CarShield Review - The Right Extended Car Warranty?

By Derek Lakin
HighYa Staff Updated on: May 3, 2019

CarShield offers extended auto warranties in most states, which they say could help protect you from expensive surprises, save you thousands in potential car repairs, and allow you to drive with peace of mind.

They also advertise they have a plan for every type of driver, whether you’re a new car owner, have an expired manufacturer’s warranty, or own a high-mileage vehicle. Furthermore, plans are customized to your needs, allowing you to select the ASE-Certified mechanic of your choice, along with easy, flexible payment terms.

Together, CarShield says they’re the USA’s #1 auto protection provider, offering the “ultimate in extended vehicle service protection” to more than 750,000 vehicles over the past 14 years, with more than $1 billion in claims paid.

But, are extended auto warranties a good idea in the first place? And will CarShield’s coverage necessarily deliver better value than the competition? We’ll help you make a more informed decision, starting with the company’s fundamentals.

How Do CarShield’s Vehicle Service Contracts Work?

While CarShield sells and services your extended auto warranty, otherwise known as a vehicle service contract (VSC), coverage is provided through their partners—or distributors—American Auto Shield and United Car Care.

Between them, CarShield offers six different coverage plans:

  • New Car Diamond – Modeled after a new car warranty from the manufacturer. Covers “everything” from transmission failure and fuel pump breakdown to starter issues.
  • Platinum – CarShield advertises this is ideal for high-mileage vehicles, since it focuses on systems and components like water and fuel pumps, electrical and air conditioning system, engine, and transmission.
  • Gold – A middle-of-the-road option that helps protect a mix of major and minor components, including power windows, engine and transmission, alternator and starter, and even your air conditioning system.
  • Silver – This is CarShield’s most affordable plan and protects essentials like lubricated engine parts, transmission, and water pump.
  • High-Tech – If you want to cover electrical and computer-related problems—e.g., engine control module, navigation, starter, alternator, etc.—this is the plan for you.
  • Specialty – Offers coverage not provided in any of the other plans, including options for motorcycles, all-terrain vehicles, and so forth.

Pro tip: Once you narrow down your options, be sure to check individual coverages in the sample contract for the plan you’re considering, and then reach out to a representative if you have further questions.

CarShield tells us that all of their contracts include courtesy towing, and they pay claims directly to the US or Canadian ASE-Certified repair facility of your choice. Most also come with 24/7 roadside assistance and rental car coverage (or rental car reimbursement, at least), and are transferrable to a new owner if you sell your vehicle.

CarShield doesn’t provide the ability to obtain a quote on their website. Instead, you’ll enter your basic information (vehicle year, make, and model, your first/last name, phone number, email, zip code) and then click the “GET YOUR FREE QUOTE” button.

Afterward, a CarShield representative will reach out and help you personalize one of the above plans based on your vehicle and budget. Then, they’ll provide sample policies for comparison.

CarShield’s iOS and Android apps provide customers access to their contract’s details, the ability to open claims, receive roadside assistance, and reach out to customer service.

Then, once you’re ready to go, you can make a payment. But, your coverage won’t take effect immediately, which we’ll discuss next.

How Much Does CarShield Coverage Cost?

Like any other service contract, how much you pay for your CarShield coverage depends on a variety of factors, including your vehicle, its age and mileage, and the level of protection you seek, to name just a few.

CarShield quotes are free, so we reached out to their sales department about a 2010 Toyota 4Runner with 145,000 miles. Based on its mileage, the only plan we qualified for was Gold, which carried an annual price of $1,548, or $129 per month.

After balking a few times, the price eventually dropped to $99 per month, which we were told is “employee pricing.”

If you decide to purchase CarShield coverage, they can email (instant) or snail mail (up to two weeks) a copy of your contract. Just keep in mind that there’s a 20-day waiting period before coverage goes into effect.

If you have questions, you can reach a representative at 800-974-9385 or customerservice@carshield.com.

Running the Numbers: Is a CarShield Vehicle Service Contract Worth It?

In Do You Need an Extended Auto Warranty, we outline that you should start by making sure you can afford one in the first place since it will increase your monthly expenses.

After all, as we can see in our CarShield quote above, a VSC might cost well over $100 per month, which can be a big shock to your budget—one that might outweigh potential benefits down the road if something on your car breaks. Let’s put this into perspective by running some quick numbers.

Car and Driver lists the Ford F-Series pickups as one of the best-selling vehicles in America last year.

Edmunds indicates that the 5-year ownership costs for a new 2019 F-150 Lariat SuperCrew are more than $64,000—only $1,000 of which relate to repairs a warranty would cover.

Because of this, it wouldn’t make much sense to get a CarShield warranty, especially considering Fords come with a three-year basic warranty and five-year power train warranty.

But, what if you drive an older model?

Edmunds lists the 5-year repair costs of the same F-150 model and trim, but a 2014 year model with 98,000 miles, at more than $3,400.

Comparatively, CarShield’s Gold contract will cost you about $1,200 per year, meaning you’ll, in lose out on $200, in theory. Based on this research, we believe that an after-market warranty like CarShield works best on older cards whose average repair costs per-year exceed the premiums you pay for your warranty. Edmunds.com’s True Cost to Own tool will help you understand the average yearly repair costs for your car.

Also, not all repairs are covered by a CarShield policy. Here are some exclusions in the Gold contract (by no means an exhaustive list):

  • Repairs performed without prior authorization from the administrator
  • Damage caused by acts of nature
  • Otherwise covered parts that did not meet the manufacturer’s specifications
  • If the vehicle is used for commercial purposes (there are some exceptions to this)
  • If the part is already covered by a manufacturer’s warranty
  • Damage resulting from overheating
  • Pre-existing conditions

Customer Reviews for CarShield

Here on HighYa, more than 200 readers have provided feedback about their experiences with CarShield, giving the VSC company an average rating of 3.8 stars.

In most of these, customers report excellent support, although common complaints reference difficult claims experiences, denied coverage, and less-than-stellar support. The company responds directly to most of these compliments and complaints.

There are also more than 100 combined reviews between iTunes and Google Play, with a similar average rating. Most of the app’s compliments relate to ease of use, with many of the same complaints found elsewhere online.

With these details in mind, the Better Business Bureau sent a Code of Advertising letter to CarShield as recently as August 2018, challenging “a false sense of urgency” created by some of their mailers.

According to Dane Janas, a former contract administrator for a regional dealership franchise in Pennsylvania, “These are generally sent out by companies trying to fool you into believing your car is no longer under warranty protection.”

CarShield also holds an F rating with the BBB as of this writing, based on more than 400 closed complaints in the last three years—the vast majority of which reference denied coverage and less-than-stellar claims experiences.

Still, CarShield comes with a much higher average reader rating and positive feedback on HighYa, and we think it’s positive that the company responds directly to complaints.

CarShield vs. Other Vehicle Service Contract Companies

According to O.J. Lopez, owner of Fluid MotorUnion in Naperville, Illinois, “third-party warranties can be a lifesaver, especially if you are buying a vehicle that had a high value when originally purchased, or was an exotic or luxury vehicle.”

Their parts and systems “will most likely break down,” he says, “and can be quite costly to repair” when they do.

And to help provide this coverage, there are currently 20+ companies offering a variety of vehicle service plans and options. Popular options include:

Company Administrator(s) Number of Plans Waiting Period Average HighYa Reader Rating
CarShield American Auto Shield, Interstate Nation Dealer, United Car Care 6 20 days 3.8 stars, 210 reviews
Endurance Auto Warranty Endurance 4 30 days and 1,000 miles 2.3 stars, 67 reviews
Toco Auto Warranty Warrantech Automotive, Inc. 4 30 days 2.4 stars, 25 reviews
CarTection American Auto Shield, Royal Administration Services 3 30–60 days 1.6 stars, 14 reviews

How to decide which option to choose?

“I always tell people to read through their warranty contract more closely than any other contract they’ll ever sign (maybe besides buying a home),” Janas says.

“They are definitely worth the money,” he says, “but not if the list of non-covered items is a figurative mile long.”

To accomplish this, O.J. Lopez strongly recommends looking for top-of-the-line warranties from the company. “If there is a Platinum or Diamond plan, that is the one to go for,” he points out. “Don’t be fooled by names like Gold, Bronze, etc. If it’s not the best warranty they sell, then it’s useless.”

Even then, make sure “items such as electronics, hoses, gaskets, and pumps are covered,” he says. “It’s also important to see if they have a cap on labor rates, since some warranties only cover up to $80 per hour, and you’ll be responsible for the difference.”

Looking at the table above, we can see that CarShield offers the most plan options, which could mean they have a better chance of meeting your coverage needs.

They also feature the shortest waiting period—something the sales representative emphasized in our phone call—along with the highest average rating on HighYa, the most reader reviews, and the only option that offers month-to-month billing.

However, if you’re looking for a direct administrator, Endurance is the only option in the list above. This means they don’t just service your policy, but also handle your claims directly.

You’ll note that both CarShield and CarTection offer plans administered by American Auto Shield, so it might be worth reaching out to both to see if pricing aligns. Although, the latter comes with a much lower average reader rating here on HighYa.

However, Endurance also makes you wait 30 days and 1,000 miles before coverage goes into effect, and they have a middle-of-the-road reader rating compared to the above competitors.

So, if you're looking for a highly-rated company with mostly positive online feedback, and who offers more plans than many other VSC companies, features one of the shortest waiting periods, and provides monthly billing, CarShield certainly seems like a solid option. But, does this necessarily mean you should sign on the dotted line?

Final Thoughts: Pros & Cons for CarShield’s Vehicle Service Contracts

Based on everything we’ve discussed, here’s an overview of the company’s pros and cons, so you can decide where you fall in the spectrum:

Pros:

  • A CarShield VSC can help provide financial assistance in the event of an unexpected auto repair, which seems to make the most financial sense for older (5+ years) vehicles.
  • Multiple plans available, depending on your vehicle’s age and mileage.
  • Contract costs are split into equal monthly payments.
  • Representatives are friendly and able to answer questions.
  • All plans include towing and are transferrable. Most feature 24/7 roadside assistance and rental car coverage.
  • Repairs performed by the ASE-certified mechanics of your choice.
  • Mostly positive feedback from HighYa readers.

Cons:

  • Based on their limited repair needs during their first five years, a CarShield VSC doesn’t seem to make financial sense for newer vehicles.
  • Contracts come with multiple exclusions.
  • 20-day waiting period before contract goes into effect.
  • Can’t receive a quote on the CarShield website. And when calling, salespeople are somewhat pushy.
  • Most common customer complaint is declined claims. Also, BBB sent CarShield (F rating) multiple letters regarding their advertising practices.

With these details in mind, whether you decide to go with CarShield or another company, be sure to go through your coverage with a fine-tooth comb before handing over any of your hard-earned money.

>> Continue reading: Extended Auto Warranty Buying Guide: How to Choose the Best Company

Sign Up for HighYa Newsletter

Sign up for HighYa newsletter and get our best content delivered in your inbox as well as 3 free eBooks to help you save money and shop smarter. Enter your email below to get started!


Read 222 CarShield Customer Reviews and Complaints

Write a Review
Average Consumer Rating: 3.9
Rating Snapshot:
5 star: 144 4 star: 13 3 star: 8 2 star: 3 1 star:  54
Bottom Line: 73% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 1-11 of 222
Sort reviews by:

  • Editor’s Note: It is our understanding that this company has been asking its customers to leave feedback on HighYa. We assure you that each of these reviews has still been subjected to the same verification & vetting process that all submitted reviews go through. Learn More Here
  • 49 out 50 people found this review helpful

    Do not purchase, scam, they are crooks!

    • Florida,
    • Jan 20, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    If I could give a rating of less than one star, I would. I would be happy if CarShield even gave me the service of one star. I took my BMW to the dealership the week of Thanksgiving 2018. CarShield gave me a claim number and only ask me to have the dealership call CarShield before any work was done. I had a water hose leak and I know it is the pulley. CarShield found a way of denying my claim. They are only out for your money. They even had the nerve of taking out my monthly payment for December 2018 and January 2018. When I called CarShield, they told me the only way that I could get a refund on my contract was only if I had canceled the policy in the first 60 days. Do not use, do not use, do not use. They only are out for your money and will find a way to deny your claim. They are crooks. THIS IS A SCAM.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (2)
    View all 2 commentsHide comments
    • Jan 22, 2019

      Danelle Summers, Customer Service

      Gary-

      We are sorry you feel this way. We strive to learn from every source of input available to us, to better improve our company and our customers' experience.

      Our coverage plans vary depending on the age and mileage of the vehicle. Therefore, our sales agents place you into the highest level of coverage your vehicle qualifies for at the best rates.

      If there is anything we can do to help you, please don't hesitate to give us a call.

      Thank you again for your time.

    • Feb 19, 2019

      William P.

      Although I have as yet not forked over my bank card details to the extremely pushy salesmen's spiel, that is my first issue - the over-pushy sales quacks.

      I was interested to know if they are trustworthy, these reviews have not inspired any substantial confidence in CarShield.


  • 45 out 45 people found this review helpful

    Scammers, don't waste your time or your money!

    • Bridgeview, IL,
    • Jan 15, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I purchased a policy in October! I had car issues in January, went to a certified dealer, and I was told I would have to pay $175 just get the car diagnosed. I called CarShield only to find out that my vehicle was not covered because the sales agent who originally sold me the policy entered the VIN number wrong! They accused me of giving them the wrong VIN number. I called BS on that, asked for the recording, they declined. I spoke to Justin, a manager at CarShield, and he was unable to refund me for the three months that they were charging me for basically service I did not have! I canceled with them. I would never want to deal with sharks like that again! Stay away, people, STAY AWAY!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (2)
    View all 2 commentsHide comments
    • Jan 16, 2019

      Danelle Summers, Customer Service

      Samya-

      We are sorry you feel this way. Looks like you did speak to one of our customer service representatives and they were able to resolve your issue.

      If there's anything you need, please give us a call.

    • Jan 17, 2019

      Marvin D.

      I reached out to BBB, they recommend that CarShield is a SCAM. They are taking customers' hard-earned money.


  • 42 out 42 people found this review helpful

    Information on warranty options

    I tried to get some information on the warranty options for two vehicles I own. One is brand new with 100 miles on it, the other has 63k and is in great shape. As I talked to the sales rep, he questioned everything I asked, especially when I told him I was just getting info on their products. When I told him that, he asked if I was looking to compare other warranty companies and I told him yes. He did not like that and told me if I looked long enough I could find a better price. I told him that I had to think about it and he asked me why, so I told him I had a wife to discuss it over with and that did not go over well with him.

    I finally hung up on him and made my decision that I would not do business with this company. Price and coverage was not the problem, he was, so they better think about who they hire to talk to customers because pissing off one can become many more by word of mouth.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (2)
    View all 2 commentsHide comments
    • Feb 5, 2018

      Danelle Summers, Customer Service

      Tony-

      We do apologize in advance if you were treated in a manner less than transparent and courteous when you called into our office. We train each of our agents to be professional, polite, and honest at all times.

      Our Quality Assurance Team has been advised to listen to the call you made to the office on 2/2/2018. We strive to learn from every source of input available to us, to better improve our company and our customers' experience. Please be assured, we do not take these matters lightly and appropriate action will be taken should we find the allegations true.

      It appears your account has been canceled and is in the process of being refunded.

      If there is anything else we can do for you, please do not hesitate to give us a call.

      Best Regards,

      CarShield

    • Mar 1, 2018

      Gary Balboa

      With only 42 reviews, and most being of more than satisfied, I would think CarShield may be worth looking into. My dealership told me of negative responses but I had called and sent emails to CarShield. We will see, I am registered with HighYa.com


  • 35 out 37 people found this review helpful

    Don't trust them!

    • Kansas City, MO,
    • Jul 13, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    Well, I told my wife they were a scam, but she didn't listen. She let the sales rep convince her that everything was good. Wrong! The first time she had a problem, they said it wasn't covered. Let me explain.

    We were riding along with our family, and I noticed the vehicle temperature start to rise above normal. I always look at the gauges while I drive. We call. They tell us to take it to the shop and have them call CarShield. So we did.

    The authorized dealer saw that a nozzle that connects the water hose broke. It caused damage to the engine. CarShield said it's not covered because the hose caused the damage. Engines don't just go out! It always has to be something that goes wrong to cause a problem. They said no. So what's the point of having it? It clearly says powertrain. I don't understand. We get our oil changed regularly. We don't speed or drive crazy. This is my wife's car. She has the kids with her!

    Men, do not let them take advantage of your wife! Ladies, be careful with this company! They are very, very manipulative. Commission, commission, commission. They are trained salesmen, and they will tell you anything. We are now without a car with four kids a nine-month baby! My wife paid faithfully because she thought they were good. Don't trust them.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Jul 19, 2017

      Danelle Summers, Customer Service

      Hi Aisha,

      We are very sorry to hear about the issues you've experienced trying to repair your vehicle.

      We at CarShield have little to no control over the claims process or the administrators' decision to approve or deny a claim. We are, however, always willing to explain the coverage details or help you with any of your customer service needs.

      We strive to learn from every source of input and appreciate you letting us know about your experience. However, it appears the complaints regarding the claim are aimed at the administrator and not at CarShield. Please, take a moment to re-evaluate your experience with CarShield. If you find it appropriate, please update your review to reflect the experience you've had directly with CarShield.

      Please, give us a call if we can do anything more for you.


  • 34 out 35 people found this review helpful

    After a month of saying they will cover, they would not!

    • Winchester, KY,
    • Mar 7, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    It has been over a month dealing with this company! They have told me numerous times if it was an internal lubricating part that caused the problem with my truck, then it is covered! Having asked several times from different reps to go over my policy, all saying it WAS covered. Another two weeks pass, and now they then want our mechanic to tear down the whole motor, taking more time and more money! They needed me to fax oil and filter receipts for the past three years, which I did, and they tell us an inspector will be looking at it. Then they tell us because it had farm tags, they would not cover! Really!

    No, I would not and will not recommend CarShield to anyone, but for sure will report them to the BBB! It’s required to give at least a one-star rating, otherwise, there would be none!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (2)
    View all 2 commentsHide comments
    • Mar 8, 2018

      Danelle Summers, Customer Service

      Eugene, we would like to look further into your account. What is your contract number or customer ID?

    • Mar 8, 2018

      EugenePacr

      Contract# 1021882SRB


  • 32 out 33 people found this review helpful

    They left me hanging!

    • Paintsville, KY,
    • Mar 3, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I had an engine go down in my truck. No problem I got CarShield. Wrong!

    Two years later and it's still in the shop, and I still have to make monthly payments and keep full coverage insurance on it. Now the dealership said that I owe them over $2000 to get it out. And CarShield said it's not their problem. My policy is still good until May. Does anyone know a good lawyer?

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Mar 6, 2018

      Danelle Summers, Customer Service

      Lowell- We would like to look further into your account. What is your contract number or customer ID?


  • 32 out 32 people found this review helpful

    Liars!

    My father was sold this policy and was told it covered bumper to bumper since my car was four years old. It supposedly covers drivetrain.

    My front wheel bearing is going out. I took it to a dealer who verified this and tried to file a claim. The Ford dealer is stating on a 2013 Ford Escape that the wheel bearings are part of a drivetrain. CarShield/ American Auto Shield is denying payment calling it a suspension problem. Luckily, my dad and husband will do the repair since Ford wants $500 to fix it ($42 part). I would pay the dealer had I not spent over $600 on this insurance that doesn’t pay anything.

    My father is canceling coverage on both vehicles on our policy and disputing payments made to the bank for services not delivered. A horrible company full of liars!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Mar 22, 2018

      Danelle Summers, Customer Service

      Erin-

      We appreciate your comments. We strive to learn from every source of input available to us, to better improve our company and our customers' experience.

      Our coverage plans vary depending on the age and mileage of the vehicle. Therefore, our sales agents place you into the highest level of coverage your vehicle qualifies for at the best rates. If there is anything we can do to help you, please have your father give us a call.

      Thank you again for your time.


  • 33 out 34 people found this review helpful
    Updated review

    Update

    • Louisiana,
    • Mar 28, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    Also, they lie and say that the problem was solved and no, it never was. The thieves still have all my money. There are a lot of fake reviews here as well, so beware when dealing with this scam of a company. If you see this as a response to any of the one-star reviews:

    Vincent -

    We are sorry to hear about your experience. Looks like you spoke to one of our customer service representatives and they were able to assist you.

    If there's anything you need, please give us a call.

    It is a lie. Before you deal with this company, please read the one-star reviews, they are not lying to you, but this company is. They are nothing but a bunch of liars who only want your money. Consumer beware.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    • Previous review
    • Feb 19, 2019

    Stay away from this company

    This company is a complete scam. I called them up today and made a claim for my 2002 GMC Yukon SLT and I was told that they don't cover the seals or the block of the motor now. When I bought the policy and went over their contract, they said they did cover those parts. The contract is very confusing and I called the company and they reassured me that those parts would be covered. Well, after I call the claims department and getting a very rude guy on the phone, I call the account department and I explained to them that if y'all don't cover the block and seals then what am I paying y'all for? They said they could not refund me my money since it was longer than 30 days. I've been having the policy for 2 months now but they lied to me to make me stay on the policy until time ran out. All the receptionist could tell me was oh I'm sorry you had a bad experience. I told her this is a scam and you are not an honest person. I also explained to her that if I did not get it fixed, the vehicle would get worse over time and then they would not cover the policy because of negligence, but it's their fault that there is negligence in the first place. So if you're thinking about getting this policy with this company, just don't.

    (read moreread less...)

  • 29 out 29 people found this review helpful

    The worst

    The worst experience I've ever come across. Definitely a scam, and I'm very disappointed with the company. 0% coverage after 6 months of on-time payments. Didn't help with anything while my car was in the shop and now I'm stuck with a non-working motor, plus all the fees for the teardown and labor. Very highly wouldn’t recommend this company to anyone.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Jan 2, 2018

      Danelle Summers, Customer Service

      Rochelle-

      We appreciate your comments. We strive to learn from every source of input available to us, to better improve our company and our customers' experience.

      Our coverage plans vary depending on the age and mileage of the vehicle. Therefore, our sales agents place you into the highest level of coverage that your vehicle qualifies for at the best rates.

      If there is anything we can do to help you, please don't hesitate to give us a call.

      Thank you again for your time.


  • 26 out 27 people found this review helpful

    Car repair insurance

    • Oswego, IL,
    • Nov 17, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    I paid for four months and when I went for the first repair, they gave all their excuses to deny my claim.

    I canceled and reported CarShield to BBB.

    Better Business Bureau is advising consumers to use caution when considering doing business with CarShield, an Auto Service Contract company. BBB has received a pattern of consumer complainants alleging, misleading sales and advertising practices, many times indicating the company led them to believe they were the manufacturer or dealer, rude customer service, failure to cover needed repairs, difficulty cancelling a policy and obtaining a refund, and that the firm made harassing calls or sent harassing mail solicitations.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (3)
    View all 3 commentsHide comments
    • Nov 20, 2017

      Danelle Summers, Customer Service

      Eva,

      We would like to look further into your account, What is your contract number or customer ID?

    • Nov 21, 2017

      Eva D

      105XN38757. Evaliz DAMIAN. I would like to request a refund.

    • Nov 27, 2017

      Danelle Summers, Customer Service

      Eva-

      Please contact our customer service department and we can further assist you!


  • 26 out 27 people found this review helpful

    Doesn't cover anything I needed. Cancellation was the hardest part.

    • Houston, TX,
    • Jan 4, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    So on the phone, I bought the service contract for engine coverage, etc. I was auto-drafted $158 monthly and paid I think $172 deposit. My car Lexus LS 260L, year 2007, was probably going to need this service warranty and I figured ok, this is an extended warranty I could probably use within the year. I understand they need to make their money, so a 25-day wait period was not a problem.

    I didn't have a problem with the fact that they didn't cover the parts I needed (suspension, brake actuator, bushings, etc.). After spending a couple of thousand getting some more work done on my car, I decided to give up and buy another car.

    The problem I had was when I tried to cancel my contract. I called once, and the service guy wouldn't even let me cancel and kept repeating how great their service was. I had to hang up because I didn't have another 30 minutes to explain why I was canceling. He kept talking over me and was just rude. I get that you're trying to keep my business. I've paid several months of dues, and now I don't need it. What part could they not understand about that? In fact, I would have used their service on my next purchase, but after the crappy and condescending attitude I received, NO thank you.

    On my second call, I had the same issues. After repeatedly asking them to cancel, they wouldn't let me cancel until I threatened to report them to the BBB. They made it as hard as possible to cancel by saying I had to send in a letter with all the info they needed. I asked how it was so easy to take my payment and sign me up on the phone, but canceling was such a pain. They finally agreed to let me email my cancellation. Unfortunately, I canceled my contract the day after my credit card was drafted. Let's hope I can get a refund for that.

    I would give them a zero if I could.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Jan 5, 2018

      Danelle Summers, Customer Service

      Lynh-

      We do apologize in advance if you were treated in a manner less than transparent, and courteous when you called into our office. We train each of our agents to be professional, polite and honest at all times.

      Our quality assurance team has been advised to listen to the call you made to the office on 1/3/2018. We strive to learn from every source of input available to us, to better improve our company and our customers' experience. Please be assured, we do not take these matters lightly and appropriate action will be taken should we find the allegations true.

      It appears your account has been canceled and is in the process of being refunded.

      If there is anything else we can do for you, please do not hesitate to give us a call.

      Best Regards,

      CarShield


Showing 1-11 of 222

Write a Review for CarShield!

Share your experience to help others shop smarter & discover great products.

Write a Review