• 23 Customer Reviews
  • 30% Recommend This Service
2.2 out of 5
5 star: 26% 4 star: 4% 3 star: 0% 2 star: 4% 1 star: 65%

 Our Promise to You

To safeguard you and ensure helpfulness and relevance, our compliance team manually assess every customer review before it goes live.

We have a zero-tolerance policy for fake reviews, and companies cannot control or alter any reviews at any time.

Sort reviews by:

  • Service is awful

    • By Ken S.,
    • Mexico,
    • Feb 13, 2020
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    First time using this site. Taking a trip with friends and it was recommended. Big mistake. What seemed good I realized it was cheaper through Expedia. Their price match guarantee is bogus, they don’t get back to you and look for ways to say you didn’t comply when you did. Just can’t believe in today’s age they just ignore you and won’t respond. Awful company.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Criminal website

    • By Irina V.,
    • New York,
    • Nov 14, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    Stay away from that website. Booked a hotel in DR using that website and had to run away with the help of the police - my life was in danger.

    They didn't help, didn't respond to the phone calls/email.

    Cheap Caribbean - criminal website!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Trust but verify!

    • By Laurie D.,
    • Connecticut,
    • Jul 29, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    My husband and I called CheapCaribbean (CC for the rest of this review) to book a trip to the Bahamas in June. We have used CC in the past and we wanted to stay at the same place we did the last two times, the Breezes Bahamas. We did not even think to look at their website since we had been there before. We told the booking agent what we wanted, including the fact that we were looking for a place for adults to relax. She found the hotel and booked our trip. Easy, we are all set! Not so fast...

    We get to the Breezes Bahamas at noon, no problem. Our room is not ready yet, so we say "No problem," we can wait at the beach. During this conversation, the counter agent asked us if we were told that there were going to be a lot of kids there. WHAT?! NO, we were not told, nor do we want anything to do with a lot of kids running around. What is going on, we asked. He points to a large banner out front. It is "Grad Week" and the resort is full of 16-18-year-olds! As we were discussing it with the counter agent, a bus full of 100+ teenagers pull up and they start piling out. THIS WILL NOT WORK! The only kids we want to see have four legs and are waiting for scraps under our breakfast table! This is not the mature adult relaxing atmosphere we were looking forward to. More like Spring Break on steroids!

    We proceed to call CC and wait and wait and wait for someone to pick up the hold line. I explain the situation and the agent on the line tells me that they were not aware of any "Grad Week" so it is not their fault and we will need to deal with it. How could they not know about it, I argue? She puts me on hold then comes back and says she pulled up their website and that there is nothing on the site about it. She repeats that there is nothing they can do, and we will just need to deal with it. Did I mention that I had to move four times in order to find a quiet place where I could hear the agent?

    While I am on hold, my husband has found the resort manager. I tell her what CC said and she verified what I knew in the first place. They tell all their partners when their events are over a year in advance and it is posted on their website. I pull up their website on my phone and there it is - Grad Week is held May-June 2019. We would have seen this if we looked at the site, but instead, we depended on our travel company to make us aware of these types of events.

    The manager was very understanding and told us if we did not check in, she would release our room and we would not be obligated to pay. That’s great but now what?

    I call CC back and am on hold for eternity until someone answers. I tell them who I am and had to repeat the entire situation. They put me on hold again, so I wait on hold, wasting international phone minutes and a beautiful afternoon in the Bahamas.

    After three more hold times, I am finally told they will try to find us another place to stay and do I know what places are around there. Isn’t that their job? Luckily, I am familiar with the area and told them two resorts that I knew of close by.

    After three hours of waiting to hear back, they call to tell me that they can get us into the resort next door for the same price we paid, but it is not all-inclusive. This won’t work because we were not expecting to pay for all our meals and drinks and do not wish to do so now. I tell her we will wait to hear from the all-inclusive one.

    Another hour goes by and we finally get the call saying we have a room at that Melia but that we will have to pay $180. I argue with the agent until finally they agree to cover the cost.

    It is 7 pm by the time we take a cab to the Melia. Our first day is wasted because of a simple detail that CC knew about and tried to act like they didn’t. I do have to say that the Melia is AWESOME and we will be staying there the next time we travel to the Bahamas. Much more sophisticated with free paddle boards which we thoroughly enjoyed. AND no drunk teenagers puking in the pool or smoking inside the building. Finally, vacation can begin.

    So, the review has a happy ending, right? Not so fast...

    On the 4:30 PM return flight home, I find out that we could catch an earlier flight in our connecting city. We got off the plane and head to the gate where the earlier flight would be leaving. No problem the counter agent said. There would be a $25 per person change fee. $25 beats waiting in Charlotte for almost four hours. I give her my credit card and there is a problem. The system is not allowing her to change the flight. Why? Because it was booked through CC. The only way we can make a change is to go through CC. Oh boy.

    I make the call and I wait. And wait. And wait. We have an hour before the flight leaves, I should be able to get to someone, right? This is something else I would investigate before booking with them. I have never seen or dealt with this before and did not know there was even a restriction. I have my husband call on his phone and choose new reservation thinking that maybe he can get through sooner than I can on the customer service line. He waits. The clock is ticking, and the flight is boarding. I pled with the agents to let us change the flight but even though there are 16 empty seats on the flight, there is nothing they can do since we booked through CC. After 20 minutes, my husband gets through to someone and I take the phone. Unfortunately, they are unable to do anything since it is the wrong department. I stress the urgency of the call hoping to get transfer immediately and he tells me that there are three people in line before me and “Good Luck”. With the doors closing, we give up, knowing we are sticking around the airport a few more hours because our booking company would not answer the phone. Thanks, CheapCaribbean. Disappointing start, disappointing finish.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Been on hold for HOURS!

    • By Lori M.,
    • Punta Cana, Dominican Republic,
    • Jun 28, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    Just hope you don’t have to make any changes when booking - we have been on the phone hours to try and get more information to switch to another destination! I think we started at 560 min! With what is happening in Punta Cana - we want to change and can’t get a specialist to find out info!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Never again!

    • By A M.,
    • Chicago, IL,
    • Jun 20, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    Service and honesty in ratings have gone into the toilet. They are pretty much impossible to contact over the phone if you have questions or issues unless you enjoy waiting for 60 minutes or more on hold. Booking? They’re answering right away! As far as the hotel goes, they have it as a 4-star rating and I would give it a two. Safe broken, refrigerator not working, cigarette burns in the furniture, shower floor not clean, main pool closed for renovation (lovely sounds from the drilling), no coffee in room, no room service, no wireless by the pool (spotty at best elsewhere). Just expected better for the price I paid. Very disappointed and will not use their services again.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • CheapCaribbean will never get my business again!

    • By Terrie C.,
    • North Dakota,
    • Jun 7, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    I had booked a Cancun Vacation for me and my daughter for her graduation from college. It was a great vacation!

    But the second trip I booked was a nightmare. I was having surgery in Cancun so I booked flight and resort through CheapCaribbean. The hotel was El Cid. I knew when I arrived there. I had made a mistake. High pressure to buy a timeshare. After my surgery, I needed to rest and stayed in my room due to my face bandages. My escort bought me a floppy hat and I had scarves to wear until my bandages were removed. I decided to go out to the beach. As I was walking one of the resort workers was trying to sell a timeshare to a lady. They walked by me and the worker said "you will never see anything weird here," looked at me and said "except that," referring to me. And laughed. I was mad to be made fun of. In the lobby, a woman approached everyone who came in about timeshares. She was loud, acted like she was important, very phony. As I was walking through the lobby I heard her say in Spanish loud to the staff at the counter "Well, I've talked to everyone but one person," and she yelled my name. I had told CheapCaribbean my plans and what exactly I needed when booking with them. She said this would be perfect for what I needed. It wasn't. Book your trip with someone else.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Awesome service

    • By Cathy T.,
    • Williamson, NY,
    • Apr 11, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    I just wanted to give a big thank you to Stephen Bennett. He was very patient, answered every question, and went out of his way to provide outstanding service. Totally appreciated his friendliness and thoroughness! Will definitely call him again for our next trip! Thanks Steve!

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend


  • Quality of CheapCaribbean

    • By Lucille R.,
    • Stamford, CT,
    • Mar 19, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    I just utilized CheapCaribbean for the first time in February 2019 for the first time to fly into the Melia all Inclusive Resort in the Bahamas for my daughter who turned 50. Our agent helped us from November to February, he was very accessible, gave me his direct number, also answered in a very timely manner via email. I would recommend CheapCaribbean again, and we shall call them again (Jason) for our next vacation. One should keep in mind that customer service agents, they are all different...some put their all into it and some may not!

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend


  • Great experience

    • By Twyla V.,
    • Portland, OR,
    • Jan 15, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    CheapCaribbean is great! The customer service is amazing! I have booked three trips through them now and recommend them to everyone! I recommend spending the extra money and getting a direct flight because the layovers are often long. I also recommend buying the airport transfers. I have never gotten the trip insurance, I’ve always felt like it’s not worth it. I’ve never had any problems with my trips where I needed it!

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend


  • Worst customer service

    • By Worst E.,
    • New York,
    • Nov 16, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    I had a credit I needed to use, called them 30 days prior to travel. They said I could not use my flight credit. I called the airline and they said it’s with the booking agent. I called them back and they said there is nothing they can do, give them a few days to work it out. A few days later still not worked out. 19 days later still not worked out. They will do everything to not give you a straight answer. It’s now three days until my vacation, and I am not booked to go anywhere. Do NOT use this website!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Total scam

    • By Julie B.,
    • Wisconsin,
    • Sep 7, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    Do not use, total scam. I booked 4-star resort and got a 2-star. The place was horrible. CheapCarribean said well, then why did you book the deal of fortune? My husband has waited 20 years to take this trip. We knew before we wanted to change hotels just based on reviews, but CheapCarribean wanted a fortune to change and wanted to charge us more for a lesser resort.

    This is a scam. You are not saving money through them, you are getting taken. Run far. We stayed at Sunscape, which CheapCarribean says is 4-star, but it is a very run down place and needs lots of updating. The air in my kid's room didn't work. The air in our room made puddles on the floor and we had to listen to it dripping in a bucket all night. We were only allowed two towels for three in a room, and don't ask for more toilet paper, it takes hours and multiple calls for them to come. People are crabby at the resort. NO Jamaica experience there at all. The food is gross.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Bad planning on their part

    • By William D.,
    • Hatboro, PA,
    • Aug 27, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    We went to Belize for a week. We flew from Philadelphia to Atlanta and Atlanta to Belize City. Ok. We were to stay in Hopkins Bay. My girlfriend paid for ground transportation from the airport to the hotel. Upon arriving in Belize City, we were informed we would need to take a whole extra plane to get to Dangriga and then we also had to arrange a ride from Dangriga to the hotel. This caused an additional 2-hour delay. The fact that CheapCarribean didn't even tell us about a third flight, which was chaotic and stressful. When we left the hotel, of course, the same scenario applied and even more disappointing was that we had the additional charge of $390 that was supposed to be covered. Not so "Cheap!" Never again with CheapCarribean. They suck!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • CheapCaribbean was great!

    • By Gemma V.,
    • New York,
    • Jul 5, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    I booked a standard all-inclusive to Punta Cana over the phone with CheapCaribbean. I heard from friends to use this service but was nervous based on the negative reviews online.

    5/5 stars - we got exactly what was booked, including direct flights, airport transport, and the resort itself. We did not purchase any upgrades or premium memberships, so we had no disappointments when we arrived. I recommend this service, especially if you can call them and book through them. Make sure to ask questions and share your requests (quiet room, pool view, etc) as they can help you get that. Do not be afraid of the negative reviews!

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend


  • Buyer beware

    Overall Experience:

    We booked a trip to the Westin Playa Conchal in Costa Rica. The airfare prices "went up" in the middle of our booking, so we had to pay extra. We paid $282 for transfers from the airport to the resort and back. Amstar, the third party who actually provided the transfer, took us to the Riu, the wrong resort, instead of and in the opposite direction of the Westin.

    Our flight arrived at about 1:00 pm, so we planned to have a late lunch at the resort and spend the rest of the afternoon familiarizing ourselves with the property. We spent several hours in the van and were not offered a bathroom, a drink, or a snack. We lost a half day of our vacation.

    Amstar notified CheapCaribbean of the error, but neither company was responsive to telephone calls and email. No refund, voucher, nothing.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Disaster!

    Overall Experience:

    To all interested in attempting to achieve a great vacation, buyer beware. It started with a dream in January and ended with a nightmare in September.

    A package booked with hotel and air for a somewhat reasonable price at a wonderful resort in Aruba, turned out to be the worst choice in trusting a company to assist in a vacation destination. The day of the flight, after nine months of saving, planning, and preparation, a message from the airline of a delayed flight due to mechanical issues prohibited us from making a connecting flight to our destination. The flight was delayed for over twelve hours with no backup plan or intent for helping the consumer.

    When contacting the company, zero compassion was offered other than "sorry," and I was advised to contact the insurance company for support. We also completed complaints to the airline who refunded the travel company the amount of the flights but told us at best if the insurance doesn't work out, we might be given a voucher for a future vacation but will NEVER see any refund in terms of cash!

    What mistake did I make by trusting such an outfit as CheapCaribbean. The name should have clued me in; shame on me. If you choose to make the same choice, shame on you.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Terrible customer service

    • By Rosemary Smith,
    • Punta Cana, Dominican Republic,
    • Sep 21, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    I recently went to Riu Palace in Punta Cana on a 5-day, 4-night vacation. I highly recommended CheapCaribbean to four other couples we were traveling with since we had used them before and never had a problem.

    When booking our reservation, we made sure to use the credit card associated with the airline we were flying with to avail ourselves of free baggage. Little did we know that CheapCaribbean did not use our cards to book our trip, they use their card. Needless to say, there were ten very unhappy customers checking in at the airport. We tried to straighten the situation out with airline personnel but were unsuccessful. Having no choice, we paid the baggage fees which also were charged for our return trip. Figured we would straighten things out with our booking agent when we returned to the US.

    So we arrive at the hotel for check-in, and although clearly stated on our receipts to group rooms together, we were scattered about. The hotel claimed they were not aware of the request. Tried reaching out to CheapCaribbean to no avail.

    When we returned home, we tried contacting our agent, he was useless, put a call to customer service which went directly to voicemail. I left a minimum of 5 messages and finally stated I would contact local news station if I did not get a return call within 24 hours. I was contacted and after many unpleasant words with the representative who told me to contact the airline and my credit card company to ask for a one-time credit for baggage charges. She then said she would credit each couple's account with a $100 credit. I told her not to bother, no chance in this lifetime I would ever use or recommend CheapCaribbean.

    I had used them in the past and never had an issue. Very embarrassed by my recommendation to our friends after the treatment we received. I would not recommend this company to my worst enemy and feel they did nothing to restore good faith.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • A-OK

    • By Joe,
    • Pittsburgh, PA,
    • Aug 30, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    We booked a vacation in 2016 to the United State Virgin Islands. It went perfectly. We will use the site again for our next group trip. The prices seem to vary wildly from one day's search to the next, but the resort we have our eye on seems to be cheaper from CheapCaribbean.com than the resort directly.

    I'm sorry that some other reviewers had a bad experience, and we hope not to run into any similar problems. So far, our experience has been perfect.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend


  • Great website

    • By Anastasia,
    • Minnesota,
    • Apr 14, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    I have used CheapCaribbean for my last three vacations, and everything has always gone smoothly, and the transfers were also fast and easy. The only thing I didn't like is that we were on hold for about an hour to reach customer service.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend


  • Buyer beware when using CheapCaribbean.com

    • By Ken,
    • Pittsburgh, PA,
    • Mar 21, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    Beware if considering booking your travel through CheapCaribbean.com.

    They don't seem to have strong relationships with the hotels that they are booking for you. I spent extra money to reserve a "premium" room, only to have many of the amenities and add-on services not available during the entire stay. I called their Customer Service on Day #2 of a 5-day trip and have yet to hear back from them (more than a week later).

    They seem only interested in taking your money and not caring about what is promised or helping rectify any issues.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Mexico vacation

    Overall Experience:

    I will never order a vacation package from CheapCaribbean again. We stayed at the Oasis Lite in Cancun Mexico with another couple that had the same experience with the company.

    I was told I would have a ride from the Cancun Airport to the resort, but that didn't happen. I was told that the food was amazing, but I've been sick the whole trip and the past three days that I've been home. The drinks are so watered-down that you have to drink a lot to get a buzz, and then you don't feel good from all the fluid intake that you don't want to drink anymore because you're bloated.

    They told me I would be safe, but I found the drug cartel at the beach and at the front entrance of the resort on the beach. They told me there would be a King size bed, but that didn't happen and we got Double beds instead. I was told I was getting a beautiful room, but that didn't happen since there were used beer bottles hanging around, dirty bathroom with hair and streak marks on the toilet, dirty walls with painted unfinished, etc.

    After complaining for two hours of the condition of the room with no help from CheapCaribbean, because they told me their hands are tied. I've never been so disappointed or sad before on a vacation. Never again.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Never again

    • By John Tuffo ,
    • Boston, Massachusetts ,
    • Dec 10, 2016
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    I emailed CheapCaribbean to tell them that the beach to my resort was closed all week. First, they basically called me a liar but I emailed them a letter from the resort and they offered to take $100 off my next trip with them. That's less than 1/10th of what I paid.

    I called when I got home and talked to Melanie. She was rude and told me that I was looking for my money back and that was not the case.

    I'm sure that things in the Caribbean are pretty good most of the time but if things go wrong and you use CheapCaribbean.com, they will not help you.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • False Advertising - Buyer Beware

    • By Lindita K,
    • Ossining, NY,
    • Aug 29, 2016
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    I was in the process of booking The Premium Junior Suite Ocean View for the Secrets Playa Mujeres Resort in Cancun, Mexico, and when I clicked to pay, the flight was no longer available within just a few seconds. Their site shows when there are only a few tickets left, and there was no notification for this at all. The next best departing flight was an additional $80 per person. Therefore, I was forced to purchase the more expensive airfare which was scheduled to leave earlier than the departing flight I was originally in the process of booking.

    After purchasing the trip, I checked other vacation sites because I was disappointed in how their prices jumped up immediately. Their site almost seems to be a bait and switch. I went to AppleVacation.com and I found the same exact room and flight for $149.82 less than their price. In addition, AppleVacation also includes a free round trip transportation to and from the resort, $400 in coupons, and you have the option to select your airline seats. This is my first time booking with CheapCarribean, so they were offering a $100 coupon which I never received in time for my booking. I have yet to receive the email by the way.

    I have been on the phone waiting to speak to someone for over an hour about cancelling or price matching, but when I called on a second line to book a trip I got an immediate response. The company's priority is to book, so they intentionally make the cancelation process extremely difficult and will consistently blame their sites maintenance for all their issues.

    After waiting for over an hour and the first person was completely helpless, I decided to ask to be transferred to a supervisor. The supervisor told me that I would not be able to price match and receive their $100 first time credit that was promised, so be sure to read their fine print on their website about coupons and price matching. While I was on the phone with the supervisor for almost half an hour, I was checking travel comparison sites and noticed the same exact trip, including airfare, dropped by $250. I thought this was an error since I had just booked the same exact trip, but when I looked up the trip again through CheapCarribean, it had in fact dropped by $250. Therefore, had I not checked and waited on the phone for two more hours, I would have been stuck paying that much extra. While speaking to her, I asked how a dramatic change like that is possible and again, it was blamed on their website maintenance.

    I never received our trip confirmation, and never received the $100 coupon. When we called the next day to ask why, they again blamed it on the site maintenance. In total, I have spent over four hours on the phone with CheapCarribean (mostly on hold). I subsequently found out that the AeroMexico flight that I was taking was chartered through AppleVacation and I may not be able to sit with my significant other since we are not guaranteed seats.

    The booking process with CheapCarribean has been a hassle to say the least, but at least you have the option to split your payment. I guess (one star for them). As their site states while selecting rooms, "This room is similar to the Junior Suite Ocean View but offers more space..." for $35 more per person. I was curious in how much more space the room had in comparison, so I checked the hotel website and contacted the hotel directly. The website states that both rooms are 602 square feet and when we contacted the resort they said the same about size of the room and that the layout was identical.

    Overall, I would recommend to stay away from CheapCarribean.com as their prices may be cheap, but the headache, frustration and lost time will surely makeup for their "cheaper?" rates. Their customer service never even accepted responsibility or apologized and merely blamed all these issues on site difficulties that occur past 12:00 AM. Meanwhile, we had booked our trip several hours before, but were on hold waiting to speak to a representative until past midnight. This became a three day process.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Wyndham V Samana

    • By David,
    • Portland, Maine,
    • Jun 17, 2016
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    Workers work 16 hour shifts at least 5 or 6 days a week. Gym attendant would not even look up from his phone when you came in to greet you. So customer service is sketchy at best. Good gym, great food, great beds, great beach, shallow pool, lucky if it is 3 and a half feet deep. The parties are for the staff, not the guests, who probably don't want to listen to jungle music and "I love the coco". Couples resort. Good titanium tennis rackets. Great BLT's.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend


Showing 1-23 of 23

Write a Review for CheapCaribbean!

Share your experience to help others discover great products!

Write a Review
CheapCaribbean