Start your review of Chime Banking:
  • 536 Customer Reviews
  • 78% Recommend This Company
4.0 out of 5
5 star: 69% 4 star: 7% 3 star: 0% 2 star: 1% 1 star: 21%

 Our Promise to You

To safeguard you and ensure helpfulness and relevance, our compliance team manually assess every customer review before it goes live.

We have a zero-tolerance policy for fake reviews, and companies cannot control or alter any reviews at any time.

Sort reviews by:

  • Scam

    • By Reginald W.,
    • Georgia,
    • May 26, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    They have this refer a friend bonus that you're supposed to get $25-$50 when you refer a friend to join Chime. The thing about it is that when your friend opens their account and receives their first deposit, NEITHER one of you gets the bonus. These people are literally using its members to gain more members and then tell you that you did something wrong. Meantime in between time, they gain another member, and you and your friend get the short end of the stick. Do NOT refer people to this bank!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Horrendous experience

    • By Melissa B.,
    • Charleston, SC,
    • Jul 20, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    I have had a Chime Bank account since May of 2018, so about two months, and the only positive experience I have had is getting my direct deposit a day early. Chime says they work with Venmo, but Venmo does not recognize them.

    When I contacted Chime about this discrepancy, they responded that it is Venmo's fault and that I should tell them some banking mumbo jumbo, and that will fix the issue. It did not. Venmo DOES NOT recognize Chime Bank, and Chime still promotes themselves as if it does. That is one less way I can retrieve my money.

    They recently added mobile check deposit which worked for my first three checks. They do not deposit all of the money at once, but in increments instead. One check I deposited was for $360 and gave me $200 three days later, and the remaining $160 an additional one or two days after that, I cannot remember exactly.

    This week, I tried to deposit my paycheck and they accepted it, only to send me an email a few hours later stating that they were unable to verify it. That's it, no reason given. What really irks me is that I was told I could not attempt to submit my check again and that my only option was to cash it, and that just does not work for me. I do not want hundreds of dollars in cash when I want them in my bank account!

    Try getting ahold of an actual person? Good luck. I have sent numerous emails with issues I have had, and not once has any of my issues been resolved. Want to change your address on file? You have to email the support team. Well, they didn't change my address. Want to change your PIN code? You have to email the support team. They haven't changed my PIN code. I have attempted to contact them to close my accounts with them, and they have not gotten back to me on that either so I am a little irate with this company to say the least.

    I WOULD NOT recommend ever using this bank. It will make you want to tear your hair out.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Stay away!

    • By Hannah P.,
    • Daytona Beach, FL,
    • Aug 27, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    Let me start this off by saying, I am NEVER rude or short with customer service staff, wait staff, etc. However, when it involves my money, my livelihood, it’s serious. The first issue I had was my account getting locked for no reason, and customer service REFUSING to do anything to help. Just said, “well, sorry, gotta wait 24 hours!” Are you kidding me? Do these people not understand that rent has to be paid on time? There was no reason whatsoever to lock my access to my money, and I had no other sources at that time.

    What really broke it with me was the rejection of a money order via the mobile deposit. They force you to write “for mobile deposit to Chime only” on the endorsement, so if it gets rejected, guess what? Haha, screw you! This was the only time in my life I have EVER raised my voice, cursed and screamed at a CSR. They had absolutely nothing helpful to say, just that it wasn’t their fault and they could not help. Seriously? In the app, it forces you to acknowledge you wrote: “for mobile deposit to Chime only”! It’s within the Chime app, how is it not your fault? And sometimes that service would go down, and they would tell you to use an app for a “small fee” to cash your check. Well, that company wanted to charge me $70 to cash it. I don’t think so.

    They got me roped in with the 2-day early paycheck deposit, and I liked the push notifications with every transaction but that is absolutely NOT worth the nightmare, that is their complete and utter inconsiderate, unprofessional practices. STAY AWAY! If I could give Chime zero stars I would!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • A waste of time!

    • By Rafael A.,
    • Massachusetts,
    • Sep 6, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    On my first day of using my debit card I loaded $450.00 on my account. I went to an ATM to withdraw money and wasn't able to. About two minutes later I received an email that my account has been closed! I call customer service and they say they can't help me, no information available. They can't even tell me what I did wrong for them to close my account. I'm back to my old bank. Don't waste your time with Chime, you'll get screwed. Now I have wait two weeks to get my $450 back, and I need to buy groceries. They are a waste of your time.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Dispute

    • By Mychael C.,
    • Georgia,
    • Oct 29, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    My times at come was so-so until I had money taken out of my account from unauthorized transactions while I was in Afghanistan. Chime failed to notify me or freeze my card, so I filed a dispute for the amount of $4500 that was taken, and every time I call they tell me there aren't any updates. I express to them they need to speed this process up, I have bills and things I need to take care of but can't because Chime is prolonging, but little do they know I have gotten my lawyers involved.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Beware of Chime's illegal practices

    • By Steve H.,
    • Ontario, CA,
    • Dec 27, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    Whatever you do, DO NOT join Chime! They are a scam. They use the fraudulent tactic of suspending your account without notice. You'll know when you try to make a purchase or withdraw cash at an ATM (look online about this and you'll see complaints all over the place). It happened to me, and when I called them, their barely breathing robot told me I have to email customer support. So, now my funds are held hostage until they decide to respond. This is the same tactic that NetSpend uses (also a GreenDot network company). They suspend accounts randomly and hope that you will not be so persistent to get your money back. They know that a certain percentage will just give up. Do not give up, file a Federal complaint with the Federal Reserve and banking regulators. They are held to a higher standard due to these regulations, it's just that not enough people are calling them on it. I should have read the online reviews about this fraudulent bank, but at least now I will inform everyone else about the scam.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • AVOID CHIME!

    • By LA R.,
    • Taft, OK,
    • Oct 5, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    Chime stole money from me! I opened an account 4/2019, used my debit card maybe 2-3 times in May/June and was basically using this as a savings/Xmas fund. I logged in only using the app and facial recognition on my phone. I originally opened the account using my web browser, but that was the only time. I logged in on 9/12 through the app using facial recognition and set up a $50 transfer (which would have taken 7 business days) from another bank to Chime, and there was $202.23 in the account. I had planned to use about $200 of that on the 16th, so just after midnight on the 16th, I logged in and there was only $2.23 (and 52 cents in the savings account)! There was a "pay friend transfer" that I did not recognize to a name that I’ve never heard of ("for drinks") without my knowledge nor consent, nor would I have authorized anything like this - they said it was another Chime member, but I don’t know a single person who has a Chime account, and $200 "for drinks."

    So I followed their instructions, logged in through the web browser, unlinked the account from my other bank, changed my password, turned off my debit card and initiated a dispute. I contacted my other bank and stopped all transfers to Chime. My other bank told me it could take 2-3 business days. I deliberately left my account at the other bank with a very low balance in case the stop payment didn’t go through in time, so that no additional funds could go to Chime. I filled out the paperwork and sent it all back immediately and filed a police report. I sent Chime any and all info they asked for and in a very timely manner - only to be told that the provisional credit wouldn’t be issued for 10 business days. Even though I’d put a stop payment on all activity from my other bank to Chime, Chime did still attempt to transfer the money but was unsuccessful because I deliberately made sure there were no funds available and my other bank refunded the NSF fee. Chime reps wouldn’t tell me any information on the fraudulent transfer, only a name I’ve never heard of - if my account was hacked, it would have had to be on a web browser, so there would be an IP address or other info on the transaction...but Chime reps are refusing to give me any information, refusing to issue the credit back to my account and are even refusing to cooperate with law enforcement! Reps lied to me, refused to tell me who their bosses and/or supervisors were.

    I transferred the 52 cents from the savings to the spending account, in hopes of being able to withdraw $200 as soon as possible and that the $2.77 would cover an ATM fee, I sent many, many messages through the chat feature on their app and after waiting more than 10 days I called this morning, 9/30, and escalated the call to someone who said they were the only manager in the building and he refused to tell me the name of his boss and wouldn’t give me a way to contact them, but he did assure me the provisional credit would be issued before midnight tonight (9/30)...he just kept refusing to tell me anything else.

    After hanging up with him, I called back and got a different rep who refused to even let me talk to a supervisor, but he too, assured me that the money would be back in my account "anytime during the day" today (9/30) - but they couldn’t transfer funds to my account or issue any credit, and there is no way for them to contact the dispute investigations department but he kept assuring me the money would be back in my account today but couldn’t tell me a time, just sometime before midnight. I kept checking throughout the day and heard nothing all day, no money back in my account and no messages. Then about 5:00 pm, I suddenly couldn’t log in to get any information, my facial recognition wasn’t working on the app and when I called the phone number I got a message that my account was closed! It wasn’t until about 30 minutes later that I got an email from Chime stating "Based on our investigation, we have concluded no error occurred. Therefore, no funds will be credited to your account and this claim is considered closed."

    Roughly 5 minutes later I got another email from Chime saying my account was closed! I tried to call but their phone bot wouldn’t let me past a message saying my account was closed! Chime is refusing, still, to provide me any of the information from their alleged investigation and still refusing to cooperate with law enforcement...not to mention, I can’t get back into the account and to remove MY personal information. I am unable to log into my now former account to get my account number or routing number. AVOID CHIME!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Refund process sucks

    • By Alexus H.,
    • San Diego, CA,
    • Jun 23, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    I was told by two reps if I submitted email confirmation of the refund being issued by the merchant, the funds would be released into my account. I submitted such proof only to be told I would still have to wait the typical 5-7 business days, which is ridiculous. I have a GoBank card and refunds appear the next day. I think I am done using Chime.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Worst experience ever

    • By Mike P.,
    • Syracuse, IN,
    • Oct 28, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    I wanted something simple with no hassle, but I got just the opposite. My account was compromised and I have major health issues as I am waiting on a dispute for $200.00. In the meantime, my power has been shut off, and I’m not able to take the medical treatments I am required. While writing this, I am currently on hold with this institution. Nobody is understandable when you call in and have little to no knowledge of how to solve a problem. I am starting a class action suit against them and want them out of business. I have waged three complaints with the Federal Reserve Board against them, many more people need to do the same.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Bad bank

    • By Soo L.,
    • New York,
    • Dec 1, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    This bank is a BS bank. Refer friends and get $50 bonus with their first direct deposit. Guess what? I never got a $50 bonus. I lost a card and a replacement card never came in. When I called in to close my account, they offered me to credit me with bonus money...I declined the offer and closed the account. My girlfriend, who is still using the card, went to an ATM to take money out. The ATM machine never gave her money and still took $160 out of her checking, which is still pending, but it's been seven business days with no money back in the account yet. As soon as money gets credited back in her account, it's time to close her account as well. Whatever you do, please stay far far away from this BS bank please!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Thieves

    • By Amy M.,
    • Kentucky,
    • Dec 19, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    This bank is a bunch of thieves! I made one deposit of $100. I sent my son $30 who has my same last name and then tried to use it for $4.64 and it got declined because they suspended my account due to suspicious activity. Four days later all they keep telling me is that their support team is working on it. They won't transfer you to a supervisor, and you can't talk to anyone on their support team. Bottom line is, there are no fees because they steal your money once they get it. Luckily I have an attorney that is going to take care of this matter and then some.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


Showing 12-22 of 536

Write a Review for Chime Banking!

Share your experience to help others discover great products!

Write a Review
Chime Banking