Start your review of Chime Banking:
  • 509 Customer Reviews
  • 76% Recommend This Company
4.0 out of 5
5 star: 67% 4 star: 7% 3 star: 0% 2 star: 1% 1 star: 22%

 Our Promise to You

To safeguard you and ensure helpfulness and relevance, our compliance team manually assess every customer review before it goes live.

We have a zero-tolerance policy for fake reviews, and companies cannot control or alter any reviews at any time.

Sort reviews by:

  • I actually love Chime

    • By Tamara Kirk,
    • Queens, NY,
    • Apr 22, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    Chime is a really cool online bank. I honestly have no problem banking with them or have any hassles. I just wish there were more places to get money from like ATMs for Chime without fees.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend


  • Great card

    • By Tasha Harris,
    • St. Louis, MO,
    • Apr 22, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    I love that I get my paycheck two days ahead of time. I would say a $1.00 charge for out of network ATMs would be better than the $2.50 charge. But overall it's a really great card. This card helps me in a huge way.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend


  • Good but could be better.

    • By George H,
    • Seattle, WA,
    • Apr 22, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    I love having my funds clear early, the app is robust and serves my needs well. However, their referral service is misleading and has made me stop telling anyone about Chime. They don’t pay out referrals, always find an excuse, customer service is really slow to respond (the few times I’ve used them, hit or miss). Also now Venmo has blocked Chime from being used with them (I had to call three times and escalate to get a clear answer). Great when it started, but now I’m wondering if they are changing for the worse.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Banking for free

    • By David Torosyan,
    • North Hollywood, CA,
    • Apr 22, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    I was in the ChexSystems Database and because of that, no bank would open an account for me. Luckily I found Chime banking around two years ago. Ever since then I do have a bank account, and it's all free. I can do bill pay, send checks, transfer funds, make ATM withdrawals, buy online items and even use a savings account and it's all free. No minimum is needed in your account to have a Chime account. I personally think it's great and no hidden costs or fees! Thanks Chime!

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend


  • The best

    • By Yaovi Kpoga,
    • Dallas, TX,
    • Apr 22, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    Chime has been the best bank I’ve ever seen when it comes to online banks. They have a credit customer service team. I’ve had issues with the bank, but the way they handle everything made me stick with them. I highly recommend them.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend


  • Refused to refund me my money

    Overall Experience:

    I have filed a dispute for an unauthorized transaction. I was told they would credit my account while the investigation was going on, but they never did. Once the investigation was over, I received the email stating that there was an error on my account and that my account will be credited for the full amount by the following day, but my account was never credited. I have called the company numerous times and spoke to different people and was told different things. I've called and asked for a manager to call me back but never received a callback. I am rightfully owned my credit, and they are refusing to give it to me with no explanation as to why.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Lost card

    Overall Experience:

    It is incredibly hard to get money if you lose your card. The fastest I can do is a check in six days (come on), and two weeks for a card (get real). Duh, I will be changing banks. Until this I loved Chime, but this is insane.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Tax refund

    • By Amanda Garcia,
    • North Carolina,
    • Feb 24, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    My tax refund was supposed to be deposited today, February 22, 2018. The IRS has already told me there's nothing wrong with my taxes, so it's the Chime card. If you want your taxes on time, do not use Chime prepaid card, they suck.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Another bad experience with Chime

    Overall Experience:

    I requested a check to be mailed to pay a bill. After the payment was not posted to my account in two weeks, I started trying to contact Chime.

    As previous reviewers said, you will not get a reply to emails or messages sent through the app. The customer service phone line does not give an option for speaking to a human unless you go into the "Inquiries about my account such as balance, etc." menu and wait for the last option. So first choose 2 and then 0.

    I didn't know that at first, so I contacted Bancorp and they transferred me, "as a one-time courtesy" to someone I think might have been at Chime Headquarters. He told me to wait until it had been 10 business days, and when I complained about the poor customer service, he told me "Online banking is not for everybody."

    I think everybody, online or not, expects to hear back from customer service when they have a problem. They have 55 complaints to the California BBB, although they indicate they have been appropriately resolved. That might be the way to go if you can't get their attention.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Love it

    Overall Experience:

    My car needed a new radiator, and I needed to get paid faster as my bank stopped during the early deposit. I signed up a got an extra 25 and got paid two days early. I had a question and the chat question was responded within an hour. It's easy to use. I love the alerts. I had it for a few months and no problems. Great alternative. I use this for a partial paycheck just to get money a few days early. So you know.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend


  • Worst bank (if you can call it that) ever! They should be sued and shut down.

    • By Myeka,
    • Seattle, WA,
    • Nov 10, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    They lack any ability to be able to provide customer service to their bankers, any time that I have had a problem with my account they not only refuse to help me and problem solve. In order to get any progress on my problems, I have to get aggravated and rude. I have experienced a number of times I have needed to contact merchant services, and they will not help you no matter what! They go by a bankers book for dummies and will only provide you with three steps they are able to take; their problem-solving sucks!

    Right now I am waiting on a dispute for $100, so I can cancel my account. You would be a fool to bank with these people. I know I made a fool out of myself. I would give zero stars, but that's not an option.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


Showing 496-506 of 509

Write a Review for Chime Banking!

Share your experience to help others discover great products!

Write a Review
Chime Banking