Read 411 Chime Banking Customer Reviews and Complaints (Page 3)

Write a Review
Average Customer Rating: 3.9
Rating Snapshot:
5 star: 267 4 star: 29 3 star: 5 2 star: 8 1 star:  102
Bottom Line: 73% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 23-33 of 411
Sort reviews by:

  • 7 out 10 people found this review helpful

    Reliable and convenient

    • Chicago, IL,
    • Apr 24, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    Chime is very reliable, and I get direct deposit, which is very convenient. It's free, with no overdraft fees. I have recommended them to friends. There are thousands of free ATMs.

    And who doesn't like free? Thank you, Chime, for your great services. And amazing customer service.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 7 out 8 people found this review helpful

    Do NOT bank with Chime

    • Birmingham, AL,
    • Apr 24, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    My account had a pending transaction that needed to be canceled. I contacted Chime and was told that in order to cancel the transaction, they needed a cancellation number sent to them by email! Well, I did that and payment was reversed instantly! However, the next day I tried to use my card, and it declined my purchase! Now I’m upset because I checked my Chime account from the app and saw that the payment they reversed when it was pending had posted to my account AGAIN 24 hours later! I have weekly direct deposits! And it showed my account -$57, how is this possible?!

    I called to speak with a supervisor and he says well, the payment posted, so we have to file a dispute. Now I’m highly angry because I’m an OTR driver, it takes seven days, and this is a company error. Plus the issue had been canceled and resolved 24 hours prior, before it posted! So, how did a transaction post AFTER it has been CANCELLED AND REVERSED?

    You file a dispute just for the company to say hey, we found no error and thank you for paying extra money due to our lack of business! Do NOT bank with them if you work hard for your earnings! Chime bank WILL take and say "screw you!"

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 7 out 8 people found this review helpful

    Scam!

    • Las Vegas, NV,
    • Jul 19, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    After four years of being with these people, they decided to just close my account saying something about my spending limit, sure Bob! I received a refund on two items I purchased off eBay and after that Chime shut me down. I am getting different answers from the agents and supervisors. Some agents say they mailed a check out to me then other agents say no, there is no check due to me, then says they don't see my refunds from PayPal. I talked to PayPal and they gave me the authorization numbers and said that Chime bank has not rejected my refunds! They put me on hold for 30 minutes with no music or not even checking in on the call, but I still wait as they are just hoping I will be the one to hang up, but guess what? They have another thing coming cause I still wait for them! I work for a bank, and they are a very huge corporation! They are wrong.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 7 out 9 people found this review helpful

    Sucks!

    • Rochester, NY,
    • Jul 31, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    People! Stay away from this. God forbid if you make a mistake on your account and try to edit. These people have had my $800.00 tide up for nothing. I tried to edit my address information. The edit button does not work on the app, nor on the website. What you have to do is contact support and then try to upload or send them a document, such as a utility bill to show proof of address. All I wanted to do was change Avenue to Terrace. Guess what? Not happening. I moved in with my boyfriend, and I don't pay bills, he does, so everything is in his name (or his mama's). Anyhoo! They wanted me to purchase a PO Box to send the card. So I said, "To hell with this!"

    I did have my driver's license, which is still good on paper with my grandma's address, so I have to wait some more, but at least this nightmare will soon be over. You will wait two weeks for this thing exactly. I have yet to speak to one American. I do not like it! It's a little iffy. My advice...stay away!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 7 out 7 people found this review helpful

    You will regret it

    • Las Vegas, NV,
    • Sep 6, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    Sooner or later someone fraudulently accesses your account no matter how careful. It happened to me with Chime and they could care less. They reported two charges totaling $1,000 within minutes of each other. I was made aware of the fact when I received a message that my card had been declined for charge while I was at my office. Immediately I called Chime. Very nice, took the report and said they would follow up and my funds will be replaced within 30 days.

    That never happened. I called after 45 days and they said they had sent me an email saying they found no error. I never received an email or any correspondence from them. They told me to file another complaint disputing the findings, which I did. Again, no response. I called again and they said they could find my email even though I emailed and faxed.

    I repeated the process, still no response 90 days later.

    Stay with your normal institution, you will live to regret Chime.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 7 out 8 people found this review helpful

    Closed my account without warning! AVOID!

    • South Dakota,
    • Oct 13, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I had been a Chime customer for 6 months when they closed my account with NO warning - just an email after they had already canceled my debit card and took my ability to access my account. They did it on the same day my paycheck was deposited into my account. They gave me no chance to get my money out and completely refused to tell me why they canceled my account. My account has always stayed in good standing and they never indicated that there was an issue prior to closing my account.

    So now I have to wait a full month to receive a check for MY OWN MONEY - including the money I had in my savings account. HOW is this even legal?!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 7 out 9 people found this review helpful

    My Chime account

    • Jacksonville, FL,
    • Oct 20, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I opened a Chime account several months ago. I forgot my password. I gave the agent my email and he said it's the wrong email, but I know for a fact that this is my email. He said he couldn't give me my account or routing number because my email is not right. I hear Chime is not legitimate. I gave this man four different emails I use and none of them is the right email.

    I do not recommend Chime to my family and friends; it's not right. I wanted to use direct deposit now because of a stupid email I can't put money in my account, because of a stupid email that doesn't exist. Chime need to go out of business.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 7 out 8 people found this review helpful

    Stay away...horrible customer service

    • New York, NY,
    • Oct 25, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    This is the worst bank I have come across. My account has been blocked due to "suspicious activity" on multiple occasions, even in instances where I got coffee in the same coffee shop I go to every day. They have kept my account suspended for days at a time with no access to funds. My bills got paid late, and I wasn't able to get groceries or gas because they would not release my money. It's been weeks and I am still unable to access my funds. I had to borrow money from family and open a new bank account for direct deposit because Chime would only hold my money and not release it. Those people are thieves!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 7 out 7 people found this review helpful

    Real with false advertising

    • Texas,
    • Jan 19, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    They tell you if you refer a friend you will get $50. I referred three people and had to battle to get my $50. They always lie and make up excuses. My buddy has $200 deposit in his Chime bank and they will not honor the $50. I submitted a claim to the BBB about this company also. Don't refer a friend if they won't honor the $50.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 7 out 8 people found this review helpful

    AVOID CHIME!

    • Taft, OK,
    • Oct 5, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    Chime stole money from me! I opened an account 4/2019, used my debit card maybe 2-3 times in May/June and was basically using this as a savings/Xmas fund. I logged in only using the app and facial recognition on my phone. I originally opened the account using my web browser, but that was the only time. I logged in on 9/12 through the app using facial recognition and set up a $50 transfer (which would have taken 7 business days) from another bank to Chime, and there was $202.23 in the account. I had planned to use about $200 of that on the 16th, so just after midnight on the 16th, I logged in and there was only $2.23 (and 52 cents in the savings account)! There was a "pay friend transfer" that I did not recognize to a name that I’ve never heard of ("for drinks") without my knowledge nor consent, nor would I have authorized anything like this - they said it was another Chime member, but I don’t know a single person who has a Chime account, and $200 "for drinks."

    So I followed their instructions, logged in through the web browser, unlinked the account from my other bank, changed my password, turned off my debit card and initiated a dispute. I contacted my other bank and stopped all transfers to Chime. My other bank told me it could take 2-3 business days. I deliberately left my account at the other bank with a very low balance in case the stop payment didn’t go through in time, so that no additional funds could go to Chime. I filled out the paperwork and sent it all back immediately and filed a police report. I sent Chime any and all info they asked for and in a very timely manner - only to be told that the provisional credit wouldn’t be issued for 10 business days. Even though I’d put a stop payment on all activity from my other bank to Chime, Chime did still attempt to transfer the money but was unsuccessful because I deliberately made sure there were no funds available and my other bank refunded the NSF fee. Chime reps wouldn’t tell me any information on the fraudulent transfer, only a name I’ve never heard of - if my account was hacked, it would have had to be on a web browser, so there would be an IP address or other info on the transaction...but Chime reps are refusing to give me any information, refusing to issue the credit back to my account and are even refusing to cooperate with law enforcement! Reps lied to me, refused to tell me who their bosses and/or supervisors were.

    I transferred the 52 cents from the savings to the spending account, in hopes of being able to withdraw $200 as soon as possible and that the $2.77 would cover an ATM fee, I sent many, many messages through the chat feature on their app and after waiting more than 10 days I called this morning, 9/30, and escalated the call to someone who said they were the only manager in the building and he refused to tell me the name of his boss and wouldn’t give me a way to contact them, but he did assure me the provisional credit would be issued before midnight tonight (9/30)...he just kept refusing to tell me anything else.

    After hanging up with him, I called back and got a different rep who refused to even let me talk to a supervisor, but he too, assured me that the money would be back in my account "anytime during the day" today (9/30) - but they couldn’t transfer funds to my account or issue any credit, and there is no way for them to contact the dispute investigations department but he kept assuring me the money would be back in my account today but couldn’t tell me a time, just sometime before midnight. I kept checking throughout the day and heard nothing all day, no money back in my account and no messages. Then about 5:00 pm, I suddenly couldn’t log in to get any information, my facial recognition wasn’t working on the app and when I called the phone number I got a message that my account was closed! It wasn’t until about 30 minutes later that I got an email from Chime stating "Based on our investigation, we have concluded no error occurred. Therefore, no funds will be credited to your account and this claim is considered closed."

    Roughly 5 minutes later I got another email from Chime saying my account was closed! I tried to call but their phone bot wouldn’t let me past a message saying my account was closed! Chime is refusing, still, to provide me any of the information from their alleged investigation and still refusing to cooperate with law enforcement...not to mention, I can’t get back into the account and to remove MY personal information. I am unable to log into my now former account to get my account number or routing number. AVOID CHIME!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 6 out 6 people found this review helpful

    A real live nightmare!

    • Tennessee,
    • Jun 3, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    To Chris Chime/Chime support team,

    Is this REALLY and TRULY your motto?!

    "We created Chime because we believe everyone deserves financial peace of mind. We’re building a new kind of bank account that helps members get ahead by making managing money easy. It’s your money. It’s your life. Chime in."

    If this is true, why have I been stressed out over the past WEEK because I can't get my funds out of my account?! Why am I behind on my BILLS? And if it's MY MONEY why don't I have access to it, other than the three LOUSY ways you guys provided me?!

    I called your company on May 11th at 12:55 pm so that I could be clear of the services you provided and also be sure whether or not I would be able to have access to my funds, while I waited on the card to come in the mail. The representative that I spoke with told me that it takes two weeks for the card to come in the mail, which I thought was RIDICULOUS. She then began to tell me that I would have access to my account to pay bills, through PayPal, and that I will also be able to transfer to another bank account as well.

    I then began to tell her a little bit about why I was looking for a new (online) bank. Which was because the previous bank's representatives were always rude and nice nasty, sometimes the system would go down and I wouldn't have access to my funds at check out, and the final straw was over the past month I felt they were taking money out of my account causing me to be negative. Whereas they've always been known for no overdraft fees, no overdrawn accounts, etc., etc.

    Anyhow, the representative on this day assured me that I wouldn't have those kinds of problems over here with Chime. I said okay, I'm just making sure of these things before I transfer my payroll deposit over to you guys. So after I transferred my information, 4 days later, on May 15th, I was about to cancel my dentist appointment, until I finally received a notification that my deposit came through. Once my dental work was complete, I tried to transfer funds through PayPal that didn't work! I tried to transfer funds to my previous bank that didn't work either! The dentist office was gracious enough to allow me to make my payment (of what I was hoping would be) the following day. So now I'm on the phone with you guys, trying to get assistance transferring and my funds. I explain to her that I've tried PayPal (which keep giving me an option for the card number) as well as trying to transfer to my previous Bank/Go bank (which doesn't even come up in your system!). The only other option she could give me was Venmo. Which is absolutely STUPID to me because I do not want any and everyone seeing me transfer/deposit money from one account to the next. When you're transacting money that's something that's supposed to be private and confidential! Also, I don't have any friends/ family to be asking, can I transfer funds to your account...so that I can get my funds? And even if I did that's just inconvenient and stupid to me. I don't care who's doing it or if that's just the trend these days.

    MEANWHILE, I'm spending the rest of my OFF DAY trying to Google search, and find a way to get my money out of this ACCOUNT. Absolutely no luck! I mean, am I dreaming?! You mean to tell me that I left one BS of a bank for another?! So the next day (May 16th and 11:16 am), I decided to call back and speak to a supervisor. Once again I was giving those same lousy three options to get my funds! Not to mention the supervisor seeming very nonchalant and acting as if she was just going through the motions! I mean what if this was you and you needed money for you and your kids or whatever?! No one here seems to be putting themselves in my shoes! I need my money ASAP. I have no gas money, I need to get groceries, I'm behind on bills (mind you, very few places accept routing and account numbers for BillPay), how am I supposed to get to work with no money or gas?! NOT TO MENTION, I'm missing my doctor's appointments as well, etc. etc., all because I can't transfer my funds! Not one time did anybody offer to cancel the card that's on the way, and overnight or at least three-day me a new card. No other alternatives offered AT ALL that would actually allow me to get my funds ASAP! BECAUSE even if the transfers did work, that takes at least three to five business days! You guys need to make sure that everyone across the boy who works for you knows the policies and procedures wholeheartedly. Make sure they're explaining everything correctly! Such as yes ma'am you could transfer to another bank "HOWEVER, all of the banks are not listed in our database, you can transfer with PayPal." HOWEVER, you can only do it with the card number itself and not the routing and the account number! And most importantly everyone needs to learn and say your mission statement daily! And/or otherwise you should reevaluate it!

    I mean, I am just BEYOND LIVID that I am being treated this way, AGAIN!

    I want ALL of my funds out of this account NOW!

    Sincerely,

    You're the worst, (THUS FAR).

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

Showing 23-33 of 411

Write a Review for Chime Banking!

Share your experience to help others shop smarter & discover great products.

Write a Review