CarShield

  This company has claimed this profile, is getting alerted on any new customer reviews entering this page, and may engage in dialogue with its customers to address their matters.

Companies cannot pay money or provide goods in order to remove or alter customer reviews.
CarShield

Overall Rating

3.6

284 Customer Reviews

Summary

CarShield is a popular provider of vehicle service protection. It has six service tiers with varying levels of coverage. However, paying for an extended car warranty may not be the most cost-effective option for you.

Write a Review

Customer Reviews

3.6 Stars out of 284 Reviews
5 Star:57% 4 Star:8% 3 Star:4% 2 Star:1% 1 Star:28%
68% Recommend This Company
Start your review of CarShield:
Sort Reviews By
This company is actively collecting reviews from its customers. All reviews submitted are subject to moderation and approval to ensure they meet our Review Guidelines.

Posted on Jul 24, 2020

I have to do most of the leg work, why do I have to do this?

By Richard A., Delaware, Verified Reviewer

They know how to take my money, but I have to do most of the leg work. That's what I pay them for. I myself stay on the phone, waiting to talk to someone. Then they tell me to do something else. The repair facility is going through the same thing I am. Can never get in touch with anyone. I pay the monthly premium, I've been waiting almost a month to no avail. My car still has not been repaired.

Length of Use: 3–6 months

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Company Response from CarShield, LLC

Jul 27, 2020

Hi Richard,

We're sorry to hear this and this is not typical of our service. The phone lines for the company that handles claims has been down but has since been resolved. They are working tirelessly to contact everyone who reached out and apologize for the delay.

Helpful Review? 2 People Have Voted

Posted on Jul 8, 2020

Still waiting

By John M., Charleston, SC, Verified Reviewer

I put the claim in ten days ago and am still driving a rental car. We (me and my repair shop) have done everything they asked and still no response. You call and every day no matter what time of day they are experiencing higher than normal call volume. I suggest they add a few employees!

So much for listening to Glen Beck!

Length of Use: 6–12 months

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Company Response from CarShield, LLC

Jul 9, 2020

Hi John,

We're sorry to hear about the delay in hold times and with the claim. The claim is moving along as fast as possible. We have had to wait to receive some documents to review and now are in the process of having an inspection done. We hope to have you back on the road soon.

Helpful Review? 1 Person Has Voted

Posted on Jul 5, 2020

Annoyed!

By Rno D., Jersey City, NJ, Verified Reviewer

Brought my vehicle to the dealership and was told my coverage was denied because every other part was covered except that particular part, other problems were diagnosed and still denied. And I’m supposed to have a platinum level policy? I’ll be paying over $4K for my repairs, what a scam!

Length of Use: 2+ years

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Company Response from CarShield, LLC

Jul 8, 2020

Hello,

Sorry to hear we could not help out on your repairs. We have helped tons of customers save over $1 billion on repairs. The repairs must be listed for coverage on your policy, however.

Helpful Review? 4 People Have Voted

Posted on Jul 2, 2020

They lie to get you to purchase a plan

By Dyvonia J., St. Louis, MO, Verified Reviewer

I feel like I was lied to when the salesperson was presenting this service to me. I was told every major repair under my hood would be covered with the Gold level coverage. The only thing that was not covered with this plan would be regular routine maintenance (oil changes, tires, brakes). The very FIRST TIME I needed to use CarShield for a repair, for a non-routine maintenance repair, the claim was denied. I am canceling my contract and NO, I will not recommend CarShield to anyone.

Length of Use: 3–6 months

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Pros and Cons

No “pros” were specified in this review

Lied about the coverage

I did not receive the list of covered repairs with my contract, only got the list after they denied my very first claim

Waste of money

Company Response from CarShield, LLC

Jul 8, 2020

Hi Dyvonia,

Our reps cannot say everything under the hood is covered and would lose their license if they said so. We will review this call to confirm. Perhaps there may have been confusion about your policy, and for that, we are sorry.

Helpful Review? 2 People Have Voted

Posted on Jun 21, 2020

CarShield is horrible

By Lewis S., Brooklyn, NY, Verified Reviewer

I had a horrible experience with the CarShield inspector that came to inspect my car and gave a misleading report or lied. It contradicts with my mechanic's conclusion. So I asked them to send another inspector but the answer is a flat NO.

Length of Use: 2+ years

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Pros and Cons

No “pros” were specified in this review

Never cover claims

Make up excuses

Company Response from CarShield, LLC

Jun 22, 2020

Hi Lewis,

I am unable to pull up specifics of your account, but sorry to hear there was a discrepancy about this. We have helped our customers save over $1 billion on admin repairs and we wish we could've helped you, too.

Helpful Review? 2 People Have Voted

Posted on Apr 18, 2020

Lack of pro-rating payment.

By Gary K., Olive Branch, MS, Verified Reviewer

Kind of disappointed in CarShield. I just made a payment 3 days before I traded off my pickup. I don’t understand why there is no reimbursement for 27 days for a pickup truck that I traded for another vehicle. This lack of pro-rating will probably not be a good thing when I talk to my friends about CarShield extended warranty coverage. For this same reason, I will probably purchase an extended warranty from General Motors. I really don’t understand the lack of pro-rating. You are kind of controlling when I would trade off my pickup truck. Less than impressed with CarShield.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Company Response from CarShield, LLC

Apr 24, 2020

Hi Gary,

Unfortunately, people can say they traded their vehicle at any point in the contract so we have to stand firm with what is written in our contract, which is: refunds are only due in the first 30 days of signing up. We do apologize for the inconvenience and do hope you consider us for coverage on your next vehicle.

Helpful Review? 3 People Have Voted

Posted on Apr 1, 2020

A scam to the lowest form

By Burt G., Minneapolis, MN, Verified Reviewer

This such a scam. I put my car in a shop with their permission or their preauthorization for repairs. After that, 3 hours later a call came in that the fuel pump wasn’t covered, it was my floater on my pump that gives my car an inaccurate reading, so now I’m stuck with a rental car and a diagnostic and my repairs but CarShield and America Auto, now this is my out-of-pocket cost. Trust me, it’s not what it appears to be, the apple can look good on the outside but there could be a worm on the inside, be careful. I’m filing charges to get my money back and to report to BBB and the Attorney General and anyone else that listens to me, but be careful. Would I recommend this to anyone else? Heck no.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Company Response from CarShield, LLC

Apr 2, 2020

Hi Burt,

There is no way to know what the cause of failure is without a diagnostic test. We pay for that if the part that failed is listed for coverage. We are sorry to hear there was confusion about this. Please review your contract and give us a call with any questions you may have.

Helpful Review? 5 People Have Voted

Posted on Mar 31, 2020

Not happy

By Hardy D., Colorado, Verified Reviewer

I put my car into the shop on the 13th of March 2020, I'm still waiting to get my car approved by United Car Care of Greenwood Village, CO. I have paid out of pocket $200 and I'm still waiting to get my car fixed.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Company Response from CarShield, LLC

Apr 1, 2020

Hi Hardy,

Sorry to hear this is taking longer than normal. We recommend reaching out to United Car Care for an update on the status.

Helpful Review? 6 People Have Voted

Posted on Mar 18, 2020

Good people to talk to, upset with the terms I encountered.

By Richard F., Flanders, NJ, Verified Reviewer

First attempt at a transaction. The people were very nice but they did not cover my situation. Very upsetting. I read the policy. This part leaves something open. I feel they should have paid a portion.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Company Response from CarShield, LLC

Mar 19, 2020

Hi Richard,

It is always unfortunate when a needed repair is not covered under the policy. If you have any questions about your policy or your recent claim, please contact us.

Helpful Review? 4 People Have Voted

Posted on Mar 17, 2020

Friendly girls who were quick to answer my questions.

By Deloros B., Ontario, Canada, Verified Reviewer

Very helpful and the transaction was completed quickly and friendly.

I would certainly recommend your program to my friends and relatives.

The program gives me the confidence that I know I would be looked after financially if I should have an accident. This is truly a great service for seniors on a limited income who might have an accident and would possibly leave them with no way to get around.

Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Company Response from CarShield, LLC

Mar 19, 2020

Hi Delores,

We're happy to help! Let us know if you need anything else.

Posted on Mar 4, 2020

Be sure you are clear

By Dennis D., Sierra Vista, AZ, Verified Reviewer

When contracting with this company, be very clear as to the date you want the payments taken from your financial institution.

This company will take it out the date you agree to the coverage.

Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Company Response from CarShield, LLC

Mar 5, 2020

Hi Dennis,

Thanks for the review. Yes, you can let us know when you'd like the payment to be made each month. We are always happy and willing to work around what works best for you!

Showing 12-22 of 284

Our Promise to You

In order to safeguard you and ensure helpfulness and relevance, our compliance team manually assess every customer review before it goes live.

We have a zero-tolerance policy for fake reviews, and companies cannot control or alter any reviews at any time.