About Brilliant Skin Serum

Whether we’re talking about Brilliant Skin Serum or another anti-aging product, we’ve seen it a thousand times: “Amazing new Hollywood Secret!” “Better than Botox!” “Injection-free solution for younger-looking skin!”

Why are all these products making identical claims? And is there anything unique about this one, or just more of the same?

Count on HighYa’s years of experience to help you find an answer.

Brilliant Skin Serum: Same Claims, Different Product

Brilliant Skin Serum claims to use ingredients that can diminish wrinkles, lift and plump skin, prevent free radical damage, and dramatically repair skin. This includes essential vitamins, antioxidants, and topical immune boosters to help you “look up to 10 years younger.”

After reading through the whole Brilliant Skin Serum website, you might’ve had a sense of déjà vu. Why?

If you’ve been researching anti-aging products for long, especially ones advertised through social media, then you’ve probably encountered many of these exact same claims. This is because Brilliant Skin Serum is part of a huge trend of anti-aging products sold only online, which come attached to free trials, autoship programs, high prices, poor customer service—basically a giant web of deceit.

Overall, we recommend staying away from these types of products. We’re even so passionate about this topic that we wrote a couple in-depth exposés that dug up the dirty truth: Exposing the Widespread Scam of Anti-Aging Products & Free Trials and Avoid These Anti-Aging Sites Like the Plague.

Granted, the multiple reasons why you should avoid these products requires a bit of an explanation.

Let’s Start with Brilliant Skin Serum’s Ingredients

Here’s what we’re told about Brilliant Skin Serum’s ingredients: it contains proprietary Biosphere, QuSome delivery, Biofil spheres, essential vitamins and antioxidants, and topical immune boosters.

There isn’t a label on the product’s website, so we don’t know how much of these ingredient it contains. Or, in the case of the “vitamins, antioxidants, and immune boosters,” exactly what this means.

In other words, we’re mostly left in the dark. But it doesn’t stop there.

Of the ingredients we are told about, QuSome is the only one that appears to be real; all others seem to simply be made up for nearly identical products (and websites) like Derma Essence Cream, Vitalie Skin Care, Nuvoderm Nano Gold, and many more.

In layman’s terms? Many of Brilliant Skin Serum’s ingredients are fake.

Stick with us as we dive deeper down the rabbit hole.

Does Brilliant Skin Serum Use Fake Science?

The Brilliant Skin Serum website claims that, after applying the product twice daily for 8 weeks, “several hundred women” experienced a:

  • 95% increase in collagen production
  • 73% decrease in the appearance of dark circles
  • 84% decrease in fine lines and wrinkles

Whoa! Is this true? Almost certainly not.

Ask yourself this: “If I made an anti-aging product that provided astounding, clinically-proven results, would I keep the study secret?”

No. After all, this would only boost your bottom line and fatten your bank account.

Given this, why do you think Brilliant Skin Serum’s manufacturer chose not to link to the study? At the very least, why didn’t they provide the author information? Based on our extensive experience with these types of products, it’s either because 1) the study doesn’t support their claims, or 2) because it doesn’t exist.

To help you gain a better understanding of this tactic, be sure to read Think that Clinical Study is Legit?

The Free Trial Trap

Next, let’s talk dough. Money, that is.

Like all of these other low-down anti-aging products, Brilliant Skin Serum is only available through a 14-day trial. Simply pay $4.95 to cover S&H.

What they don’t tell you (at least, not without digging through their Terms & Conditions) is that after 14 days, you’ll be billed a whopping $89.95! Not only this, but you’ll keep receiving a new tube of Brilliant once per month and charged $89.95 each time.

Want to avoid this by calling Lone Star Nutra at (877) 230-7895? As we’ve discussed in our articles, you’ll probably encounter terrible customer service; the kind who will yell at you, make you feel like it’s your fault, and even hang up on you. In other words, they’ll probably make cancelling your trial as difficult as possible.

After all, once your trial has passed, they won’t have to refund your money. Then, they’ll legally be able to charge you a ridiculous price and lock you in to recurring shipments. A classic bait and switch.

Don’t take our word for it though. Here’s what HighYa readers have said about these types of products.

Straight From the Source: Reader Feedback for Anti-Aging Products

Remember Derma Essence Cream, Vitalie Skin Care, and Nuvoderm Nano Gold we talked about before? Between nearly 50 HighYa reader reviews, these products have an average rating of less than 1.5 stars. Why?

You guessed it: Failure to work as advertised, high prices, and poor customer service (rude personnel, difficulty cancelling trials/autoship enrollments, etc.). And in our opinion, you’ll experience much of the same with Brilliant Skin Serum.

It’s not all doom and gloom though! Here are some real-world tips you can use to prevent and treat the signs of premature aging.

Real Methods for Younger Looking Skin

Instead of wasting your time and energy on Brilliant Skin Serum, why not start turning back the hands of time now?

UV (sun) exposure is the number one cause of premature aging, because this type of radiation can damage the skin’s cellular DNA. Other common causes of premature aging include smoking cigarettes, not eating healthy or exercising regularly, failing to moisturize your skin, and much more.

This means that improving your complexion (or even looking younger) and preventing premature aging is as easy as wearing the appropriate sunscreen, eating good food, getting plenty of exercise, avoiding smoking, and purchasing a quality moisturizer from your local pharmacy.

Go ahead; you can do this!

Sign Up for HighYa Newsletter

Sign up for HighYa newsletter and get our best content delivered in your inbox as well as 3 free eBooks to help you save money and shop smarter. Enter your email below to get started!

58 Consumer Reviews for Brilliant Skin Serum

Average Consumer Rating: 1.0
Rating Snapshot:
5 star: 0 4 star: 0 3 star: 0 2 star: 0 1 star:  58
Bottom Line: 2% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 1-11 of 58
Sort reviews by:

  • 12 out 13 people found this review helpful

    Scam

    • NY,
    • Sep 3, 2015

    I was going to check out the cream and started to fill things out and my computer froze. I didn't know if I was going to get a bottle or not. Well I got Brilliant Skin and it didn't make even one little bit of difference. Best part of this all is the PRICE. I had a charge for $89.95 for .50 fl. oz. I just got another bottle delivered and I am sending it back and will be charged $10.00 restocking fee for this .50 fl oz bottle. This is not worth $90. Go to Walmart.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Sep 19, 2015

      Kathy,

      I saw this and thought I would give it a try for the price, which was approximately $13.00. Come to find out, I too was charged $89.00 per item. I called to return it, as I have the packaging still. They told me there was no fine print when I asked about this fee and that they don't take used products back. I only used it a few times as I have a skin condition that didn't respond well to it and they didn't care! If I had known about the cost, I would have never bought it. This is a scam to get your money.

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 1 out 1 people found this review helpful

    This Product Sucks

    • Aurora, CO,
    • Sep 19, 2015

    I have just learned first hand that the Brilliant Skin Cream and Skin Serum are trash! I tried it for 12 days, on a free 14 day trial. I was not seeing any results. I called today (within 14 days of trying it), and was told by a VERY RUDE employee that the trial actually starts on the day that they mail it out. I was on hold for 25 minutes before I even talked to anyone. This guy was nothing but RUDE and didn't even try to keep the situation professional. When I asked to speak to a manager, he asked why when I was the one that didn't read the fine print. When I ordered it, I did not see anything on the site with "fine print".

    Since I ordered both the cream and serum, I had to call two different phone numbers. No luck with either. This should be illegal for these companies to pull on customers!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 4 out 4 people found this review helpful

    Brillliant Skin products one site to buy sample two places to cancel.

    • Tiptonville, TN,
    • Sep 20, 2015
    • Verified Reviewer

    I, like many others did not read the fine print in terms that after 14 days I would be billed $89.95. I called right away to cancel the products. I was asked if I wanted to keep the bottle for a lesser amount which got down to $20. I told them no. I'd been scammed and wanted nothing further from this company. I was checking my credit card again and there was another charge for $89.95. When I called again I was told that there were two separate orders. A great way for them to continue to send you this very expensive cream because you did not call both places. After I was told this, I told the lady that I wanted everything canceled but I got another bottle and another $89.95 charged to my credit card.

    I am in a dispute with them through my credit card company. If I do not get satisfaction I will find where they are located and turn them into the Better Business Bureau. They may not care but it will make me feel better. I agree with the post I just read. Do not buy anything for a trial. There is always a catch. I've been had by this company. Other companies that are honest should call them out on this because I will never buy anything like this again.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (2)
    View all 2 commentsHide comments
    • Sep 20, 2015

      Annie,

      Same thing happened to me. This is the biggest scam ever. I'm so pissed.

    • Sep 21, 2015

      Becky Hiralal

      I wish I had read these review before buying. Now it's too late. Thanks anyway.

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 1 out 1 people found this review helpful

    Terrible Pricey Product

    • Rochester, NY,
    • Sep 20, 2015

    I was charged almost $180.00 for this product that does not work. When I canceled the future shipments, they tried offering me 75% off future shipments to stay with them. I am beyond disappointed with this skin care product. Don't buy it!

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 1 out 1 people found this review helpful

    SCAM

    • Malden, MA,
    • Sep 21, 2015

    Horrible service. These people offer free sample online and then charge for almost $100 and DO DOT offer refund. Beware! These people scam and steal money this way. Unbelievable.

    Also their sample is awful, doesn't do anything, only burns when you put it on.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 1 out 1 people found this review helpful

    Scam

    • Sep 23, 2015
    • Verified Reviewer

    This is a scam, product is not effective and will keep charging your credit card without any option of cancelling it. I have to shut down my credit card for this, so unfortunate. Stay away from these products.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 1 out 1 people found this review helpful

    Terrible customer service

    • Oceanside, CA,
    • Sep 24, 2015

    I like others have been scammed! I read the web site and skimmed over the fine print. Nowhere was it clear in any way that the trial ended at any point and my card would be charged money. My charge was $97.04. Like others, I had to call and argue with customer service at 2 separate phone numbers, 1 for for each product.

    Returning it was not an option. When I asked for the supervisor, miraculously they both told me they were the "shift supervisor". How fortunate of me to be the one to have the shift supervisor answer my call both times. Eventually, they said they canceled my order and that I will not receive future orders.

    I did eventually get a 35% discount on the charges which will save me $33.96 each ($66.92). At least it is something. They sent me email confirmation and gave me cancellation numbers. I will check for the credit to go through and then call my Credit Card Company and see if I can block any further charges from this company in the future.

    Thanks for the other reviews. I should have read them first, Like I usually do. They got me! I just looked back at the Free trial page. I have to admit, there it is, 14 day trial or $89.95.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 2 out 2 people found this review helpful

    Scam

    • New Jersey,
    • Sep 24, 2015

    I ordered the lotion trial bottle and today I noticed they hit me with $89.85 charge twice from two different places for these things. I hate them and I'm trying to cancel the charge by claiming it as fraud with my bank. I never agreed to pay full price. I only wanted to try the trial first before actually ordering another bottle. This is a horrible thing they did. I'm so upset and of course it's a Sunday and I can't get in touch with anyone.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 3 out 3 people found this review helpful

    Subscription Rip-off

    • Clayton, Ca,
    • Sep 25, 2015

    I ordered a sample for $4.95, never received a sample, but was charged the $4.95. Two week later my VISA card was charged $97.49. Found out in was an on going subscription for a monthly supply. It took me over an hour to get the subscription cancel and wrangle a 75% refund. This is without a doubt a scam website (trybrilliantskinserum.com).

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Sep 28, 2015

      Laken

      Did the product work for you?

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 4 out 4 people found this review helpful

    Scam

    • Solon, IA,
    • Sep 26, 2015

    Not only does this product not work, it comes with an $89.95 price tag that is buried somewhere in the fine print. DO NOT ORDER THIS unless you are aware that it will cost you $89.95 and you will have to call and cancel your account otherwise they will likely keep charging you! I know better than this, wish I would have passed.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 2 out 2 people found this review helpful

    SCAM

    • Los Angeles, CA,
    • Sep 26, 2015

    My experience was exactly the same as described in all the prior reviews here. I hope this company gets shut down. What they are doing is WRONG.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


Showing 1-11 of 58

Write a Review for Brilliant Skin Serum!

Share your experience to help others shop smarter & discover great products.

Write a Review