Start your review of Chime Banking:
  • 544 Customer Reviews
  • 78% Recommend This Company
4.0 out of 5
5 star: 69% 4 star: 7% 3 star: 0% 2 star: 1% 1 star: 20%

 Our Promise to You

To safeguard you and ensure helpfulness and relevance, our compliance team manually assess every customer review before it goes live.

We have a zero-tolerance policy for fake reviews, and companies cannot control or alter any reviews at any time.

Sort reviews by:

  • Waived fee

    • By Robbie G.,
    • San Bernardino, CA,
    • Aug 22, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    I was told by someone that I could use Bank of America ATM to withdraw money without a fee. Well, that wasn't the case, and I was charged a fee. A couple days later, I get an email from Chime saying that they were going to waive that fee. How awesome is that? Thank you Chime for not being like all the other money hungry banks out there today.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend


  • Misrepresentation and unlearned Chime Banking agents

    • By Crystal E.,
    • USA,
    • Aug 22, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    I did not receive my $50 bonus; I was given the “run around “ until the 45 days had passed. I was given different information every time I had a chat with the ChimeBot and then when I spoke to a customer service rep, they treated me as if I was the problem for wanting clarity on why I had not received my bonus funds.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Love it!

    • By P G.,
    • Houston, TX ,
    • Aug 20, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    I am in love with Chime! Between getting money back from ATM fees, getting paid early, and the convenience of using my Chime Visa card virtually everywhere, I wouldn’t go to a traditional bank ever again. Must have!

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend


  • Terrible experience

    • By Valerie O.,
    • Los Angeles, CA,
    • Aug 12, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    Don't be fooled, they are just another greedy bank. Customer service is so unhelpful and condescending when you reach out. Took quite some time and hassle, but I finally closed my account due to issues I had and the way it was handled by customer service. Stay away!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Sucks!

    • By Sharon H.,
    • Rochester, NY,
    • Jul 31, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    People! Stay away from this. God forbid if you make a mistake on your account and try to edit. These people have had my $800.00 tide up for nothing. I tried to edit my address information. The edit button does not work on the app, nor on the website. What you have to do is contact support and then try to upload or send them a document, such as a utility bill to show proof of address. All I wanted to do was change Avenue to Terrace. Guess what? Not happening. I moved in with my boyfriend, and I don't pay bills, he does, so everything is in his name (or his mama's). Anyhoo! They wanted me to purchase a PO Box to send the card. So I said, "To hell with this!"

    I did have my driver's license, which is still good on paper with my grandma's address, so I have to wait some more, but at least this nightmare will soon be over. You will wait two weeks for this thing exactly. I have yet to speak to one American. I do not like it! It's a little iffy. My advice...stay away!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Do not use this bank

    • By Matthew S.,
    • Hawaii,
    • Jul 27, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    It is only good if you never have your account compromised or need anything outside of swiping a card.

    Horrible automated response and oversees customer service that just repeats the automated responses.

    Go to a brick and mortar bank and save yourself multiple headaches.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Horrendous experience

    • By Melissa B.,
    • Charleston, SC,
    • Jul 20, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    I have had a Chime Bank account since May of 2018, so about two months, and the only positive experience I have had is getting my direct deposit a day early. Chime says they work with Venmo, but Venmo does not recognize them.

    When I contacted Chime about this discrepancy, they responded that it is Venmo's fault and that I should tell them some banking mumbo jumbo, and that will fix the issue. It did not. Venmo DOES NOT recognize Chime Bank, and Chime still promotes themselves as if it does. That is one less way I can retrieve my money.

    They recently added mobile check deposit which worked for my first three checks. They do not deposit all of the money at once, but in increments instead. One check I deposited was for $360 and gave me $200 three days later, and the remaining $160 an additional one or two days after that, I cannot remember exactly.

    This week, I tried to deposit my paycheck and they accepted it, only to send me an email a few hours later stating that they were unable to verify it. That's it, no reason given. What really irks me is that I was told I could not attempt to submit my check again and that my only option was to cash it, and that just does not work for me. I do not want hundreds of dollars in cash when I want them in my bank account!

    Try getting ahold of an actual person? Good luck. I have sent numerous emails with issues I have had, and not once has any of my issues been resolved. Want to change your address on file? You have to email the support team. Well, they didn't change my address. Want to change your PIN code? You have to email the support team. They haven't changed my PIN code. I have attempted to contact them to close my accounts with them, and they have not gotten back to me on that either so I am a little irate with this company to say the least.

    I WOULD NOT recommend ever using this bank. It will make you want to tear your hair out.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Scam!

    • By Anonymous A.,
    • Las Vegas, NV,
    • Jul 19, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    After four years of being with these people, they decided to just close my account saying something about my spending limit, sure Bob! I received a refund on two items I purchased off eBay and after that Chime shut me down. I am getting different answers from the agents and supervisors. Some agents say they mailed a check out to me then other agents say no, there is no check due to me, then says they don't see my refunds from PayPal. I talked to PayPal and they gave me the authorization numbers and said that Chime bank has not rejected my refunds! They put me on hold for 30 minutes with no music or not even checking in on the call, but I still wait as they are just hoping I will be the one to hang up, but guess what? They have another thing coming cause I still wait for them! I work for a bank, and they are a very huge corporation! They are wrong.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Be careful

    • By Christian D.,
    • Houston, TX,
    • Jul 5, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    I would not recommend that anyone open an account with Chime Bank. If you read most of the complaints online, you'll quickly see a pattern of them viciously closing accounts of consumers who dispute a charge. They will deny 100% of disputes, and if you fight it up to the CFPB and win the dispute, Chime automatically closes your account after they refund the charge. I only deposited $2 into my account and then closed it ASAP.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Refund process sucks

    • By Alexus H.,
    • San Diego, CA,
    • Jun 23, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    I was told by two reps if I submitted email confirmation of the refund being issued by the merchant, the funds would be released into my account. I submitted such proof only to be told I would still have to wait the typical 5-7 business days, which is ridiculous. I have a GoBank card and refunds appear the next day. I think I am done using Chime.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Scam

    • By Reginald W.,
    • Georgia,
    • May 26, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    They have this refer a friend bonus that you're supposed to get $25-$50 when you refer a friend to join Chime. The thing about it is that when your friend opens their account and receives their first deposit, NEITHER one of you gets the bonus. These people are literally using its members to gain more members and then tell you that you did something wrong. Meantime in between time, they gain another member, and you and your friend get the short end of the stick. Do NOT refer people to this bank!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


Showing 496-506 of 544

Write a Review for Chime Banking!

Share your experience to help others discover great products!

Write a Review
Chime Banking