Read 222 CarShield Customer Reviews and Complaints (Page 3)

Write a Review
Average Consumer Rating: 3.9
Rating Snapshot:
5 star: 144 4 star: 13 3 star: 8 2 star: 3 1 star:  54
Bottom Line: 73% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 23-33 of 222
Sort reviews by:

  • Editor’s Note: It is our understanding that this company has been asking its customers to leave feedback on HighYa. We assure you that each of these reviews has still been subjected to the same verification & vetting process that all submitted reviews go through. Learn More Here
  • 23 out 23 people found this review helpful

    A fraud, a scam, and NOT trustworthy

    • Mar 18, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    They advertise peace of mind, it’s everything but that. Wife and I went in vacation to Florida from Massachusetts and purchased CarShield in advance prior to the long journey. Unfortunately, we had car issues several days after arriving and our car has been in the shop since January 30, 2019 and we owe over $1,200.00 to the repair shop and that does not include the repairs. The representative warned us about CarShield prior to starting service indicating that they will do anything and everything not to pay the claim. I showed them my contract and said, it’s clearly covered. Our vacation was ruined and we bought flights home, as of this morning there still denying the claim even though the Certified mechanic explained to the appraiser that what the computer shows does not invalidate that was the cause of the issue. CarShield reps have been blunt about there decision and have been rude, hung up not wanting to explain reasons. It’s clearly a fraud and I do not advise anyone to purchase this coverage. I truly believe a petition needs to be generated to shut this company down before others get taken advantage of and their money taken as mine was; a total scam.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 22 out 22 people found this review helpful

    Customer service is non-existent

    • Colorado,
    • Mar 18, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    My car went into the shop nine days ago for a "covered repair" under CarShield's policy terms. The car code was diagnosed the first day, and the repair shop called CarShield for the claim number and approval code. They sat on hold for 52 minutes and the phone was never answered - they had to return to work, so pressed the number to get a "return call."

    Day two - no return call, so another 45 minutes on hold with no answer - left another message.

    Day three - no return call, so two episodes of sitting on hold for more than 30 minutes each.

    Day three end of day - filled out Online Claim Form and submitted for an agent to call and review the claim.

    Days four through nine - no response yet. NINE DAYS my car is sitting, waiting for a repair that takes 90 minutes, all the while me having to pay for a rental car to drive to work.

    This is going to end up costing me more to file a CarShield claim than if I had just paid cash for the repair in the first place, which makes it pointless to buy one of their policies.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 19 out 19 people found this review helpful

    Stupid

    • Simi Valley, CA,
    • Mar 18, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    If you have a 2007 vehicle, they don’t help you. Don’t waste your time with them. They don’t take older vehicles because they're the ones that actually will use the program. They need to state that they only help newer vehicles stupid.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 3 out 8 people found this review helpful

    I wanted to change my card information and the lady was very polite and knowledgeable

    • Tennessee,
    • Mar 15, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    Well, at first when I called, a man name Roger answered the phone. He was polite, he switched me to another department who can help me. I waited for like 10 minutes for help, someone picked up the phone and hung up on me. I called back and got another person on the phone. He was so polite and understanding. He switched me to another department, a lady answered the phone, I told her what happened, very polite and understanding. Also, I wanted to change my card number and date on my card so I can pay my bill and she was very patient with me and so knowledgeable. I would recommend CarShield to all my friends, if my car ever breaks down, I have peace of mind it will be fixed promptly with no problem Thank you so much for being there for me.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    • Mar 29, 2019

      CarShield, LLC

      Hello Theresa!

      We are pleased to hear our team was able to get you the peace of mind you deserve.

      Thank you again for your time.


  • 13 out 13 people found this review helpful

    Horrible

    • Manchester, NH,
    • Mar 15, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    This is a total scam. They will cheat you from day one. The excuse they gave me was that I was too new to be covered after being with them for 4 months. I was with another company before which covered most of the repairs, these cheats look for an excuse not to pay you, don't fall for there numerous TV ads and low price, you will regret it. The worst company ever.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    • Mar 29, 2019

      CarShield, LLC

      Ma Jo-

      We are sorry you feel this way. Please provide us with your contract number so we can further assist you?


  • 17 out 17 people found this review helpful

    Been almost two weeks without my car and now riding the bus

    • Miami, FL,
    • Mar 10, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I bought a 2010 Mercedes C300 and thought CarShield would be the perfect fit because I know that repairs on a Mercedes can be very costly. I bought my GOLD plan in January and was very pleased with what was covered. Drove the car for about a month and went out in the morning and my car wouldn’t start. Thought the battery was dead, but it wasn’t. So I thought the battery in my key fob was dead so I replaced that. Still nothing. Called a locksmith and he came out and reprogrammed my key. Still nothing, paid for a new key that cost me $450.00 and still nothing.

    I notified CarShield on February 19th and they told me to get the car towed to repair shop. The car was towed to repair shop and was told that my ignition needed to be replaced. All paperwork and documentation were sent to CarShield and here I am still waiting for approval. Can’t get a rent a car because you have to have approval before that’s available. Now taking the bus as I sit and wait. The car broke on February 19th and today’s date is March 2nd.

    Also, heads up, they will also put incorrect information into the computer to deny your claim. They said I put the claim in on February 2nd and that was not true. After reviewing the recorded phone call, they said that February 2nd was an error. Anyway, have made the payment as scheduled to CarShield but my car isn’t repaired. Also, get this, I now had to call my mother for a loan to try to pay for my car repair.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (2)
    View all 2 commentsHide comments
    • Mar 12, 2019

      Danelle Summers, Customer Service

      John-

      We are sorry you feel this way! We don't cover pre-existing issues, but we can negotiate the repair to save you money.

      If there's anything you need, please give us a call.

    • Mar 14, 2019

      John F.

      The condition was not pre-existing. But I see in your past reviews from other customers that you guys say that to all incoming claims.


  • 21 out 22 people found this review helpful

    No all coverage

    • Haverstraw, NY,
    • Mar 6, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    CarShield does not fix any emissions. I needed a Catalytic Converter, guess what? They don't cover it. I needed a 02 sensor, guess what? They don't cover it. I needed a new exhaust pipe, guess what? They don't cover it.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Mar 12, 2019

      Danelle Summers, Customer Service

      Joseph-

      Looks like you inquired about a policy, but never had one with us.


  • 13 out 14 people found this review helpful

    Total scam

    • Greenville, NC,
    • Mar 5, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    CarShield is a total scam. They don't fix anything and they take to much money out of your account. Also, when they set you up for a policy, they tell you that the money is not automatically taken out of your account and it IS. I called to put in a claim and they said what I needed was not covered. DO NOT go into business with this company, they are a total scam!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Mar 12, 2019

      Danelle Summers, Customer Service

      Ondreya-

      We are sorry you feel this way. Can you please provide us with your contract number so we can further assist you?


  • 3 out 12 people found this review helpful

    Nice

    • Indiana,
    • Feb 26, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I enjoy my customer service, thanks for the business. And I would recommend your business to my family and friends. The first time has been lovely, so much information. So glad that I saw the TV advertisement when I did and had money for the service. Thanks CarShield. I'm a pleased new customer. I will refer to more peoples.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Mar 12, 2019

      Danelle Summers, Customer Service

      Hello Carol!

      Welcome to CarShield! Thanks for joining our community of consumers who understand the importance of protecting their budgets and their vehicles an extended service contract. If there's anything you need, please give us a call. We're here to work for you!


  • 13 out 14 people found this review helpful

    Bad contract

    • Dallas, GA,
    • Feb 25, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I got a contract from Car Shield, but American Auto Shield did not treat me right. Was told that repairs would pay up to Blue Book value, which at the time repairs were made, $15000, they made me take to rebuild the motor, which is worse than the other motor. But if I wanted a new motor, it would cost me $1400 out of my pocket. A new motor cost around $4000, they spent over $3800 on a rebuilt motor. Now I'm having to drive with a piece of crap.

    American Auto Shield did not live up to contract.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (2)
    View all 2 commentsHide comments
    • Mar 7, 2019

      Danelle Summers, Customer Service

      William,

      Please provide us with your contract number so we can look further into this?

    • Mar 12, 2019

      Albert R.

      Horrible experience, and I was warned by the service provider that CarShield will find and come up with any excuse not to cover cost even though it is covered by contract agreement. How right they were. I went on vacation over 1,400 miles from home and my car broke down. It's been in the shop since January 30, 2019, and I had to buy flights to return home. Today my car still isn’t repaired, and I owe $1,300.00. CarShield denied the claim even though the Gold Plan I purchased covers the problem with the engine. I provided them with all requests and they responded with one excuse after another. First, if we find any sign of carbon, it won’t be covered. No carbon found, then contact too new, wait! Didn’t coverage begin after 20 days? It was well after and 1400+ miles. Then pre-existing, even though the auto mechanic explained to the auditor the data gathered isn’t sufficient to cause the problem at hand.

      CarShield is a fraud, a scam, and should be shut down before they continue to rob and take advantage of the general public.


  • 21 out 22 people found this review helpful

    Awful, great customer service until you file a claim

    • Indiana,
    • Feb 22, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I currently have CarShield. My car had the check engine light pop on approximately 2 to 3 months after purchasing the policy. I took my car into a shop, they took CarShield's info down. They called and were on hold for 4 hours and had to hang up. They called the next day and were on hold again for 3 hours. Finally, they got through, and CarShield told them they had to send an inspector out for the vehicle.

    We didn't hear back from them for a week, I called and they apparently were waiting on maintenance or a purchase invoice to date the vehicle. I gave them the purchase invoice immediately, then we heard nothing for another week. I called my car mechanic, and he has heard nothing. So I call again. This time I am on hold for one hour then am told my mechanic needed to talk with CarShield in regards to my power train. NO ONE was notified of this requirement, and the mechanic is telling me I have to pick the vehicle up or get them in, because the vehicle has been sitting there for 2 weeks.

    So I call again, after 5 minutes, she transfers me to the "claims department." I am on hold for 30 minutes, then a person picks up and asks "How can I assist you today?" I tell them my story and she says well, let me transfer you to the claims department. I say I have been waiting for them for 30 minutes not for another person to transfer me again. She says well, I have to transfer you. I have currently been on hold for 2 hours. The call back service doesn't work according to the receptionist so don't bother with that. Meanwhile, I am paying for this service.

    I get a call back while I am holding, so I answer in hopes that it is my other call that I put in earlier this morning. It wasn't...then when I switched back, I missed the claims department after 2.5 hours of waiting! Absolutely surreal what you have to go through with this company! I will be suggesting to everyone do not use this company! I am already committed and stuck for now, but do not go to this company, it's absolutely ridiculous with what you have to go through!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Feb 25, 2019

      Danelle Summers, Customer Service

      Tyler,

      We are sorry to hear that your administrator has been experiencing higher than normal call volume. Please call us and let us know what we can do to help.


Showing 23-33 of 222

Write a Review for CarShield!

Share your experience to help others shop smarter & discover great products.

Write a Review