• 15 Customer Reviews
  • 27% Recommend This Company
2.0 out of 5
5 star: 20% 4 star: 6% 3 star: 0% 2 star: 0% 1 star: 73%

 Our Promise to You

To safeguard you and ensure helpfulness and relevance, our compliance team manually assess every customer review before it goes live.

We have a zero-tolerance policy for fake reviews, and companies cannot control or alter any reviews at any time.

Sort reviews by:

  • My experience with Cancer Treatment Center of America - A Posthumous Account

    • By Melissa E.,
    • Atlanta, GA,
    • Mar 13, 2020
    • Verified Reviewer

    My name is Melissa E - I am sharing my mother's story.

    "My Experience with Cancer Treatment Center of America - A Posthumous Account by Sandra E: This is my story and a not so brief, yet I hope, powerful message and warning to all those who find themselves diagnosed with cancer. If my message can help just one person, then I will have made a difference.

    Having been diagnosed, for the 2nd time, with stage 4 ovarian cancer, and not being a candidate for the most often prescribed form of intravenous chemo, I found hope in the encouraging words of my doctor, Dr. John Geisler, at the Cancer Treatment Center of America.

    After genetic testing, Dr. Geisler put me on an oral chemo drug, Tamoxifen, which he suggested would contain, if not reverse, the spread of the disease, until such time as I could undergo surgery and a peritoneal wash of the abdomen. I apologize for the medical lingo, but suffice it to say, this is what he recommended. Of course, I believed his words (after all he is a recognized gynecological oncologist) and I placed my hope in him. Everyone I spoke with and everything I read assured me that CTCA was THE place to go for treatment!

    Please note that at this time I was relatively strong and able to take a daily, one mile walk.

    Dr. Geisler said that a scan would be ordered in four months following our initial consultation to determine the effectiveness of the treatment, and he would alter the treatment if necessary.

    I should, at this point, mention that I had traveled some 2,200 miles from my home to meet with Dr. Geisler. I live outside of the United States. I need to also mention that Dr. Geisler willingly accepted me as his patient, and said that we could consult via telephone whenever necessary and of course again after the future scan results were obtained.

    Four months later with the scan results in both my hands and the hands of Dr. Geisler, we spoke on the telephone. I said to Dr. Geisler that I was very concerned because the report indicated both an increase in size of the existing tumors and the continuing spread of the disease. I asked if he would prescribe an alternative treatment.

    He assured me that based on his calculations (comparing the numbers on the former report with the current report) the tumors had increased in size less than 20%, which in the “industry” was considered an indication that the disease had stabilized. He wanted me to remain on the Tamoxifen and to repeat the scan in another three months.

    I must admit that I initially took comfort in his words, but after sleeping on it overnight I emailed his nursing assistant the following morning to inquire where the numbers from the first report could be found (I too had a copy of this report) just to further ease my mind. I was growing more weak with every passing day.

    I GOT NO RESPONSE.

    FOUR WEEKS LATER, after several more attempts on my part to communicate with Dr. Geisler’s office, I received a communication stating that Dr. Geisler no longer felt comfortable treating me. That I was harassing him, and that if I wanted to speak with him I would have to travel the 2,200 miles for an appointment.

    I attempted to explain to his assistant that there must be some sort of misunderstanding. This was not what Dr. Geisler had communicated to me directly. I also told his assistant that because of my extremely weakened condition, I was unable to fly by commercial airline, and would have to incur an enormous expense to travel by air ambulance.

    It was repeated to me that if I wanted to speak with Dr. Geisler I would have to make an appointment.

    Imagine my shock, fear, and frustration. I was backed into the proverbial corner.

    I made the appointment, made arrangements for an air ambulance with the help of family members, and made the long, physically and emotionally, exhausting journey.

    On the day of my appointment, I was kept waiting three hours for the unapologetic Dr. Geisler. During our brief consultation, I mentioned the fact that my abdomen was growing increasingly distended and uncomfortable, and asked if there was there anything that could be done. He said that from the scan it appeared that I was constipated and that I needed to take a stool softener. I am sorry for the grim details, but this is important. By the way, a physical exam was not conducted during this appointment. Furthermore, he completely changed his initial report interpretation (per our telephone consultation), and said that the tumors had increased in size substantially and spread extensively. He nonchalantly noted that a change of treatment was necessary and prescribed Topotecan, a drug that he said had minimal side effects and a good success rate. He chuckled when he added that I wouldn’t lose my hair. He did say that I would need blood work done every two weeks to ensure that my blood count numbers remained good. And off he went with not even a goodbye. I’m not kidding.

    Things went downhill pretty rapidly from here. Twenty-four hours later I found myself in the ER vomiting profusely and uncontrollably. Why? Because I had a bowel obstruction caused by a tumor pressing against the small intestine. An obstruction which Dr. Geisler must have seen on the scan the day before, and for which he prescribed stool softeners.

    Suffice it to say that many other disturbing, and equally serious, incidents occurred during the days that followed...too many to relate here.

    On June 1st I started the prescribed five-day treatment of Topotecan (a once a day by mouth dosage). The severe vomiting began the morning of day six, June 6th.

    My family members contacted his nursing assistant and Dr. Geisler’s office telephoned in an anti-nausea medication to the nearby pharmacy.

    By the way, it is a known fact that anti-nausea medication is ALWAYS prescribed and given before, during and after chemotherapy. Strange that Dr. Geisler didn’t prescribe any such medication.

    Based on the blood test done immediately before I began the Topotecan protocol, my white blood cell count was 15.7 (with normal range 3.5 - 10.5); platelets 254 (with normal range 150 - 450).

    I was readmitted to the ER on June 9th with a fever of 104 F. My white blood cell count was 0.4; platelets 74.

    The day before I died, seven days after completing my 1st and only "round" of chemo, my white blood cell count was 0.5; platelets 7. I died on the morning of June 14th, 2017.

    In my opinion, Dr. John Geisler made several grievous mistakes, the prescription of the ineffective Tamoxifen, followed by the deadly Topotecan, to name just two. Then he added insult to injury by behaving in an unethical, unprofessional and unkind manner. To this day, my family has not received any communication from Dr. John Geisler. Only invoices.

    He is protected by very handsomely paid attorneys hired by an enormous for-profit organization, CTCA, which is an 8 am to 5 pm, Monday to Friday organization, that cares NOTHING for the people in their care. It is all for money. This organization and this doctor are among the millions in the medical profession protected by U.S. laws, at the great expense of the unknowing and trusting patients.

    Yes…I was a very sick woman. However, because of the poor medical care I received from Dr. John Geisler and the Cancer Treatment Center of America, I suffered greatly and died prematurely.

    Please share my message…if only that you too may help just one person."

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Incompetent and not safe

    • By Rex N.,
    • Atlanta, GA,
    • Jan 8, 2020
    • Verified Reviewer

    I was diagnosed with stage IV colon cancer. I was treated at CTCA for exactly a year with chemotherapy only. Dr. Chowdhury has absolutely no idea what was going on with me the entire year. The so-called "team" of doctors is a lie. There is no team, only departments that do not work together. Because of this, they missed different changes in my body and I have been told by Dr. Chowdhury that he would no longer treat me. He gave me a smile and walked out the door. Don’t make the mistake I did and not check reviews. This place is a death trap. They are chemo and radiation only. They are not a research facility.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Sorry I didn’t do more research before suggesting my husband going there

    • By Carla M.,
    • Zion, IL,
    • Nov 15, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    My husband was diagnosed with stage IV kidney cancer in January 2017. I saw the advertisement for CTCA on TV and called. Within a few days they had us a plane ticket and a hotel for a week. We were hoping to go to the one in Tulsa since we live in Texas but Illinois is where they take our insurance. My husband spent 4 weeks there the first time taking radiation treatments and the hotel bill was on us at $75 a night. He has been flying back and forth, since but about 1 year into I started questioning his oncologist about different options as I had been researching other treatment options, he not only told me to stop researching because he had done it all, he started to tell my husband he had no other treatment options available and to start looking for clinical trials. He would not help search for them and offered no assistance to help us. I contacted Stand Up 2 Cancer and within a few days they sent me a list of not only clinical trials but a list of approved treatment options for kidney cancer and there were a lot that my husband has not been on. He was just there and showed the oncologist this information and he released him as a patient. Said nothing else he can do, put in his notes clinical trial or hospice. My husband still works every day, still is able to function on his own. Hospice is not an option for me. He told him not to give up but I feel as if he did. They sucked hundreds of thousands of dollars from our insurance and several thousands from us and when we start questioning them they release him as a patient. We are currently seeking another oncologist or clinical trial and continue to fight because giving up is not an option.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • My experience

    • By Laurie S.,
    • South Dakota,
    • May 1, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I was accepted by CTCA of Oklahoma with adenoid cystic carcinoma. Initially on our first visit, my daughter and I thought they were wonderful. The plan was for radical surgery and 33 radiation treatments, since this type of cancer does not respond to chemotherapy. I had my surgery in January 2019, which left the left side of my face paralyzed since the nerve in my face for muscle movement was full of cancer.

    During recovery, it became evident that there was an infection in my neck region. My sister took me to their emergency clinic twice. The first time I was given 2 injections of antibiotics and a sample was taken to determine what type of infection I was dealing with. After several days it was evident the injections did not work. My sister took me to their ER once again. The nurse took a cell phone photo of my neck and ear to the surgeon who said the swelling was normal. Long story short, I was sent home with a raging infection with massive amounts of crap draining out of my ear canal.

    Two weeks later I get a phone call that yes, it was a nasty infection and it took so long to find out because they have to send out labs to another facility. I call BS on that response! Then I fly back out to have reconstructive surgery, do pre-op, and prepare for surgery in the morning. I get a phone call from my surgeon that my insurance refused to pay for it, considering it cosmetic. So, he did not get pre-approval until the day of surgery? He said he would appeal. His appeal was sending the same paperwork he initially sent...nice!

    I think the worst thing was, they waited to check my teeth when I flew out for 6 weeks of radiation. Before they fit me with a mask, they found out I had some teeth that needed attention. So, I was sent home once again. I was later to find out that the normal protocol was to check teeth as soon as a treatment plan was made. While getting my teeth fixed, I received a call from CTCA that my insurance had been dropped due to a new company folding I was working for. I was told that I was no longer a patient with them and best of luck. I literally begged them and the woman rudely told me I was done with them.

    I recently went to Mayo clinic to find out that all their "3 stooges" moves had cost me any chance of remission. Radiation needed to be done within 6 weeks of surgery or it was pointless.

    I would not recommend CTCA to anyone! If I would have gone with my gut, I may have had the chance to live 10 more years. I am now receiving palliative care and planning my funeral. They are disorganized and greedy. The only thing going for them is their marketing commercials. Don't fall for them like I did! It may cost you your life!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • CTCA would not accept me

    • By Mary R.,
    • Tulsa, OK,
    • Jan 16, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    In 2013 I was diagnosed with Stage 3a breast cancer - two diff types of malignant tumors, but had spread to my lymph under my arm, where doctors don't check and mammograms are never missed, a doctor exam or mammogram, since my mother died at 61 from breast cancer. I was 60. How the annual mammograms missed it each year is probably explained by when I ordered my last two mamm films from Baylor, the reading doctors did not exist. So I requested a meeting with a customer service manager. Hah! Turns out Baylor Women Imaging clinic's films were being OUTSOURCED! Sent by the Baylor computer to who? Each mamm film had three doctors names and no address - just California, New York, and Texas. Outsourced. We have no way to know if the films were ever looked at. I got a form letter each year that nothing suspicious was found. Yes, I guess they just overlooked the two tumors in my left breast, that would have shown up. Cancer in the lymph nodes may not, but the two tumors in my left breast certainly would have shown up.

    I called CTCA. A very nice woman called me back and asked me questions for about 8 hours. Very thorough. But the call I got the next day floored me - she said CTCA did not take my insurance. I had employer United Healthcare through my employer, Collin County Courthouse. Plus I was on my husband's Blue Cross from his employer, Emerson. Everything was always covered at 100% through the coordination of benefits. I told that to a local cancer support group at Cottonwood Church. Somebody said their brother was also turned away because his was Stage 4. Mine was 3a. They don't want patients that may not survive! How disappointing!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Bladder cancer

    • By Marion C.,
    • Tennessee,
    • Oct 31, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I was treated by Dr. Chowdhury and was ordered to have surgery, but the day of my surgery, I was told that I could be treated with chemotherapy and radiation therapy. After 1 year, I was dropped by the doctor because I was unable to come back due to insurance issues. The commercial had me believing that they did care, which was a lie. My urologist recommended for me to be released, even when they thought that my cancer had come back. This is not a caring hospital, and they only care about your insurance and not your help.

    I contacted the corporate office in Florida and the Newnan, GA location, neither would help me. They give you false hope. Now I'm trying to get treatment again. They knew that I was supposed to have surgery. I am looking into suing these heartless bastards. I would not recommend these phony doctors to my enemy. I did recommend this rip place to my friend, and now I have to tell them how they did me. I promise to let everybody know how this place is. They speed up your death and do not care about anyone.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Very positive experience

    • By Phuli C.,
    • Newton, MA,
    • Oct 4, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I will always be grateful for the care that I received. I was told to have a lumpectomy and radiation by a major Boston Hospital, and went to CTCA to investigate other options. There they discovered a second tumor, missed by Boston, which changed my plan entirely (I would have had the wrong treatment and ended up with cancer twice).

    Do consider CTCA for second opinions always.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend


  • Their "Care that never quits" claim could not be further from the truth

    • By Valeria B.,
    • Chicago, IL,
    • Jul 31, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    Their tagline is "Care that never quits." Well, that is, quite simply, not true. It might be true if you have an early stage cancer or a type of cancer for which there is a standard cure available. But if you don’t fit in these categories, then think twice (or more) about going to CTCA because they will quit on you and will give you your death sentence without caring much for how the news is delivered to you or how it might affect you and your loved ones.

    I am going to go into more details below but if you don’t want to read everything, just know this (something I have learned the hard way):

    1) If you have Stage IV cancer, think twice about going to CTCA.

    2) Do not trust any doctor blindly. Do a lot of research, so you can ask the right questions and force the doctor to tell you the whole story.

    3) Know that you are not a statistics and should never be treated like one. Cancer care should be truly individualized because no two patients are alike. Unfortunately, most hospitals don’t have time to individualize your care. It costs too much to do so.

    4) If you have been told – by CTCA or other hospitals - "there is nothing else that can be done," do not give up hope. There are other options to try. Feel free to private message me if you want to learn more.

    Now, on to the details about our experience with CTCA. CTCA obviously has a big marketing budget and know how to use it. Their advertising is everywhere and gives you a lot of hope, making it sound like they are a different kind of hospital who will turn every stone and fight for you till the end. Their facilities are certainly wonderful – they feel like a resort more than a hospital – and their food is excellent. You can also contact their Care Management line at any hour (day or night), and you will get someone to assist you.

    That’s all great. But don’t get fooled. Once you start peeling the onion and you get to the important stuff, they are just like any other hospital out there. They claim you are going to get treatment that is 100% individualized to your person, not just to your type of cancer. That’s a good promise because the truth is, just because you have Stage IV Colon cancer (like my fiance’ has), it doesn’t mean you should be treated exactly the same as any other patient with Stage IV Colon cancer. Cancer is as individual as the person whose body it grows in. Problem is, CTCA does not follow through on that promise. They have their go-to treatments and therapies, and if those don’t work, they have no plan B, just like most hospitals. Why? Because it costs too much to truly individualize treatment for every patient and think outside the box to find alternative solutions that might work better. Much easier to treat you based on statistics and go with the most standard treatments.

    That’s what they did to my fiance’. They just put him on a cycle of chemo infusion that was exactly what he had received during his first bout of cancer (back when the cancer was at an earlier stage). When that didn’t work, we asked if that’s normal and we got a simple, "Yes, that happens often because the body builds a resistance to it." We asked why. They said, "we don’t know." They then gave him a chemo pill to take but failed to tell us that this pill was not designed to cure him, just keep his tumors at bay (that is, if the pill even works, given it has a "whopping" 30% success rate). It wasn’t until two months later that we found out the truth and that’s because we did research and started asking the right questions. At that point we also found out that the chemo infusion and the chemo pill would do nothing for keeping new brain metastases to show up (my fiance’ had colon cancer that had spread to the lung and the brain; he had been previously treated on the brain tumors through gamma knife – a kind of topical radiation). So basically they were doing nothing to make sure there wouldn’t be more metastases growing in the brain. A piece of information we would have liked to know RIGHT AWAY, and yet we were kept in the dark.

    We asked what were the options if the chemo pill would not work and they said the best bet was to find a clinical trial that would take him (hard to do with a history of brain metastases) but it would be up to us to research trials and contact them. It was not work they would do for us (of course, if they can’t get paid for it, why bother trying to help save a life). We asked how much he would have if the pill didn’t work and we couldn’t find a trial. Nonchalantly, the doctor said, 4-6 months. He said it as if it wasn’t a big deal at all. We were STUNNED. We asked if there were other options at all. The doctor said that there is simply not enough information out there about the type of gene mutations associated with my fiance’s cancer, and therefore there is no standard treatment they can use (side note: these mutations have been known for 30 years and the conventional medical system has yet to find something to address them). Mind you, he only finally talked to us and answered our questions because we were finally able to ask the right questions. To do so, I had to pretty much stop working for 3 weeks and start researching full time to even begin to understand the situation and come up with specific questions that would put the doctor on the spot and force him to stop being vague.

    The doctor also failed to monitor his brain through periodic MRIs (we found out later that, when you have a history of brain metastases, you should get an MRI every 2 months). When we asked why he wasn’t checking the brain, the doctor said that the situation there seemed under control and the tumor treated with topical radiation seemed to be shrinking. Less than 2 weeks after we asked this, my fiance’ started having symptoms. We demanded an MRI and discovered his original brain tumor was growing back and he had 6 more growing. They then had us talk to a radiation oncologist who recommended whole brain radiation. When we asked about the risk and side effects of that, he said (almost laughing!) that any side effects would show up after 2 years or so but no need to worry because my fiance’ would not be alive by then anyway.

    To sum it up: Their sensibility and bedside manners are nonexistent. They don’t even understand how certain life-altering news can affect the patient or a loved one. You are just a number to them, and if you are a hard case, you are a bad statistic, which is not good for the hospital’s reputation. It is horrible to realize your doctor is already treating you like a walking dead. They kept us in the dark and also dragged their feet, wasting precious time, resulting in the cancer getting worse. And when you have stage IV cancer, believe me, time is of the essence. If you don’t fit in their protocol or "standard of care" (meaning, therapies they can apply to the greatest number of patients), not only they cannot help you, they give you the illusion they can help and waste your precious time in the process.

    As for us, we didn’t take my fiance’s death sentence for an answer, and we started looking elsewhere. We are now getting alternative treatment somewhere else and we found some hope again and we are continuing to fight. At least now my fiance’ is receiving TRULY individualized care and we are being treated with compassion, not like a bad statistic. Funnily enough, the place where we are at gets a lot of (mostly Stage IV) patients who have been burned by Cancer Treatment Centers of America. I am not surprised in the least.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Praise God for leading me here

    • By Angela S.,
    • Hambleton, WV,
    • Jun 15, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    A friend recommended CTCA after I received a diagnosis of metastatic breast cancer. She had received the same diagnosis and has been told by her local oncologist to go home and get her affairs in order. She went to the center in Arizona. They reviewed her records, which is what they tell you they will do! They upfront tell you that they do not order a new battery of diagnostic tests. They coordinated her care locally, and she has been cancer-free for more than four years.

    I went to Newnan, met with several doctors some of whom told me that I did not need them at this point in time and they would meet me again when and if I did. These people listened to me about a gall bladder issue that I have suffered with for three years. Within 60 days that is no longer a problem. Every staff member I have encountered had been kind, courteous and helpful. The doctors have not changed the treatment regimen I was on after reviewing my records. They agreed with it for now, but they did not usher me thru an assembly line with my first meeting of my medical oncologist we spent about 1 and 1/2 to 2 hours together.

    CTCA is GREAT, especially Southeastern Regional.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend


  • Would not recommend treatment

    I am very disappointed with the treatment that I received from the Arizona location. During my last appointment, I was told to find a clinical trial and basically good luck to you. Looking at the notes written, the doctor did everything to make it look like we weren't willing to continue treatment with them, but failed to mention that we were told that he would not help us to facilitate any trial opportunities, but that he would be happy to send files. I feel cheated and am mad at myself for placing my trust in this facility.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • The worst

    If you have been diagnosed with cancer, I beg you to go to an ACTUAL cancer treatment facility like Mayo Clinic or M.D. Anderson.

    My wife started going there around a year and a half ago. The chemo she was given infiltrated her whole forearm. She was hospitalized because if this "unfortunate incident" and suffered many side effects including acute kidney failure. The worst part was that she was unable to receive treatment for two months. Dr. Citrin, her oncologist, was surprised how much her cancer progressed in those two months. He didn't even remember what chemo she was previously on. I felt like she was just a number ($). He said "my dear, I will try to do a better job for you in the future."

    Long story short, there was no future. She had fluid build up in her pericardium that eventually took her life. She complained to Citrin about shortness of breath, but he told her not to worry about it because we find a chemo that works, and the shortness of breath will go away. That whole facility was an unprofessional calamity of errors that cost my wife her life.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Excellent care

    Our experience with the Location in Atlanta has been excellent. We thank the center for taking my husband's case. Everything about the center is professional, done with a sense of urgency. We were taken care of in every way. I highly recommend this location to anyone facing cancer.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend


  • Great hospital

    I was diagnosed by a local doctor with a baseball sized tumor in my left lung. We were not happy with the pace of treatment locally, so we went to Cancer Treatment Centers of America (CTCA). We have Anthem Blue Cross and it was accepted by CTCA. We were given a guide as soon as we arrived to help us navigate the hospital, hotels and local areas. We were also provide with a detailed schedule for all three days we were there.

    I met with lung, heart, and cancer doctors. And had a CT Scan, MRI, breathing test, blood test, PET scan and a surgery consult in 72 hours and met my oncologist with the results the next day. I had surgery and chemo and remain convinced these people saved my life. They have Naturopathic doctors and ministers of different faiths if you want them, but I was never pressured to see anyone I didn't want to. They help pay for your travel, meals, and hotels, and even have transportation to hotels, stores, etc. for your spouse or caregiver.

    I'm three years cancer free and owe it to CTCA. If any of my family became ill, I would take them there immediately. Even suffering from cancer, it was the best hospital treatment and service I have ever had.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend


  • Horrible Experience

    I was diagnosed with prostate cancer several years ago, and now it is at a point where it requires immediate attention. My local doctors say that now surgery is my only option. And even if surgery is done, there is a strong possibility that it may have spread.

    Knowing this, I decided to contact Cancer Treatment Centers of America as the last alternative, but mostly to get a second opinion. When I contacted them, I was given a call back. I talked to a lady about my situation, and she took my information and gave me a call back. I live in Macon, Georgia so I figured that I would be assigned, if accepted, to the CTCA in Newnan, Georgia since it was the closest one. Well, that was not the case.

    I was told that the CTCA in Newnan, Georgia was out of network for me and the CTCA in Philadelphia, PA would be in network for me, and if I wanted to be seen, I had to be flown there. I agreed, and all the arrangements were made for me to be flown out. They sent me a schedule of all the activities that would take place during the four days that I would be there. I flew out on a Sunday with my first day being that Monday morning at the Center.

    As stated earlier, they do treat you with first class service by picking you up from the airport in a limo, and they put you up in the finest of hotels. Once you arrive at the center, the service from the staff that greets you is first class as well. While there, I was told that none of the CTCA centers are in the network. They all are out of network. So, I could have gone to any of the CTCA centers. The rep told me that about 80% of the patients who come to them, their insurance is out of network, but they don't refuse to treat anyone because they will work with you.

    Anyways, my four days were a waste of time. I met with about six doctors who, like they show on the television commercial, work as a team. So each one is getting a share of the pot. In all, during my four-day stay, I talked to about 12 people. No exam was given by any of the doctors. I may have talked to each one about ten minutes, with that being the longest time frame. They had copies of all my medical records from my local doctors. No one never examined me or did any kind of test to determine what my local doctors said was true. They did draw blood in the lab.

    They did come to the conclusion that I needed to have surgery and I never could understand how they made that assumption without any routine tests or examinations. Some of the doctors that I talked to were nice, and the ones that I asked questions seem to get a little irritated the more I asked questions.

    Anyways, during the four days (in which was a wasted trip and nothing accomplished), they raped my insurance company, not to mention the out of pocket expenses I have incurred. Even if I did decide to have the surgery through them, I couldn't because there is nothing left on the insurance, and I am now left in debt with what the insurance didn't pay.

    For instance, I was charged $3,033.00 for that blood work I mentioned earlier. And the way that they make sure each doctor gets paid is they assign you a different account number for each doctor you see, so that each doctor would not be under the same claim number with the insurance company. Each doctor was paid between $300 - $800 on numerous occasions for a five to 10-minute consultation.

    And the bills are still coming in. Most of all of the doctors are getting paid three or four times, and for what, I have yet to determine. I guess they figure that since I decided not to let them do the surgery, they have to get their money some other way to make up for me wasting their time. I would recommend anyone to ask a lot of questions to be clear if you decided to use CTCA, but if it were my choice, I would just stick with your local doctor.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Unethical with patients and employees

    • By Kathy W.,
    • Newnan, Georgia,
    • Dec 19, 2016
    • Verified Reviewer

    I would just like to offer some inside information on CTCA. Yes, they cherry pick patients and only offer a little care to poor people to keep the government off their backs. They are a private business and their financial bottom line is their top priority. After having worked there I can tell you their greed extends to employees too. Especially low level employees.

    They will take money out of your paycheck for "benefits" you never agreed to. They purposely have very convoluted benefits sign up processes to try and sell you everything you don't want and need and even if you decline it all but medical insurance something will suddenly appear on your paycheck.

    Patients and employees who dare to speak up or ask questions or who catch on to CTCA ways are kicked out or fired immediately. What patients of CTCA need to realize is that as a private company they can kick you out of their care at any time for any reason and they do - a lot. If a patient questions their integrity or ethics they get discharged from care. They even have a "bad" patient book with banned patient's pictures that they keep in various offices in the hospital. These people are not criminals, they are just people who spoke up and asked too many questions.

    CTCA is not the place I would go or would want my family to go for treatment. They have nice buildings and they offer limo rides and fancy decorations but the facts are they offer no better treatment than any other top cancer hospital and I have heard they will offer unnecessary treatments or treatments that don't benefit the patients in any way just to increase their profits. They push products and services in every department. They want to get the most profit out of every department.

    For example, the retail pharmacy. All those expensive supplements that are not going to help you cure or treat your cancer help increase the profit of the pharmacy. They push those like crazy. Every thing at CTCA is planned and carried out in a way as to maximize profits. The final word is not the doctor's. It is the business executives who decide and that is not the way medical care should work. All healthcare is a business but CTCA takes it to a whole other level. They should not be allowed to use the term "hospital" because that gives people a false sense of what they are. They treat people unethically and they know it and that is why they fear retribution from banned patients and past employees.

    Instead of having a "bad" book of past patients and employees they need a "bad" book of CTCA executives and managers and doctors because the only ones who need to be feared are them and the only ones who should be afraid of CTCA are the patients and employees.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


Showing 1-15 of 15

Write a Review for Cancer Treatment Centers of America!

Share your experience to help others discover great products!

Write a Review
Cancer Treatment Centers of America