CarShield

  This company has claimed this profile, is getting alerted on any new customer reviews entering this page, and may engage in dialogue with its customers to address their matters.

Companies cannot pay money or provide goods in order to remove or alter customer reviews.
CarShield

Overall Rating

3.6

287 Customer Reviews

Summary

CarShield is a popular provider of vehicle service protection. It has six service tiers with varying levels of coverage. However, paying for an extended car warranty may not be the most cost-effective option for you.

Write a Review

Customer Reviews

3.6 Stars out of 287 Reviews
5 Star:56% 4 Star:8% 3 Star:4% 2 Star:2% 1 Star:28%
68% Recommend This Company
Start your review of CarShield:
Sort Reviews By
This company is actively collecting reviews from its customers. All reviews submitted are subject to moderation and approval to ensure they meet our Review Guidelines.

Posted on Mar 18, 2020

Good people to talk to, upset with the terms I encountered.

By Richard F., Flanders, NJ, Verified Reviewer

First attempt at a transaction. The people were very nice but they did not cover my situation. Very upsetting. I read the policy. This part leaves something open. I feel they should have paid a portion.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Company Response from CarShield, LLC

Mar 19, 2020

Hi Richard,

It is always unfortunate when a needed repair is not covered under the policy. If you have any questions about your policy or your recent claim, please contact us.

Helpful Review? 5 People Have Voted

Posted on Mar 17, 2020

Friendly girls who were quick to answer my questions.

By Deloros B., Ontario, Canada, Verified Reviewer

Very helpful and the transaction was completed quickly and friendly.

I would certainly recommend your program to my friends and relatives.

The program gives me the confidence that I know I would be looked after financially if I should have an accident. This is truly a great service for seniors on a limited income who might have an accident and would possibly leave them with no way to get around.

Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Company Response from CarShield, LLC

Mar 19, 2020

Hi Delores,

We're happy to help! Let us know if you need anything else.

Posted on Mar 4, 2020

Be sure you are clear

By Dennis D., Sierra Vista, AZ, Verified Reviewer

When contracting with this company, be very clear as to the date you want the payments taken from your financial institution.

This company will take it out the date you agree to the coverage.

Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Company Response from CarShield, LLC

Mar 5, 2020

Hi Dennis,

Thanks for the review. Yes, you can let us know when you'd like the payment to be made each month. We are always happy and willing to work around what works best for you!

Posted on Feb 26, 2020

Fuel pump

By Gregory R., Lakewood, CO, Verified Reviewer

On Saturday the 22nd, my car wouldn't start at my work and I had it towed to the Firestone mechanic. They discovered it was a bad fuel pump. Called CarShield and claims were closed. Going to call back on the 24th to see if it is covered.

Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Company Response from CarShield, LLC

Feb 27, 2020

Hi Gregory,

It looks like the claim is approved for $506! We're happy to help!

Posted on Feb 16, 2020

CarShield review

By Clarence L., Circle, MT, Verified Reviewer

Everything seems ok, I hope I understood everything the salesperson was telling me. I believe the price was satisfactory. They were very helpful in getting what I needed to change my warranty.

Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Company Response from CarShield, LLC

Feb 17, 2020

Hi Clarence,

Thanks for the review and welcome to CarShield! If you still have questions about your coverage, we are always happy to explain it with you. Just give us a call when you get a chance.

Posted on Jan 28, 2020

Very helpful and friendly assistance.

By Rut A., Dewey, AZ, Verified Reviewer

My experience with CarShield was very pleasant. I did not feel pushed or rushed. They were very patient as I went to get the required information needed. I look forward to doing business again in the future; should the need arise.

Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Company Response from CarShield, LLC

Jan 29, 2020

Hi Rut,

Thank you for your review and we are always here to help. Please give us a call if you need anything else!

Posted on Jan 27, 2020

Waste of money

By Gene Z., Stafford, VA, Verified Reviewer

Signed up for CarShield over a year ago. Now, the powertrain control module goes out. Call CarShield. My powertrain plus (Gold) policy does not cover the powertrain control module. What a ripoff and waste of money! Buyer beware!

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Company Response from CarShield, LLC

Jan 28, 2020

Gene,

Not all repairs are covered under your plan or any vehicle service contract for that matter. We are always available to go over your policy with you so that there are no surprises. We're sorry there was confusion about what parts are covered and which are not.

Helpful Review? 9 People Have Voted

Posted on Jan 2, 2020

What a joke!

By Eric L., Kaysville, UT, Verified Reviewer

CarShield/American Auto Shield: everything was perfect until I actually filed a claim. I signed up and they debited my account for the monthly payments without any issues at all, LOL. As soon as I actually needed them to perform their part of the agreement they informed me that they do not cover the particular things my vehicle needed, which is really weird because the sales rep that signed me up told me that the coverage was basically like the original manufacturer's warranty except for things like brake pads, fluids or regular maintenance type services. I also find it interested that you can only cancel your contract and get a refund within 30 days of signing up with CarShield but you can't file a claim within the first 30 days so basically you are out some money before you will figure out that they are a BS scam. The lady I spoke with was extremely rude and short with me, she kept interrupting me and talking over me, it was obvious to me very quickly that they had no intention of helping me whatsoever and were fine with cancelling my contract because they had already received several hundred dollars from me without having to provide any service or pay for any claims.

This company has no integrity or honor and simply wants to scam you out of as much money as they can before you figure out that they are the only ones that will benefit from the relationship. DO NOT DO BUSINESS WITH THIS COMPANY.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Company Response from CarShield, LLC

Jan 3, 2020

Hi Eric,

When you sign up we go over many components that are covered under your plan. The contract includes more detail and has all of the parts included in your policy. We can only cover parts listed on your policy. If you have questions about this, please contact us.

Helpful Review? 18 People Have Voted

Posted on Nov 15, 2019

Waste of money

By Michelle C., Colorado, Verified Reviewer

I should have looked at their BBB rating and would have seen that they have a rating of "F"! They have numerous complaints about misrepresenting their coverage which is exactly what happened to me. Paid a LOT of money for a "bumper to bumper" coverage except for wear and tear only to be denied numerous things because it's not in the warranty so sorry we won't cover it. Like a heater coil. Then they will only approve aftermarket parts and not dealer parts so we have to wait for them to send in aftermarket stuff from who knows where. Called them several times only to be given "sorry, if it's not in the warranty we won't cover it". I have had numerous extended warranties and have never had problems with repairs. THIS IS A NIGHTMARE and costing me a lot of money which is exactly what I wanted to avoid by purchasing their "warranty". I will be taking this as far as I need to for this to be rectified. I am a professional and this is wrong!

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Company Response from CarShield, LLC

Nov 18, 2019

Michelle,

Sorry to hear about your frustrations. We do not offer bumper to bumper coverage. And yes, we can only cover the parts listed on your contract and no other parts. The aftermarket parts is a service we offer to help you save money and you do not have to choose to use that service. If you'd like to discuss this further, we encourage you to call us.

Helpful Review? 14 People Have Voted

Posted on Sep 28, 2019

Crooks

By Rob S., Prescott, AZ, Verified Reviewer

Wanting to make sure my car was covered I purchased TWO contracts for my vehicle as I was assured every nut and bolt was protected. After an issue happened to my air suspension the dealer contacted CarShield only to be told the wording on the part wasn't exact thus denying coverage. I fought for 2 months and still have had no luck getting my car repaired so I will be canceling both of my policies today and paying for the repairs myself. There's an old saying..."If you have been given good service then you will tell a few people. If you have received poor service then you will tell everybody". Trust me...I will put out the word on how crooked CarShield really is.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Company Response from CarShield, LLC

Oct 3, 2019

Rob,

We're sorry to see you go. We at CarShield have little to no control over the claims, shop process, or the administrators' decision about your claim.

Helpful Review? 32 People Have Voted

Posted on Sep 17, 2019

Protection

By Doris M., Parkesburg, PA, Verified Reviewer

Good protection, 4-star rating with customer service and information, and polite customer service. Quick informational services. I am thankful for the additional customer services that I have received.

Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Company Response from CarShield, LLC

Sep 18, 2019

Hi Doris,

We are pleased to hear you found our customer service team helpful! If you have any other questions, don't hesitate to contact us.

Helpful Review? 2 People Have Voted
Showing 23-33 of 287

Our Promise to You

In order to safeguard you and ensure helpfulness and relevance, our compliance team manually assess every customer review before it goes live.

We have a zero-tolerance policy for fake reviews, and companies cannot control or alter any reviews at any time.