About Care.com

By HighYa Staff

Founded in 2007 and based out of Waltham, MA, Care.com is a website dedicated to bringing together families who need caregivers, and caregivers looking for work. According to the company’s website, they are committed to “improving the lives of families and caregivers by helping them connect in a reliable and easy way.”

Care.com holds an A+ rating with the Better Business Bureau, despite having nearly 300 closed complaints within the past three years. Considering the fact that the company claims to have more than 9.5 million members, online reviews seem to be primarily positive. However, by far the most common complaint we encountered during our research referenced the company’s auto-renewal program (more about this in the final section).

How Care.com Works

With more than 9.5 million members and a presence in 16 countries, Care.com claims to be the “largest global destination for quality caregivers.” As such, the primary categories on the website include:

  • Child Care – Includes babysitters, nannies, family day care, tutors, and more.
  • Adult & Senior Care – Everything from errands and exercise, to companionship and 24-hour care.
  • Pet Care – Dog walkers, boarding, training, and more.
  • Home Care – Housekeepers, event help, and more.

Because Care.com provides a wide variety of services, both for families looking for caregivers, and for caregivers looking for families, there are two different ways to use the site:

As a Family:

  1. When you’re looking for a caregiver, the first order of business will be to post a job. Here, you’ll outline your needs, list your pay rate, and provide any other information you feel is important. This is the listing that caregivers will read and decide whether or not to apply for, so the more information you can provide, the better.
  2. Care.com guarantees responses from qualified candidates within three days. Once they apply, you’ll be able to review their responses, and even view detailed background checks.
  3. Narrow your list, and interview only those candidates you feel most closely match your needs.

As a Caregiver:

  1. If you’re looking to advertise your services to those needing caregivers, you’ll first need to sign up for a Care.com account, which can be completed in minutes.
  2. After signing up, you’ll need to take some time to complete an in-depth profile, which can take some time to perfect. Be sure to include at least one photo of yourself, in addition to references, reviews, and background checks.
  3. Once you find a job posting that you feel you’re qualified for, simply apply in one easy step.

Whether you’re an individual or a caregiver, all correspondence is handled directly through the Care.com messaging system. Overall, the website appeared very user friendly, and can be accessed from almost any electronic device with an internet connection, including smartphones, laptops, and tablets.

Care.com Pricing & Refund Policy

As an employer (e.g. posting a job for another member to fill), a Care.com membership will cost you:

  • 1-Month Membership – $39 per month
  • 3-Month Membership – $26 per month
  • 12-Month Membership – $13 per month

As a caregiver however, your account is completely free of charge.

When paying a caregiver you’ve hired, you can pay them through the Care.com HomePay system. Here, you’ll be able to set up automatic completely control your payroll, withhold and file taxes, and more.

An important note: One of the most common complaints we came across during our Care.com research included billing issues—more specifically, the automatic renewal program. For example: If you sign up for a 1-month membership at $36 per month, it will continue renewing every month and charging your payment method on file, until you contact the company and cancel it. We came across numerous complaints of people being charged several hundred dollars before they realized what was going on.

When this occurs, it appears that Care.com customer service has been unwilling to process refunds. In fact, according to the company’s Terms of Use, all services provided through the site are non-refundable.

Our recommendation would be to sign up for the free account, see how you like using Care.com, and then signing up for the membership option of your choice. Then, once you find a caregiver, you can simply cancel your account, or change it back to the free version.

Pros:

  • Claims to have more than 9.5 million members, and to be active in 16 countries.
  • Easy way to post a job for a caregiver, and for caregivers to match themselves with a family.
  • User-friendly website.
  • Three different membership options.

Cons:

  • By far the most common complaint we noticed was regarding the company’s auto-renewal program, and their refusal to process a refund.

Sign Up for HighYa Newsletter

Sign up for HighYa newsletter and get our best content delivered in your inbox as well as 3 free eBooks to help you save money and shop smarter. Enter your email below to get started!


Read 105 Care.com Customer Reviews and Complaints

Write a Review
Average Consumer Rating: 1.1
Rating Snapshot:
5 star: 2 4 star: 0 3 star: 0 2 star: 6 1 star:  97
Bottom Line: 4% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 1-11 of 105
Sort reviews by:

  • Canceled and kept charging me for 2 years

    • New York,
    • May 21, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I canceled the service in April 2017 after using their (very average) service for 4 months. My husband didn't notice until June 2019 that Care.com kept charging despite canceling the service. They are obviously refusing to refund leaving us no other choice than taking them to court.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • Terminated for no reason, disparaging emails sent

    • Mickleton, NJ,
    • May 18, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    After over two years with Care.com providing dog walking services with nothing but 5-star reviews, I was terminated from the service. Emails were sent to all who had contact with me saying I was terminated and would not give a specific reason for the termination but gave many examples of why the termination would take place and none were anything I had experienced. When I contacted the company thru phone and email I was told the company line, which we can terminate the relationship for any or no reason.

    Other reasons for such a low rating, many of the jobs posted were old and had been filled but not removed from active listings. I was unable to limit potential jobs by state so even though I had a radius of 10 miles from my home could not limit jobs I would have to pay a bridge toll to get to. I only gave two stars because I did get some pups to walk through the site. But many of my pup owners reached out to me asking what they could do to help me with the company and the representative for Care said nothing anyone would say to them would make a difference.

    I would not recommend this site for anyone thinking of trying to provide a service they SAY they will help you with.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • Sickened and shook up

    • Boston, MA,
    • May 15, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    After discovering through an informant as to why I was terminated - it is the most degrading feeling ever to not be given any reason or any thought to consider but to have the person's name on blast for everyone to see is truly a cold and heartless act. I have helped families grow for years, I have been through ups and downs and bend over backwards for families and nobody's ever done this to me and I know the couple that did this to me based on one assignment that I was taking on as a challenge to keep me working in between jobs. This family was already nervous from their travels and taking their infant to a wedding planned, they already said they had one bad experience the night before, they canceled on me the first time. I was eager enough to help and assist them at their time of need, when I was reviewed as being frazzled, they were the ones that were frazzled - this took away all my years of building reputations. How can anyone be this heartless and as a matter of fact Care.com staff called me asking me questions and then replying that I'm so nice to do what I do - what one bad review or one-star review could do to someone who's been working in this company for over a decade.

    I will not reveal my identity but if anyone has seen any recent pattern of this same situation I would gladly be here to discuss and the irony is I am in the town where they are headquartered. I was only at the hotel room with the parents for minutes, while these parents were still in the hotel room and they know that their child is at a stage of being afraid with a new stranger. I know very well who did this to me and this was not a long time assignment I never even got to stay - they decided to have one parent stay behind but their stress spilled over on me and I lost my reputation and good character because of this incident. And Care, I don't know what or who is on staff, but I have never had any disagreements with anyone.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 2 out 2 people found this review helpful

    Horrid

    • Seattle, WA,
    • May 13, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I hate Care.com. As a professional executive housekeeper, I was disgusted with their inability to accurately reflect my hires, reviews, and status. They expected me to hound my clients to update things on their site, even though they could CLEARLY see that my clients had interviewed, hired AND reviewed me.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • Stay away from this site

    • Illinois,
    • Apr 30, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I went to Care.com just to see if services were offered in my parent's home town and to get an idea of the service in general. I didn't really like what I saw, it looked like TaskRabbit or DogVacay where people just decide they are caregivers and hire out. A few days later, I received an email from Care.com saying my membership was canceled. Not aware of any membership I had, I replied to them because it was such a strange email. Then the reply was even more weird as they said I had a previous account that was closed. I had not heard of this site until recently and never had an account. I was told I could not use their service. No problem there, I wouldn't have and would advise anyone thinking of doing so to be very careful.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 1 out 1 people found this review helpful

    Excellent care and communication for Mom

    • Waukesha, WI,
    • Apr 16, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    Kathryn F has cared for my Mom, Dorothy C, in different capacities over the years. In each area of care, she excelled our expectations. Her concern and compassion for my mom were professional as well as personal. Kathryn is trustworthy and honest to put your loved one’s needs in her care.

    We highly recommend Kathryn F in all areas of your loved ones.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 1 out 1 people found this review helpful

    Membership doesn't buy you much! Don't do it!

    • Hawaii,
    • Apr 10, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    Very few people in our area for the service we need. Care.com does nothing to check the people who list there. If we want to run a background check, Care.com wants more money. Rip off!

    Could get as many leads if just getting the word out in the community.

    Don't do it!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 4 out 4 people found this review helpful

    Rip-off report

    • Ohio,
    • Apr 1, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    Girlfriend signed up for a $10.00 a month babysitter search. Right after signing up they pulled all of her money out of her account. At least she only had a few hundred. Had to call the bank ASAP and pay a $10.00 fee to have the charge revoked.

    This company is a rip-off, do not sign up with Care.com.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 3 out 3 people found this review helpful

    Terminated without reason

    • Scotch Plains, NJ,
    • Mar 28, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    We have been loyal customers of Care.com, despite horrible babysitters, and a few good people here and there for seven years!

    We interviewed someone last week who became very belligerent in front of our kids, started shouting and we asked her to leave. We were just trying to explain where to change the diaper, but she didn’t want any direction because she’s "such an experienced nanny."

    A few days later we were terminated.

    She now keeps harassing me by text - I have blocked her, but I am fearful because she knows where I live!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 1 out 1 people found this review helpful

    Do not give your credit card online!

    • California,
    • Mar 20, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    BEWARE of giving your credit card online to Care.com! This company took my credit card online and charged me $320. They wouldn't stop charging me even though I canceled. I had to have my card company put a block on them. American Express said they have a lot of complaints from Care.com for this. I talked to Care.com but they REFUSE to return my money even though I signed up for a free month, canceled, and never used the service or even logged in after the first time. I even wrote to the corporate office and they are very shady about it. BEWARE!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 2 out 2 people found this review helpful

    Caregiver did not show up or call

    • Berkeley, CA,
    • Mar 12, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I hired Chandani to work for me three days a week. On the Monday she was supposed to start, she did not show up or call. This is very irresponsible. I was depending on having some help that day.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

Showing 1-11 of 105

Write a Review for Care.com!

Share your experience to help others shop smarter & discover great products.

Write a Review