• 130 Customer Reviews
  • 4% Recommend This Service
1.1 out of 5
5 star: 1% 4 star: 0% 3 star: 0% 2 star: 4% 1 star: 93%

 Our Promise to You

To safeguard you and ensure helpfulness and relevance, our compliance team manually assess every customer review before it goes live.

We have a zero-tolerance policy for fake reviews, and companies cannot control or alter any reviews at any time.

Sort reviews by:

  • Don't do it

    Buyer be warned. Once you sign up to this site, you will NOT be able to get a refund for any reason, and you CANNOT delete your credit card information or personal information. Once you do a search, the only way you can get more information about the candidate is to pay them. Once you pay them, you still don't get to call them or even give them your phone number. It will be blocked! Try to run a background check even after signing up and paying more, and that won't work either. Try to do a search for a specific person, and you get everyone. Try to tell them about your problems, and they just remind you there are no refunds.

    This company has one goal: get you to sign up and pay for as much as possible and take your money. I gave them over a $100 and got nothing in return. Nada, zilch, zippo! Total scam artist!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Terminated

    • By Cynthia C.,
    • Winchester, VA,
    • Jun 4, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I was with Care.com for 3 hours and did find some jobs from them. I had three 5-star reviews.

    I complained to the admin about all the fake profiles listing jobs on several occasions.

    Then I had a serious complaint recently. Someone left a bad review for me and it was all false. I never interviewed with this person or met her or anything else. It downgraded my status. I contacted admin and they said they never under any circumstance remove reviews.

    I then decided to close my account with them. They would not close it. So I went in and deleted all my information, and changed my bio to "I am no longer available through this site." I then received a termination letter from Care.com which was fine with me as I wanted my account closed and to stop billing me immediately.

    Now I realize they sent my contacts emails saying I was terminated and gave a list of reasons why I was terminated and none of them were true and it could harm my reputation terribly. I am shocked they are allowed to get away with this at all. There should be some legal ramifications for them to do this.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Do not waste your money.

    • By Dianne T,
    • New Jersey,
    • Oct 26, 2016
    • Verified Reviewer

    Care.com is a hiring website. I paid for a subscription because they had a special, then I found out that there is no difference in using their free site or paying for it. This is a total scam and I've spoken to many people who have said they never found a job on this site and that it's just a waste of your money.

    Do not fall for this, do not pay for a subscription on Care.com. There isn't even a way for you to speak to anyone, they only email you. Scam.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Con artist cyber tool

    • By Kimberly,
    • Fort Worth, TX,
    • Apr 19, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    I was appalled and infuriated when my mother was almost taken advantage of because of this site.

    About two years ago, my mother had placed a job seekers post looking for a caregiver position. She got a response, and the person sent a photo of themselves and the elder, prospective client. Things began to slowly get odd when she said she'd send her a check, but first, it would have to be forwarded to another party to cover the cost of a wheelchair. Had my mother's bank not been experienced enough to recognize a fraudulent check, it would have been catastrophic.

    Not good. Stay away. Find other resources for getting help. Unless they start using proactive screening measures and monitor posts, it's just not safe.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Rip off artists. Illegally charged my credit card after cancelling my subscription 2 different times in the last year.

    They were resistant to refund both times; I had to demand to speak to a supervisor. I was told no when I asked to speak to a supervisor. I would have to provide my contact info and wait for a callback! This last time the customer care person admitted she could see in her system that I had called and canceled three weeks previously and apologized that the previous employee didn't cancel it properly. But she still refused to refund my money. Said she didn't have the authority!

    This happened twice to me in the last year! It is a rip off tactic for sure. Stupid me allowed it to happen twice! BTW, I never even got a candidate to interview from this site even after spending hours messaging people. This yielded nothing but a headache twice!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Applications not seen by prospective employers

    • By Jan S.,
    • Austin, TX,
    • Dec 21, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    Unless you upgrade from a free account to an upgraded account, jobs applied to or replies to messages from prospective employers, will not be seen. It’s a total waste of time. Someone looking for a job should not have to pay! Shame on Care.com!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Unable to cancel

    • By Susan C.,
    • Foster, RI,
    • Aug 5, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    Beware! Once they get you on the auto-renew there is no way to cancel this service. I ended up filing a complaint with my credit card company and they won because I couldn’t cancel. SCAM.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Sitters rarely respond and Care.com does nothing about it

    It has been very frustrating - while I found some sitters, many that look great and I would like to meet never respond - not even after I use the Care.com option of setting up an appointment with them and not even after I contact them repeatedly. When I told Care.com they repeatedly gave me their blanket statement that they know how it can be frustrating and I should post a job and try that route, but basically they will do nothing more than be sympathetic. So this has been a huge waste of time. This website should not keep caregivers that never respond (for whatever reason). If feels like a scam.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Horrible service

    • By Roo,
    • Oklahoma,
    • Apr 18, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    I canceled my subscription back in July. Several months later I noticed that I was still being billed. I tried to log in, and none of my email addresses were recognized in the recover your email screen. I then reached out to the careteam@care.com. They emailed me back without verifying who I was, other than the name I gave them in the email and said they would credit back the last month and change the subscription to basic (which has no charges). I thought that was strange, and then even stranger was that they included someone else's email on the reply.

    I verified that the last month was credit back to my credit card. Then I got concerned. After eight emails of no help, I found a phone number (877) 227-3115. They were able to tell me that all my information was under an email that was not mine. They said they deleted the account, but boy am I worried that some other person had access to my address, billing info, etc. and Care.com seemed to not really care at all. Go figure.

    Keep the phone number 877-227-3115 handy in case you run into issues. This was the only way that I got anything partially resolved. I would avoid this service.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Do not use Care.com

    • By Tracy M.,
    • Spokane, WA,
    • Oct 13, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    After being a member and paying a substantial amount for background checks and monthly fees, the account was closed for what reason I have no idea. Was never told, renewed and paid for the background check and a day later account closed. Perfect record, great reviews from previous jobs. Care only wants money. Many ads for jobs have the same wording and layout, which makes you think they are fake accounts. Don't use Care, go somewhere else.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Warning - Do Not Use

    Care.com is a fraudulent misrepresented .com platform that puts kids lives in danger daily.

    None of the information provided by Care.com is verified at all. Not background checks, references, CPR or even first aid.

    Background checks are provided by an out side .com company that clearly states they are not responsible for the accuracy or completeness of any background check since no ID is ever seen by anyone. A caregiver punches a DL number into the computer herself from her home computer and any ID can be used to pass a background check.

    References are also provided by the caregiver by forwarding them over the computer by email. The caregiver can provide any email and verify it herself with her own computer as the parent. Nothing is checked out by Care.com. No CPR or first aide cards are registered on the site anywhere.

    A parents account will be terminated by Care.com for writing a negative review on a caregivers page. Only a few negative reviews are allowed of no importance like no call or no show. This keeps the Care.com webpage free of too many bad reviews and weeds out the undesirable parents that complain. The same is for the caregiver. If any caregiver should report a parent for non payment or any issue, the caregiver is terminated from the community. This is less costly than dealing with any issues. Both the parents and caregivers receive this auto generated response when terminated. "We reserve the right to remove anyone for any reason or no reason at anytime."

    The BBB is covering for Care.com by collecting the $500 membership fee. Any company can be accredited for $500 a year and monitor/pick and choose reviews and keep an "A" rating.

    The review boards at the top of the pile when Goggled are "Care.com reviews what customers are saying." These boards at the top are all owned and operated by Care.com and do not allow negative reviews.

    The real review boards are as follows:

    • Jabbersite
    • Reviewopedia
    • Pissed Consumer
    • Waffles at Noon
    • Complaints Board
    • WMAG working moms against guilt
    • The Doll house
    • One nanny's experience

    Here are 1000's of reviews backing up what I am saying.

    Care.com uses predatory auto renew billing buried in small grey font that most parent do not see. One month membership turns into sometimes years of billing with no E-receipt to the email. They use a Bait and Switch marketing tactic to lure people in the trap.

    Care.com allows minors to babysit.

    Care.com is hosting check scams, prostitution, identity theft and much more.

    Care.com has 13 million accounts in 16 countries. American's personal information is being sold between the countries by dishonest Care.com employees.

    Do not use. 

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Never use Care.com, they will steal your money

    • By Mike,
    • washington, Dc,
    • Oct 14, 2015

    Any company that needs to hide behind an extra fine print disclosure (Auto renew billing) that is 10 shades lighter than the rest of an enrollment page is a fraudulent non transparent, thieving company that preys on hard working Americans. Care.com provides no receipts to customer emails because if they did they would not be able to steal money from their customers. This is a shameful display of taking advantage of modern tactics and is illegal is many states. Karma is real and these CEOS will have their share of misery coming their way. All criminals fall in the end.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • It is a company taking money from you

    They offer you the option of a one-month trial, and then sneak in the email registration that they will renew your registration automatically. What's the point of a month registration if they automatically renew it without sending you a notice before doing so?

    They just stole $200 from me because, at $40 a month, you do not notice it right away.

    I am very disappointed. This commercial behavior is the sign of a company trying to get money out of you, and it is against my conception of business. Shame on them.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Be forewarned

    • By Karen Davis,
    • Exton, PA,
    • Mar 3, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I'm an employer, posting on Care.com for potential employees. I paid approximately $700 for an annual membership.

    I've had zero responses for the last five months to our “Seeking To Hire” posts, yet I'm locked into an annual payment agreement. Today, I discovered why I hadn’t gotten any responses….

    - I paid for a yearly membership because our hiring needs are ongoing, yet I was finally told today, after several phone call inquiries, that "job posts automatically close after three weeks." (Don’t miss this point: You pay to post jobs for a year, yet your job posts automatically expire after three weeks.) This is the first mention anyone at Care.com ever made of that "fact." No wonder I haven't received any responses.

    - I discovered today that, behind-the-scenes, on the back-office side of things, Care.com closed my ad earlier than the date I had set, without notifying me, and they continued to charge my credit card. Their response: "We don't know why." I appealed up to a supervisor, but he was unwilling to do anything about it.

    - The employer's job posting screen is not only misleading, but clearly deceptive. The date one fills in under the "Post a Job" heading, is, in reality, the date the job will be closed. That means, if I open a job today, it also closes today. Care.com never notifies you when they close a job post. (Other companies do, as a common courtesy.)

    -Bottom line: Care.com continued to charge me for 11 months for a service that they had closed, with no explanation and no notification. Each time I’ve called to question why I haven’t gotten responses to my job posts, and what I could do to improve my responses, Care.com staff has consistently projected an impatient, indifferent attitude and have been inflexible on negotiating a fair resolution, particularly Dave Beriau, Dan Mangan, and “Andrew” (wouldn’t provide me with his last name). Be forewarned!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Scam

    • By Ronda D.,
    • Cincinnati, OH,
    • Dec 19, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I signed up for a 3-month promo. Every potential caregiver that I reached out to either didn't reply or was no longer working. My 3 months expired...oh well. I just realized Care.com has been charging my credit card increasing amounts ever since. I know...shame on me for not paying better attention. The amount just reached a level that caught my attention. I tried calling. It's a sales line, no customer service to help with this type of issue. Emailed. I found where my credit card information was attached in my profile, but there isn't a way to delete it. I finally decided to chalk this up to a SCAM/lesson learned and move on with my life. I canceled my credit card to make sure this doesn't happen again.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • They Stole My Money

    • By September,
    • Fresno, CA,
    • Feb 8, 2016

    Truly unbelievable. I canceled once and it didn't take. I canceled again and they stated they had no record of my original cancelation. So I canceled twice. Now, I just received my credit card statement and lo and behold, they have charged me yet again. What a nightmare! This is a truly heartless organization. Incredibly unethical.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Disappointed

    • By Shelly B.,
    • New Braunfels, TX,
    • Sep 15, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I am a single woman - 60 years old, with endless free time, so, I completed the application to babysit part-time.

    I received a message that reads:

    "Oh hi, Shelly,

    You're a caregiver, but you're not in the CareForce yet. Once you are, you'll secure your spot in the search where families can find you."

    From there I am given the option to "Upgrade" my search by PAYING to be seen!

    However, I find it rather convenient that the Facial Photos of myself have been "Denied" several times. Please explain how/why several clear photos of my face continue to be Denied?

    I can - the company Suggests that I "Join/Upgrade" to "better" my chances of getting hired. In other words - PAY them!

    I have 3 grown children (all professionals) and 7 grandchildren in which I have been an active part of their lives. In addition to some of the professional jobs I have held in my life, I have worked as a substitute teacher, school volunteer. I have taught English, Arts & Craft classes throughout the US and Asia. Yet, I cannot get a single photograph of myself approved with Care.com?

    Care.com may profess to want the best for their customers, but I believe their real interest is in how much money they can collect!

    With my qualifications, life experiences, freedom and true enjoyment of spending time teaching children, I'm confident any parent would be very happy to have me spend time with their infant/child or children.

    I'm very disappointed and feel I will always encounter a "glitch" with Care.com unless I submit to "paying."

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Stay FAR away

    • By Leah,
    • Los Angeles, CA,
    • Mar 2, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    Care.com is the worst. I'd give them zero stars if I could. They take your money, offer no additional benefit and no refunds. Save your $19 and go elsewhere. Absolutely horrible.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Account vanished, no warning

    I was a member of this site for few years. I paid for a background check and to upgrade my membership. Over the course of a few years, I ended up providing my tutoring services to several clients. My profile on the site contained seven 5-star reviews. Out of nowhere one morning (while looking for more clients), I couldn't log in. It was saying my email was not registered.

    After a very long process (a few emails and a half hour waiting on the phone), I finally got through to a representative. Not only was the representative rude, but she told me my account has been closed and offered no justification why. Basically, "Your account has been closed, and we can't tell you why."

    Such a terrible way to do business. What a shame.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Account closed

    • By Jennie Mayer,
    • Scottsdale, AZ,
    • Jan 30, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    My husband and I were looking for a personal assistant. He signed up for Care.com, and within 4 days his account was closed without reason (the canned list they give you was clearly nothing he qualified for).

    I then signed up and used the site for weeks. Minus the glitchy website and app, I did receive quite a few responses and was interviewing candidates. I requested a background check on one, it went through and then I couldn't seem to log on again to reach out to the candidate. It took hours to find a phone number to call for Care.com, and when I spoke to someone (in an outsourced call center), they said my account was closed. Again, the canned list was just strange; they just decided to cancel it.

    So, anyone I was communicating with I cannot reach and now will have to start over in this process. I feel like this site is a scam; they are retrieving information about you and then canceling you for no reason. Both my husband and I have yet to see our monies returned.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Rip off

    • By John Clifford,
    • Albury, Australia,
    • Mar 15, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    The reviews on this site are correct. Once they have your credit card number (regardless of what you say or what was initially promised), they will continue to debit it. No response from them by email once I outlined my problem, and they have a phone number (in Australia) that goes to answering machine, also no answer to my messages.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Irresponsible sitters

    • By Dennise B.,
    • Bernalillo, NM,
    • Sep 13, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I am writing this on behalf of Ryan and McKenzie. I am 70 years old and have cared for their 4-year-old and 20-month-old sons since birth. Their Dad is a firefighter and their Mom an attorney. In the interview process, we were clear about Ryan’s rotating shift schedule. We made at least 5 hires where the candidate understood and agreed to the schedule, which is 24 hours on shift then 48 hours off. These candidates are young and irresponsible. They would call after accepting the position only to cancel, or fail to even notify the parents they were no longer coming. We are truly appalled and disappointed at their lack of a work ethic.

    Care.com, you need to do a better job of screening your applicants. Very disappointed, and I was the one who recommended Care.com to them. We are fed up.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • This is an unsolicited website that daycare providers do not use

    • By Sarah R.,
    • Michigan,
    • Oct 15, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I am a daycare provider, and on Google, I have a 4.7-star rating. On Care.com I have a 1/2 star rating because in my business we do not use Care.com.

    I belong to a large group of daycare providers and we work together to obtain our continued education and to help one another maintain state licensing compliance, and as well to support one another in this business in a large number of other ways.

    For us, Care.com is a fraudulent website that demands money from us in order to keep ourselves in good standing on their website. We reject this website because it is nothing more than a way for the Care.com owners to create income for themselves without earning our trust or support.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Care.com was a horrible experience

    • By Elizabeth D.,
    • Montgomery, AL,
    • Oct 24, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I am an employer seeking a nanny. The website Care.com itself constantly had glitches, my "job" listing would expire not only every 10 days (as the guidelines said it would) but also just at random, then leave me no option to re-list my job! Although they never skipped a beat charging my card every 30 days! Very frustrating experience when you are depending on finding a nanny in order to work yourself, but the listing won't post or has suddenly "expired" on its own with no notice or warning. Leaving you to be needing to check it each and every single day.

    As for the "nannies" that are on this site looking for work, let's say after an entire year of hiring and firing a stream of them off this site, I actually can put some percentages on it. About 90% of the workers on here are people who simply cannot keep a job, are horribly horrible and undependable, have no skills, lie on their applications and are basically pretty lazy and unemployable elsewhere. Now if you are looking for a different babysitter every now and then to come for a few hours to just sit on her phone and watch TV while your kids are in bed, this site may be for you. But if you are looking for a real worker, one who has some skills (like making toast and knows how to use a vacuum) and will come to work every day and on time and has some work ethics, this site probably is not for you. I actually paid these girls twice the minimum wage and they still would not work. I had to call the police on the last one and file a report.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • They are a bunch of thieves

    • By Kt B.,
    • California,
    • Oct 10, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    If I could give a negative review I would. I have been a preschool teacher for the past 6 years. A couple of months ago, I decided that I wanted to work with children and their families on a more personal level. I paid the $60 for Care.com and I was able to get one single babysitting job before they shut down my account. I was not able to get a hold of a person, just a stupid robot. I emailed them and they said they terminated my account and by law they don't have to tell me why. I am a law-abiding citizen, if I wasn't, then I wouldn't have had a career in childcare. They are not reimbursing my money, which makes me even more angry. They stole from me. A bunch of thieves. DON'T use Care.com.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Care.com is a scam

    Care.com is a scam! They will charge you monthly $39, and there is no guarantee that you will not get scammed by the people they recommend. I hired someone to clean my home, and they charged me a ridiculous amount of money then took the last check and left town. Don't do it!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • It's a scam

    I am a pet sitter and also do housekeeping. I used Care.com four years ago and found a couple of clients. It was a positive experience in the past. I recently spent $50.00 on a premium membership (this is the only way to apply for multiple jobs without paying for each in credits). Over half of the clients emailing now are all SCAMMERS!

    The messages always consist of them asking you to go off site and email them your resume due to the fact they are deleting their profile. They always say they are moving from another state and their family member has a golden retriever in need of a pet sitter. They offer to write you a large check. They suggest you subtract your pay and forward the rest to a moving company, pet supply company, etc. This is MONEY LAUNDERING. They target pet sitters because they are normally young girls who don't know any better.

    Care.com is responsible for protecting their care providers as well as their clients. I have given them feedback and it has resulted in nothing. What a waste of my money! I am beyond qualified and have obtained no new clients. I would not recommend.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


Showing 1-27 of 130

Write a Review for Care.com!

Share your experience to help others discover great products!

Write a Review
Care.com