Carvana Reviews - How It Works, Warranty, Financing, Returns

  This company has claimed this profile, is getting alerted on any new customer reviews entering this page, and may engage in dialogue with its customers to address their matters.

Companies cannot pay money or provide goods in order to remove or alter customer reviews.
Carvana

Overall Rating

2.2

535 Customer Reviews

Summary

Carvana’s all-online used-car purchasing process allows you to choose a car online, get financing and have the car delivered directly to your home.

Write a Review

Customer Reviews

2.2 Stars out of 535 Reviews
5 Star:20% 4 Star:3% 3 Star:6% 2 Star:11% 1 Star:57%
28% Recommend This Company
Start your review of Carvana:
Sort Reviews By
This company is actively collecting reviews from its customers. All reviews submitted are subject to moderation and approval to ensure they meet our Review Guidelines.

Posted on Oct 18, 2019

"Where buying a car sucks"

By Carmen W., New York City, NY, Verified Reviewer

I've heard from my friends that buying a car from Carvana was more convenient than an actual dealership so I gave it a try. Boy was I wrong. There are just way too many people working on my case and each time they need to put me on hold to "understand the situation". The communication sucks, no one reaches out to you to let you know your process is completed or if there are documents that need to be signed. I was rescheduled for my car delivery 4 times! I would call 2-3 days in advance for a verbal confirmation of my delivery date and time as well as an email confirmation that assured me each time I am getting my car on time. I've called off from work 4 times to receive a car that I have been waiting for almost 2 months for and I still do not have the car! The advocates are unhelpful and not empathetic to my situation except for one, who promised me a reimbursement for my wasted time. And now they're telling me they do not reimburse. This business is inadequate even with it being a great idea, there is just no structure to the execution here.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Company Response from Carvana

Oct 21, 2019

Thank you for taking the time to provide us feedback regarding your recent experience. We are so sorry for what has transpired during your purchase process. Carvana prides ourselves in providing excellent customer service and to hear that you received otherwise is truly disappointing. Our team works as diligently as possible to ensure we provide our customers with accurate delivery dates and understand that at times we can fall short of that. We take your feedback seriously and will ensure that it is passed along to the proper departments. After reviewing your account, we do see you have been in touch with one of our Specialists regarding your concerns. Please do not hesitate to reach out with any further questions or concerns.

Helpful Review? 3 People Have Voted

Posted on Oct 18, 2019

Very bad service and delay the documents (registration)

By Arun A., Connecticut, Verified Reviewer

After the temporary registration expired, I didn’t get the registration, they told me it will take 15 days more...so I don’t recommend Carvana for anyone. Very bad experience, my car is going to waste for two weeks. I am an Uber driver, I don’t have a job for 15 days. Sfter I call their manager they don’t have any proper answer.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Company Response from Carvana

Oct 21, 2019

We are disappointed to hear of the miscommunication regarding your registration. At Carvana, we do strive to provide a seamless process before and after delivery of your vehicle. Thank you for your feedback as it is what allows us to grow and better serve our customers. We see that you have since been in contact with one of our Specialists. If issues persist, please do not hesitate to reach out.

Helpful Review? 3 People Have Voted

Posted on Oct 17, 2019

What a joke. Don't waste your time.

By Amy B., Las Vegas, NV, Verified Reviewer

Deplorable company who simply wasted many hours and hours of my time. They expect everyone to be an old-fashioned W2 employee. Despite continuously showing them 8 different ways solid proof of my independent contractor income, they kept finding more ways to waste my time, upload new documents, etc. Every customer service rep will tell you something different. Good luck trying to get through to someone in a timely manner - you can call and get a message saying your wait time is under 5 minutes and it would often take an hour plus to get through to someone. What a total disappointment. I feel suckered. I have never in my life experienced something as frustrating as this experience was.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Company Response from Carvana

Oct 18, 2019

We appreciate that you have taken the time to express your concerns regarding your Carvana experience. We are sorry that your underwriting process has not been as seamless as we strive for. Please rest assured that we do not intend for this step in your purchase to be difficult and want to apologize for any misunderstanding we have caused you. At Carvana we do value your time and we want your experience to be amazing. We are sorry that you endured long hold times and understand this can be very frustrating. Please know that we are working on fixing this issue to better serve our customers in the future. Again, thank you for your feedback we appreciate that you have brought these concerns to our attention.

Helpful Review? 3 People Have Voted

Posted on Oct 16, 2019

Never inspected the car

By Ryan D., North Carolina, Verified Reviewer

I was on the market for an SUV because of my first newborn. No 150-point inspection! Delayed car for 3 weeks because of repairs so canceled the order for a 2016 Acura first (broken rear window) then a KIA Sorento SXL 2016 (broken center console then powerlift gate). Also, be careful of car model and make because sometimes it is different in the window sticker.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Company Response from Carvana

Oct 21, 2019

Ryan, thank you for providing feedback about your experience with Carvana. We apologize as this is not the experience we want any of our customers. All of our vehicles are used, which does mean there will be standard wear associated with normal vehicle usage. Our 150-point inspection is important, as we will address all necessary repairs in order to have the vehicle meet our high standards. We want to apologize for the delay in your deliveries as we wanted to ensure the vehicle met these standards but understand the inconvenience this delay caused you. Although you decided not to purchase a vehicle through Carvana, we hope that you were still able to find that perfect vehicle.

Helpful Review? 3 People Have Voted

Posted on Oct 16, 2019

Wonderful company!

By Sandra B., Frankfort, KY, Verified Reviewer

I was intrigued by an online car dealership. I knew I wanted a certain make and model of a Rogue. I was patient until I found the exact match. Ordering was a breeze. The Carvana employees were super. My car arrived on time and I had a mechanic check it out during the 7-day trial window. The mechanic gave it an A! Can’t say enough about this company-all positive. Loved it so much I bought stock in the company! It had increased 40 percent since I purchased it! I wouldn’t miss out on this company!

Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 3 People Have Voted

Posted on Oct 15, 2019

Horrible experience, they do no inspect the documents or vehicle!

By Jose R., Nebraska, Verified Reviewer

It has been a horrible experience. They first deleted all my contacts and asked to resign them. After that the truck was to be delivered and the delivery took way longer than usual, and finally to top it off when they sent the vehicle's title, they never bothered to check if the VIN number on the title matched the vehicle, which it didn't, and I had a horrible time at the sheriff's department trying to explain to them that I bought the car from Carvana and it was their mistake. After that, they promised an Enterprise rental would pick me up and they lied to me, kept me calling Enterprise and Carvana for over 4 hours and in the end nothing was solved. I don't recommend! Keep it local, these guys do not know what they are doing!

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Company Response from Carvana

Oct 25, 2019

Thank you so much for taking the opportunity to provide feedback on your purchase experience. We want to ensure that each of our customers have a great experience from beginning to end. Overall, your experience does not reflect the convenience and ease that we hope to provide for every customer, and for that we are truly sorry. We are happy to see that you have been in communication with our team to find an amicable solution in regard to the title. If you have any questions moving forward, please give us a call at (800) 333-4554.

Helpful Review? 3 People Have Voted

Posted on Oct 11, 2019

What a waste of time. Go to CarMax, J.D. Byrider, etc...

By Joe D., Massachusetts, Verified Reviewer

Ordered a vehicle and was scheduled for delivery on September 13. They emailed the 12th and said there was a delay. After calling I was told the vehicle was damaged while loading (doubtful). They said they would need to repaint a bumper. When I asked if the price would be reduced because now it's been in an accident, they said no. Was then scheduled for September 27th. On September 26 I checked to see if I had any more "delay" emails. I did not, but when I checked the website my car's delivery date wad no longer September 27th, it was now October 10th. They didn't even notify me of this. When I called they said they will call back and never did. The next day I went to CarMax and bought a 2018 malibu with 19k miles for $16k and a better APR. These guys lie about delivery dates, they are not big enough nor do they have the resources to deliver on time.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Company Response from Carvana

Oct 16, 2019

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. Carvana aims to provide customers with the ideal car-buying experience. It looks like we fell short in your case and we sincerely apologize for that. Although unexpected delays can happen, we try our best to reach out and notify customers when these unexpected issues arise. Carvana conducts a 150 point inspection and wants to ensure each vehicle we deliver meets our high standards and would never want to give you a vehicle that is less than that. As Carvana continues to grow, we want to improve every aspect of the car buying process. We take your feedback very seriously and will notify the proper teams. Please contact us if you have any additional questions or concerns.

Helpful Review? 5 People Have Voted

Posted on Oct 10, 2019

Shocked and IMPRESSED

By Diamante C., New Britain, CT, Verified Reviewer

Not only was the process easy and quick, my delivery was on time and we had no issues. Besides having to resubmit a few documents for verification purposes everything went smoothly. I purchased the vehicle and a week later had it at my doorstep. Very pleased.

Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 1 Person Has Voted

Posted on Oct 10, 2019

Worst customer care, worst business model

By Gnanakumar I., Ellicott City, MD, Verified Reviewer

What else worst could happen on a purchase. Booked a vehicle, sent the check through bank, bought insurance coverage, got confirmation of the order and scheduled a delivery/pickup, but when we went to get the vehicle they could not find the vehicle and they are saying someone else bought the same vehicle two days before. Customer care members simply saying we will help you to find the next car. Not everyone could be like Amazon when it comes to Online Purchase. I waited almost four days and took my entire family for the vehicle pickup and this is highly disappointing. What is more disappointing/irritating is the answers by the customer care people. No worries from their side. Simple and cool to say "sorry we will find the next car."

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Company Response from Carvana

Oct 14, 2019

Thank you so much for the time taken to provide us with this review of your recent experience with us. We sincerely apologize for the inconvenience you and your family experienced by going to our vending machine just to find out your order was not in place.

Anytime an edit of an order is initiated by our customers, a reschedule and replacement of order is needed to keep the purchase in place. When the order was not replaced the vehicle became unlocked. We would love to help you locate another car in our inventory and provide you the experience we pride ourselves on offering! Please give our advocate team a call and we will be sure to find you and your family a good fit.

Thank you again for your feedback, and we look forward to turning this experience around.

Helpful Review? 3 People Have Voted

Posted on Oct 9, 2019

Unresponsive

By Mary H., Virginia, Verified Reviewer

Bought GMC Denali 2016 with 60k miles. Drove 2 weeks - into shop for AC and transmission. Also found a cracked head. Insurance slow and difficult but approved after I authorized engine tear down and paid $400 for a fluid flush (didn't fix it). In shop 1 and 1/2 months now - can't get parts. Have tried for 3 weeks to get a call back from Carvana - Paton then Carlie and now this week Juan. All promised a call back with an answer to my return/upgrade request. Total blow off when all I want is a truck to drive - willing to pay for it?

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Company Response from Carvana

Oct 11, 2019

Thank you for taking the time to share your Carvana experience with us. We apologize that you are experiencing issues with your GMC Denali. We are glad to see that you are been in contact with one of our Specialists who is working with you towards a resolution. Thank you again for your feedback as this will allow us the opportunity to continue to improve.

Helpful Review? 2 People Have Voted

Posted on Oct 8, 2019

Disappointed

By Linda M., Pennsylvania, Verified Reviewer

Unfortunately, the car we received is not great.

1. Scratches on the doors ($250).

2. Battery died after 6 months ($150).

3. Air conditioner does not work properly ($300).

All of these things made for a very bad shopping experience. I have tried to contact Carvana but with no luck. I would like compensation for all the problems the car has already had. I would think these things would be covered under the warranty yet no one has gotten back to me.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Company Response from Carvana

Oct 9, 2019

We are disappointed to hear that your vehicle arrived with cosmetic imperfections and you experienced issues with the battery and the air conditioning. Your post-sale experience has not been ideal and your feedback is very important to us so that we can continue to improve our processes. We are having trouble locating your account to ensure your concerns have been addressed. If you have not already, please reach out to us at (800) 333-4554 to review your concerns further.

Helpful Review? 2 People Have Voted
Showing 122-132 of 535

Our Promise to You

In order to safeguard you and ensure helpfulness and relevance, our compliance team manually assess every customer review before it goes live.

We have a zero-tolerance policy for fake reviews, and companies cannot control or alter any reviews at any time.