• 130 Customer Reviews
  • 4% Recommend This Service
1.1 out of 5
5 star: 1% 4 star: 0% 3 star: 0% 2 star: 4% 1 star: 93%

 Our Promise to You

To safeguard you and ensure helpfulness and relevance, our compliance team manually assess every customer review before it goes live.

We have a zero-tolerance policy for fake reviews, and companies cannot control or alter any reviews at any time.

Sort reviews by:

  • Fraud.

    • By Joel D.,
    • San Francisco, CA,
    • May 8, 2020
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    This company is not only flooded with complaints similar to mine, but they also have the arrogance to bill people during these hard times for services never asked/authorized for. I have contested these charges to my bank and file a complaint to my Local District Attorney Offices, Consumer Protection Unit, about the matter. This is outrageous. I will leave reviews everywhere. If anyone wants to participate in a YouTube video about their illegal billing practices, I will start a short video soon.

    Update:

    (The no so caring) Care.com replied to my posting and, not so surprisingly, lied. In 2018, I complained about their illegal billing practices and I received an email from one of their customer service employees stating, I quote - "I went ahead and refunded your last charge of $60.00 and your credit card will no longer be billed. Please note that the refund may take up to one week to appear on your bank or credit card statement." Yes, you read it right "your credit card will no longer be billed." I never upgraded my what became a "basic account" at this point. Yet, they started to bill my card again in April 2019! These people are deceptively lying and stealing. My local District Attorney Office, Consumer Protection Unit is on it and I will seek legal advice too on top of making a YouTube video. STAY AWAY FROM THIS COMPANY.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Not caregiver material

    • By Leslie E.,
    • Tarzana, CA,
    • Apr 16, 2020
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    We hired Amanda Cooper Lincoln. She was very reliable but I did not feel she gave a hoot about me or the job just the money. She was lazy and would empty a wastebasket believe anything that was left on the floor there. She would give me dinner and do only whatever dishes are used it couldn’t be bothered to clean anything else. She is not caregiver oriented as she is an actress. I hope she gets a job acting because she does not cut it as a caregiver.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • No one has responded to my ad or emails to the companions

    • By Sylvia W.,
    • Missouri,
    • Mar 10, 2020
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    I am angry. I don't have a lot of money. I am wondering if EVERY picture was a scam on the site. I am going to call the Attorney General on Monday and talk with them about this business.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Keeps charging your credit card

    Overall Experience:

    I signed up for what I believed was a temporary time period to try Care.com to help my mom with some assistance for just a period of less than one week before she was to move into a senior all living facility. I never actually hired a person even after making some connections with some workers through Care.com because their schedule never accommodated my mother's. Once my mother moved into the facility I no longer needed Care.com and I believed that my 7-day trial had expired, but that was not the case and it has been a year that I've been charged $39.00 per month. After explaining this to a Care.com worker, oh, they informed me that they would submit my case to be considered for reimbursement. Unfortunately, all I am being reimbursed for is one month. So needless to say, make sure you know what you're signing up for if you're going to go with Care.com, but I would not recommend them.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Horrible! They keep charging my credit card.

    • By Lisa A.,
    • Jupiter, FL,
    • Feb 11, 2020
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    This service is horrible. Nobody is really looking for work. Scammers. No legit people and you can’t cancel. They will keep taking money from your account and no refunds. Beware. Don’t use this site.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • If I could give it a ZERO I would

    • By Taylor T.,
    • Warwick, NY,
    • Jan 24, 2020
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    Worst site ever! They rip you off and no one really responds for more than once. There is almost no way to contact this fake company so STAY AWAY. You would be better served to ask a friend or neighbor for a rec.

    FOREWARNED!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • USERS BEWARE - CAVEAT EMPTOR!

    • By Jo C.,
    • Oakland, CA,
    • Jan 22, 2020
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    Care.com manipulates reviews by preventing negative posts that otherwise meet their Terms of Service.

    This is why you won't find any one-star reviews of providers - they prevent them. I did an inventory and found only 4 and 5 star reviews. What, with over 9 million uses to date no one has ever had a neutral or negative experience? Really?

    Reviews are one of the most important aspects of a hiring consideration, and yeah, they get faked on Amazon, eBay, Yelp, etc., but at least every review is not a 4-5 Star Polyanna Piece.

    So here is the business model: Desperate overworked parent with no time tries to find a care provider...reviews are used for fast evaluation...and the reviews are only conducive to making the hire...never any bad reviews to dissuade.

    That is fraud.

    And that is not at all in line with their marketed message of "Care".

    Here is the kicker from their Terms of Service:

    "By using the Site and/or Services, you agree that Care.com may assess, and you will be obligated to pay, $10,000 per each day that you: (i) maintain Care Provider or Care Seeker information (including but not limited to, names, addresses, phone numbers, or email addresses)."

    Say what?!

    They should rename the site: WeDon'tCare.com.

    PS: Tip, if you sign up for a premium (paid) account, cancel it the same month - and they will change the $39/month to $5 on the spot for 6 months. If you are going to use the lousy site, it should at least not be pricey!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Caregivers not seriously looking for work

    • By Jodi F.,
    • Atlantic Highlands, NJ,
    • Jan 21, 2020
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    I have been paying for Care.com since August under different accounts - one for seeking a caregiver and two for seeking jobs (my husband and I having separate accounts). We have not found either. The people you connect with on here are not serious about working, not about hiring you. There is also no contact with the Care.com team asking how you are doing, or helping you to connect. They make no commitments to you, i.e. that if you do not find at least one job or one caregiver within a six month period, that you will get any type of refund. I threw $315 away over 6 months, without making a dime or finding anyone to care for my son.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Horrible company

    • By Laura M.,
    • El Paso, TX,
    • Jan 19, 2020
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    Care.com does not care about people or the community. They state they did a background check on me and I have no criminal history. They will not allow me to look for a nanny. I am not looking to care for people’s kids, but a good baby sitter. They could not explain to me why. I started researching and found that they allow criminals and child molesters on this site and I am glad that I could not use it. People need to be more aware of their lack of proper policies and their statement they care about the community when they don’t. If you did they would try harder to help the community. They simply said I did not meet the criteria to look for a nanny. They would give no detail and said they did not have to. It’s crazy and I was a nanny for many years with Care.com and once I started looking for care for my own all of a sudden I was not fit to use their service.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Horrid experience

    • By Tracy M.,
    • Washington,
    • Jan 19, 2020
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    Made a profile, spent money on background with no responses. Noticed words the same in many profiles but that wasn't the main issue. I was working in a nanny position, quit due to neglect and reported the family. Noticed the family went on Care.com for a new nanny, reported the family to Care.com with my experiences.

    So what does Care.com do, delete my profile for good with no explanation and kept my money from background checks.

    The same thing happened with a friend of mine, her profile deleted with no explanation.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Horrible useless service, far too expensive

    • By T D.,
    • Belgium,
    • Jan 19, 2020
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    Horrible useless service, did not find anyone after a long time of searching and lots of messages sent.

    Moreover, canceling your account is made so difficult that I thought I had succeeded, only to discover a few months later that I hadn't.

    Far too expensive for what it is, stay away from this site.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Disabled people beware

    • By Jason D.,
    • Illinois,
    • Dec 28, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    I am disabled for many years. In my younger days I was in and out of institutions and made some poor choices in my life. Flash forward 20 years, I have a disabled son and my health is rapidly declining due to strokes and epilepsy. I have to find help with my son. I posted an ad on Care.com only to have it removed a day later because of something done 25 years ago. That is before I was married and before I had my 3 wonderful children. For a service that you have to pay for it is almost impossible to understand why they would deny someone looking for help for a 13-year-old disabled child.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Do not waste your hard-earned money

    • By Mary W.,
    • Riverhead, NY,
    • Dec 18, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    This company is a scam. On top of NEVER even having prospective "bosses" even look at your response, the company then blames your description for not being "interesting" enough.

    DO NOT spend any more than one month on a subscription, so you can see how useless the site is for yourself, without wasting a 6-month subscription like I did.

    When politely asking after three months for the remainder of my subscription fee refunded, they refused.

    Just bad bad business.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Beware - poor and overpriced services

    • By Sue S.,
    • Moscow, ID,
    • Dec 9, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    First, the quality of people seeking work on the site was poor. We interviewed several, were hopeful from self-descriptions but all were very flawed, we never hired one and wasted a lot of time trying to find care for our children.

    Second, I researched all kinds of sites and options for things like background checks and payroll and the site’s services are overpriced and not the quality I could get cheaper elsewhere.

    Lastly, I had a subscription renewal that came up, I hadn’t used the site in a long time, wasn’t even aware I had a renewal coming - no notice from the vendor it was coming. I refused the charge immediately when I received my bill and the company insisted on charging me a high charge for the service.

    Do not recommend in any form or service - there's better out there.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Discrimination and fraud

    • By Serge O.,
    • Ventura, CA,
    • Nov 21, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    Care.com discriminates on who they do business with, in other words, they feel they can be selective. I have a severe disability that has rendered me in a wheelchair. Care.com for no apparent reason terminated my account, which is abandonment of care! When I inquired as to theses conditions, I was deceived and advised it was a computer error. Since then the error was not corrected and Care.com denies any knowledge of the communication so they are also dishonest and discriminate selectively based on one's disability. They also solicit membership fees and then cancel your account without reimbursement. It's a scam/fraud! Collect service fees under false pretense but with complete knowledge!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Do not use Care.com

    • By Tracy M.,
    • Spokane, WA,
    • Oct 13, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    After being a member and paying a substantial amount for background checks and monthly fees, the account was closed for what reason I have no idea. Was never told, renewed and paid for the background check and a day later account closed. Perfect record, great reviews from previous jobs. Care only wants money. Many ads for jobs have the same wording and layout, which makes you think they are fake accounts. Don't use Care, go somewhere else.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Nanny

    • By Paz A.,
    • Louisiana,
    • Oct 11, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    I have been a nanny for more than 10 years and this company is the only one who won’t let me register, because almost 9 years ago a lady did a background on me and she contacted them and until this day I don’t know what information had the background on me! They only said that I was not allowed to be in their website. I have work with high clientele with this I include celebrities well known in almost all European, South Africa, China. I can go on, I got proof that I have been nominated one of the best nannies in the state! How this website can ruin my career and think they can get away? Do not be fooled by Care.com, they are scammers that the only thing they want is our money.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • They are a bunch of thieves

    • By Kt B.,
    • California,
    • Oct 10, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    If I could give a negative review I would. I have been a preschool teacher for the past 6 years. A couple of months ago, I decided that I wanted to work with children and their families on a more personal level. I paid the $60 for Care.com and I was able to get one single babysitting job before they shut down my account. I was not able to get a hold of a person, just a stupid robot. I emailed them and they said they terminated my account and by law they don't have to tell me why. I am a law-abiding citizen, if I wasn't, then I wouldn't have had a career in childcare. They are not reimbursing my money, which makes me even more angry. They stole from me. A bunch of thieves. DON'T use Care.com.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Disappointed

    • By Shelly B.,
    • New Braunfels, TX,
    • Sep 15, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    I am a single woman - 60 years old, with endless free time, so, I completed the application to babysit part-time.

    I received a message that reads:

    "Oh hi, Shelly,

    You're a caregiver, but you're not in the CareForce yet. Once you are, you'll secure your spot in the search where families can find you."

    From there I am given the option to "Upgrade" my search by PAYING to be seen!

    However, I find it rather convenient that the Facial Photos of myself have been "Denied" several times. Please explain how/why several clear photos of my face continue to be Denied?

    I can - the company Suggests that I "Join/Upgrade" to "better" my chances of getting hired. In other words - PAY them!

    I have 3 grown children (all professionals) and 7 grandchildren in which I have been an active part of their lives. In addition to some of the professional jobs I have held in my life, I have worked as a substitute teacher, school volunteer. I have taught English, Arts & Craft classes throughout the US and Asia. Yet, I cannot get a single photograph of myself approved with Care.com?

    Care.com may profess to want the best for their customers, but I believe their real interest is in how much money they can collect!

    With my qualifications, life experiences, freedom and true enjoyment of spending time teaching children, I'm confident any parent would be very happy to have me spend time with their infant/child or children.

    I'm very disappointed and feel I will always encounter a "glitch" with Care.com unless I submit to "paying."

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Scam! Waste of TIME!

    • By Adina K.,
    • Port Townsend, WA,
    • Sep 11, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    I have 16+ years of experience as a caregiver and farmhand. I cook and clean as well. I was job searching on Indeed.com and saw several really good jobs in my area, the second party links kept bringing me to Care.com. After the third listing, I decided to make an account with Care.com. I spent 3 hours writing my profile and applied to 2 jobs where the families need help. I live in a rural area where good help is hard to find and our population is mostly elderly. The next day, today, I went to check my email. "YOUR ACCOUNT HAS BEEN TERMINATED."

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Deplorable customer service

    • By Mike M.,
    • Philadelphia, PA,
    • Sep 10, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    I applied for membership to find care for my mother. I kept getting an error message. I wrote customer service and received a reply stating that I had applied previously, was denied because I failed the background check, was sent a letter telling me I had 90 days to appeal, did not appeal and there is no way to open an account now. I explained that they must be confusing me with someone else because I never applied for an account previously and have no criminal record whatsoever. Each time I wrote them I got a response saying they could not help me and I must contact their background check vendor directly. I asked them for proof of a background check, explaining that I am 100% certain none was ever completed. They refused to help, again stating that I must contact their background check vendor. I contacted the vendor and they could not assist me because they stated that no background check was ever performed on me, which is what I know to be fact. I am stuck in a loop. Care.com absolutely refuses to assist me and their background check vendor is naturally unable to assist me since no background check was ever performed.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Unable to cancel

    • By Susan C.,
    • Foster, RI,
    • Aug 5, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    Beware! Once they get you on the auto-renew there is no way to cancel this service. I ended up filing a complaint with my credit card company and they won because I couldn’t cancel. SCAM.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Lots of ways to rip you off

    • By Ariana R.,
    • Charlotte, NC,
    • Jun 25, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    My teenage daughter tried to sign up with Care.com as a pet sitter. She carefully filled out all the info, created a profile, etc. Then I received an email saying they needed a parent's approval for a teen worker. Sure, no problem - I followed the links and kept getting weird dead ends, while receiving the same daily email asking me to give my approval. No phone number for customer service or tech support (well, there is one but it just tells you to find answers on their website, there are no humans to speak with), and when I tried the online chat with the "customer service rep" option, the questions were so obviously generic, computer-generated responses! After I explained the issue to the fake human I was supposed to believe I was speaking with, I'm told I'll now be connected with a tech support agent. I am then linked to a screen asking me to enter my credit card info (!!!!) so I can be charged a $1 fee to ask a question! Seriously, not even subtle!

    So, after I exit out, I look for reviews to see if others actually found solutions, and the reviews posted by Care.com were all glowing, while every review on unaffiliated sites warned of similar and worse issues. I was surprised to find this company actually exists, and I'm grateful they only tried to scam me instead of succeeding!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Wendy Curts RN caregiver

    • By Robert D.,
    • Pompano Beach, FL,
    • Jun 6, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    Wendy Curts was a reliable caregiver for my wife who had a stroke and was suffering from Dementia. Wendy always arrived at our home on time and stayed for her full shift. She is a good cook preparing meals and on some occasions would even shop for the groceries to prepare for the agreed upon meal. Wendy would also offer to do other tasks such as laundry or play card games etc. with my wife. The only reason we no longer needed her services was the vast improvement in my wife's health.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend


  • Terminated

    • By Cynthia C.,
    • Winchester, VA,
    • Jun 4, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    I was with Care.com for 3 hours and did find some jobs from them. I had three 5-star reviews.

    I complained to the admin about all the fake profiles listing jobs on several occasions.

    Then I had a serious complaint recently. Someone left a bad review for me and it was all false. I never interviewed with this person or met her or anything else. It downgraded my status. I contacted admin and they said they never under any circumstance remove reviews.

    I then decided to close my account with them. They would not close it. So I went in and deleted all my information, and changed my bio to "I am no longer available through this site." I then received a termination letter from Care.com which was fine with me as I wanted my account closed and to stop billing me immediately.

    Now I realize they sent my contacts emails saying I was terminated and gave a list of reasons why I was terminated and none of them were true and it could harm my reputation terribly. I am shocked they are allowed to get away with this at all. There should be some legal ramifications for them to do this.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Canceled and kept charging me for 2 years

    • By Adriana M.,
    • New York,
    • May 21, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    I canceled the service in April 2017 after using their (very average) service for 4 months. My husband didn't notice until June 2019 that Care.com kept charging despite canceling the service. They are obviously refusing to refund leaving us no other choice than taking them to court.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Terminated for no reason, disparaging emails sent

    • By Paul K.,
    • Mickleton, NJ,
    • May 18, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    After over two years with Care.com providing dog walking services with nothing but 5-star reviews, I was terminated from the service. Emails were sent to all who had contact with me saying I was terminated and would not give a specific reason for the termination but gave many examples of why the termination would take place and none were anything I had experienced. When I contacted the company thru phone and email I was told the company line, which we can terminate the relationship for any or no reason.

    Other reasons for such a low rating, many of the jobs posted were old and had been filled but not removed from active listings. I was unable to limit potential jobs by state so even though I had a radius of 10 miles from my home could not limit jobs I would have to pay a bridge toll to get to. I only gave two stars because I did get some pups to walk through the site. But many of my pup owners reached out to me asking what they could do to help me with the company and the representative for Care said nothing anyone would say to them would make a difference.

    I would not recommend this site for anyone thinking of trying to provide a service they SAY they will help you with.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


Showing 1-27 of 130

Write a Review for Care.com!

Share your experience to help others discover great products!

Write a Review
Care.com