put in an order for wine and cheese three weeks before my event that I was giving. First off, I work mornings so I just had my wine shipped to my office which doesn't open till 10 am but they attempted to deliver the package at 9 am twice and stopped attempting to ship it all together. The last attempted to ship the wine the truck showed up and it was never delivered because "the wine was on the manifest but the package wasn't on the truck". They never tried to deliver it again. Then once the cheeses were shipped I tracked it for 3 days and when it finally was delivered I saw they had it delivered and sent back to the sender! Why, I have no idea, but I cannot make this up!

    After I called customer service they reshipped the cheese and wine but the cheese showed up and the wine never did. I had to go out and buy wine from in-store for my event! So I called and asked for a refund for the wines since I had been calling and things still couldn't be figured out but then they tell me there's a $25 nonrefundable fee! BS right? I paid $86 but said well just refund me the amount minus the $25. When the refund came through I was only refunded half the amount and I called them days ago to see where the rest of my refund is and I'm still waiting! Do NOT buy from Bright Cellars, save yourself the headache. I promise Wine Awesomeness is better.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Never received first delivery!

    • By Cheryl M.,
    • Connecticut,
    • Jun 13, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    An adult 21+ years of age or older needs to sign for this delivery, so I had my former shipped to my friend's office where somewhere is always available during the day.

    After several false notifications from Bright Cellars that my order was "out for delivery", my order never arrived. It was always one excuse after the other. So, I finally asked them to cancel the order. Bright Cellars then informs me they will charge me $25 to return the wine I never received! I would avoid this company based on their awful customer service. I cannot speak about the wine, as I never received it. Disappointing!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Their algorithm is bogus

    • By John W.,
    • Alabama,
    • Jan 23, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    I took their quiz seven times and tried numerous variations. Their wine selection came up with nearly the same set of wines every time (one or two differences each time). That's not to say the selections weren't decent wines, but it appears that they match you to a predetermined set of wines regardless of which kind of chocolate you choose, what kind of tea your drink or what your go-to drink is. I've experimented with other wine clubs and Bright Cellars is not really different than any of the others.

    In my opinion, their quiz is nothing but a marketing gimmick.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • What a surprise! Fast, convenient.

    • By Theresa W.,
    • Hopatcong, NJ,
    • Jan 23, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    I don't know about you, but who has time to read through, look through the wine selection at the store - not me! Take the quiz, select your preferences - poof, delivery at your door! It's fun tasting and pairing with our dinner. Great team members too!

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend


  • Do not order from Bright Cellars!

    • By Terri H.,
    • Olathe, KS,
    • Oct 26, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    I tried to cancel the Bright Cellars subscription, but they would not cancel my subscription nor would they make it right and let me ship back. Nor would they give me money back for shipping, even though I canceled. Do NOT order from Bright Cellars! Unfortunately, giving them a one-star review is too generous - buyer beware!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Total scam/rip off

    • By Donna L.,
    • New York,
    • Oct 11, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    Somehow they got hold of my credit card. I didn't place an order. They sent cheese, supposed to be $64.00, totally flavorless crap. Probably worth about $20.00

    NOT RECOMMENDED.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Fantastic and easy wine/cheese club

    • By Jean C.,
    • Prescott, AZ,
    • May 28, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    I have been enjoying the wine and cheese for a little more than 6 months now. I took the simple quiz, and the wine and cheese I receive is "spot on!" I love red wine that is dry and has a rich woodsy flavor, and white wine that is not sweet. Bright Cellars has been a great choice!

    In addition to their great products, the staff and the ease of online communication is beyond fabulous. I get updates about wine on sale, an email about my shipment coming so if I want to change anything I can quickly, the ability to change how often I receive the products, and the staff is friendly, efficient, and knowledgeable.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend


  • Best wine of the month service

    • By Thomas Ryan,
    • Virginia Beach, VA,
    • May 12, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    Bright Cellars not only delivers wine that you won't find in local stores, but their customer service is phenomenal. They fixed a problem (FedEx was messing up delivery) that wasn't even their fault. Also, their rewards program is amazing.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend


  • Bright Cellars sets the bar for service and value

    Overall Experience:

    We have been benefitting monthly from the wines and services of Bright Cellars for approximately 1.5 years now. I am consistently impressed with their prompt responsiveness to my needs, the knowledge and professionalism of their representatives, and the level of convenience they provide.

    Most importantly, their wines are diversely sourced from all over the world, the quality of the wines is outstanding, and pricing is generally well below comparable wines at our local stores. In addition to our monthly order conveniently delivered directly to our home, we love the periodic hot deals that are available also. We haven't had the opportunity to order any of the Wisconsin Cheese they sell, but looking forward to some of that soon.

    We are very satisfied thus far as customers of Bright Cellars because of their quality wines, pricing, convenience, and customer service. My wife likes the buzz factor.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend


  • Tasted white wine

    Overall Experience:

    The white wine tasted mostly like sweet apple, which I didn't expect, never the less, it was a great taste. The selection was spot on. I highly recommend this club. I am looking forward to cooking with it with my chicken recipe and rice. Thanks.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend


  • Great wines!

    • By Kay Bhatti,
    • Ellisville, MS,
    • Apr 27, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    I enjoy every bottle that I get from Bright Cellars. They occasionally make contact with me and listen to my input on how I feel about my reviews of each bottle. My reviews reflect my next orders, and I am a very loyal and happy customer.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend


Showing 1-16 of 16

Write a Review for Bright Cellars!

Share your experience to help others discover great products!

Write a Review
Bright Cellars Reviews