About Care.com

Founded in 2007 and based out of Waltham, MA, Care.com is a website dedicated to bringing together families who need caregivers, and caregivers looking for work. According to the company’s website, they are committed to “improving the lives of families and caregivers by helping them connect in a reliable and easy way.”

Care.com holds an A+ rating with the Better Business Bureau, despite having nearly 300 closed complaints within the past three years. Considering the fact that the company claims to have more than 9.5 million members, online reviews seem to be primarily positive. However, by far the most common complaint we encountered during our research referenced the company’s auto-renewal program (more about this in the final section).

How Care.com Works

With more than 9.5 million members and a presence in 16 countries, Care.com claims to be the “largest global destination for quality caregivers.” As such, the primary categories on the website include:

  • Child Care – Includes babysitters, nannies, family day care, tutors, and more.
  • Adult & Senior Care – Everything from errands and exercise, to companionship and 24-hour care.
  • Pet Care – Dog walkers, boarding, training, and more.
  • Home Care – Housekeepers, event help, and more.

Because Care.com provides a wide variety of services, both for families looking for caregivers, and for caregivers looking for families, there are two different ways to use the site:

As a Family:

  1. When you’re looking for a caregiver, the first order of business will be to post a job. Here, you’ll outline your needs, list your pay rate, and provide any other information you feel is important. This is the listing that caregivers will read and decide whether or not to apply for, so the more information you can provide, the better.
  2. Care.com guarantees responses from qualified candidates within three days. Once they apply, you’ll be able to review their responses, and even view detailed background checks.
  3. Narrow your list, and interview only those candidates you feel most closely match your needs.

As a Caregiver:

  1. If you’re looking to advertise your services to those needing caregivers, you’ll first need to sign up for a Care.com account, which can be completed in minutes.
  2. After signing up, you’ll need to take some time to complete an in-depth profile, which can take some time to perfect. Be sure to include at least one photo of yourself, in addition to references, reviews, and background checks.
  3. Once you find a job posting that you feel you’re qualified for, simply apply in one easy step.

Whether you’re an individual or a caregiver, all correspondence is handled directly through the Care.com messaging system. Overall, the website appeared very user friendly, and can be accessed from almost any electronic device with an internet connection, including smartphones, laptops, and tablets.

Care.com Pricing & Refund Policy

As an employer (e.g. posting a job for another member to fill), a Care.com membership will cost you:

  • 1-Month Membership – $39 per month
  • 3-Month Membership – $26 per month
  • 12-Month Membership – $13 per month

As a caregiver however, your account is completely free of charge.

When paying a caregiver you’ve hired, you can pay them through the Care.com HomePay system. Here, you’ll be able to set up automatic completely control your payroll, withhold and file taxes, and more.

An important note: One of the most common complaints we came across during our Care.com research included billing issues—more specifically, the automatic renewal program. For example: If you sign up for a 1-month membership at $36 per month, it will continue renewing every month and charging your payment method on file, until you contact the company and cancel it. We came across numerous complaints of people being charged several hundred dollars before they realized what was going on.

When this occurs, it appears that Care.com customer service has been unwilling to process refunds. In fact, according to the company’s Terms of Use, all services provided through the site are non-refundable.

Our recommendation would be to sign up for the free account, see how you like using Care.com, and then signing up for the membership option of your choice. Then, once you find a caregiver, you can simply cancel your account, or change it back to the free version.

Pros:

  • Claims to have more than 9.5 million members, and to be active in 16 countries.
  • Easy way to post a job for a caregiver, and for caregivers to match themselves with a family.
  • User-friendly website.
  • Three different membership options.

Cons:

  • By far the most common complaint we noticed was regarding the company’s auto-renewal program, and their refusal to process a refund.

Sign Up for HighYa Newsletter

Sign up for HighYa newsletter and get our best content delivered in your inbox as well as 3 free eBooks to help you save money and shop smarter. Enter your email below to get started!

95 Consumer Reviews for Care.com

Average Consumer Rating: 1.1
Rating Snapshot:
5 star: 1 4 star: 0 3 star: 0 2 star: 5 1 star:  89
Bottom Line: 3% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 1-11 of 95
Sort reviews by:

  • Caregiver did not show up or call

    • Berkeley, CA,
    • Mar 12, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I hired Chandani to work for me three days a week. On the Monday she was supposed to start, she did not show up or call. This is very irresponsible. I was depending on having some help that day.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 1 out 1 people found this review helpful

    Care.com is a terrible service

    • Arizona,
    • Mar 3, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    Care.com is a terrible service. They do not protect their subscribers.

    I was being harassed by a woman on that site. I contacted Care.com on three separate occasions and heard nothing. I finally had to close my account down to prevent her from contacting me again. I then opened up a new account and proceeded to apply for jobs for a week. I then received an email out of the blue saying that my account had been closed down. After several inquiries, they finally told me it was because I had a previous account. When I had to explain the circumstances around the situation, they still did not offer me support for being harassed and would not let me open up a new account. I then joined Sittercity and got a job immediately.

    I cannot say enough what a terrible service Care.com is.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 1 out 1 people found this review helpful

    Rip-off. If you enjoy paying for nothing, you will like this site.

    • Lincoln City, OR,
    • Feb 28, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    This is a RIP-OFF company as they are listed in most towns, big or small. I thought it was a local company, so I signed up for what I thought was one month. Never found doggy care as there wasn't any available in the area where we were staying. That's the rip-off. If the town/city is small, there may not be people who signed up to give care on care.com. Then they continued to charge me every month for 8 months. The lady told me it was my responsibility to find them and stop services. I finally got them to take off this months bill of $59.00. Terrible! They could see that I did not use their services, yet, they refused to credit me for the additional months. It appears that they are based out of Massachusetts. I live in Oregon and was looking for dog care in Lincoln City, Oregon.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 3 out 3 people found this review helpful

    SCAM

    • Texas,
    • Feb 25, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    So I used this to find child care for my kids. They sent me the worst possible candidates, and then when I finally hired someone and opted into their HomePay system...that was an even bigger scam! Holy crap. I tried to cancel the thing when the nanny decided she couldn't stay with us and they still charged me a $100 activation fee plus taxes, and then I said I wanted to just pay the nanny cash for the one week she worked so I wasn't screwing her over by taking out taxes from one week of wages and they wouldn't cancel it! What the heck! Total scam GALORE. Don't fall for it, please DON'T! And who wants to pay that much money a month to not even find reliable health care! This is garbage service! They should be ashamed of themselves! Seriously! Not a single positive review!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 2 out 2 people found this review helpful

    Paying to be ignored

    • Ontario, Canada,
    • Feb 25, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    Desperate to find a care provider, we signed up for Care.com after finding several profiles that seemingly suited our needs in our area. We paid the astronomical fee for the month of use and were immediately disappointed to see that the last login details of the specific profiles were several months ago. Since both parties have to pay to use the sight to contact, we had very little response and horrible customer service. I really should have done more research, but all I can say is to stay far away from this site.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 4 out 5 people found this review helpful

    RUN DON'T WALK!

    • Atlanta, GA,
    • Feb 22, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    If I could take this fraudulent scam of a company before a real live judge on charges of fraud and defamation, I would.

    As a nurse that works primarily private duty now in home health, this "company" takes to task making themselves judge, jury and the state nursing board when it indiscriminately terminates the accounts of its CNAs, LPNs, and RNs without explanation or cause. To add insult to injury, they defame these professionals by emailing all contacts/resume recipients they've made on their site claiming they have terminated these professionals without explanation. Imagine that for just a moment. We have to answer to the state nurses board, be in good standing, certifications renewed regularly, but Care.com overrides all of that can deem a nurse unworthy based on an undisclosed reason or complaint.

    I have made it my personal mission to expose this company for the money-grubbing fraud it is. It answers its own ads. It responds to your ads. It steals your profile info and sends messages to other members without your permission. Nothing about this company is legitimate and I say that BEFORE discussing their unethical and recurring fraudulent charging of their clients' credit cards.

    I urge you to google this company and do your research as both a job seeker and a job provider.

    There is plenty (thousands upon thousands) of evidence out there to back up the claims of fraud and unethical business practices. Just google reviews.

    My best advice - BEWARE, SCAMMERS.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 4 out 4 people found this review helpful

    Scam artists all the way

    • Levittown, PA,
    • Feb 21, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    In 2012 I needed help with petsiting for an emergency situation. Came on their site, posted an ad, never hired anyone and thought it was over and done. I have been charged for over 7 years now and they never once have communicated with me in this time. I have paid them $2000, for what...It was not until I finally noticed this strange charge and contacted the credit card company who is investigating it, but apparently, if you sign up with them, they claim unless you notify them you do not want their premium membership you will be charged forever. I did not knowingly sign up for any membership that would have allowed this to happen and not once in 7 years have I heard from them. But suddenly since the credit card company investigates them, they send me an email saying they are canceling my membership and will not charge my card, isn't that interesting.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 4 out 4 people found this review helpful

    Nanny, maid, cashier

    • Canton, GA,
    • Feb 16, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I don't understand the app. It says I have six jobs available, but I can only see three of them. I have tried many different things and nothing works! And there is no way of getting a hold of anyone for help. What do I do?

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 4 out 5 people found this review helpful

    SCAM

    • Irvine, CA,
    • Feb 4, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I didn't receive an email from Care.com for two years but they continued to charge me $39 a month, and when I realized what had happened, they refunded me for one month. OUTRAGEOUS!

    I asked them to step up and do the right thing, but they weren't able to do so. DO NOT use this website!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 3 out 3 people found this review helpful

    Care.com - DO NOT USE

    • New York,
    • Feb 4, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    Care.com is like using Match.com. The company is non-responsive to basic inquiries regarding home health care hires. And it is closed on the weekend. If you want to use Care.com for a Senior Home Health Aide, don't. You will be wasting your time. Go through a formal agency. Match.com is not the format you want when hiring for a serious position.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 6 out 6 people found this review helpful

    Care.com a scam! Contact state representative.

    • Modesto, CA,
    • Feb 2, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I just contacted the Better Business Bureau, the Attorney General's Office, and a state representative to file-sharing Care.com! They, once you pay, keep stringing you along, will not let me update my bio, keeps going to old format, post out-of-date jobs, does not let me exchange contact with clients even though I paid, wants a background check even though I am registered with state and federal in-home services online for clients to check, no human help with account, and will charge account even though you stop services! Time for caregivers to file a class action against this company! We need a honest service to connect us to clients in our area! Also, fair housing and employment in your state, file with them! We need a compassionate site for our client services!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Feb 23, 2019

      Tess C.

      CareLinx.com is a great tool/site for professional caregivers. You will love it. It's free. Their background checks are free. Free to join for both caregivers and families. If it hadn't been for the horrible treatment I received from Care.com, I never would've found this phenomenal resource.

      I hope this helps!

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


Showing 1-11 of 95

Write a Review for Care.com!

Share your experience to help others shop smarter & discover great products.

Write a Review