About Care.com

Founded in 2007 and based out of Waltham, MA, Care.com is a website dedicated to bringing together families who need caregivers, and caregivers looking for work. According to the company’s website, they are committed to “improving the lives of families and caregivers by helping them connect in a reliable and easy way.”

Care.com holds an A+ rating with the Better Business Bureau, despite having nearly 300 closed complaints within the past three years. Considering the fact that the company claims to have more than 9.5 million members, online reviews seem to be primarily positive. However, by far the most common complaint we encountered during our research referenced the company’s auto-renewal program (more about this in the final section).

How Care.com Works

With more than 9.5 million members and a presence in 16 countries, Care.com claims to be the “largest global destination for quality caregivers.” As such, the primary categories on the website include:

  • Child Care – Includes babysitters, nannies, family day care, tutors, and more.
  • Adult & Senior Care – Everything from errands and exercise, to companionship and 24-hour care.
  • Pet Care – Dog walkers, boarding, training, and more.
  • Home Care – Housekeepers, event help, and more.

Because Care.com provides a wide variety of services, both for families looking for caregivers, and for caregivers looking for families, there are two different ways to use the site:

As a Family:

  1. When you’re looking for a caregiver, the first order of business will be to post a job. Here, you’ll outline your needs, list your pay rate, and provide any other information you feel is important. This is the listing that caregivers will read and decide whether or not to apply for, so the more information you can provide, the better.
  2. Care.com guarantees responses from qualified candidates within three days. Once they apply, you’ll be able to review their responses, and even view detailed background checks.
  3. Narrow your list, and interview only those candidates you feel most closely match your needs.

As a Caregiver:

  1. If you’re looking to advertise your services to those needing caregivers, you’ll first need to sign up for a Care.com account, which can be completed in minutes.
  2. After signing up, you’ll need to take some time to complete an in-depth profile, which can take some time to perfect. Be sure to include at least one photo of yourself, in addition to references, reviews, and background checks.
  3. Once you find a job posting that you feel you’re qualified for, simply apply in one easy step.

Whether you’re an individual or a caregiver, all correspondence is handled directly through the Care.com messaging system. Overall, the website appeared very user friendly, and can be accessed from almost any electronic device with an internet connection, including smartphones, laptops, and tablets.

Care.com Pricing & Refund Policy

As an employer (e.g. posting a job for another member to fill), a Care.com membership will cost you:

  • 1-Month Membership – $39 per month
  • 3-Month Membership – $26 per month
  • 12-Month Membership – $13 per month

As a caregiver however, your account is completely free of charge.

When paying a caregiver you’ve hired, you can pay them through the Care.com HomePay system. Here, you’ll be able to set up automatic completely control your payroll, withhold and file taxes, and more.

An important note: One of the most common complaints we came across during our Care.com research included billing issues—more specifically, the automatic renewal program. For example: If you sign up for a 1-month membership at $36 per month, it will continue renewing every month and charging your payment method on file, until you contact the company and cancel it. We came across numerous complaints of people being charged several hundred dollars before they realized what was going on.

When this occurs, it appears that Care.com customer service has been unwilling to process refunds. In fact, according to the company’s Terms of Use, all services provided through the site are non-refundable.

Our recommendation would be to sign up for the free account, see how you like using Care.com, and then signing up for the membership option of your choice. Then, once you find a caregiver, you can simply cancel your account, or change it back to the free version.

Pros:

  • Claims to have more than 9.5 million members, and to be active in 16 countries.
  • Easy way to post a job for a caregiver, and for caregivers to match themselves with a family.
  • User-friendly website.
  • Three different membership options.

Cons:

  • By far the most common complaint we noticed was regarding the company’s auto-renewal program, and their refusal to process a refund.

Read 115 Care.com Customer Reviews and Complaints

Write a Review
Average Customer Rating: 1.1
Rating Snapshot:
5 star: 2 4 star: 1 3 star: 0 2 star: 6 1 star:  106
Bottom Line: 4% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 1-11 of 115
Sort reviews by:

  • 9 out 9 people found this review helpful

    Do not use Care.com

    • Spokane, WA,
    • Oct 13, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    After being a member and paying a substantial amount for background checks and monthly fees, the account was closed for what reason I have no idea. Was never told, renewed and paid for the background check and a day later account closed. Perfect record, great reviews from previous jobs. Care only wants money. Many ads for jobs have the same wording and layout, which makes you think they are fake accounts. Don't use Care, go somewhere else.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 4 out 4 people found this review helpful

    Nanny

    • Louisiana,
    • Oct 11, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I have been a nanny for more than 10 years and this company is the only one who won’t let me register, because almost 9 years ago a lady did a background on me and she contacted them and until this day I don’t know what information had the background on me! They only said that I was not allowed to be in their website. I have work with high clientele with this I include celebrities well known in almost all European, South Africa, China. I can go on, I got proof that I have been nominated one of the best nannies in the state! How this website can ruin my career and think they can get away? Do not be fooled by Care.com, they are scammers that the only thing they want is our money.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 3 out 3 people found this review helpful

    They are a bunch of thieves

    • California,
    • Oct 10, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    If I could give a negative review I would. I have been a preschool teacher for the past 6 years. A couple of months ago, I decided that I wanted to work with children and their families on a more personal level. I paid the $60 for Care.com and I was able to get one single babysitting job before they shut down my account. I was not able to get a hold of a person, just a stupid robot. I emailed them and they said they terminated my account and by law they don't have to tell me why. I am a law-abiding citizen, if I wasn't, then I wouldn't have had a career in childcare. They are not reimbursing my money, which makes me even more angry. They stole from me. A bunch of thieves. DON'T use Care.com.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 7 out 7 people found this review helpful

    Disappointed

    • New Braunfels, TX,
    • Sep 15, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I am a single woman - 60 years old, with endless free time, so, I completed the application to babysit part-time.

    I received a message that reads:

    "Oh hi, Shelly,

    You're a caregiver, but you're not in the CareForce yet. Once you are, you'll secure your spot in the search where families can find you."

    From there I am given the option to "Upgrade" my search by PAYING to be seen!

    However, I find it rather convenient that the Facial Photos of myself have been "Denied" several times. Please explain how/why several clear photos of my face continue to be Denied?

    I can - the company Suggests that I "Join/Upgrade" to "better" my chances of getting hired. In other words - PAY them!

    I have 3 grown children (all professionals) and 7 grandchildren in which I have been an active part of their lives. In addition to some of the professional jobs I have held in my life, I have worked as a substitute teacher, school volunteer. I have taught English, Arts & Craft classes throughout the US and Asia. Yet, I cannot get a single photograph of myself approved with Care.com?

    Care.com may profess to want the best for their customers, but I believe their real interest is in how much money they can collect!

    With my qualifications, life experiences, freedom and true enjoyment of spending time teaching children, I'm confident any parent would be very happy to have me spend time with their infant/child or children.

    I'm very disappointed and feel I will always encounter a "glitch" with Care.com unless I submit to "paying."

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 5 out 5 people found this review helpful

    Scam! Waste of TIME!

    • Port Townsend, WA,
    • Sep 11, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I have 16+ years of experience as a caregiver and farmhand. I cook and clean as well. I was job searching on Indeed.com and saw several really good jobs in my area, the second party links kept bringing me to Care.com. After the third listing, I decided to make an account with Care.com. I spent 3 hours writing my profile and applied to 2 jobs where the families need help. I live in a rural area where good help is hard to find and our population is mostly elderly. The next day, today, I went to check my email. "YOUR ACCOUNT HAS BEEN TERMINATED."

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 7 out 7 people found this review helpful

    Deplorable customer service

    • Philadelphia, PA,
    • Sep 10, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I applied for membership to find care for my mother. I kept getting an error message. I wrote customer service and received a reply stating that I had applied previously, was denied because I failed the background check, was sent a letter telling me I had 90 days to appeal, did not appeal and there is no way to open an account now. I explained that they must be confusing me with someone else because I never applied for an account previously and have no criminal record whatsoever. Each time I wrote them I got a response saying they could not help me and I must contact their background check vendor directly. I asked them for proof of a background check, explaining that I am 100% certain none was ever completed. They refused to help, again stating that I must contact their background check vendor. I contacted the vendor and they could not assist me because they stated that no background check was ever performed on me, which is what I know to be fact. I am stuck in a loop. Care.com absolutely refuses to assist me and their background check vendor is naturally unable to assist me since no background check was ever performed.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 10 out 10 people found this review helpful

    Unable to cancel

    • Foster, RI,
    • Aug 5, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    Beware! Once they get you on the auto-renew there is no way to cancel this service. I ended up filing a complaint with my credit card company and they won because I couldn’t cancel. SCAM.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 12 out 12 people found this review helpful

    Lots of ways to rip you off

    • Charlotte, NC,
    • Jun 25, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    My teenage daughter tried to sign up with Care.com as a pet sitter. She carefully filled out all the info, created a profile, etc. Then I received an email saying they needed a parent's approval for a teen worker. Sure, no problem - I followed the links and kept getting weird dead ends, while receiving the same daily email asking me to give my approval. No phone number for customer service or tech support (well, there is one but it just tells you to find answers on their website, there are no humans to speak with), and when I tried the online chat with the "customer service rep" option, the questions were so obviously generic, computer-generated responses! After I explained the issue to the fake human I was supposed to believe I was speaking with, I'm told I'll now be connected with a tech support agent. I am then linked to a screen asking me to enter my credit card info (!!!!) so I can be charged a $1 fee to ask a question! Seriously, not even subtle!

    So, after I exit out, I look for reviews to see if others actually found solutions, and the reviews posted by Care.com were all glowing, while every review on unaffiliated sites warned of similar and worse issues. I was surprised to find this company actually exists, and I'm grateful they only tried to scam me instead of succeeding!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 6 out 8 people found this review helpful

    Wendy Curts RN caregiver

    • Pompano Beach, FL,
    • Jun 6, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    Wendy Curts was a reliable caregiver for my wife who had a stroke and was suffering from Dementia. Wendy always arrived at our home on time and stayed for her full shift. She is a good cook preparing meals and on some occasions would even shop for the groceries to prepare for the agreed upon meal. Wendy would also offer to do other tasks such as laundry or play card games etc. with my wife. The only reason we no longer needed her services was the vast improvement in my wife's health.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 19 out 20 people found this review helpful

    Terminated

    • Winchester, VA,
    • Jun 4, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I was with Care.com for 3 hours and did find some jobs from them. I had three 5-star reviews.

    I complained to the admin about all the fake profiles listing jobs on several occasions.

    Then I had a serious complaint recently. Someone left a bad review for me and it was all false. I never interviewed with this person or met her or anything else. It downgraded my status. I contacted admin and they said they never under any circumstance remove reviews.

    I then decided to close my account with them. They would not close it. So I went in and deleted all my information, and changed my bio to "I am no longer available through this site." I then received a termination letter from Care.com which was fine with me as I wanted my account closed and to stop billing me immediately.

    Now I realize they sent my contacts emails saying I was terminated and gave a list of reasons why I was terminated and none of them were true and it could harm my reputation terribly. I am shocked they are allowed to get away with this at all. There should be some legal ramifications for them to do this.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 13 out 13 people found this review helpful

    Canceled and kept charging me for 2 years

    • New York,
    • May 21, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I canceled the service in April 2017 after using their (very average) service for 4 months. My husband didn't notice until June 2019 that Care.com kept charging despite canceling the service. They are obviously refusing to refund leaving us no other choice than taking them to court.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

Showing 1-11 of 115

Write a Review for Care.com!

Share your experience to help others shop smarter & discover great products.

Write a Review