Read 414 Chime Banking Customer Reviews and Complaints (Page 3)

Write a Review
Average Customer Rating: 3.9
Rating Snapshot:
5 star: 269 4 star: 29 3 star: 5 2 star: 8 1 star:  103
Bottom Line: 73% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 23-33 of 414
Sort reviews by:

  • 0 out 1 people found this review helpful

    I love Chime!

    • Lake Luzerne, NY,
    • Oct 8, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I get my direct deposit 2 days earlier than any of my coworkers. It's so easy to use the app to keep track of my transactions. Transferring money to friends and family is so easy and quick. Having the SpotMe with no overdraft fees is amazing. I do wish there were in-network ATMs closer to me. I also would like to be able to get a 2nd card for my account for my wife. She does have her own Chime card that we transfer money to but it would be much easier with a second card for my account. But I do love Chime and I'm so glad I found this card!

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 0 out 1 people found this review helpful

    Wonderful

    • Kansas City, MO,
    • Oct 7, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    Chime Banking is amazing! I've had it for over a year and I'm completely satisfied with their services. I like how they don't have any fees for overdrafts. They will cover you if needed.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 1 out 3 people found this review helpful

    Great card

    • Minnesota,
    • Oct 6, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    Chime is a great card. I get paid two days early. I can save with every swipe plus have full access to my balance with the app. If I was you, I would get yours; you save great. From your card you can save 10% every check. Get you one.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 0 out 1 people found this review helpful

    Awesome banking alternative

    • Enfield, NH,
    • Oct 5, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    If you're sick of fees and overdraft fees from your bank for little mistakes and mismanagement of your funds, use Chime. They are very user-friendly and understanding and also give you options for cashback and keep the change saving options. Five stars all the way.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 7 out 8 people found this review helpful

    AVOID CHIME!

    • Taft, OK,
    • Oct 5, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    Chime stole money from me! I opened an account 4/2019, used my debit card maybe 2-3 times in May/June and was basically using this as a savings/Xmas fund. I logged in only using the app and facial recognition on my phone. I originally opened the account using my web browser, but that was the only time. I logged in on 9/12 through the app using facial recognition and set up a $50 transfer (which would have taken 7 business days) from another bank to Chime, and there was $202.23 in the account. I had planned to use about $200 of that on the 16th, so just after midnight on the 16th, I logged in and there was only $2.23 (and 52 cents in the savings account)! There was a "pay friend transfer" that I did not recognize to a name that I’ve never heard of ("for drinks") without my knowledge nor consent, nor would I have authorized anything like this - they said it was another Chime member, but I don’t know a single person who has a Chime account, and $200 "for drinks."

    So I followed their instructions, logged in through the web browser, unlinked the account from my other bank, changed my password, turned off my debit card and initiated a dispute. I contacted my other bank and stopped all transfers to Chime. My other bank told me it could take 2-3 business days. I deliberately left my account at the other bank with a very low balance in case the stop payment didn’t go through in time, so that no additional funds could go to Chime. I filled out the paperwork and sent it all back immediately and filed a police report. I sent Chime any and all info they asked for and in a very timely manner - only to be told that the provisional credit wouldn’t be issued for 10 business days. Even though I’d put a stop payment on all activity from my other bank to Chime, Chime did still attempt to transfer the money but was unsuccessful because I deliberately made sure there were no funds available and my other bank refunded the NSF fee. Chime reps wouldn’t tell me any information on the fraudulent transfer, only a name I’ve never heard of - if my account was hacked, it would have had to be on a web browser, so there would be an IP address or other info on the transaction...but Chime reps are refusing to give me any information, refusing to issue the credit back to my account and are even refusing to cooperate with law enforcement! Reps lied to me, refused to tell me who their bosses and/or supervisors were.

    I transferred the 52 cents from the savings to the spending account, in hopes of being able to withdraw $200 as soon as possible and that the $2.77 would cover an ATM fee, I sent many, many messages through the chat feature on their app and after waiting more than 10 days I called this morning, 9/30, and escalated the call to someone who said they were the only manager in the building and he refused to tell me the name of his boss and wouldn’t give me a way to contact them, but he did assure me the provisional credit would be issued before midnight tonight (9/30)...he just kept refusing to tell me anything else.

    After hanging up with him, I called back and got a different rep who refused to even let me talk to a supervisor, but he too, assured me that the money would be back in my account "anytime during the day" today (9/30) - but they couldn’t transfer funds to my account or issue any credit, and there is no way for them to contact the dispute investigations department but he kept assuring me the money would be back in my account today but couldn’t tell me a time, just sometime before midnight. I kept checking throughout the day and heard nothing all day, no money back in my account and no messages. Then about 5:00 pm, I suddenly couldn’t log in to get any information, my facial recognition wasn’t working on the app and when I called the phone number I got a message that my account was closed! It wasn’t until about 30 minutes later that I got an email from Chime stating "Based on our investigation, we have concluded no error occurred. Therefore, no funds will be credited to your account and this claim is considered closed."

    Roughly 5 minutes later I got another email from Chime saying my account was closed! I tried to call but their phone bot wouldn’t let me past a message saying my account was closed! Chime is refusing, still, to provide me any of the information from their alleged investigation and still refusing to cooperate with law enforcement...not to mention, I can’t get back into the account and to remove MY personal information. I am unable to log into my now former account to get my account number or routing number. AVOID CHIME!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 0 out 2 people found this review helpful

    Early direct deposit

    • Charlotte, NC,
    • Oct 5, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I originally got this card just to use Cash App cash, the bank I was using didn’t support the app. My job shortly after I opened my Chime account went paperless and made it mandatory to get direct deposit. I closed my Bank of America account and used my Chime account to get my paycheck AND, I get paid a day and a half sooner then I used to. I also don’t pay those dumb monthly maintenance fees or overdraft fees. Chime alerts me of my balance every morning and whenever my card is being used. The only thing I wish they could do is deposit cash. You can only deposit money electronically. And sometimes I have bills to pay and only have cash. Overall I highly recommend getting this card. It’s free, there’s absolutely ZERO FEES (my biggest problem at Bank of America), free checking and savings account! Huge plus for me. It was $12 a month just to have a savings account opened at BOA (unless you constantly have $1500 or more in there, which I never did). Honestly, I’ve written like 5 reviews in my life. But I just totally think they deserve this. Go Chime, y’all are awesome!

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • Chime

    • Wichita, KS,
    • Oct 5, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I would recommend Chime to everyone because I love everything about my Chime bank. Card payments are quickly posted, customer service is very helpful and quick to resolve any issues there might be. Basically, Chime is the quick, easy, and convenient way to go.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 3 out 3 people found this review helpful

    Horrible customer service

    • Brooklyn, NY,
    • Oct 5, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    Chime has horrible customer service. On 2 occasions I Cash Apped a friend some money and they never received it with instant cash out. I called Cash App and they confirmed it was my bank I needed to check with. I called Chime and they gave me the run-around. After speaking to 3 people and 2 managers, I did not receive my money back, leaving me short $150. On another occasion, I was refunded money from a store and Chime failed to show me that the money was refunded and put into my checking account. They also sent me an email saying money was refunded to my account but did not show up in my statement, and when I called about it, they said there was nothing they could do about it. Every time there is money removed from my account that is unauthorized, Chime does the bare minimum to help me.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • Best banking ever!

    • Detroit, MI,
    • Oct 4, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I have had Chime since they came out! And they have improved their service over the years. No overdraft fees, lock your card and even a savings account with no fees if you have a $0 balance! Chime offers SpotMe. If you don’t have enough to cover your purchase they will spot you the difference. And yes, no fee, just leave a tip if you want when your deposit repays it! Chime is for the young too! You can send your kids allowance to them with a touch of the button. It’s for the young and old!

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • The right choice

    • California,
    • Oct 4, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I have a small online business and for payments, I've tried several different prepaid cards. I didn't like any of them! Sometimes the card took more in fees than I had to deposit and so on. Then a Chime ad caught my eye and I thought I'd give it a chance. Best decision I've made so far! There are no fees, if you have to contact them it's easy, and the card can be used anywhere! Even online. I love Chime and plan to have a long relationship with them.

    Thank you!

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • It's simple and hassle-free

    • South Carolina,
    • Oct 3, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I've had Chime for about a year now and it's the best banking experience I've ever had.

    I get my paycheck before all of my coworkers. Our original payday is Tuesday, I get paid the Friday before. Checking your balance is a breeze and you get notified as soon as a deposit is made. I have 2 places that don't take prepaid cards as payment and they both accept Chime with no problem because it's an actual bank.

    I'm a person that liked Netspend's overdraft protection that only covered a reasonable overdraft and the fee was minimum compared to banks and you didn't have to pay a fee at all if you paid it back in 24 hours.

    Chime's SpotMe is even better because there is no fee. You can leave a tip, which I do at times, but it's not necessary.

    The only downside is how you can load cash but that's only because of how much green dot charges. Since I have direct deposit I don't have to load cash anymore.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

Showing 23-33 of 414

Write a Review for Chime Banking!

Share your experience to help others shop smarter & discover great products.

Write a Review