Start your review of CarShield:
  • 272 Customer Reviews
  • 71% Recommend This Company
3.8 out of 5
5 star: 59% 4 star: 8% 3 star: 4% 2 star: 1% 1 star: 25%

 Our Promise to You

To safeguard you and ensure helpfulness and relevance, our compliance team manually assess every customer review before it goes live.

We have a zero-tolerance policy for fake reviews, and companies cannot control or alter any reviews at any time.

Sort reviews by:

  • This company is actively collecting reviews from its customers. All reviews submitted are subject to moderation and approval to ensure they meet our Review Guidelines.
  • CarShield review

    • By Clarence L.,
    • Circle, MT,
    • Feb 16, 2020
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    Everything seems ok, I hope I understood everything the salesperson was telling me. I believe the price was satisfactory. They were very helpful in getting what I needed to change my warranty.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    • Feb 17, 2020

      Company Response from CarShield, LLC

      Hi Clarence,

      Thanks for the review and welcome to CarShield! If you still have questions about your coverage, we are always happy to explain it with you. Just give us a call when you get a chance.


  • Very helpful and friendly assistance.

    • By Rut A.,
    • Dewey, AZ,
    • Jan 28, 2020
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    My experience with CarShield was very pleasant. I did not feel pushed or rushed. They were very patient as I went to get the required information needed. I look forward to doing business again in the future; should the need arise.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    • Jan 29, 2020

      Company Response from CarShield, LLC

      Hi Rut,

      Thank you for your review and we are always here to help. Please give us a call if you need anything else!


  • Waste of money

    • By Gene Z.,
    • Stafford, VA,
    • Jan 27, 2020
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    Signed up for CarShield over a year ago. Now, the powertrain control module goes out. Call CarShield. My powertrain plus (Gold) policy does not cover the powertrain control module. What a ripoff and waste of money! Buyer beware!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    • Jan 28, 2020

      Company Response from CarShield, LLC

      Gene,

      Not all repairs are covered under your plan or any vehicle service contract for that matter. We are always available to go over your policy with you so that there are no surprises. We're sorry there was confusion about what parts are covered and which are not.


  • What a joke!

    • By Eric L.,
    • Kaysville, UT,
    • Jan 2, 2020
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    CarShield/American Auto Shield: everything was perfect until I actually filed a claim. I signed up and they debited my account for the monthly payments without any issues at all, LOL. As soon as I actually needed them to perform their part of the agreement they informed me that they do not cover the particular things my vehicle needed, which is really weird because the sales rep that signed me up told me that the coverage was basically like the original manufacturer's warranty except for things like brake pads, fluids or regular maintenance type services. I also find it interested that you can only cancel your contract and get a refund within 30 days of signing up with CarShield but you can't file a claim within the first 30 days so basically you are out some money before you will figure out that they are a BS scam. The lady I spoke with was extremely rude and short with me, she kept interrupting me and talking over me, it was obvious to me very quickly that they had no intention of helping me whatsoever and were fine with cancelling my contract because they had already received several hundred dollars from me without having to provide any service or pay for any claims.

    This company has no integrity or honor and simply wants to scam you out of as much money as they can before you figure out that they are the only ones that will benefit from the relationship. DO NOT DO BUSINESS WITH THIS COMPANY.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    • Jan 3, 2020

      Company Response from CarShield, LLC

      Hi Eric,

      When you sign up we go over many components that are covered under your plan. The contract includes more detail and has all of the parts included in your policy. We can only cover parts listed on your policy. If you have questions about this, please contact us.


  • Waste of money

    • By Michelle C.,
    • Colorado,
    • Nov 15, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    I should have looked at their BBB rating and would have seen that they have a rating of "F"! They have numerous complaints about misrepresenting their coverage which is exactly what happened to me. Paid a LOT of money for a "bumper to bumper" coverage except for wear and tear only to be denied numerous things because it's not in the warranty so sorry we won't cover it. Like a heater coil. Then they will only approve aftermarket parts and not dealer parts so we have to wait for them to send in aftermarket stuff from who knows where. Called them several times only to be given "sorry, if it's not in the warranty we won't cover it". I have had numerous extended warranties and have never had problems with repairs. THIS IS A NIGHTMARE and costing me a lot of money which is exactly what I wanted to avoid by purchasing their "warranty". I will be taking this as far as I need to for this to be rectified. I am a professional and this is wrong!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    • Nov 18, 2019

      Company Response from CarShield, LLC

      Michelle,

      Sorry to hear about your frustrations. We do not offer bumper to bumper coverage. And yes, we can only cover the parts listed on your contract and no other parts. The aftermarket parts is a service we offer to help you save money and you do not have to choose to use that service. If you'd like to discuss this further, we encourage you to call us.


  • Crooks

    • By Rob S.,
    • Prescott, AZ,
    • Sep 28, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    Wanting to make sure my car was covered I purchased TWO contracts for my vehicle as I was assured every nut and bolt was protected. After an issue happened to my air suspension the dealer contacted CarShield only to be told the wording on the part wasn't exact thus denying coverage. I fought for 2 months and still have had no luck getting my car repaired so I will be canceling both of my policies today and paying for the repairs myself. There's an old saying..."If you have been given good service then you will tell a few people. If you have received poor service then you will tell everybody". Trust me...I will put out the word on how crooked CarShield really is.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    • Oct 3, 2019

      Company Response from CarShield, LLC

      Rob,

      We're sorry to see you go. We at CarShield have little to no control over the claims, shop process, or the administrators' decision about your claim.


  • Protection

    • By Doris M.,
    • Parkesburg, PA,
    • Sep 17, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    Good protection, 4-star rating with customer service and information, and polite customer service. Quick informational services. I am thankful for the additional customer services that I have received.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    • Sep 18, 2019

      Company Response from CarShield, LLC

      Hi Doris,

      We are pleased to hear you found our customer service team helpful! If you have any other questions, don't hesitate to contact us.


  • Very bad experience

    • By Jim C.,
    • Fate, TX,
    • Aug 30, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    CarShield does not tell the truth. If you need a repair you must approve the repair shop to do the diagnosis. That cost me $110.00, only to find out that the part I needed for my air conditioner was not covered. We called CarShield and they told me on the phone that all the air conditioner pars were covered and not to worry.

    So I ask them to pay for the diagnosis and they refused.

    Be careful.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    • Sep 4, 2019

      Company Response from CarShield, LLC

      Jim,

      We do apologize you feel this way. We at CarShield have little to no control over the claims, shop process or the administrators' decision. We are, however, always willing to explain the coverage details or help you with any of your Customer Service needs.


  • Less than satisfied

    • By Andrew S.,
    • Philadelphia, PA,
    • Aug 20, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    I had an electrical issue. My sunroof motor went out. The warranty covered every other motor. I thought that that was a bit strange for a PREMIUM WARRANTY not to cover this motor. So technically this was not a premium warranty. Thank you any way CarShield.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    • Aug 20, 2019

      Company Response from CarShield, LLC

      Andrew,

      We're sorry you feel that way. We're always happy to go over what is and what is not covered. If you have any questions, please contact us.


  • SCAM

    • By Marilyn C.,
    • Rochester, NY,
    • Aug 16, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    I purchased this contract for a 1999 Chevy Malibu. I took it in for repairs on August 1, 2019 and as of this date, I have heard nothing from your company. I called customer service and was told you are declining my repairs because of rust. Why are you selling a contract for a 20-year-old car in New York state and then denying any coverage because of rust? I have been without a car for two weeks.

    I would like a total refund for all I have paid you, plus compensation for the 2 weeks with no car.

    REPLY - too bad! This place is a scam! Covered NOTHING with my "Luxury" coverage.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    • Aug 20, 2019

      Company Response from CarShield, LLC

      Marilyn,

      We do apologize you feel this way. It looks like the delay was from the repair facility not contacting us. We at CarShield have little to no control over the claims, shop process or the administrators' decision. We are, however, always willing to explain the coverage details or help you with any of your Customer Service needs.


  • Peace of mind over the long-haul!

    • By Charles C.,
    • Bethel, DE,
    • Aug 8, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    I think it will be a competitive service in the long run. It will amount to a higher investment over the 1st 60 months - then it will match other contract costs or better afterward). The indicated coverage is excellent.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    • Aug 9, 2019

      Company Response from CarShield, LLC

      Hi Charles,

      We appreciate your time and we are glad you took the opportunity to protect your vehicle. If you have any questions give us a call!


Showing 12-22 of 272

Write a Review for CarShield!

Share your experience to help others discover great products!

Write a Review
CarShield Review