• 131 Customer Reviews
  • 4% Recommend This Service
1.1 out of 5
5 star: 1% 4 star: 0% 3 star: 0% 2 star: 4% 1 star: 93%

 Our Promise to You

To safeguard you and ensure helpfulness and relevance, our compliance team manually assess every customer review before it goes live.

We have a zero-tolerance policy for fake reviews, and companies cannot control or alter any reviews at any time.

Sort reviews by:

  • Terminated for no reason, disparaging emails sent

    • By Paul K.,
    • Mickleton, NJ,
    • May 18, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    After over two years with Care.com providing dog walking services with nothing but 5-star reviews, I was terminated from the service. Emails were sent to all who had contact with me saying I was terminated and would not give a specific reason for the termination but gave many examples of why the termination would take place and none were anything I had experienced. When I contacted the company thru phone and email I was told the company line, which we can terminate the relationship for any or no reason.

    Other reasons for such a low rating, many of the jobs posted were old and had been filled but not removed from active listings. I was unable to limit potential jobs by state so even though I had a radius of 10 miles from my home could not limit jobs I would have to pay a bridge toll to get to. I only gave two stars because I did get some pups to walk through the site. But many of my pup owners reached out to me asking what they could do to help me with the company and the representative for Care said nothing anyone would say to them would make a difference.

    I would not recommend this site for anyone thinking of trying to provide a service they SAY they will help you with.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Sickened and shook up

    • By Ani K.,
    • Boston, MA,
    • May 15, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    After discovering through an informant as to why I was terminated - it is the most degrading feeling ever to not be given any reason or any thought to consider but to have the person's name on blast for everyone to see is truly a cold and heartless act. I have helped families grow for years, I have been through ups and downs and bend over backwards for families and nobody's ever done this to me and I know the couple that did this to me based on one assignment that I was taking on as a challenge to keep me working in between jobs. This family was already nervous from their travels and taking their infant to a wedding planned, they already said they had one bad experience the night before, they canceled on me the first time. I was eager enough to help and assist them at their time of need, when I was reviewed as being frazzled, they were the ones that were frazzled - this took away all my years of building reputations. How can anyone be this heartless and as a matter of fact Care.com staff called me asking me questions and then replying that I'm so nice to do what I do - what one bad review or one-star review could do to someone who's been working in this company for over a decade.

    I will not reveal my identity but if anyone has seen any recent pattern of this same situation I would gladly be here to discuss and the irony is I am in the town where they are headquartered. I was only at the hotel room with the parents for minutes, while these parents were still in the hotel room and they know that their child is at a stage of being afraid with a new stranger. I know very well who did this to me and this was not a long time assignment I never even got to stay - they decided to have one parent stay behind but their stress spilled over on me and I lost my reputation and good character because of this incident. And Care, I don't know what or who is on staff, but I have never had any disagreements with anyone.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Horrid

    • By DJ F.,
    • Seattle, WA,
    • May 13, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    I hate Care.com. As a professional executive housekeeper, I was disgusted with their inability to accurately reflect my hires, reviews, and status. They expected me to hound my clients to update things on their site, even though they could CLEARLY see that my clients had interviewed, hired AND reviewed me.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Stay away from this site

    • By William B.,
    • Illinois,
    • Apr 30, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    I went to Care.com just to see if services were offered in my parent's home town and to get an idea of the service in general. I didn't really like what I saw, it looked like TaskRabbit or DogVacay where people just decide they are caregivers and hire out. A few days later, I received an email from Care.com saying my membership was canceled. Not aware of any membership I had, I replied to them because it was such a strange email. Then the reply was even more weird as they said I had a previous account that was closed. I had not heard of this site until recently and never had an account. I was told I could not use their service. No problem there, I wouldn't have and would advise anyone thinking of doing so to be very careful.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Excellent care and communication for Mom

    • By Roxanne D.,
    • Waukesha, WI,
    • Apr 16, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    Kathryn F has cared for my Mom, Dorothy C, in different capacities over the years. In each area of care, she excelled our expectations. Her concern and compassion for my mom were professional as well as personal. Kathryn is trustworthy and honest to put your loved one’s needs in her care.

    We highly recommend Kathryn F in all areas of your loved ones.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend


  • Membership doesn't buy you much! Don't do it!

    • By Kathy V.,
    • Hawaii,
    • Apr 10, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    Very few people in our area for the service we need. Care.com does nothing to check the people who list there. If we want to run a background check, Care.com wants more money. Rip off!

    Could get as many leads if just getting the word out in the community.

    Don't do it!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Rip-off report

    • By Clint R.,
    • Ohio,
    • Apr 1, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    Girlfriend signed up for a $10.00 a month babysitter search. Right after signing up they pulled all of her money out of her account. At least she only had a few hundred. Had to call the bank ASAP and pay a $10.00 fee to have the charge revoked.

    This company is a rip-off, do not sign up with Care.com.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Terminated without reason

    • By Anjali V.,
    • Scotch Plains, NJ,
    • Mar 28, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    We have been loyal customers of Care.com, despite horrible babysitters, and a few good people here and there for seven years!

    We interviewed someone last week who became very belligerent in front of our kids, started shouting and we asked her to leave. We were just trying to explain where to change the diaper, but she didn’t want any direction because she’s "such an experienced nanny."

    A few days later we were terminated.

    She now keeps harassing me by text - I have blocked her, but I am fearful because she knows where I live!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Do not give your credit card online!

    • By Cira W.,
    • California,
    • Mar 20, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    BEWARE of giving your credit card online to Care.com! This company took my credit card online and charged me $320. They wouldn't stop charging me even though I canceled. I had to have my card company put a block on them. American Express said they have a lot of complaints from Care.com for this. I talked to Care.com but they REFUSE to return my money even though I signed up for a free month, canceled, and never used the service or even logged in after the first time. I even wrote to the corporate office and they are very shady about it. BEWARE!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Caregiver did not show up or call

    • By Edith H.,
    • Berkeley, CA,
    • Mar 12, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    I hired Chandani to work for me three days a week. On the Monday she was supposed to start, she did not show up or call. This is very irresponsible. I was depending on having some help that day.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Care.com is a terrible service

    • By Soraya S.,
    • Arizona,
    • Mar 3, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    Care.com is a terrible service. They do not protect their subscribers.

    I was being harassed by a woman on that site. I contacted Care.com on three separate occasions and heard nothing. I finally had to close my account down to prevent her from contacting me again. I then opened up a new account and proceeded to apply for jobs for a week. I then received an email out of the blue saying that my account had been closed down. After several inquiries, they finally told me it was because I had a previous account. When I had to explain the circumstances around the situation, they still did not offer me support for being harassed and would not let me open up a new account. I then joined Sittercity and got a job immediately.

    I cannot say enough what a terrible service Care.com is.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Rip-off. If you enjoy paying for nothing, you will like this site.

    • By Joy H.,
    • Lincoln City, OR,
    • Feb 28, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    This is a RIP-OFF company as they are listed in most towns, big or small. I thought it was a local company, so I signed up for what I thought was one month. Never found doggy care as there wasn't any available in the area where we were staying. That's the rip-off. If the town/city is small, there may not be people who signed up to give care on care.com. Then they continued to charge me every month for 8 months. The lady told me it was my responsibility to find them and stop services. I finally got them to take off this months bill of $59.00. Terrible! They could see that I did not use their services, yet, they refused to credit me for the additional months. It appears that they are based out of Massachusetts. I live in Oregon and was looking for dog care in Lincoln City, Oregon.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • SCAM

    • By Alisha P.,
    • Texas,
    • Feb 25, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    So I used this to find child care for my kids. They sent me the worst possible candidates, and then when I finally hired someone and opted into their HomePay system...that was an even bigger scam! Holy crap. I tried to cancel the thing when the nanny decided she couldn't stay with us and they still charged me a $100 activation fee plus taxes, and then I said I wanted to just pay the nanny cash for the one week she worked so I wasn't screwing her over by taking out taxes from one week of wages and they wouldn't cancel it! What the heck! Total scam GALORE. Don't fall for it, please DON'T! And who wants to pay that much money a month to not even find reliable health care! This is garbage service! They should be ashamed of themselves! Seriously! Not a single positive review!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Paying to be ignored

    • By Kim R.,
    • Ontario, Canada,
    • Feb 25, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    Desperate to find a care provider, we signed up for Care.com after finding several profiles that seemingly suited our needs in our area. We paid the astronomical fee for the month of use and were immediately disappointed to see that the last login details of the specific profiles were several months ago. Since both parties have to pay to use the sight to contact, we had very little response and horrible customer service. I really should have done more research, but all I can say is to stay far away from this site.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • RUN DON'T WALK!

    • By Tess C.,
    • Atlanta, GA,
    • Feb 22, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    If I could take this fraudulent scam of a company before a real live judge on charges of fraud and defamation, I would.

    As a nurse that works primarily private duty now in home health, this "company" takes to task making themselves judge, jury and the state nursing board when it indiscriminately terminates the accounts of its CNAs, LPNs, and RNs without explanation or cause. To add insult to injury, they defame these professionals by emailing all contacts/resume recipients they've made on their site claiming they have terminated these professionals without explanation. Imagine that for just a moment. We have to answer to the state nurses board, be in good standing, certifications renewed regularly, but Care.com overrides all of that can deem a nurse unworthy based on an undisclosed reason or complaint.

    I have made it my personal mission to expose this company for the money-grubbing fraud it is. It answers its own ads. It responds to your ads. It steals your profile info and sends messages to other members without your permission. Nothing about this company is legitimate and I say that BEFORE discussing their unethical and recurring fraudulent charging of their clients' credit cards.

    I urge you to google this company and do your research as both a job seeker and a job provider.

    There is plenty (thousands upon thousands) of evidence out there to back up the claims of fraud and unethical business practices. Just google reviews.

    My best advice - BEWARE, SCAMMERS.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Scam artists all the way

    • By Marcia Z.,
    • Levittown, PA,
    • Feb 21, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    In 2012 I needed help with petsiting for an emergency situation. Came on their site, posted an ad, never hired anyone and thought it was over and done. I have been charged for over 7 years now and they never once have communicated with me in this time. I have paid them $2000, for what...It was not until I finally noticed this strange charge and contacted the credit card company who is investigating it, but apparently, if you sign up with them, they claim unless you notify them you do not want their premium membership you will be charged forever. I did not knowingly sign up for any membership that would have allowed this to happen and not once in 7 years have I heard from them. But suddenly since the credit card company investigates them, they send me an email saying they are canceling my membership and will not charge my card, isn't that interesting.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Nanny, maid, cashier

    • By Misty R.,
    • Canton, GA,
    • Feb 16, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    I don't understand the app. It says I have six jobs available, but I can only see three of them. I have tried many different things and nothing works! And there is no way of getting a hold of anyone for help. What do I do?

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • SCAM

    • By Sophia C.,
    • Irvine, CA,
    • Feb 4, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    I didn't receive an email from Care.com for two years but they continued to charge me $39 a month, and when I realized what had happened, they refunded me for one month. OUTRAGEOUS!

    I asked them to step up and do the right thing, but they weren't able to do so. DO NOT use this website!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Care.com - DO NOT USE

    • By SHB B.,
    • New York,
    • Feb 4, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    Care.com is like using Match.com. The company is non-responsive to basic inquiries regarding home health care hires. And it is closed on the weekend. If you want to use Care.com for a Senior Home Health Aide, don't. You will be wasting your time. Go through a formal agency. Match.com is not the format you want when hiring for a serious position.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Care.com a scam! Contact state representative.

    • By Maureen R.,
    • Modesto, CA,
    • Feb 2, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    I just contacted the Better Business Bureau, the Attorney General's Office, and a state representative to file-sharing Care.com! They, once you pay, keep stringing you along, will not let me update my bio, keeps going to old format, post out-of-date jobs, does not let me exchange contact with clients even though I paid, wants a background check even though I am registered with state and federal in-home services online for clients to check, no human help with account, and will charge account even though you stop services! Time for caregivers to file a class action against this company! We need a honest service to connect us to clients in our area! Also, fair housing and employment in your state, file with them! We need a compassionate site for our client services!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Don’t use!

    • By Gina B.,
    • Indiana,
    • Feb 2, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    Care.com is a joke! They removed me from their list for no reason. At least no reason they could tell me. No one knows what they are doing there. They can’t even answer simple questions!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Horrible customer service

    • By Steve I.,
    • Lancaster, PA,
    • Jan 15, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    I've been trying to contact a housekeeper advertising her services. I received a message stating "Interview Complete" in my messages, but she never contacted me. After numerous calls to their so-called Customer Service, which in itself is difficult to get an actual phone number to call and when I finally got thru, I got nothing but double talk and BS!

    DO NOT use this service! Once they get your credit card they could care less about you and do nothing to help.

    I plan to stop payment on my Credit Card, although their terms are written so that they are not responsible for ANYTHING!

    One STAR is the minimum rating, and that is more than their service is worth.

    HORRIBLE!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Scam

    • By James R.,
    • New York,
    • Jan 10, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    They will refer you to a facility not suitable for your loved one.

    Don't use. They send it out to any and all facilities. They are just looking to get paid, even if your loved one does not like the facility.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Applications not seen by prospective employers

    • By Jan S.,
    • Austin, TX,
    • Dec 21, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    Unless you upgrade from a free account to an upgraded account, jobs applied to or replies to messages from prospective employers, will not be seen. It’s a total waste of time. Someone looking for a job should not have to pay! Shame on Care.com!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Scam

    • By Ronda D.,
    • Cincinnati, OH,
    • Dec 19, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    I signed up for a 3-month promo. Every potential caregiver that I reached out to either didn't reply or was no longer working. My 3 months expired...oh well. I just realized Care.com has been charging my credit card increasing amounts ever since. I know...shame on me for not paying better attention. The amount just reached a level that caught my attention. I tried calling. It's a sales line, no customer service to help with this type of issue. Emailed. I found where my credit card information was attached in my profile, but there isn't a way to delete it. I finally decided to chalk this up to a SCAM/lesson learned and move on with my life. I canceled my credit card to make sure this doesn't happen again.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Care.com does not care

    • By Susan W.,
    • Florida,
    • Dec 2, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    I agree with Lani and Susan who spoke of damaging reviews from people that were never members. Without warning my account was closed with no contact stating why. I told Care.com I was not paid for a week's work and all they say is oh, YOU should have had a contract for payment. I thought this was more the honor system. It turns out the person contacting me was a friend of a friend...person Jane G (my employer) had no way to pay me...her sister Marylynn F controls her money. I was to be paid by her insurance company and Marylynn kept my money. Can you say "insurance fraud!"

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Care.com is a rip-off, no service, no refund on unauthorized payment

    • By Maritza B.,
    • Fort Lauderdale, FL,
    • Nov 21, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    I subscribed to Care.com for three months, and in those three months, I was not able to get anyone to respond to my request. It seems they let just anyone sign up as a caregiver just for the money. I was never able to hire anyone based on no response from the providers. After my three months, they automatically renewed my subscription without my knowledge and when I called them to let them know I had not authorized the renewal, their response was that they automated renew and they have a restrictive no refund policy.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


Showing 28-54 of 131

Write a Review for Care.com!

Share your experience to help others discover great products!

Write a Review
Care.com