• 20 Customer Reviews
  • 15% Recommend This Product
1.8 out of 5
5 star: 0% 4 star: 15% 3 star: 5% 2 star: 20% 1 star: 60%

 Our Promise to You

To safeguard you and ensure helpfulness and relevance, our compliance team manually assess every customer review before it goes live.

We have a zero-tolerance policy for fake reviews, and companies cannot control or alter any reviews at any time.

Sort reviews by:

  • ChromeCast barely works, does not autoplay, video skips. GARBAGE.

    • By Matthew O.,
    • Conover, NC,
    • Jan 19, 2020
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    I have a ChromeCast and a Roku. The Roku works great, the ChromeCast is a complete waste of time and a constant headache to keep some video playing. As I type this, my ChromeCast is skipping and just generally ruining my viewing experience. Get a Roku, it does the same thing better.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Roku beats ChromeCast hands down!

    • By Lisa W.,
    • Ohio,
    • Feb 10, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    I wouldn't suggest a ChromeCast to anyone. I wish I had done research before buying mine but the deal came with minutes to decide at a great price including a mini Google speaker with it. Which the mini we love. With that deal, I also had the option to purchase a Roku premiere, which I did. I gave the ChromeCast and mini as a Christmas gift to my teenager and opting to keep the Roku for myself believing that she was getting the better gift.

    I love my Roku Premiere, it's actually my 2nd Roku as I have a much older version in our family room. I had no idea that the ChromeCast required all content to be mirrored/casted from another device, thinking it was like the Roku. And assumed since it was a Google product more high end then a Roku. Boy was I wrong. I have friends with Firesticks too and hands down Roku is the best. Tons of free streaming of movies and TV shows. The only complaint is actually that networks like A&E or CBS require a paid membership or logging into cable company. If I had cable with the overpriced monthly bill I wouldn't need any streaming device. I've opted to spend my hard earned money elsewhere than an overpriced internet or cable programming. I know of so many that pay $100's a month claiming to be getting a deal bundling cable and internet that includes home phone. Really? Deal? I pay $10/month for high speed internet and stream anything I wanna watch along with data for other devices and $60/month for unlimited cell/4G service that i can use anywhere. That's $70/month for unlimited calls/texts/data including hotspot a Google 1 account for added storage AND a Prime membership than $10 for home Wi-Fi.

    I work hard and usually will research finding the best deal for my buck. With ChromeCast, Christmas had crept up on me and it was a take it or leave it deal at more than 50% off retail price that I let a brand name of Google persuade me, learning that not all big names equals best option.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Waste of time and money!

    • By Naythan F.,
    • North Bay, Ontario, Canada,
    • Sep 12, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    I have had nothing but problems with my built-in ChromeCast TV. I know others with the same problem.

    In order to cast from a different TV, you must factory reset your TV and device in order to reconnect each time. Your device will show casting to TV but will not cast. You then reset your TV but it won't give you an option because it is already saved in your device. You cannot delete the ChromeCast that appears in the list.

    There is also absolutely no support or help center, other than a few generic Q&A in regards to how to use it.

    Absolutely garbage product and even worse product service and support.

    I think everyone should get together and file a class action lawsuit against Google as it seems like absolutely everyone is having a problem with their built-in ChromeCast devices.

    What a waste of time and money.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Don't waste your money!

    • By John S.,
    • Los Angeles, CA,
    • Sep 6, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    When you stream from a tablet or phone, you get stoppages. If you like to watch video with pauses every 20-30 seconds then it's for you. If you just want to display your pictures on your TV, then by all means, buy it. Other than that, it's a waste of money!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Won’t work with Slingbox

    • By Ken B.,
    • San Bruno, CA,
    • Jul 10, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    Their products stopped working with Slingbox/Slingplayer. Customer support is non-existent, and many many complaints from users are ignored.

    Roku works perfectly with Slingbox, plus Roku has many more streaming apps available.

    Don’t waste your money on ChromeCast.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • It's slow

    Overall Experience:

    We got the 4k version.

    Installation was straightforward. But I guess what they say that 4k is still in development is true. The video was loading forever, and after a while we started getting huge lag spikes, and the only way to get rid of them is clear cookies every time.

    Overall, it depends on (personally) quality vs. speed, and as for me, it was a frustrating experience.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Stopped hotspot ability

    • By Laura Jackson,
    • Covington, GA,
    • Feb 12, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    I got ChromeCast as a gift from my kids in May of 2016. I was able to use my phone hotspot, so we got Hulu live, Netflix, and I could use YouTube.

    Then they pulled use of hotspot making everyone HAVE to get an outside WiFi source in order to use ChromeCast. They caused everyone to pay for services, Hulu, Netflix, Hulu Live, which cost extra, plus the cost of outside WiFi cost. If you can't afford the outside WiFi, ChromeCast no longer works. So the Chromecast cost us money, Hulu Live, Netflix, as well as YouTube live, and the outside WiFi.

    I think it's outrageous that they just shut it all down expecting us all to be able to pay all this extra money. I want to start a class action lawsuit against Google. I've already sent them emails and called with no response. I wish I could rate -5!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Difficult to use, doesn't work at all with Amazon Prime.

    • By Marcos Della,
    • Silicon Valley, CA,
    • Jan 26, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    I purchased this along with a few other streaming players to do some comparisons. My experience with the ChromeCast has been pretty bad, but I don't want to dis it too much.

    First, you're required to have a smartphone to use this. There is no remote or manual method of managing the device. It can only be done from an app on your phone. Not necessary a show stopper, since most young adults never leave their phone out of reach. But the interface is clunky, doesn't work half the time, has some nifty ideas like "casting" your phone screen to your TV, but for all these neat gimmicks, if you just want to watch TV, you'll spend way more time trying to fight the thing than use it.

    Even though Google has a plethora of programmers to work on this product, it still feels like it is a year or more behind the Roku world. Its also what I would call slightly behind the Amazon Fire world as well, however, that's not too fair as both the ChromeCast and Fire are at the end of the pack by far. Part of the reason for this is that the two companies are battling one another and denying services between the two. As a consumer, I have little patience for corporate battles when something as cheap, and definitely a lot more polished is readily available.

    P.S. Good luck trying to return a device to Google. They are nowhere near as good as Amazon is in customer service.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Thieves!

    Overall Experience:

    Google screwed us by deciding that we were are no longer going to use the $40.00 piece of crap that they sold us!

    Here's my complaint on RipoffReport.com. I suggest all ChromeCast users that are in the same boat go there and complain. Maybe some lawyer might decide to launch a class action lawsuit against Google.

    I bought Google's Chromecast about three years ago when they first came out, and it worked well until last week (in April 2017) when Google updated and got rid of its functionality on older computer systems. I had bought the ChromeCast to cast my laptop screen onto my TV, and that's exactly what it did, until now.

    Now I cannot use it anymore because I have a 2009 MacBook Pro with OX 10.7.5. My laptop works flawlessly and still looks new, to replace my system with a comparable new one would cost me a small fortune, and there is absolutely no reason that I need to.

    I have spent hours trying to fix this problem online along with many others that have been affected. According to Wikipedia, Google sold 30 million of these units to consumers. Last week they swindled more than just a few of them. There are plenty of other users that can't afford the latest and greatest and have to make do with perfectly good older machines, and there are millions of us who paid good money for this item which was working just fine, and with one fell swoop, Google has made our ChromeCast purchases worthless.

    I accept that older hardware and software cannot be supported, but I take exception to the fact that Google has purposely blocked my ability to use a product which they sold me, without my knowledge, but wirelessly with software.

    Does this mean that any corporation can decide if a product they sold you should just stop working? Will car manufacturers whose products are now loaded with software just stop working when they decide that you need a new one? Will Google's self-driving car, Waymo, just leave you stranded or will it drive you to some remote location first, when they decide their coffers need to be refueled?

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • ChromeCast

    • By Rich,
    • Montville, CT,
    • Jan 4, 2016
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    I received the ChromeCast thinking I could use it in my bedroom to cast YouTube and Netflix (I have an account) but after hours I found it does not work and it was a waste of money. I was trying to cast from Chrome with windows 10 and all I kept getting from 2 TV's was a message saying “can't cast”.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • The chromecast device is a rip off.

    • By James Ingle,
    • Texas,
    • Dec 28, 2015
    Overall Experience:

    I bought my ChromeCast device when it first came out. It has always been glitchy. Now as of 12/15/2015, it constantly drops connection after 20 minutes of use. I've tried getting help, none is available for the product. With the little help I did find, surmounts to me having to be a programmer, which I'm not. I do not recommend that anyone buy a ChromeCast device.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • In the trash

    • By Kathleen,
    • Bradford, NH,
    • Nov 30, 2015
    Overall Experience:

    ChromeCast version 1 just went in the trash. Could not reset it after changing routers. Followed all the directions twice to the letter. Worked pretty well on the old router after a very cloogy​ set up. Would give it no stars, if possible.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Chromecast

    • By J,
    • New York City, USA,
    • Nov 13, 2015
    Overall Experience:

    The Chromecast is horrible! And don't buy it unless you have a good WiFi signal. One day the computer will detect it and the other day it wont! And it does not even work on the phone. However, the Chromecast is very dependable on a good wifi signal. Even if there is WiFi working, it has to be strong enough to support the Chromecast. So, buy it only if you have a very good Wifi signal across the house. Even if the Wifi is average, it will still be dysfunctional.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Nightmare

    • By Jenni,
    • Belfast, Northern Ireland,
    • Oct 30, 2015
    Overall Experience:

    There was no method of contact for help. I want to return it, but the store won't accept opened goods. All I can say is thank God it was cheap. I think it's a pile of rubbish. Totally disgusted. False advertising.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Bought first version, now it doesn't work.

    Overall Experience:

    We bought the first Chromecast about a year ago and it was a great thing to see all our shows. Now after the newest version of Chromecast came out we have nothing but trouble. The new app doesn't work with version 1. Another way to get more money out of people. That is what it comes down to. If anybody can clear this up and make my version 1 Chromecast work, I will write a good review. As of now we have uninstalled the new app and run through the router with great difficulty! Beware, in a couple of years the new one won't probably work either. I have searched for help everywhere. None exists. Shame on you Google!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Almost Worth It

    • By John,
    • Jul 16, 2015
    Overall Experience:

    This product was nice at first but then Netflix stopped working with it and as we all know, Netflix is the main reason we get these quirky devices. I loved it up until Netflix stopped working. Sad I had to return it for a Roku Streaming Stick because the YouTube on the Roku isn't fluid and easy like it is on the Chromecast because when you use your phone or tablet, it's a 1000 times faster. But like I said, I didn't get this device for YouTube, I got it for the Netflix.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Pretty good

    • By Cailey,
    • St. Louis, MO,
    • Jul 15, 2015
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    ChromeCast is actually pretty cool. Go on any site the provides free movies and then ChromeCast. Sometimes it may mess up but it is cool. Anyways, go ahead and buy it. But first I would recommend Netflix.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend


  • Perfect solution

    • By Todd,
    • Montana,
    • Jul 11, 2015
    Overall Experience:

    We bought it for a seldom used location. We already subscribe to Netflix and needed to stream it to another TV. The ChromeCast was $10 off through Costco. For a one-time $25 expenses, we were able to eliminate a $60 monthly cable bill. We have no regrets.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend


  • Does exactly what I want and expect.

    • By Reed Kalisher,
    • Pembroke Pines, FL,
    • Jun 30, 2015
    Overall Experience:

    I downloaded the ChromeCast APP to my son's tablet (Toshiba Thrive) with no problems. The setup of the device took two tries, but I suspect that's more my tremor than a real glitch. I can plug into any screen in my home (3) and control what I see from the pad or my [smart] phone. The quality has been excellent, but I should add that I have the highest internet speed available through AT&T. (heavy sigh) The only reason I didn't give it a full 5 is, it is a bit 'Spartan', but it works as advertised, and at only $35, what's the risk?

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend


  • Chromecast Unusable - Support Poor

    • By Rick,
    • Las Vegas, NV,
    • Jun 30, 2015
    Overall Experience:

    You must have received the lucky unit. I ordered mine, waited and received it. Followed the instructions to the letter and set-up ChromeCast no problems, well until I went to use it. I opened Chrome and saw the Cast extension in top right, selected it and chose the ChromeCast until that was displaying my number on the TV. All was good until the extension turned red, a small x was in the corner of the extension and the ChromeCast box showed that it was searching for ChromeCast. I looked three feet away and could see the ChromeCast screen on my TV showing connected to my WiFi network. I let it search and eventually shut it all down with no results. I refreshed the ChromeCast to factory settings, uninstalled Chrome and ChromeCast from my Windows 7 PC and started again, same results.

    I called support and we walked through it with a few secret tips given me and I was now casting from desktop to TV. The next day went to cast and I was back at unable to locate unit stage. I recalled support and got; "I don't know what to say. I have never heard of this. Here is what I would suggest. You send back the unit and give me your credit card number and we will put a hold on your credit card until we receive the unit you send to us. Once we get the unit we will send you a new unit and release the hold on your credit card." You have got to be kidding me? Hold on my credit card? Pay to send "possibly" faulty unit? Wait for you to receive it to release my credit card?

    Easier solution. Put POS ChromeCast in a box and buy a Roku. Streaming is a wonderful thing now and it doesn't take me 2 plus hours and a prayer to watch Netflix.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


Showing 1-20 of 20

Write a Review for ChromeCast!

Share your experience to help others discover great products!

Write a Review
ChromeCast Reviews