Brooklinen Review: A Detailed Look

By Lydia Noyes
HighYa Staff
Updated on: Jul 16, 2020

Brooklinen is a bedding company that promises to provide you with simple, high-quality home essentials at an affordable price. The company cuts out the middleman to keeps costs low so that you can enjoy premium products at any budget.

Though the company has a storefront in Brooklyn, NY, most sales take place online.

In this article, we take a look at many important factors to help you decide if this brand is right for you.

Pros
  • Less expensive than other direct-to-consumer bedding brands
  • Utilizes extra-long-staple cotton
  • Generous 365-day return policy
Cons
  • Customer complaints related to quality
  • Some customers reported that it may fray or pill quickly

Product Line Overview

Brooklinen sells a range of bed, bath, and loungewear products:

Classic Sheets ($83 to $170)

Most well known for their sheets, Brooklinen offers long-staple cotton percale sheets at a 270 thread count for a soft yet cooling texture that is especially beneficial for people who get hot while they sleep.

Luxe Sheets ($88 to $197)

This collection boasts a 480-thread count and 100% long-staple cotton that gets softer with each wash. The sheets are designed to stay warmer than the classic sheets while maintaining breathability.

Comforters ($179 to $269)

A range of comforters that are filled either with Canadian goose down or down alternatives. Brooklinen claims that this goose down lacks the prickly spine of most feathers and is more effective for trapping air for extra warmth.

The down alternative comforters include high-grade microfibers that imitate the warmth and weight of natural down without relying on any animal products.

Pillows ($53 to $89)

Pillows come in two options: natural down or synthetic-filled pillows. They include the same Canadian goose down as the comforters and are available in plush, mid-plush, and firm down varieties.

Blankets ($224 to $251)

A range of lightweight quilts and shams for extra comfort when it’s too warm for a traditional comforter. Made from 100% long-staple cotton.

Brooklinen Materials

Brooklinen uses 100% natural cotton for its sheets without any artificial wrinkle-free chemicals.

This means that the products may wrinkle the first few times you use them, but that they will wrinkle less after every use.

You can minimize this concern by taking sheets out of the dryer early and laying them flat to dry.

This cotton’s specifics are also important. Brooklinen products all contain extra-long-staple cotton that is a term used for cotton fibers around 1-3/8", which is about a third longer than other cotton fibers.

This leads to a more luxurious thread that results in a softer, more durable final product. You’ll also deal with less fraying and pilling over its lifespan.

Paying more for extra-long staple fiber sheets is a personal choice. These sheets are typically associated with luxury, but brands aren’t always transparent about the proportion of fibers that qualify.

In the case of Brooklinen, all cotton products are 100% extra-long staple.

Analysis of Customer Reviews

On our website, more than 70 Brooklinen customers submitted their reviews, which average 2.1-stars. Below, we’ve summarized the most common comments:

Compliments:

  • High-quality products
  • Products arrive as described
  • Reasonable pricing compared to the competition

Complaints:

  • Delivery issues
  • Slow customer service responses
  • Sheets not soft
  • Sheets wore out within a year
  • Tended to fray after a few washes
  • Sheets sometimes were noisy, crunchy

Return Policy

All purchases made on the company website qualify for returns within a full year, including pillows. Any washed or used returns will be sent to a donation center, and you will still receive a full refund.

Items listed for Final Sale won’t qualify for refunds.

Product exchanges aren’t offered. This means it’s best to return a product you are unhappy with and then reorder a better fit.

Popular Alternatives to Brooklinen

Brooklinen Sheex Boll & Branch
Primary Materials Extra-long-staple cotton, Canadian goose down, synthetic down Microfiber polyester, spandex, bamboo, hypoallergenic polyester Long-staple organic cotton, down feathers
Sheet Cost $83–$197 $139–$250 $160–$230
Comforter Cost $179–$269 $209 $225–$300
Pillow Cost $53–$89 $84–$89 $80–$150
Return Policy 365-day return guarantee 60-day 30-day

What all three of these companies have in common is that they operate on a direct to consumer model. In other words, you’ll save money by not going through a traditional retailer to purchase them.

Each brand also offers its products at roughly similar price points, though Boll & Branch falls on the higher end.

Like Brooklinen, the company primarily offers long-staple cotton sheets and down feathers.

One big difference is that all Boll & Branch products are organic, which might be a selling point for those with allergies or who want to be environmentally conscious.

Finally, Brooklinen offers the most generous return policy of these three. You can return any purchase to the company within a year, regardless of its condition.

That’s a great way to thoroughly test your purchase before determining whether it’s the right choice for you.

The Bottom Line

Brooklinen promises you exceptional sheets and bedding products at an attractive price. The company’s pricing and satisfaction guarantee certainly beat its competition.

However, a number of customer reviews indicate that many people aren’t happy with their purchase.

That’s partly due to product quality concerns, but also because many shoppers struggled with customer service.

Overall, bedding is something you’ll interact with for hours each day, so it’s worth taking time to purchase the right sets for your needs and Brooklinen’s generous return policy makes it possible by giving you ample opportunity to test out these sheets.


Customer Reviews

Start your review of Brooklinen:
  • 78 Customer Reviews
  • 22% Recommend This Brand
2.1 out of 5
5 star: 20% 4 star: 2% 3 star: 3% 2 star: 14% 1 star: 58%

 Our Promise to You

To safeguard you and ensure helpfulness and relevance, our compliance team manually assess every customer review before it goes live.

We have a zero-tolerance policy for fake reviews, and companies cannot control or alter any reviews at any time.

Sort reviews by:

  • No customer service!

    • By Beth,
    • Brevard, NC,
    • Sep 24, 2016
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    I love my sheets but they sent the wrong size. I ordered king and got full. There was no packing list that contained an order number. Even if I did have an order number, I can't research it on the Brooklinen site as it does not recognize the email that they continue to send me coupons to and I can't even get into my account.

    I have called a dozen times over the last week. It says they are transferring me to a live representative and all you get is voicemail. I have left 4 messages with no return call. It says you might have "better luck" emailing but I have not received a response by email either.

    I guess I will just mail these sheets back with a letter as there is no packing slip and hope for the best.

    A high-end linen company should have much better service than this!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Non-performance by Brooklinen

    • By Doris,
    • Orange County CA,
    • Jan 2, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    I ordered a down pillow on 11/20/16. My credit card was charged on the same day. Today is 12/15/16 and still no pillow. The company has not replied to emails or returned phone calls.

    I have filed a dispute with my credit card company. If I could rate them 0 stars, I would.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Non-existent customer service, subpar bed sheets

    • By Christine,
    • Jan 22, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    I ordered their Luxe sheet set and not only was the color different than pictured on the site, but the quality was not at all worth the price tag. On their site, they assure an easy, free return process (if the sheets haven't been laundered) and say all you need to do is email customer service. I've done that twice, posted on Twitter, and have received no response. This company is a scam.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • The Brooklinen scam, these sheets are rip off

    • By John,
    • Seattle, WA,
    • Jan 27, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    I purchased these sheets for 4-5 times as much as I would pay anywhere else for the exact same thing. 300 thread count cotton equals 300 thread count cotton, yet one costs $40 and the other costs more than $200.

    Do not be fooled!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Substandard

    • By Todd Ahlberg,
    • California,
    • Feb 17, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    I fell for this company's marketing strategy. Basically, the advertisements that are crafted to look like real articles which "review" the sheets.

    Don't waste your money. The sheets are not nearly as good as what you can get for even less money at a department store or online. Plus, they charge for shipping (which takes a week), they charge a return "service fee," and they charge you for the return shipping.

    This is a scam. I am a very angry ex-customer.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Don't buy from Brooklinen

    • By Rich,
    • Chicago, IL,
    • Mar 2, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    I recently ordered a linen set from Brooklinen (on a Sunday) and my mistake was not reading all of the negative reviews beforehand. I noticed that my credit card (charge showing pending) was charged that same day. I sent an email to cancel my order. I followed up with another email and left three voicemails. I have received no responses.

    On the following Tuesday, the charge was posted to my credit card.

    I called again and got only voicemail.

    Don't buy from them!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Fraudulent inducement and terrible customer service

    • By Donna M.,
    • North Carolina,
    • Mar 3, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    I decided to take a chance on these sheets based on an ad that popped up on the website offering a $20 gift card toward the purchase. There was no fine print nor any indication whatsoever that there were limitations or a minimum purchase requirement on the order, but after placing the order, I realized that the $20 was not deducted.

    I called customer service to cancel, and it automatically went to a voicemail system during what the rest of the country considers normal business hours. I then followed up with an email to cancel. More than eight hours later I received an email from their customer service representative stating that their computers were experiencing issues which made it impossible to cancel my order.

    Between the fraudulent advertisement and terrible customer service, I won't ever order from this company again.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Horrible experience!

    • By Dawn M,
    • Houston, TX,
    • Mar 16, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    I ordered two sheet set bundles for their Black Friday sale. At checkout, there was the option to pay using your Amazon account, which I did. After doing this and spending upwards of $500, I had no proof of purchase or receipt. I never received a confirmation email or couldn't track the package on my Amazon account. At this point, I was worried that I was being scammed.

    I called customer service for days on end leaving messages, as the only option for me was voicemail. I also sent emails, and after several days I finally received a reply. About a month later I received the sheets (the "luxe collection"), washed them, and they were covered in loose dangling threads on every single piece. "Here we go again," I thought. I did not want to go through the painful communication or "customer service" process one more time.

    This time, it was even more painful! After two months and never getting a person on the phone, I received my replacements. The sheets are mediocre at best. The darker sheet set will not come clean and have splotches of either detergent, fabric softener, or body lotion combined with a fabric defect. I can't figure it out, as I've never experienced something like this before. I've been doing laundry for over 20 years and have never had an issue like this. I also used their recommended, very expensive Laundress detergent.

    As much as I want to return these sheets, I'll probably just chalk it as a lost. I am convinced their reviews are scandalous, as many reviews are these days. The only thing I hope for now it to prevent at least one more person from falling victim to this scam of a company.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Wrong order, difficult to return!

    Overall Experience:

    I ordered the wrong items (I think). I was charged, and I emailed for help to return. Customer service gave an automated response that it takes two days and doesn't answer the question. So I mailed it back by UPS at the lowest rate, thinking I'd get reimbursed since they advertise free returns.

    Now I am out $24 and haven't been reimbursed yet for the purchase of $186. The sheets seemed okay, but are nothing special. Don't fall for this marketing scam.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • The Emperor's new sheets?

    Overall Experience:

    I can't tell if these sheets are an actual scam, or just a really lousy product being pitched to gullible buyers online. Provide free product to enough bloggers, and you can buy a reputation for anything.

    Bottom line: They are the worst sheets I have ever tried to sleep on.

    Other reviews say they "float" and "don't follow you when you move." Actually, they are just plain stiff, giving the impression that you're lying between sheets of newspaper. The cotton doesn't breathe but traps hot air next to your body. It's all a uniquely uncomfortable and unpleasant experience.

    After three nights of losing sleep, I gave up and switched back to an older set of sheets. What a relief. Since then, I have washed and dried the Brooklinen set repeatedly, thinking maybe they had been treated in a way that made them stiff. No luck, they still feel like a newspaper.

    There are better sheets available for much less money. I would not buy Brooklinen sheets again and certainly wouldn't recommend them to a friend.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Overrated and overhyped, plus poor customer service

    Overall Experience:

    I took a chance and ordered the 'Classic Core Set' in Navy blue after hearing almost universal effusive praise. I should have suspected something when almost everyone who bought these claimed they were transcendent, a revelation, will change your life, etc.

    Well, I tried them for the first night. While the build quality seemed good, they were, in a word, uncomfortable. This is shocking because I've never had sheets (at home, at a guest house, or in a hotel) keep me awake before. These certainly did. They were dry, scratchy, kept me tossing and turning all night when normally I sleep on my side and never move. Every other sheets I've ever used, I've been able to sleep on and not really care about it.

    They were certainly not "soft" or "cool". Compared to the $20 Amazon basics sheets I have, they were far, far worse.

    Just in case it was an issue of not adjusting quickly, I tried them for a second night, and again, barely slept. I was groggy and tired all day. I tried to suffer through a third night but gave up at about 2 am and put my old Amazon sheets back on, and fell asleep instantly.

    The real trouble, however, began when I tried to return them. I didn't realize there was a $10 "return fee," which they claim, shockingly, is to "prepare them for donation." It doesn't cost $10 to wash a set of sheets. And the fact they are making me pay them so they can take a tax deduction, is incredible.

    They first gave me a very long, sanctimonious email about how stunningly amazing these sheets are and made it seem like only an idiot couldn't appreciate their heaven-sent glory. They told me they would send me two "Lux" style pillowcases (which I didn't want nor asked for) and if I kept using the sheets for 100 days and was still unhappy, they'd finally deign to refund my money.

    Well, I told them I wasn't willing to not sleep for the next three months and asked for an immediate refund. They refused to waive the $10 fee for this, even after offering the exact same refund for 100 days. This is akin to telling a toddler "Eat your vegetables, or else no dessert!"

    Customer Service 101: don't nickel and dime your customers, don't treat them like children. If they were willing to send me $50 in pillowcases and refund my money fully in three months, why not just do it now, and let it be that?

    They responded, very passive-aggressively, with screen shots of their return policy and how they need to "prepare these for donation."

    I would have just sent them back if they simply processed the RMA and dealt with the $10 fee. But by dangling a full refund in my face, then reneging on it, well, that really got me frustrated. Now, instead of simply a lost sale, they have created a detractor.

    I can't help but wonder if the effusive praise is due to people not wanting to admit they've been had or it's just bed sheets. They can't change your life. They will not suddenly help you sleep better. And for some of us, they may actually be uncomfortable.

    Buyer beware. I would not recommend these to anyone, and after the customer service experience I had, I'll do my best to keep others from going through the same thing. I had to tweet at their CEO in order to finally get through to them. They did, eventually, after about a dozen emails, agree to waive the fee, but did so with a very passive-aggressive email chain where I really felt talked down to and treated like a child.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


Showing 1-11 of 78

Write a Review for Brooklinen!

Share your experience to help others discover great products!

Write a Review
Brooklinen Review