About Care.com

Founded in 2007 and based out of Waltham, MA, Care.com is a website dedicated to bringing together families who need caregivers, and caregivers looking for work. According to the company’s website, they are committed to “improving the lives of families and caregivers by helping them connect in a reliable and easy way.”

Care.com holds an A+ rating with the Better Business Bureau, despite having nearly 300 closed complaints within the past three years. Considering the fact that the company claims to have more than 9.5 million members, online reviews seem to be primarily positive. However, by far the most common complaint we encountered during our research referenced the company’s auto-renewal program (more about this in the final section).

How Care.com Works

With more than 9.5 million members and a presence in 16 countries, Care.com claims to be the “largest global destination for quality caregivers.” As such, the primary categories on the website include:

  • Child Care – Includes babysitters, nannies, family day care, tutors, and more.
  • Adult & Senior Care – Everything from errands and exercise, to companionship and 24-hour care.
  • Pet Care – Dog walkers, boarding, training, and more.
  • Home Care – Housekeepers, event help, and more.

Because Care.com provides a wide variety of services, both for families looking for caregivers, and for caregivers looking for families, there are two different ways to use the site:

As a Family:

  1. When you’re looking for a caregiver, the first order of business will be to post a job. Here, you’ll outline your needs, list your pay rate, and provide any other information you feel is important. This is the listing that caregivers will read and decide whether or not to apply for, so the more information you can provide, the better.
  2. Care.com guarantees responses from qualified candidates within three days. Once they apply, you’ll be able to review their responses, and even view detailed background checks.
  3. Narrow your list, and interview only those candidates you feel most closely match your needs.

As a Caregiver:

  1. If you’re looking to advertise your services to those needing caregivers, you’ll first need to sign up for a Care.com account, which can be completed in minutes.
  2. After signing up, you’ll need to take some time to complete an in-depth profile, which can take some time to perfect. Be sure to include at least one photo of yourself, in addition to references, reviews, and background checks.
  3. Once you find a job posting that you feel you’re qualified for, simply apply in one easy step.

Whether you’re an individual or a caregiver, all correspondence is handled directly through the Care.com messaging system. Overall, the website appeared very user friendly, and can be accessed from almost any electronic device with an internet connection, including smartphones, laptops, and tablets.

Care.com Pricing & Refund Policy

As an employer (e.g. posting a job for another member to fill), a Care.com membership will cost you:

  • 1-Month Membership – $39 per month
  • 3-Month Membership – $26 per month
  • 12-Month Membership – $13 per month

As a caregiver however, your account is completely free of charge.

When paying a caregiver you’ve hired, you can pay them through the Care.com HomePay system. Here, you’ll be able to set up automatic completely control your payroll, withhold and file taxes, and more.

An important note: One of the most common complaints we came across during our Care.com research included billing issues—more specifically, the automatic renewal program. For example: If you sign up for a 1-month membership at $36 per month, it will continue renewing every month and charging your payment method on file, until you contact the company and cancel it. We came across numerous complaints of people being charged several hundred dollars before they realized what was going on.

When this occurs, it appears that Care.com customer service has been unwilling to process refunds. In fact, according to the company’s Terms of Use, all services provided through the site are non-refundable.

Our recommendation would be to sign up for the free account, see how you like using Care.com, and then signing up for the membership option of your choice. Then, once you find a caregiver, you can simply cancel your account, or change it back to the free version.

Pros:

  • Claims to have more than 9.5 million members, and to be active in 16 countries.
  • Easy way to post a job for a caregiver, and for caregivers to match themselves with a family.
  • User-friendly website.
  • Three different membership options.

Cons:

  • By far the most common complaint we noticed was regarding the company’s auto-renewal program, and their refusal to process a refund.

Sign Up for HighYa Newsletter

Sign up for HighYa newsletter and get our best content delivered in your inbox as well as 3 free eBooks to help you save money and shop smarter. Enter your email below to get started!

83 Consumer Reviews for Care.com

Average Consumer Rating: 1.1
Rating Snapshot:
5 star: 1 4 star: 0 3 star: 0 2 star: 5 1 star:  77
Bottom Line: 4% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 1-11 of 83
Sort reviews by:

  • 2 out 2 people found this review helpful

    Horrible customer service

    • Lancaster, PA,
    • Jan 15, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I've been trying to contact a housekeeper advertising her services. I received a message stating "Interview Complete" in my messages, but she never contacted me. After numerous calls to their so-called Customer Service, which in itself is difficult to get an actual phone number to call and when I finally got thru, I got nothing but double talk and BS!

    DO NOT use this service! Once they get your credit card they could care less about you and do nothing to help.

    I plan to stop payment on my Credit Card, although their terms are written so that they are not responsible for ANYTHING!

    One STAR is the minimum rating, and that is more than their service is worth.

    HORRIBLE!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • Scam

    • New York,
    • Jan 10, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    They will refer you to a facility not suitable for your loved one.

    Don't use. They send it out to any and all facilities. They are just looking to get paid, even if your loved one does not like the facility.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 8 out 8 people found this review helpful

    Applications not seen by prospective employers

    • Austin, TX,
    • Dec 21, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    Unless you upgrade from a free account to an upgraded account, jobs applied to or replies to messages from prospective employers, will not be seen. It’s a total waste of time. Someone looking for a job should not have to pay! Shame on Care.com!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 7 out 7 people found this review helpful

    Scam

    • Cincinnati, OH,
    • Dec 19, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I signed up for a 3-month promo. Every potential caregiver that I reached out to either didn't reply or was no longer working. My 3 months expired...oh well. I just realized Care.com has been charging my credit card increasing amounts ever since. I know...shame on me for not paying better attention. The amount just reached a level that caught my attention. I tried calling. It's a sales line, no customer service to help with this type of issue. Emailed. I found where my credit card information was attached in my profile, but there isn't a way to delete it. I finally decided to chalk this up to a SCAM/lesson learned and move on with my life. I canceled my credit card to make sure this doesn't happen again.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Dec 24, 2018

      Patricia B.

      The same happened to me. What started as a trial period, and it has continued to be a financial nightmare.

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 5 out 5 people found this review helpful

    Care.com does not care

    • Florida,
    • Dec 2, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I agree with Lani and Susan who spoke of damaging reviews from people that were never members. Without warning my account was closed with no contact stating why. I told Care.com I was not paid for a week's work and all they say is oh, YOU should have had a contract for payment. I thought this was more the honor system. It turns out the person contacting me was a friend of a friend...person Jane G (my employer) had no way to pay me...her sister Marylynn F controls her money. I was to be paid by her insurance company and Marylynn kept my money. Can you say "insurance fraud!"

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 5 out 5 people found this review helpful

    Care.com is a rip-off, no service, no refund on unauthorized payment

    • Fort Lauderdale, FL,
    • Nov 21, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I subscribed to Care.com for three months, and in those three months, I was not able to get anyone to respond to my request. It seems they let just anyone sign up as a caregiver just for the money. I was never able to hire anyone based on no response from the providers. After my three months, they automatically renewed my subscription without my knowledge and when I called them to let them know I had not authorized the renewal, their response was that they automated renew and they have a restrictive no refund policy.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 10 out 10 people found this review helpful

    Horrible the way they treat caregivers!

    • Beverly Hills, CA,
    • Nov 19, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    Horrible the way they treat there caregivers! Nine years with these guys!

    The way they treat there sitters/caregivers horrible. Anyone can write a review and say anything and get you removed even if you have never worked with this person in your life.

    Anyone can call in and say a horrible thing about you, and they can remove you and not ask a single question or give you a call to ask if it is true or to ask to show any evidence or proof, they just delete you with an e-mail, no reason or explaining. Unless you beg to find out what was the cause possibly...

    Not one supervisor will speak to you. Just an email that states we wish you the best after nine years of being with them and 51 five star reviews etc., that is it! Beyond horrible.

    Care.com, you need to fix this. Not a single other company I know treats people the way you do!

    Care does not care at all!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Dec 23, 2018

      Kirstin T.

      This exact same thing just happened to me. I've been with them since their beginning. Now my account is permanently closed and they will not explain why. All of the possible reasons they listed don't apply. They have no care for the caregivers when they could easily look through the messages since it's disrupting our livelihood. Then to make matters worse their responses are completely impersonal, sound robotic and quite frankly, are beyond rude. I am shocked by how poorly I've been treated.

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 8 out 8 people found this review helpful

    They take your money for NO SERVICE!

    • Massachusetts,
    • Nov 17, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    Care.com enforces you to pay money only to send messages to caregivers. I paid $62.40 for a 3-month subscription. I contacted 33 persons. Only one replied saying she's not available. Even after more than 10 days, none of the other 32 responded. The refund policy on their website states that I can get a refund if no one responds in three days and if I contact them within 30 days of initial subscription. Which is what I did. Of course, they tried to get out of it, giving excuses one after the other. I held my ground, unfortunately, because I didn't want to waste more time with them, I agreed with a 50% refund.

    I canceled my subscription. I will never use this scamming website again. I definitely DO NOT recommend Care.com.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 7 out 7 people found this review helpful

    Awful, allows fake and damaging reviews

    • Worcester, MA,
    • Nov 14, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    Care.com takes your money but does absolutely nothing for you. They allow reviews from unverified fake accounts. When you tell them they will lose your business, they tell you that you will never be allowed back again. Like I want to pay money to people who allow my business to be potentially damaged. I would expect that from a free site like Yelp but not form a paid site like Care.com. It would be easy enough, at least in my case to prove a review is fake. They are not interested in helping. $171 a quarter for nothing. Spend your money elsewhere.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 10 out 10 people found this review helpful

    The worst technical help for faulty website

    • South Bend, IN,
    • Oct 26, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I have been back and forth for 4 days now with their "customer service" team, and the issue is still not resolved. I am not able to send or receive messages from potential employees I've applied to, getting the "your account is inactive" message, which makes me look like an idiot when someone is trying to contact me. For whatever reason, they will not fix the problem. As a result, I am missing out on even getting a request to work. I've emailed about 6 times, and it's still not fixed.

    The worst customer service EVER!

    I DO NOT recommend if there are other similar sites! Be aware, they will NOT fix their website!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 11 out 11 people found this review helpful

    Care.com was a horrible experience

    • Montgomery, AL,
    • Oct 24, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I am an employer seeking a nanny. The website Care.com itself constantly had glitches, my "job" listing would expire not only every 10 days (as the guidelines said it would) but also just at random, then leave me no option to re-list my job! Although they never skipped a beat charging my card every 30 days! Very frustrating experience when you are depending on finding a nanny in order to work yourself, but the listing won't post or has suddenly "expired" on its own with no notice or warning. Leaving you to be needing to check it each and every single day.

    As for the "nannies" that are on this site looking for work, let's say after an entire year of hiring and firing a stream of them off this site, I actually can put some percentages on it. About 90% of the workers on here are people who simply cannot keep a job, are horribly horrible and undependable, have no skills, lie on their applications and are basically pretty lazy and unemployable elsewhere. Now if you are looking for a different babysitter every now and then to come for a few hours to just sit on her phone and watch TV while your kids are in bed, this site may be for you. But if you are looking for a real worker, one who has some skills (like making toast and knows how to use a vacuum) and will come to work every day and on time and has some work ethics, this site probably is not for you. I actually paid these girls twice the minimum wage and they still would not work. I had to call the police on the last one and file a report.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


Showing 1-11 of 83

Write a Review for Care.com!

Share your experience to help others shop smarter & discover great products.

Write a Review