About Brilliant Skin Serum

Whether we’re talking about Brilliant Skin Serum or another anti-aging product, we’ve seen it a thousand times: “Amazing new Hollywood Secret!” “Better than Botox!” “Injection-free solution for younger-looking skin!”

Why are all these products making identical claims? And is there anything unique about this one, or just more of the same?

Count on HighYa’s years of experience to help you find an answer.

Brilliant Skin Serum: Same Claims, Different Product

Brilliant Skin Serum claims to use ingredients that can diminish wrinkles, lift and plump skin, prevent free radical damage, and dramatically repair skin. This includes essential vitamins, antioxidants, and topical immune boosters to help you “look up to 10 years younger.”

After reading through the whole Brilliant Skin Serum website, you might’ve had a sense of déjà vu. Why?

If you’ve been researching anti-aging products for long, especially ones advertised through social media, then you’ve probably encountered many of these exact same claims. This is because Brilliant Skin Serum is part of a huge trend of anti-aging products sold only online, which come attached to free trials, autoship programs, high prices, poor customer service—basically a giant web of deceit.

Overall, we recommend staying away from these types of products. We’re even so passionate about this topic that we wrote a couple in-depth exposés that dug up the dirty truth: Exposing the Widespread Scam of Anti-Aging Products & Free Trials and Avoid These Anti-Aging Sites Like the Plague.

Granted, the multiple reasons why you should avoid these products requires a bit of an explanation.

Let’s Start with Brilliant Skin Serum’s Ingredients

Here’s what we’re told about Brilliant Skin Serum’s ingredients: it contains proprietary Biosphere, QuSome delivery, Biofil spheres, essential vitamins and antioxidants, and topical immune boosters.

There isn’t a label on the product’s website, so we don’t know how much of these ingredient it contains. Or, in the case of the “vitamins, antioxidants, and immune boosters,” exactly what this means.

In other words, we’re mostly left in the dark. But it doesn’t stop there.

Of the ingredients we are told about, QuSome is the only one that appears to be real; all others seem to simply be made up for nearly identical products (and websites) like Derma Essence Cream, Vitalie Skin Care, Nuvoderm Nano Gold, and many more.

In layman’s terms? Many of Brilliant Skin Serum’s ingredients are fake.

Stick with us as we dive deeper down the rabbit hole.

Does Brilliant Skin Serum Use Fake Science?

The Brilliant Skin Serum website claims that, after applying the product twice daily for 8 weeks, “several hundred women” experienced a:

  • 95% increase in collagen production
  • 73% decrease in the appearance of dark circles
  • 84% decrease in fine lines and wrinkles

Whoa! Is this true? Almost certainly not.

Ask yourself this: “If I made an anti-aging product that provided astounding, clinically-proven results, would I keep the study secret?”

No. After all, this would only boost your bottom line and fatten your bank account.

Given this, why do you think Brilliant Skin Serum’s manufacturer chose not to link to the study? At the very least, why didn’t they provide the author information? Based on our extensive experience with these types of products, it’s either because 1) the study doesn’t support their claims, or 2) because it doesn’t exist.

To help you gain a better understanding of this tactic, be sure to read Think that Clinical Study is Legit?

The Free Trial Trap

Next, let’s talk dough. Money, that is.

Like all of these other low-down anti-aging products, Brilliant Skin Serum is only available through a 14-day trial. Simply pay $4.95 to cover S&H.

What they don’t tell you (at least, not without digging through their Terms & Conditions) is that after 14 days, you’ll be billed a whopping $89.95! Not only this, but you’ll keep receiving a new tube of Brilliant once per month and charged $89.95 each time.

Want to avoid this by calling Lone Star Nutra at (877) 230-7895? As we’ve discussed in our articles, you’ll probably encounter terrible customer service; the kind who will yell at you, make you feel like it’s your fault, and even hang up on you. In other words, they’ll probably make cancelling your trial as difficult as possible.

After all, once your trial has passed, they won’t have to refund your money. Then, they’ll legally be able to charge you a ridiculous price and lock you in to recurring shipments. A classic bait and switch.

Don’t take our word for it though. Here’s what HighYa readers have said about these types of products.

Straight From the Source: Reader Feedback for Anti-Aging Products

Remember Derma Essence Cream, Vitalie Skin Care, and Nuvoderm Nano Gold we talked about before? Between nearly 50 HighYa reader reviews, these products have an average rating of less than 1.5 stars. Why?

You guessed it: Failure to work as advertised, high prices, and poor customer service (rude personnel, difficulty cancelling trials/autoship enrollments, etc.). And in our opinion, you’ll experience much of the same with Brilliant Skin Serum.

It’s not all doom and gloom though! Here are some real-world tips you can use to prevent and treat the signs of premature aging.

Real Methods for Younger Looking Skin

Instead of wasting your time and energy on Brilliant Skin Serum, why not start turning back the hands of time now?

UV (sun) exposure is the number one cause of premature aging, because this type of radiation can damage the skin’s cellular DNA. Other common causes of premature aging include smoking cigarettes, not eating healthy or exercising regularly, failing to moisturize your skin, and much more.

This means that improving your complexion (or even looking younger) and preventing premature aging is as easy as wearing the appropriate sunscreen, eating good food, getting plenty of exercise, avoiding smoking, and purchasing a quality moisturizer from your local pharmacy.

Go ahead; you can do this!

Sign Up for HighYa Newsletter

Sign up for HighYa newsletter and get our best content delivered in your inbox as well as 3 free eBooks to help you save money and shop smarter. Enter your email below to get started!

58 Consumer Reviews for Brilliant Skin Serum

Average Consumer Rating: 1.0
Rating Snapshot:
5 star: 0 4 star: 0 3 star: 0 2 star: 0 1 star:  58
Bottom Line: 2% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 1-11 of 58
Sort reviews by:

  • Steer clear

    I ordered a sample. Seven days after receiving I found an $89.98 charge on my credit card. I only found this in time because I was looking for a different transaction. If I had found this when I got my monthly statement, it would have been too late for a refund.

    I called the company and told them I had not even had a chance to try the product, never mind that for 8 days it says you will see improvement and I wanted a refund and to cancel any further shipments. They give you a 14-day trial but what they don't tell you is it starts the minute you place your order. First, they offered me a 35% refund, then after I demanded to speak to a supervisor, they offered me a 75% refund. After 20 minutes of arguing back and forth, they finally gave me the full refund because it had only been 13 days since I placed the order and I threatened legal action.

    Do not have anything to do with this company. Their only desire is to get your money. Reviews I have read since all have negative opinions.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 1 out 1 people found this review helpful

    Don't buy it!

    • Philadelphia, PA,
    • Jun 19, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    People, don't buy the product. Hidden charges. Automatic monthly subscription renewal of $180. No refunds. Plus, the product SUCKS! It does not work. Don't buy it!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • Do not work this company!

    • California,
    • May 18, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    Not only did the "free" sample arrived to me broken, but the company then charged me almost $200 about 14 days later. I have to admit that I don't read through all of the fine print on every website, but I just went back in and reviewed the website again, and it is NOT clear that you are agreeing to pay the full charge. Do NOT work with this company! They are NOT customer friendly.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 4 out 4 people found this review helpful

    SCAM!

    • Los Gatos, CA,
    • Mar 28, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    Typical bait and switch, they claim it's a sample and you just pay the 4.95 S&H, but it's actually a 1 oz. that that they are going to slam you for $89.94. By the way, it's no different than any other "anti-aging" cream out there. No miraculous results. I'm sticking to my Clinique moisture surge, it works WAY better for less than half the price. Don't get sucked into this!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 3 out 3 people found this review helpful

    Customer representative Nissi #032 was very RUDE!

    • Henderson, NV,
    • Mar 10, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    They are desperate to get the customer to keep or extend their subscription!

    I called to cancel my subscription because I didn't have enough time to use the product and I will be going out of the country for three weeks. The customer representative Nissi (#032) was very very RUDE! She tried to convince me relentlessly to extend my subscription, and I was explaining to her I will be traveling and will not be able to cancel (if I have to) on time to not get any charges on my credit card. I initiate the conversation telling her to cancel it because I didn't have enough time to use the product but if it worked on my face, then I will call and reorder.

    But she went on giving me the spiel about why I should keep the product or extend my trial. I kept asking her to just cancel the subscription but she went on very RUDELY and hung up on me! I felt that she's making it so difficult to cancel the subscription, but if they are confident about their product, then they should not be so desperate to get the customer to extend their trial period, especially when I said I will be traveling and would not have time to call again.

    I also was truthful when I said that if I like the product, I will call to reorder, but with that kind of experience, no thanks! I'll stick to my Korean beauty products, it is way more expensive, but whenever I go to their store, they are happy to have my business and happy to help me.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 9 out 9 people found this review helpful

    Upset

    I should have looked at the reviews on this product before I took the trial. It would have saved me $94, because, after 14 days, they charged me $94.90 without my permission. I specified only wanted the free trial and they charged me anyways.

    When I called to dispute the charge they said that I didn't cancel the subscription within 14 days, so legally they charged me, which I think is a bunch of crap because it didn't say anywhere on there in the fine print that you had to cancel or do anything. It was supposed to be just a free trial. After that's over I thought it was up to you to order it if you wanted it, because when you take a free trial on something, that doesn't mean you're ordering the product, you're just wanting to try it, then if you like it, you can order it.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 11 out 12 people found this review helpful

    Read the fine print, it is a SCAM.

    Try if for free just pay shipping. Then you get credit bill for $80+ per item shortly thereafter. Even if it were to work great, it is an underhanded SCAM.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 20 out 22 people found this review helpful

    Beware, this is= a scam you will dearly regret!

    • Madeira Beach, FL,
    • Jul 6, 2016
    • Verified Reviewer

    I was on Christy Brinkley's skin care website when a "pop-up" for skin care appeared. I thought I was ordering from her site. It was for a trial sample. It stated, “No obligation”. You only had to pay shipping. This was in March 2016. I then get a call from someone thanking me for my order and wanting to send me a $50.00 gift card for being such a good customer. I told her I was not a customer and did not want her products and not to ever send any more to me. And I did not want her gift card because I was not a customer.

    Next thing I know, I am getting products sent to me and my credit card is being billed monthly. I never opened the products but sent them back to the company unopened. I hated the "samples" sent to me. They were very irritating to my skin. They caused redness and burning. It took 3 months going back and forth with that company and my credit card company to get this resolved.

    My advice to anyone who fall for this scam, keep detailed notes, phone numbers, postage receipts, or any thing else relating to this company.

    I will never order anything again that requires them billing my credit card without me knowing it. Never order from this company. Heed the advise of those who have and have been burned and wasted so much precious time trying to get it resolved.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 29 out 31 people found this review helpful

    Don't get scammed! Worth the call to fight back.

    I am writing a review on this product's cost and marketing because previous reviews helped me to resolve the matter when I was fooled. And I wanted to let you know how my experience panned out to help any future victims of this.

    I will start by saying that I am one of those people that NEVER purchase anything on a whim without doing more research. I am embarrassed that I did that regarding this aging product, that I did not research before ordering online, getting caught up in the marketing information I read (all links attached to their product information). And I am only as aware of this as quickly as I am because of my credit card company believing the charges to be fraudulent. YES, fraudulent. It is obviously something that they have dealt with and will continue to deal with regularly that it is now part of their fraudulent division, and that they will contact their cardholders to help put a stop to it. My credit card company contacted me. YES, They contacted ME regarding the charges.

    They questioned the charges about a subscription to some sort of contour eye serum. They asked me if I had recently purchased any sort of skin cream, and I replied yes. They said that they saw I had purchased something 14 days previous to today (when the subscription charges appeared). Because I had purchased skin, eye and vitamin C cream, 2 of these were subscriptions (skin and eye). My company declined to pay one of these 2, advised me to contact the merchant (they provided me with the toll free number to call 877-563-2851), and told me that if I had problems with the merchant removing any subscription to any products to call my credit card company's dispute team and that they would advise me what to do next and help me to receive my refund.

    This company is obviously misleading consumers and trying to make it difficult to get reimbursement, but thanks to my credit card company, and the other reviews on this website (which I found after hanging up with my credit card company), I was armed with enough information when I did call the merchant.

    I was placed on a short hold. When answered, I told the female rep that I wanted a full refund of the charge that was placed on my card that did go through (remember, one was declined) and that I did not sign up for any subscription and that I should be fully reimbursed and all future orders should be canceled because I was not aware that I had signed up for that. I was placed on hold again as my account "was reviewed". When off hold, I was offered that "typically we'll only refund 35%-50% refund for this type of situation." I said that's fine, I will contact my credit card company to dispute the charge, as they already believed the charges to be fraudulent as that's how I found out so quickly that I was charged for a subscription exactly 14 days later after the initial charge.

    I also stated that I had not used the product yet and would gladly return the product. She said there was a restocking fee. I asked for clarification of what would I be charged a restocking fee and what I was being offered 35%-50% refund. That's when she started to try to make me feel like I was the idiot, that I did agree to this, threatening that they would call my credit card company to show them where I "signed-up" for it, that I just didn't understand.

    When I started asking her to clarify further, what is the charge/order number that they would provide the 35%-50%? What restocking fee? I did not subscribe to anything so I demanded a full refund of everything. I would gladly send back the product. She only replied to me that I just didn't understand. I told her I was trying to understand. What would they still charge me for? I think I was placed on yet another brief hold. When she returned, she told me that it wasn't worth her time to go back and forth with me that I didn't understand and that she was going to fully refund everything. I tried to get further understanding, it never happened, but I did get the full refund of the "subscriptions". I did pay my initial order back when I was fooled. I have yet to try the product, but I am not sure if I will at this point as I don't feel confident with them as a company and don't believe in their ethics.

    Summary, I got fooled. My card company contacted me about fraudulent charges. I contacted the merchant. They tried to make me feel like an idiot that I didn't understand what I signed up for. I told them that I wasn't alone because I had since read how many people have had the same exact complaint as me, so they are preying on consumers. I felt confident "giving it to them" since my credit card company armed me and backed me. I was assertive and was very genuine in stating that I would work with my card company in any way possible, no matter the time it took to help put a stop to what they are doing to consumers. I was fully refunded.

    You are armed! Make the call. Get refunded. Be a fool. And learn from this experience. I know I have.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Feb 9, 2017

      Gary Weaver

      Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. What a nightmare it must have been! At least you can help someone like me avoid that experience. I greatly appreciate it.

      Thanks again, and take care.

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 18 out 19 people found this review helpful

    Scam City

    • Brooklyn, NY,
    • Jun 28, 2016
    • Verified Reviewer

    Don't be lured in by the "free" trial. They will charge you almost $90.00 per product if you don't cancel within two weeks. Then they'll send you products you didn't order on a monthly basis at the exorbitant rate! Don't give your money to companies who bait and switch.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 10 out 12 people found this review helpful

    Scam on their website, beware!

    If you order the free sample for Nu Essence Skin Serum, it redirects you to Brilliant Skin Serum's Website.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


Showing 1-11 of 58

Write a Review for Brilliant Skin Serum!

Share your experience to help others shop smarter & discover great products.

Write a Review