• 131 Customer Reviews
  • 4% Recommend This Service
1.1 out of 5
5 star: 1% 4 star: 0% 3 star: 0% 2 star: 4% 1 star: 93%

 Our Promise to You

To safeguard you and ensure helpfulness and relevance, our compliance team manually assess every customer review before it goes live.

We have a zero-tolerance policy for fake reviews, and companies cannot control or alter any reviews at any time.

Sort reviews by:

  • Free Trial is a Joke

    • By Jamie Ray,
    • Washington,
    • Jul 13, 2015
    Overall Experience:

    I mentioned to a friend that I was going to check out Care.com for pet-sitting services and was warned against signing up with them because of the auto-renewal process that is next to impossible to get out of.

    So I decided to use the free account instead. What a joke. I could post my needs but was not allowed to respond to any of the folks who responded to my posting because it was not a benefit of the free account. Therefore it was a total waste of time for me to even visit the site. Then it took forever to get them to stop sending me marketing emails about their "great" service.

    I'm glad I took my friend's advice, though, and didn't get involved with their billing nightmares.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Warning - Do Not Use

    Overall Experience:

    Care.com is a fraudulent misrepresented .com platform that puts kids lives in danger daily.

    None of the information provided by Care.com is verified at all. Not background checks, references, CPR or even first aid.

    Background checks are provided by an out side .com company that clearly states they are not responsible for the accuracy or completeness of any background check since no ID is ever seen by anyone. A caregiver punches a DL number into the computer herself from her home computer and any ID can be used to pass a background check.

    References are also provided by the caregiver by forwarding them over the computer by email. The caregiver can provide any email and verify it herself with her own computer as the parent. Nothing is checked out by Care.com. No CPR or first aide cards are registered on the site anywhere.

    A parents account will be terminated by Care.com for writing a negative review on a caregivers page. Only a few negative reviews are allowed of no importance like no call or no show. This keeps the Care.com webpage free of too many bad reviews and weeds out the undesirable parents that complain. The same is for the caregiver. If any caregiver should report a parent for non payment or any issue, the caregiver is terminated from the community. This is less costly than dealing with any issues. Both the parents and caregivers receive this auto generated response when terminated. "We reserve the right to remove anyone for any reason or no reason at anytime."

    The BBB is covering for Care.com by collecting the $500 membership fee. Any company can be accredited for $500 a year and monitor/pick and choose reviews and keep an "A" rating.

    The review boards at the top of the pile when Goggled are "Care.com reviews what customers are saying." These boards at the top are all owned and operated by Care.com and do not allow negative reviews.

    The real review boards are as follows:

    • Jabbersite
    • Reviewopedia
    • Pissed Consumer
    • Waffles at Noon
    • Complaints Board
    • WMAG working moms against guilt
    • The Doll house
    • One nanny's experience

    Here are 1000's of reviews backing up what I am saying.

    Care.com uses predatory auto renew billing buried in small grey font that most parent do not see. One month membership turns into sometimes years of billing with no E-receipt to the email. They use a Bait and Switch marketing tactic to lure people in the trap.

    Care.com allows minors to babysit.

    Care.com is hosting check scams, prostitution, identity theft and much more.

    Care.com has 13 million accounts in 16 countries. American's personal information is being sold between the countries by dishonest Care.com employees.

    Do not use. 

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Educator

    • By D Light,
    • Fairfax County Virginia,
    • Jul 10, 2015
    Overall Experience:

    NO REPLIES! I am an educator in a public school system looking for summer work. I signed up using the free profile service. I checked out company reviews and have read a lot on the billing troubles. That is why I choose the free profile.

    Why bother offering a free profile when it yields nothing? I am highly qualified. I have not received any replies in more than three weeks and I live in a highly populated area. I wonder what the “free profile” is all about. I would not recommend signing up, using the free profile expecting responses for a job.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Never use Care.com, they will steal your money

    • By Mike,
    • washington, Dc,
    • Oct 14, 2015
    Overall Experience:

    Any company that needs to hide behind an extra fine print disclosure (Auto renew billing) that is 10 shades lighter than the rest of an enrollment page is a fraudulent non transparent, thieving company that preys on hard working Americans. Care.com provides no receipts to customer emails because if they did they would not be able to steal money from their customers. This is a shameful display of taking advantage of modern tactics and is illegal is many states. Karma is real and these CEOS will have their share of misery coming their way. All criminals fall in the end.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • They Stole My Money

    • By September,
    • Fresno, CA,
    • Feb 8, 2016
    Overall Experience:

    Truly unbelievable. I canceled once and it didn't take. I canceled again and they stated they had no record of my original cancelation. So I canceled twice. Now, I just received my credit card statement and lo and behold, they have charged me yet again. What a nightmare! This is a truly heartless organization. Incredibly unethical.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Sitters rarely respond and Care.com does nothing about it

    Overall Experience:

    It has been very frustrating - while I found some sitters, many that look great and I would like to meet never respond - not even after I use the Care.com option of setting up an appointment with them and not even after I contact them repeatedly. When I told Care.com they repeatedly gave me their blanket statement that they know how it can be frustrating and I should post a job and try that route, but basically they will do nothing more than be sympathetic. So this has been a huge waste of time. This website should not keep caregivers that never respond (for whatever reason). If feels like a scam.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Do not waste your money.

    • By Dianne T,
    • New Jersey,
    • Oct 26, 2016
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    Care.com is a hiring website. I paid for a subscription because they had a special, then I found out that there is no difference in using their free site or paying for it. This is a total scam and I've spoken to many people who have said they never found a job on this site and that it's just a waste of your money.

    Do not fall for this, do not pay for a subscription on Care.com. There isn't even a way for you to speak to anyone, they only email you. Scam.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Discrimination

    • By TaM,
    • Ohio,
    • Feb 13, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    I signed up for Care.com because I love taking care of pets (from birds to reptiles) and because I care about families. They turned me down because of a DUI almost 10 years ago. Really? Does that make me a bad person? I'm not a felon, and I'm not a thief. I'm a law-abiding citizen, and I made a MISTAKE 10 year ago when a parent passed away.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Stay FAR away

    • By Leah,
    • Los Angeles, CA,
    • Mar 2, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    Care.com is the worst. I'd give them zero stars if I could. They take your money, offer no additional benefit and no refunds. Save your $19 and go elsewhere. Absolutely horrible.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Horrible service

    • By Roo,
    • Oklahoma,
    • Apr 18, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    I canceled my subscription back in July. Several months later I noticed that I was still being billed. I tried to log in, and none of my email addresses were recognized in the recover your email screen. I then reached out to the careteam@care.com. They emailed me back without verifying who I was, other than the name I gave them in the email and said they would credit back the last month and change the subscription to basic (which has no charges). I thought that was strange, and then even stranger was that they included someone else's email on the reply.

    I verified that the last month was credit back to my credit card. Then I got concerned. After eight emails of no help, I found a phone number (877) 227-3115. They were able to tell me that all my information was under an email that was not mine. They said they deleted the account, but boy am I worried that some other person had access to my address, billing info, etc. and Care.com seemed to not really care at all. Go figure.

    Keep the phone number 877-227-3115 handy in case you run into issues. This was the only way that I got anything partially resolved. I would avoid this service.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Con artist cyber tool

    • By Kimberly,
    • Fort Worth, TX,
    • Apr 19, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    I was appalled and infuriated when my mother was almost taken advantage of because of this site.

    About two years ago, my mother had placed a job seekers post looking for a caregiver position. She got a response, and the person sent a photo of themselves and the elder, prospective client. Things began to slowly get odd when she said she'd send her a check, but first, it would have to be forwarded to another party to cover the cost of a wheelchair. Had my mother's bank not been experienced enough to recognize a fraudulent check, it would have been catastrophic.

    Not good. Stay away. Find other resources for getting help. Unless they start using proactive screening measures and monitor posts, it's just not safe.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • It is a company taking money from you

    Overall Experience:

    They offer you the option of a one-month trial, and then sneak in the email registration that they will renew your registration automatically. What's the point of a month registration if they automatically renew it without sending you a notice before doing so?

    They just stole $200 from me because, at $40 a month, you do not notice it right away.

    I am very disappointed. This commercial behavior is the sign of a company trying to get money out of you, and it is against my conception of business. Shame on them.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Beware recurring monthly charge

    Overall Experience:

    Read the fine print when you sign up. The membership charges are $35.00 monthly. I signed up thinking it was for a one-month period as my daughter needed a sitter in March, but then I was charged again in April and again in May. Also, review your credit card line items in detail to avoid unauthorized charges.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Stay away from Care.com

    • By Kristie Ellis,
    • Wilmington, NC,
    • Jun 12, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    Care.com did a background check on me through Sterling Talent Solutions. Over three years ago, I had a driving incident that I was not charged with, ticketed for, arrested for or fined for. Their email says to contact STS to fix it, but STS say I must contact Care.com.

    I tried half a dozen times to reach them by phone, and I never can reach a live person. So, my account has been closed. I have emailed them numerous times, and they tell me to call their customer service number, which I have.

    They have information and refuse to discuss it. This company is not a company anyone should deal with.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Reviews and housekeeper

    Overall Experience:

    I used Care.com to hire a housekeeper, and when she didn't do a great job, I gave her three stars. She commented back, and her comment was a lie. I noticed that Care.com only shows her high rated reviews and depending on when you look at her profile, you may see mine. It seems like they only want people to see the good ratings and not ALL of the ratings.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend


  • Paying member suspended for 20-year-old criminal record

    Overall Experience:

    I was a bad kid and made poor decisions. Care.com does background checks on paying members looking for care. My crimes were nonviolent and over 20 years ago, but they have no problem taking that membership fee of $78. I feel like I'm on Cerci's walk of shame from Game of Thrones.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Nannies, DO NOT use Care.com!

    Overall Experience:

    Care.com allows "parents" to review nannies, and it opens a door for passive aggressive cyber bullies online.

    I have been a nanny for about six years, working with families for years at a time that I still keep in touch with, and when I received a message from a woman regarding childcare paying $15-20 per hour I gave her a call. She then said she would only offer $8 per hour and also wanted housekeeping. I politely declined her offer in a message after our phone call, only to receive backlash from her and then two weeks later received a bad review saying horrible lies about me on my page.

    I called Care.com to explain to them what happened and they told me that they cannot remove reviews but that I could write a response to her. If I had DESERVED anything she said, I would have written a polite response, but what she wrote was horrible, and I felt embarrassed having my image on the website above that. I was told by the Care.com person that if I tried to delete my account and get a new one, they would find out and have me banned. Acting like I was the one in the wrong here. There was no respect, no empathy, and they didn't have my back at all.

    Care.com does not protect people from scammers and possibly dangerous people on their website. They say they are a referral service, not a nanny service which I guess absolves them from any wrongdoing.

    The reality is anyone can go on this website saying they're a parent and then write whatever they want about a person. Care.com does not go to any lengths to protect the people that are keeping the site running, which are the nannies, housekeepers, petsitters, etc. Please go through other websites or companies, they do not accept any personal responsibility for the environment they are creating, and by allowing reviews they are opening the door for anyone to say anything they want, and there's nothing that can be done about it.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Run away fast!

    • By Ling,
    • Michigan,
    • Sep 26, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    First, as a caregiver, they want to pay for a membership, which I came to the site to make some money and meanwhile help people.

    Within the first week that I signed up, I was contacted by a Carl H, who introduced himself as Mark McCormick. She/he/it is a scammer block if you see those names. He offered me a job that was too good to be true. It told me that it worked for Lively Franky Furniture & Decor, but the company does not exist. I did further investigation, and the numbers and emails are all disconnected. I looked up the CEO and he does not exist.

    So, run away fast! I wish I could give Care.com ZERO stars. They have false advertisement, having so many members (oh please), filled with scammers. Care.com needs to clean up the mess. I know better websites than this.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Not in best interest for caregivers

    Overall Experience:

    I was on Care.com for four years before they closed my account recently. I have babysat for over 25 families and most of them I've become so close with over the years. I was so grateful for their amazing reviews on my profile, but Care.com lets scammers and people who haven't even interviewed you review on your account and completely RUIN your reputation as a caregiver. It's absolutely disgusting. I finally closed my old account and opened a new one after a 3rd person wrote a false review and Care.com closed my new account for it. I wrote Care.com multiple times over the years explaining how these people were scammers and they never did anything about it.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Terrible customer service

    • By Niki S.,
    • Houston, TX,
    • Oct 16, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    So, I needed transportation for two of my kids, upgraded my membership two days ago, and found that not only was there no point but that also I no longer wanted or needed their services. On the second day, I requested a refund of my membership fee and wished to remove my membership. Guess what? “Per our policy, we do not give refunds, but I’ve downgraded your account, and you can have access until November 2nd."

    Do NOT waste time or money on that crap of a website and business.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Identity stolen!

    Overall Experience:

    I had my identity stolen. I tried to send paperwork to Care.com so they can fix my account and they were not willing to help, even after someone used my name and everything. I will not recommend this company to anyone! And the bad part about it is I was the top provider in my area.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Auto renew policy will steal hundreds (in our case $1,000).

    • By Ruben Cohen,
    • Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada,
    • Nov 7, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    Do not use this site! We tried locating a nanny on Care.com and unfortunately were unable to find any that Metha requirement. We ended up using an outside agency and were successful very quickly. Unfortunately, Care.com continue charging our credit card for over one year, And when they were alerted of the challenge, they only refunded us one month. Extremely unethical, do not use. Do not waste your money. Do you not get the scam artist the opportunity to steal from you.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Cancelled my membership after 10+ years without notice or explanation!

    • By Ann Renoux,
    • Lake Forest, CA,
    • Nov 13, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    A mother of a 6-year-old boy was so completely impossible to work for that I discontinued working for her after five days. Believe it or not, it was not because her son smeared his poop on the back side door of my car. Please know this wasn’t a bowel movement, he put his finger up his butt hole to dig out poop and smear on the inside of my car door. He then violently kicked my car air vent located on the back of console between the front seats, before taking off his seat belt. When I stopped the car to secure him again, I saw the poop and had to clean it up. Even still, I was willing to continue to care for him because I still found him sweet and sensitive enough of the time, and even though I told his mother that taking him in my care was no longer an option, she later talked me into trying it again the next week, which I did, and all was fine about that.

    The day after the poop and kicking incident, the boy’s mother firmly informed me that my description to her of what happened in my car was not how I was to talk to her. She said that using the word “disaster” was not acceptable. I apologized and figured I would do my best not to make her feel bad if something happened.

    Of the five times I worked for her, two of the scheduled days she was not at the house at the agreed upon time and I was left waiting for her to arrive. She changed the agreed upon time for work several times, without notice, but I said nothing. She continually forgot schedules and details. I was alarmed to see her parking her car in the middle of the car lane at the school parking lot, blocking/preventing other cars who may try to pull out of their parking stall, then chatting it up with the teachers, prolonging a potential problem, and revealing her disrespectfulness. But the deal breaker was when she began harassing me with endless extremely rude text messages. Very early on a day I was not scheduled to work for her, she began a plethora of harassing text messages:

    Starting on a Monday at 7:46 in the morning, she began accusing me via text of losing the Target gift card and demanding why I didn’t leave it at the same place as the last time. Not only did I leave it at the same place (with the receipt attached), but I texted her of this on that same day. It was ironic to see that my previous text to her detailed this, but she did not read it. A minute later she tells me it’s not okay that I let her son have it, and went on and on about how it is my responsibility to safeguard her things.

    A minute after that, she demanded that I also produce the Ruby’s gift card used that same day. I had already told her that day that the $15 balance was exceeded and the waitress never came back after I gave it to her. She apparently forgot and was sure that I had misused her card and began reprimanding me about my carelessness and accusing me that the balance was $25. She forgot that we used the card the previous week also. When I reminded her about that, she then accused me of not being truthful due to that she found it highly suspicious that the $15 balance would be used up to the exact dollar amount as she found it hard to believe. I told her I just paid the rest in cash out of my pocket. She then said she believed me, but reprimand me again for not giving her the receipt (that the waitress never gave me and I told about, but she forgot, again).

    All this harassing texting was going on while I was on the phone with my brother who had a motorcycle accident the previous day and needed me to help him. I told her that I may need to visit my brother (out of state) to help drive him while he recovers from the surgery. She then said, “Are you canceling work for today?” She forgot that I work for another family Mondays, Tuesdays and some Fridays and that I was not scheduled for her until Wednesday, 2 and 1/2 days away. She continued to ask me to work that Monday and the next day and I had to repeatedly let her know I was not available and had to keep reminding her of my schedule.

    Then she demanded to know why I would work Monday and Tuesday for another family, then leave town to help my brother on Wednesday. I told her that the pin that was put in his ankle prevented him from doing anything for two days. Then she wanted to know the time of my airline flight and insinuated I was lying to her. Not that it was any of her business, but I let her know that I would be driving. She then said she found my canceling for Wednesday (2 and 1/2 days’ notice) was unacceptable to her due to it was “so last minute.”

    I found all these 51 text messages in a just a few hours time to be extremely rude, obtrusive and disrespectful and decided to discontinue working for her. So, I had my friend return her house key with a note that I will be assisting my brother for several weeks off and on and I wish her the best, but I could not continue working for her. I had to change my cell number because she would not stop harassing me with crazy texts.

    She complained to Care.com, and they promptly canceled my membership, without notice or explanation. I had three reviews all with 5 stars, as well as a couple new potential contacts I was working with.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Just cheat for money

    Overall Experience:

    They have been billing me with auto-renew for a year. We did have another account at the same time in our house and did tell them that I did not even log in to the account since we already have another account. Customer service cannot be any worse. They just care about stealing money.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Cancelled membership

    Overall Experience:

    I am deeply troubled by the tactics used by this company. Care's services are heavily advertised in this area, and due to the absence of childcare choices in such a rural community, a service such as theirs could prove beneficial. That being said, an unreliable and dishonest service is markedly worse than having limited resources.

    Simply because "terms of service" allow for the termination of membership for any reason or for no reason does not mean that it is fair to so carelessly and callously do so.

    I have no criminal record (haven't received as much as a speeding ticket in over a decade), and I am a professionally licensed educator. Care.com frivolously removes memberships for no reason and refuses to provide explanations - or even to pretend to "care" (pun intended).

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Care.com is a scam

    • By Jillian J,
    • New Jersey,
    • Dec 2, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    They are the worst case of large business with bad practice! They have ZERO customer service, and it took me 1 hour to reach their customer service! They don't have their phone number on their website (where I spent 20 minutes looking), so I had to scour the internet to find a working one! I finally found it on Google!

    Their "customer service" number goes directly to the Philippines, where they do nothing! They sign people up with the option of a month membership, and if you buy this option they will continue to charge you until you call to cancel! With my 1 month membership, I also joined for a premium membership for the same month. This makes sure that our ad is "seen" boldly for 30 days.

    After 2 weeks they "closed" my job. I called to find out why and they said that each job has an expiration date and mine was 2 weeks. I said to the woman that it was ridiculous that they would charge me for a one-month premium membership only to close my job after 2 weeks! She talked in circles and then said it is their policy that they cannot credit my account with the lost time! They refused to give me 2 weeks free to compensate for the 2 weeks that the ad was not posted!

    I tried to ask for a supervisor and was disconnected. I called again and after explaining my story AGAIN and was told that they needed to take my information to pass along to a supervisor. I never heard back!

    Also, please notice that when you go to the Care.com site to find employees, many of the candidates are having their "friends" sign up to leave reviews! Most are obvious! Not only have I noticed the SAME reviews on multiple applicant accounts but I also heard this from 2 that I interviewed (before my job was closed).

    With their permission, I did a background/driving record check on both candidates. I found that one had a suspended license and the other's background was fine. After speaking again with this candidate, I found out that she was accepting unemployment welfare, rent money and food stamps. I would understand that necessity, but this woman gave me references dating back 8 years of full-time employment cleaning houses! Care.com only wants your money.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Unfair and worthless

    Overall Experience:

    I originally used this website to find a helper for my homeschool with 9 children of varying ages. It’s pretty impossible to get reliable help. I didn’t continue the membership. It was a waste of money, but because I moved and still hoped for help, so I decided to give it a try. It was then linked to an old account and had to be canceled and corrected to link up to the correct account. For my troubles, I was given 30% off, and less than a week later was emailed a discount offer of 50% off, which I requested but was denied.

    This website is all about making money and not at all about helping connect people with the right help. This is a dishonest company. Don’t waste your time and money; put an ad in your local paper instead.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


Showing 1-27 of 131

Write a Review for Care.com!

Share your experience to help others discover great products!

Write a Review
Care.com