Start your review of Chime Banking:
  • 509 Customer Reviews
  • 76% Recommend This Company
4.0 out of 5
5 star: 67% 4 star: 7% 3 star: 0% 2 star: 1% 1 star: 22%

 Our Promise to You

To safeguard you and ensure helpfulness and relevance, our compliance team manually assess every customer review before it goes live.

We have a zero-tolerance policy for fake reviews, and companies cannot control or alter any reviews at any time.

Sort reviews by:

  • Stay away!

    • By Hannah P.,
    • Daytona Beach, FL,
    • Aug 27, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    Let me start this off by saying, I am NEVER rude or short with customer service staff, wait staff, etc. However, when it involves my money, my livelihood, it’s serious. The first issue I had was my account getting locked for no reason, and customer service REFUSING to do anything to help. Just said, “well, sorry, gotta wait 24 hours!” Are you kidding me? Do these people not understand that rent has to be paid on time? There was no reason whatsoever to lock my access to my money, and I had no other sources at that time.

    What really broke it with me was the rejection of a money order via the mobile deposit. They force you to write “for mobile deposit to Chime only” on the endorsement, so if it gets rejected, guess what? Haha, screw you! This was the only time in my life I have EVER raised my voice, cursed and screamed at a CSR. They had absolutely nothing helpful to say, just that it wasn’t their fault and they could not help. Seriously? In the app, it forces you to acknowledge you wrote: “for mobile deposit to Chime only”! It’s within the Chime app, how is it not your fault? And sometimes that service would go down, and they would tell you to use an app for a “small fee” to cash your check. Well, that company wanted to charge me $70 to cash it. I don’t think so.

    They got me roped in with the 2-day early paycheck deposit, and I liked the push notifications with every transaction but that is absolutely NOT worth the nightmare, that is their complete and utter inconsiderate, unprofessional practices. STAY AWAY! If I could give Chime zero stars I would!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • A waste of time!

    • By Rafael A.,
    • Massachusetts,
    • Sep 6, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    On my first day of using my debit card I loaded $450.00 on my account. I went to an ATM to withdraw money and wasn't able to. About two minutes later I received an email that my account has been closed! I call customer service and they say they can't help me, no information available. They can't even tell me what I did wrong for them to close my account. I'm back to my old bank. Don't waste your time with Chime, you'll get screwed. Now I have wait two weeks to get my $450 back, and I need to buy groceries. They are a waste of your time.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • You will regret it

    • By Gerald C.,
    • Las Vegas, NV,
    • Sep 6, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    Sooner or later someone fraudulently accesses your account no matter how careful. It happened to me with Chime and they could care less. They reported two charges totaling $1,000 within minutes of each other. I was made aware of the fact when I received a message that my card had been declined for charge while I was at my office. Immediately I called Chime. Very nice, took the report and said they would follow up and my funds will be replaced within 30 days.

    That never happened. I called after 45 days and they said they had sent me an email saying they found no error. I never received an email or any correspondence from them. They told me to file another complaint disputing the findings, which I did. Again, no response. I called again and they said they could find my email even though I emailed and faxed.

    I repeated the process, still no response 90 days later.

    Stay with your normal institution, you will live to regret Chime.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Worse bank ever!

    • By Laura D.,
    • Chicago, IL,
    • Sep 20, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    It takes a while to get to an actual person and when you do, they are dumber than a box of rocks. Keep in mind, you can only load money at a Green Dot location, which most likely will charge a fee. They are nothing more than a glorified prepaid, reloadable card. I would not recommend them to my worse enemy.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Terrible, walk away

    • By Chenoa H.,
    • Maryland,
    • Sep 21, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    Please do not use this bank (if you can actually call it that). My check card was never received. I waited over two weeks for them to replace. Customer service is terrible. Go find a brick and mortar bank and don't waste your time here!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • My identity was stolen

    • By Stephanie C.,
    • Thomasville, NC,
    • Sep 26, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    My identity was stolen six years ago. The scammer signed up for this card in my name, and it was sent to my address. I guess they're not too smart sending me the card. So basically anyone can get this card without a credit check. I’ve had to freeze my credit so they won't get anything from me. Just be cautious, you never know who is seeing your information.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend


  • They do not deserve any stars. Have a dispute - they won't help!

    • By Darya R.,
    • Orange, CA,
    • Sep 26, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    I reported my card stolen on 5/25. This dispute has been going on for well over 90 days. I have sent numerous emails; on 5/29, 6/1, 6/4, 6/8, 6/27, 7/9, 7/31, 8/1, 8/29 and 9/8. Rip-off report was filed 6/08 after I was told that my claim could not be determined, that any charges were fraudulent. These transactions that took place were done via credit and NOT PIN BASED and were done between 11 -12 midnight PST. And there are several decline transaction at several locations the morning after.

    This has been a horrendous experience of dealings with a company. I feel that my dispute was not taken seriously and this company's objective is not to assist me in the returns of my funds that were practically "stolen" from my account. I need this matter resolved as I don't have time to chase down results that are as clear as day that someone took my card and used my card via credit transactions on multiple occasions.

    Update - they send me something that has nothing to do with my dispute, the dates of my dispute were not addressed. If you looked at your records all purchases at 7-11 and Ross were PIN BASED. The dispute I have documented were credit based. I need this case re-opened as I have reached out to BBB and CFPB at 855-411-2372. I will continue to re-open a case and send messages to social media to show how they carelessly addressed my dispute. I will no longer continue my relationship with this company. I will provide all documentation to the BBB and CFPB. I will be reaching out to Federal reserve board 888-851-1920 for consumer help to address this matter. The amount is petty, but this company's business practices and principals are unlawful.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Worst customer service experience ever! Beware of banking with Chime!

    • By SD W.,
    • Cleveland, OH,
    • Sep 26, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    The w orst customer service experience EVER! Chime Banking is a terrible place to house and/or save your money. "Customer support" is not helpful OR knowledgeable from first level rep all the way to "supervisor!" No empathy. Just cold! It was like speaking to a robot who I could barely understand.

    On September 16th, 2018 at approximately 1:50 am I reached out to Customer Support via the Chime App regarding an unauthorized transaction. I got a response the same night stating thanks for getting in touch with Chime. My request was being sent over to the dispute department, and someone would be in touch with me to investigate and resolve my issue.

    I received another notification via the Chime App two days later on September 18th, 2018 apologizing that it happened to me letting me know that in order to prevent future unauthorized transactions that my card would need to be scheduled for closure and a new card would be sent out. If I didn’t respond then the card was scheduled for closure three days from the 18th. They told me to kindly confirm my mailing address and they would issue a new card. I confirmed my address and asked them to send me a new card. They also sent me a form via email that I needed to send back within 10 days, to which I complied. This form was emailed to claims@chimebank.com on September 20th at 1:31 pm. Still, on the day of September 18th, I was told immediately after I confirmed my mailing address AND asked them to send me a new card, I was told via the Chime App conversation that my new card was ordered and I should receive it within 7-10 business days.

    On September 20th at 4:59 pm EST I received an email from support@chimebank.com stating that I need to confirm my address so they could issue a new card. I responded back to the email the same day 9/20/18 at 6:07 pm EST that I had already confirmed my address via the Chime App conversation. That the second request was unacceptable because I had already confirmed my address. Furthermore, I went on to still confirm my address by writing it in the email and asking could they please send my card that day since it was not sent on 9/18/18 as I already requested. I never got a response from anyone from Chime.

    On September 21st at 11:35 am I get another email stating that since my card was compromised they would have to send me a new card. My card was Scheduled to be closed in three days and my replacement card would be issued 7-10 days after closure from my account. I responded back at 1:26 pm on 9/21/18 saying that the communication was terrible. I stated that I had already confirmed address twice and gave permission for closure. I stated the info I was receiving was contradictory and I asked if someone could please get back to me. I ended it saying the communication was poor and I was unsatisfied with how my situation was being handled. I never got a response from anyone from Chime.

    I received an email today, September 26th, 2018, at 4:55 pm, saying my card has been disabled and they will let me know when my new card is on it way 7-10 days from now.

    At this point I am furious because it has now been a full 8 days from when I received confirmation via Chime App conversation that my card would be issued. I responded to every request timely. I followed the directions I was given by "Customer Support" and still Chime DROPPED THE BALL on their end! I am forced to wait an additional two weeks for a card with NO ACCESS to my fund on the first of the month when all my bills are due!

    So I decided to call the customer support number on the Dispute Form I filled out and emailed to Chime on 8/20/18. The first person I spoke to at 5:50 pm did not help me at all. There was a HUGE language barrier coupled with the fact that he could not "hear" me saying my phone was going in and out. I hung up after five minutes of my time wasted. I then called back at exactly 5:56 pm and spent the next one hour and 16 minutes having the worst customer service experience I ever had!

    The first person I spoke with on the second call had no information as to why the closure of my card was delayed and why they were just sending my card after I confirmed my address and gave permission for closure eight days prior. The "Customer Support" rep then transferred me to the "Dispute Department" where the second person I spoke to on the second call had even LESS information than the first two people I spoke to before him.

    In a fit of frustration, I respectfully asked the person to transfer me to a "Supervisor" when I was finally connected to Josh the "Supervisor." The "Supervisor" actually had the exact same level of competency as the first gentleman on the second call! I do not believe for one moment that person was an actual "Supervisor." And again, I must REITERATE the level of empathy was NON EXISTENT at best. The "Supervisor" offered absolutely no solutions or had no information as to why my card closure and ordering of new card was delayed. My issue was not resolved and I still have questions! The last thing Josh told me was I would not have access to my funds for 7-10 days from today! Even though I did everything required on my end eight days prior and was told on 9/18 that my card would be ordered.

    PLEASE BE CAUTIOUS OF "banking" with Chime. Customer service is TERRIBLE! No empathy! Reps not knowledgeable and very hard to understand!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Lousy customer service.

    • By Charles M.,
    • Pennsylvania,
    • Oct 7, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    I called up about a bad transaction and the representative spoke broken English and didn't understand me and I couldn't understand her. Then she asked me for my date of birth, my email address, my social security number, and my last five transactions just to verify my account. I got so fed up I hung up on her.

    The most frustrating experience I had anywhere with any customer service.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Where is my debit card?

    • By William E.,
    • Oregon,
    • Oct 12, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    It's been 6 weeks. Supposedly it was mailed but just disappeared, which took 3 weeks of waiting. Here is the thing, you can't access any of your money without it, no transfer, no withdrawing money, nothing.

    So on to card #2. When I asked for a replacement card, I got the "yes it's in the mail," but it has the wrong zip code and was returned to Chime. They then requested a photo of my driver's license and a utility bill, which I sent to their support website. A day later I'm told that was the wrong place to send, and they gave me a place in the app, but that had no place to attach photos.

    But finally, I received confirmation that the card has been sent, however, they showed me the address where they sent it to, and it had the wrong zip again, making me wonder why I sent them documents at all. During this time I have not been able to get any cash.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Closed my account without warning! AVOID!

    • By Edward S.,
    • South Dakota,
    • Oct 13, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    I had been a Chime customer for 6 months when they closed my account with NO warning - just an email after they had already canceled my debit card and took my ability to access my account. They did it on the same day my paycheck was deposited into my account. They gave me no chance to get my money out and completely refused to tell me why they canceled my account. My account has always stayed in good standing and they never indicated that there was an issue prior to closing my account.

    So now I have to wait a full month to receive a check for MY OWN MONEY - including the money I had in my savings account. HOW is this even legal?!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


Showing 23-33 of 509

Write a Review for Chime Banking!

Share your experience to help others discover great products!

Write a Review
Chime Banking