About Cardpool

By HighYa Research Team
Published on: Sep 30, 2013

Founded in 2009 and based out of San Francisco, CA, Cardpool is a gift card exchange marketplace that allows users to buy and sell gift cards, redeemable at a wide variety of big-name brands such as Best Buy, Applebee’s, Bed Bath & Beyond, Walmart, Gap, Lowe’s Target, and many more

All transactions are handled directly through Cardpool, which removes any chance of fraud and provides users with free shipping and guaranteed orders.

By helping users save up to 35% on gift card purchases, and earn up to 92% cash back on sales, the company has gained immense popularity and has been featured on CNN, NBC, TechCrunch, and the New York Times, among many others.

Cardpool claims that 97% of their users were satisfied with their experience and would recommend them to a friend, which is likely a very large component for their A+ rating with the Better Business Bureau.

Cardpool was acquired by Blackhawk Network, Inc. in 2011, allowing them to become part of one of the largest prepaid and gift card companies in the world.

Buying Gift Cards on Cardpool

Cardpool claims to save buyers up to 35% on gift cards, and while this may be true, the reality is that the bigger (or more popular) brands will typically offer less discounts. For example, users can fairly easily find deals like this:

  • An AMC Theater gift card worth $25 being sold for $21.25 (a savings of 15%), or
  • An Applebee’s gift card worth $50 being sold for $44 (a savings of 12%).

However, more popular gift cards from companies like Apple, Best Buy, Abercrombie & Fitch, or Sam’s Club usually offer extremely small discounts, ranging anywhere from 1.5% to 3.5%.

As an example: As of the time of this writing, $25 Best Buy gift cards are being offered for $24.12, which is at the higher end of the savings spectrum for these types of cards. If you do find a larger discount available from one of these companies, which is rare, they will sell out almost instantly.

Having said this, Cardpool can be a great option if you are able to locate a gift card that is relevant to your needs, is valued at a minimum of $50-$60, and offers 10% or more in discounts.

One big advantage of purchasing gift cards through Cardpool is that they do not charge sales tax, and USPS standard shipping (3-7 business days) is free.

Selling Your Gift Cards on Cardpool

If you received gift cards for your birthday or during the Holidays, and you don’t think you’ll use them, Cardpool can be a good place to turn them into cash.

To begin selling, all you need to do is click on the ‘Sell Gift Card’ link on the company’s site, select the card’s vendor from a list (e.g. AMC, Home Depot, etc.), enter the card’s value, and then press the ‘Get Offer’ button.

Cardpool will then immediately provide you with a dollar amount they’re willing to pay for your card. As a general rule of thumb, the higher demand that exists for a given card (e.g. Apple, Best Buy, or major restaurant chains such as P.F. Changs), the higher price you’ll be offered, which typically range between 80-91% of their face value.

On the other hand, the less demand there is for a merchant (sorry Kmart), the lower the percentage you’ll be offered.

Should you accept, Cardpool will provide you with a free shipping label that you’ll use to send your gift card via return mail, which will typically arrive at the company’s office within 3-7 business days thereafter. As far a payment, you will have several options, depending on the gift card’s vendor:

  1. Cardpool can mail a check to you, which is typically sent within one business day of receiving your card and verifying its value.

  2. For select merchants, Cardpool offers the ability to receive immediate payment by entering your gift card’s code directly on the site. However, it’s important to keep in mind that you will receive a smaller amount when compared to a check sent via mail.

  3. Users can also earn an additional 5% on their sale by redeeming their cash back in the form of an Amazon.com gift card.

Pros:

  • Cardpool offers a huge variety of gift cards from brand name merchants for clothing, electronics, gas, restaurants, and much more.

  • User-friendly website.

  • Free shipping and all cards are guaranteed.

  • Can be beneficial if you purchase gift cards that are at least $50 in value, are applicable at a relevant merchant, and provide at least 10% in savings.

  • Sellers can receive up to 92% of their card’s face value, but only for highly popular merchants such as Apple and Best Buy.

  • Acquired by Blackhawk Network in 2011, which is a public company funded by a variety of big league entrepreneurs and investors.

  • A+ rating with the Better Business Bureau.

Cons:

  • Very little incentive to purchase gift cards valued at $25 or less, as the savings are minimal.

  • Users with gift cards issued through low-demand merchants will encounter very low purchase offers.

  • Big savings on high-value cards issued through popular merchants are very rare.

  • Some users have complained of longer than advertised shipping times.

Sign Up for HighYa Newsletter

Sign up for HighYa newsletter and get our best content delivered in your inbox as well as 3 free eBooks to help you save money and shop smarter. Enter your email below to get started!


Read 13 Cardpool Customer Reviews and Complaints

Write a Review
Average Consumer Rating: 1.6
Rating Snapshot:
5 star: 2 4 star: 0 3 star: 0 2 star: 0 1 star:  11
Bottom Line: 15% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 1-11 of 13
Sort reviews by:

  • Cardpool SCAM SCAM SCAM!

    • Cheyenne, WY,
    • Jun 25, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I sold Cardpool a number of legitimate gift cards online.

    They refused every transaction, stole my balances, and sent me the following email.

    If you are naive enough to do business with Cardpool, you will likely receive this exact form email.:

    "Dear X,

    We recently received your gift card code transaction but our processing center encountered an issue while processing your cards.

    Our risk assessment team has determined that we aren't able to accept the transaction at this time. We have cancelled the transaction and are returning ownership of the gift cards to you. Unfortunately, we're not able to disclose any further specifics regarding this process.

    We apologize for any inconvenience to you.

    Best regards,

    Customer Support

    Cardpool.com"

    SCAM! Scam!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • NO CUSTOMER SERVICE

    • Massachusetts,
    • Jun 20, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I have a card which I received that has a zero balance. It should have a $25 balance. Tried to reach customer service by email and phone, NO RESPONSE, it has now been over a month. Stay away from Cardpool because you will get screwed.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • I'd rate them a 0 if I could!

    • Yakima, WA,
    • Jun 6, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    My debit card was stolen and someone charged 3 separate charges totally almost $2,000! I called while the charges were still pending, hoping I could get them to stop before they were actually processed. There is no hold option; only an option to leave your name and phone number and "they'll get back to you" because your business is so very important to them. I called and left 3 messages, I wrote through Facebook and 3 separate times I responded to their emails asking if my issue had been resolved. I didn't get one single reply to any of inquiries and the charges have now gone through. Absolutely horrible customer service. I will never use this company for anything!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 1 out 1 people found this review helpful

    No gift cards

    • Ohio,
    • May 1, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I ordered two gift cards which I never received. I sent multiple emails with no response or refund. The order was placed the beginning of April, they said 7-10 business days, it's been three weeks.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 1 out 1 people found this review helpful

    Cardpool is a scam! Beware!

    • Bay Area, CA,
    • Apr 10, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I sold a $25 Papa John's gift card to this loser company on 1/06/2019. As of April 6th, 2019 have yet to receive the Amazon gift card they promised me. I have e-mailed five times over the past few months and always get an automated response saying they will get back to me in a few days, but they don't. I notified the BBB who attempted to contact the company but were unsuccessful. They probably honor a few transactions to keep the sham going, but they are flat out stealing from people. I don't buy the backlog story from a change of ownership at this point either. Cardpool knows perfectly well that they are playing a con game, which is why they won't respond to the BBB or the customers whom they've scammed.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 2 out 2 people found this review helpful

    "In Review" gift cards - what to do

    • Wisconsin,
    • Feb 27, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    To anyone who sold gift cards to Cardpool and their payment is "In Review:" My order was "in review" for three weeks. I went ahead and sold my $250 Ticketmaster gift card number with Pin # to CardCash.com and got paid in one business day with no fee via PayPal. I called to check their customer service and got through to a friendly rep. CardCash is the real deal. Cardpool smells scammy. CardCash paid $10 less, but it was way worth it having that money securely and swiftly in my bank account. So if your transaction is "In Review" - go ahead and submit your Card and Pin #s elsewhere - and delete your Cardpool payment info and cancel your order!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 3 out 3 people found this review helpful

    Non existent company

    • Monterey, CA,
    • Feb 20, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    Sold my $300 card to them on 2/7/19, was supposed to get my credit in 1-3 business days. Today is 2/15/19, never heard back from them. Called twice and left a message as no one picks up, and emailed three times. What a joke, must be a scam. Saw an article online about how they are under new ownership and cards are taking a lot longer to get processed. Lame.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 5 out 6 people found this review helpful

    No customer service is available - rip off!

    • Virginia,
    • Jan 19, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I sold two gift cards to Cardpool. For payment, I was to receive gift certificates to Amazon. I received only one Amazon gift certificate. I tried in vain to reach anyone at Cardpool for assistance. No one responded to my e-mail to customer service. I called the 1-800 number -the only option was to leave a message, which I did but no one called back. I tried to use their online chat. It is manned by a computer, not a person, so it was absolutely no help at all. Do not use this company!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 6 out 6 people found this review helpful

    Scam

    • Franklin, TN,
    • Jan 5, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I bought a card that was supposed to have a $100 balance on it. I bought it for $88. I went to try to use it and it has $73 on it! I have tried in every way to contact Cardpool and they don’t respond! I have emailed on multiple occasions and managed to dig up a phone number for them on Google and called, but all you get is a voicemail that they never return! Very unhappy and feel this will not get resolved because they don’t have customer service.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 9 out 9 people found this review helpful

    They are a scam!

    • California,
    • Jan 24, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    They stole my gift cards. I sent them $50.00 in gift cards. I never received payment or a response. They are spamming all my public Facebook posts letting people know. I have reported them to every scam, rip off, BBB, FTC that I can and will do so every day. It's not right that they are ripping people off. I needed that cash for my son.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 9 out 9 people found this review helpful

    They ripped me off

    • Rhode Island,
    • Jan 22, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I didn't receive my gift card, and I cannot contact them. They have no phone number and they do not respond to emails. I have been waiting two weeks for them to respond to me. This is the worst customer service ever, and worst I have ever experienced. If you purchase from them, you do so at your own risk.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

Showing 1-11 of 13

Write a Review for Cardpool!

Share your experience to help others shop smarter & discover great products.

Write a Review