About CheapCaribbean

By HighYa Research Team
Published on: May 22, 2014

As self-proclaimed “beach vacation experts,” CheapCaribbean claims to provide the best vacation deals to the Caribbean and Mexico, as well as unbeatable prices and unparalleled customer service.

CheapCaribbean also claims to provide reviews, photos, tips, and insider information about the hottest vacation spots that you won’t find anywhere else.

But should you use CheapCaribbean to plan your next getaway? We examine its claims to help you make an informed decision.

CheapCaribbean Details

CheapCaribbean claims to use technology that scans thousands of flight and hotel prices for your preferred dates and to displays the lowest fares, which include round trip airfare on major airlines.

On top of the hottest deals, CheapCaribbean also claims to feature only legitimate customer reviews on their website, which are verified prior to being posted.

When looking for your next Caribbean or Mexican vacation, the CheapCaribbean website features the following sections:

  • Deals & Packages – All-inclusive resorts, last-minute deals, and more.
  • Destinations – Mexico, the Dominican Republic, Bahamas, and other Caribbean destinations.
  • Resorts – Top-selling resorts, or search by interest (e.g. family friendly, honeymoon, best beach, etc.).
  • Luxury – Top chains, spas, luxury villas, golf, and more.
  • Cruises – Search by a specific cruise line, destinations, deals, and more.

In addition to these sections, you can also search for hotels and/or flights from different airports, or by specific departure and return dates, the number of rooms, and more.

Once you’ve found a vacation package you’d like to purchase and have completed the process, CheapCaribbean claims to take care of everything, including booking your flight and hotel rooms.

CheapCaribbean Pricing and Refund Policy

Due to the nature of the packages provided by CheapCaribbean.com, vacations can cost as little as a couple of hundred dollars, to several thousand.

The company claims that anything displayed on their website is the full price you’ll pay, less any upgrades chosen by you and that there are no hidden fees. However, keep in mind of other miscellaneous charges (such as airline baggage fees) may not be reflected in these prices.

CheapCaribbean claims that by “signing up for exclusive deals,” you can receive $50 off your first online package purchase and that you have the ability to make payments on your purchase. However, the full amount is due no later than 21 days prior to your departure.

If you’re concerned about finding lower prices elsewhere online, CheapCaribbean claims to match prices with any other U.S.-based travel website within 24 hours of your booking, in addition to a $150 voucher that can be used on your next CheapCaribbean vacation.

In fact, CheapCaribbean provides an SPF100 guarantee that provides you with a $100 voucher if you experience any rain during your trip.

Like most travel companies, CheapCaribbean also offers Standard and Enhanced travel protection insurance in case something unforeseen happens before or during your vacation.

CheapCaribbean’s refund policy is fairly detailed and wholly depends on the circumstances surrounding the refund request.

However, based on many of the customer reviews we read during our research (see more about this in the following section), the vast majority of honored refunds appear to be in the form of vouchers, not in monetary compensation.

In order to inquire about CheapCaribbean’s refund policy, or to ask any other questions you may have, you can contact the company’s U.S.-based customer service team at 800-915-2322.

What Do Other Consumers Have to Say About CheapCaribbean?

CheapCaribbean.com. Inc. is based out of Doylestown, PA and has been in business since 2000. It was named as Inc. Magazine's Top 5000 Fastest Growing Private Companies in America in 2013. The company also has offices in Dallas, TX and Phoenix, AZ.

CheapCaribbean.com has an A+ rating with the Better Business Bureau, despite having more than 100 closed complaints over the past three years. Most of these appear to reference difficulty booking trips (e.g. cancelled flights, incorrect travel dates, etc.) and poor resort experiences (more about this in the following section).

Outside of the BBB, most online customer complaints appear to be much the same, with the addition of difficulty reaching a CheapCaribbean representative for help while on vacation, poor customer service, and frequently overbooked hotels.

What’s the Bottom Line About CheapCaribbean.com?

While CheapCaribbean seems to offer good package deals to Caribbean and Mexican vacation destinations, there are a few important factors you should keep in mind prior to booking your trip:

First, the prices displayed on the CheapCaribbean website can change rapidly (even within an hour), so if you find a good deal that you’re interested in, make sure to book your trip as soon as possible. With this said, your airline reservations are made the minute booking, so it’s doubly important to make sure you’re ready to take the trip when finalizing your purchase.

Second, understand that CheapCaribbean only sells the resort and airline tickets, and anything that occurs outside of this agreement is beyond their control.

As such, if your flight is delayed, canceled or the resort is overbooked, it can greatly complicate the process (e.g. vouchers from the airline which are not redeemable through CheapCaribbean, etc.).

With this in mind, we read numerous customer reviews complaining that if something like this occurs, even if you’ve already flown to your destination, you may be essentially on your own to figure out a solution.

In fact, we read more than one review where customers were forced to drive long distances and pay for different hotel rooms out of their own pockets, without any help from CheapCaribbean, and without being offered any kind of compensation.

Even if you do manage to obtain compensation from the company, it will almost always be in the form of vouchers to use on future trips from CheapCaribbean, which could be problematic if you had a poor experience to begin with.

Next, perhaps the biggest complaint we found regarding CheapCaribbean is their lack of proper customer support. In instances like the one described above, countless customers complained that the company’s customer service reps displayed an “oh well, hope you get this sorted out” kind of attitude.

Bottom line: Despite some concerns regarding poor customer service, CheapCaribbean appears to offer Caribbean and Mexican vacation packages at steep discounts, which may be suitable for budget-conscious individuals and families.

However, before booking your vacation, you may want to find out if a local travel agent will price match. Ultimately, this could give you the best of both worlds; lower fares and better/more reliable customer service.


Read 21 CheapCaribbean Customer Reviews and Complaints

Write a Review
Average Customer Rating: 2.3
Rating Snapshot:
5 star: 6 4 star: 1 3 star: 0 2 star: 1 1 star:  13
Bottom Line: 33% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 1-11 of 21
Sort reviews by:

  • 0 out 1 people found this review helpful

    Trust but verify!

    • Connecticut,
    • Jul 29, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    My husband and I called CheapCaribbean (CC for the rest of this review) to book a trip to the Bahamas in June. We have used CC in the past and we wanted to stay at the same place we did the last two times, the Breezes Bahamas. We did not even think to look at their website since we had been there before. We told the booking agent what we wanted, including the fact that we were looking for a place for adults to relax. She found the hotel and booked our trip. Easy, we are all set! Not so fast...

    We get to the Breezes Bahamas at noon, no problem. Our room is not ready yet, so we say "No problem," we can wait at the beach. During this conversation, the counter agent asked us if we were told that there were going to be a lot of kids there. WHAT?! NO, we were not told, nor do we want anything to do with a lot of kids running around. What is going on, we asked. He points to a large banner out front. It is "Grad Week" and the resort is full of 16-18-year-olds! As we were discussing it with the counter agent, a bus full of 100+ teenagers pull up and they start piling out. THIS WILL NOT WORK! The only kids we want to see have four legs and are waiting for scraps under our breakfast table! This is not the mature adult relaxing atmosphere we were looking forward to. More like Spring Break on steroids!

    We proceed to call CC and wait and wait and wait for someone to pick up the hold line. I explain the situation and the agent on the line tells me that they were not aware of any "Grad Week" so it is not their fault and we will need to deal with it. How could they not know about it, I argue? She puts me on hold then comes back and says she pulled up their website and that there is nothing on the site about it. She repeats that there is nothing they can do, and we will just need to deal with it. Did I mention that I had to move four times in order to find a quiet place where I could hear the agent?

    While I am on hold, my husband has found the resort manager. I tell her what CC said and she verified what I knew in the first place. They tell all their partners when their events are over a year in advance and it is posted on their website. I pull up their website on my phone and there it is - Grad Week is held May-June 2019. We would have seen this if we looked at the site, but instead, we depended on our travel company to make us aware of these types of events.

    The manager was very understanding and told us if we did not check in, she would release our room and we would not be obligated to pay. That’s great but now what?

    I call CC back and am on hold for eternity until someone answers. I tell them who I am and had to repeat the entire situation. They put me on hold again, so I wait on hold, wasting international phone minutes and a beautiful afternoon in the Bahamas.

    After three more hold times, I am finally told they will try to find us another place to stay and do I know what places are around there. Isn’t that their job? Luckily, I am familiar with the area and told them two resorts that I knew of close by.

    After three hours of waiting to hear back, they call to tell me that they can get us into the resort next door for the same price we paid, but it is not all-inclusive. This won’t work because we were not expecting to pay for all our meals and drinks and do not wish to do so now. I tell her we will wait to hear from the all-inclusive one.

    Another hour goes by and we finally get the call saying we have a room at that Melia but that we will have to pay $180. I argue with the agent until finally they agree to cover the cost.

    It is 7 pm by the time we take a cab to the Melia. Our first day is wasted because of a simple detail that CC knew about and tried to act like they didn’t. I do have to say that the Melia is AWESOME and we will be staying there the next time we travel to the Bahamas. Much more sophisticated with free paddle boards which we thoroughly enjoyed. AND no drunk teenagers puking in the pool or smoking inside the building. Finally, vacation can begin.

    So, the review has a happy ending, right? Not so fast...

    On the 4:30 PM return flight home, I find out that we could catch an earlier flight in our connecting city. We got off the plane and head to the gate where the earlier flight would be leaving. No problem the counter agent said. There would be a $25 per person change fee. $25 beats waiting in Charlotte for almost four hours. I give her my credit card and there is a problem. The system is not allowing her to change the flight. Why? Because it was booked through CC. The only way we can make a change is to go through CC. Oh boy.

    I make the call and I wait. And wait. And wait. We have an hour before the flight leaves, I should be able to get to someone, right? This is something else I would investigate before booking with them. I have never seen or dealt with this before and did not know there was even a restriction. I have my husband call on his phone and choose new reservation thinking that maybe he can get through sooner than I can on the customer service line. He waits. The clock is ticking, and the flight is boarding. I pled with the agents to let us change the flight but even though there are 16 empty seats on the flight, there is nothing they can do since we booked through CC. After 20 minutes, my husband gets through to someone and I take the phone. Unfortunately, they are unable to do anything since it is the wrong department. I stress the urgency of the call hoping to get transfer immediately and he tells me that there are three people in line before me and “Good Luck”. With the doors closing, we give up, knowing we are sticking around the airport a few more hours because our booking company would not answer the phone. Thanks, CheapCaribbean. Disappointing start, disappointing finish.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • Been on hold for HOURS!

    • Punta Cana, Dominican Republic,
    • Jun 28, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    Just hope you don’t have to make any changes when booking - we have been on the phone hours to try and get more information to switch to another destination! I think we started at 560 min! With what is happening in Punta Cana - we want to change and can’t get a specialist to find out info!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • Never again!

    • Chicago, IL,
    • Jun 20, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    Service and honesty in ratings have gone into the toilet. They are pretty much impossible to contact over the phone if you have questions or issues unless you enjoy waiting for 60 minutes or more on hold. Booking? They’re answering right away! As far as the hotel goes, they have it as a 4-star rating and I would give it a two. Safe broken, refrigerator not working, cigarette burns in the furniture, shower floor not clean, main pool closed for renovation (lovely sounds from the drilling), no coffee in room, no room service, no wireless by the pool (spotty at best elsewhere). Just expected better for the price I paid. Very disappointed and will not use their services again.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • CheapCaribbean will never get my business again!

    • North Dakota,
    • Jun 7, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I had booked a Cancun Vacation for me and my daughter for her graduation from college. It was a great vacation!

    But the second trip I booked was a nightmare. I was having surgery in Cancun so I booked flight and resort through CheapCaribbean. The hotel was El Cid. I knew when I arrived there. I had made a mistake. High pressure to buy a timeshare. After my surgery, I needed to rest and stayed in my room due to my face bandages. My escort bought me a floppy hat and I had scarves to wear until my bandages were removed. I decided to go out to the beach. As I was walking one of the resort workers was trying to sell a timeshare to a lady. They walked by me and the worker said "you will never see anything weird here," looked at me and said "except that," referring to me. And laughed. I was mad to be made fun of. In the lobby, a woman approached everyone who came in about timeshares. She was loud, acted like she was important, very phony. As I was walking through the lobby I heard her say in Spanish loud to the staff at the counter "Well, I've talked to everyone but one person," and she yelled my name. I had told CheapCaribbean my plans and what exactly I needed when booking with them. She said this would be perfect for what I needed. It wasn't. Book your trip with someone else.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 1 out 1 people found this review helpful

    Awesome service

    • Williamson, NY,
    • Apr 11, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I just wanted to give a big thank you to Stephen Bennett. He was very patient, answered every question, and went out of his way to provide outstanding service. Totally appreciated his friendliness and thoroughness! Will definitely call him again for our next trip! Thanks Steve!

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 3 out 3 people found this review helpful

    Quality of CheapCaribbean

    • Stamford, CT,
    • Mar 19, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I just utilized CheapCaribbean for the first time in February 2019 for the first time to fly into the Melia all Inclusive Resort in the Bahamas for my daughter who turned 50. Our agent helped us from November to February, he was very accessible, gave me his direct number, also answered in a very timely manner via email. I would recommend CheapCaribbean again, and we shall call them again (Jason) for our next vacation. One should keep in mind that customer service agents, they are all different...some put their all into it and some may not!

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 2 out 2 people found this review helpful

    Great experience

    • Portland, OR,
    • Jan 15, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    CheapCaribbean is great! The customer service is amazing! I have booked three trips through them now and recommend them to everyone! I recommend spending the extra money and getting a direct flight because the layovers are often long. I also recommend buying the airport transfers. I have never gotten the trip insurance, I’ve always felt like it’s not worth it. I’ve never had any problems with my trips where I needed it!

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 1 out 2 people found this review helpful

    Worst customer service

    • New York,
    • Nov 16, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I had a credit I needed to use, called them 30 days prior to travel. They said I could not use my flight credit. I called the airline and they said it’s with the booking agent. I called them back and they said there is nothing they can do, give them a few days to work it out. A few days later still not worked out. 19 days later still not worked out. They will do everything to not give you a straight answer. It’s now three days until my vacation, and I am not booked to go anywhere. Do NOT use this website!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 5 out 6 people found this review helpful

    Total scam

    • Wisconsin,
    • Sep 7, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    Do not use, total scam. I booked 4-star resort and got a 2-star. The place was horrible. CheapCarribean said well, then why did you book the deal of fortune? My husband has waited 20 years to take this trip. We knew before we wanted to change hotels just based on reviews, but CheapCarribean wanted a fortune to change and wanted to charge us more for a lesser resort.

    This is a scam. You are not saving money through them, you are getting taken. Run far. We stayed at Sunscape, which CheapCarribean says is 4-star, but it is a very run down place and needs lots of updating. The air in my kid's room didn't work. The air in our room made puddles on the floor and we had to listen to it dripping in a bucket all night. We were only allowed two towels for three in a room, and don't ask for more toilet paper, it takes hours and multiple calls for them to come. People are crabby at the resort. NO Jamaica experience there at all. The food is gross.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 4 out 5 people found this review helpful

    Bad planning on their part

    • Hatboro, PA,
    • Aug 27, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    We went to Belize for a week. We flew from Philadelphia to Atlanta and Atlanta to Belize City. Ok. We were to stay in Hopkins Bay. My girlfriend paid for ground transportation from the airport to the hotel. Upon arriving in Belize City, we were informed we would need to take a whole extra plane to get to Dangriga and then we also had to arrange a ride from Dangriga to the hotel. This caused an additional 2-hour delay. The fact that CheapCarribean didn't even tell us about a third flight, which was chaotic and stressful. When we left the hotel, of course, the same scenario applied and even more disappointing was that we had the additional charge of $390 that was supposed to be covered. Not so "Cheap!" Never again with CheapCarribean. They suck!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 3 out 5 people found this review helpful

    CheapCaribbean was great!

    • New York,
    • Jul 5, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I booked a standard all-inclusive to Punta Cana over the phone with CheapCaribbean. I heard from friends to use this service but was nervous based on the negative reviews online.

    5/5 stars - we got exactly what was booked, including direct flights, airport transport, and the resort itself. We did not purchase any upgrades or premium memberships, so we had no disappointments when we arrived. I recommend this service, especially if you can call them and book through them. Make sure to ask questions and share your requests (quiet room, pool view, etc) as they can help you get that. Do not be afraid of the negative reviews!

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

Showing 1-11 of 21

Write a Review for CheapCaribbean!

Share your experience to help others shop smarter & discover great products.

Write a Review