Read 19 ChromeCast Customer Reviews and Complaints (Page 2)

Write a Review
Average Customer Rating: 1.8
Rating Snapshot:
5 star: 0 4 star: 3 3 star: 1 2 star: 4 1 star:  11
Bottom Line: 16% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 12-19 of 19
Sort reviews by:

  • 4 out 5 people found this review helpful

    Chromecast

    • New York City, USA,
    • Nov 13, 2015

    The Chromecast is horrible! And don't buy it unless you have a good WiFi signal. One day the computer will detect it and the other day it wont! And it does not even work on the phone. However, the Chromecast is very dependable on a good wifi signal. Even if there is WiFi working, it has to be strong enough to support the Chromecast. So, buy it only if you have a very good Wifi signal across the house. Even if the Wifi is average, it will still be dysfunctional.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 2 out 3 people found this review helpful

    Nightmare

    • Belfast, Northern Ireland,
    • Oct 30, 2015

    There was no method of contact for help. I want to return it, but the store won't accept opened goods. All I can say is thank God it was cheap. I think it's a pile of rubbish. Totally disgusted. False advertising.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 1 out 4 people found this review helpful

    Bought first version, now it doesn't work.

    We bought the first Chromecast about a year ago and it was a great thing to see all our shows. Now after the newest version of Chromecast came out we have nothing but trouble. The new app doesn't work with version 1. Another way to get more money out of people. That is what it comes down to. If anybody can clear this up and make my version 1 Chromecast work, I will write a good review. As of now we have uninstalled the new app and run through the router with great difficulty! Beware, in a couple of years the new one won't probably work either. I have searched for help everywhere. None exists. Shame on you Google!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 1 out 2 people found this review helpful

    Almost Worth It

    • Jul 16, 2015

    This product was nice at first but then Netflix stopped working with it and as we all know, Netflix is the main reason we get these quirky devices. I loved it up until Netflix stopped working. Sad I had to return it for a Roku Streaming Stick because the YouTube on the Roku isn't fluid and easy like it is on the Chromecast because when you use your phone or tablet, it's a 1000 times faster. But like I said, I didn't get this device for YouTube, I got it for the Netflix.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 1 out 3 people found this review helpful

    Pretty good

    • St. Louis, MO,
    • Jul 15, 2015
    • Verified Reviewer

    ChromeCast is actually pretty cool. Go on any site the provides free movies and then ChromeCast. Sometimes it may mess up but it is cool. Anyways, go ahead and buy it. But first I would recommend Netflix.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 4 out 5 people found this review helpful

    Perfect solution

    • Montana,
    • Jul 11, 2015

    We bought it for a seldom used location. We already subscribe to Netflix and needed to stream it to another TV. The ChromeCast was $10 off through Costco. For a one-time $25 expenses, we were able to eliminate a $60 monthly cable bill. We have no regrets.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 3 out 4 people found this review helpful

    Does exactly what I want and expect.

    • Pembroke Pines, FL,
    • Jun 30, 2015

    I downloaded the ChromeCast APP to my son's tablet (Toshiba Thrive) with no problems. The setup of the device took two tries, but I suspect that's more my tremor than a real glitch. I can plug into any screen in my home (3) and control what I see from the pad or my [smart] phone. The quality has been excellent, but I should add that I have the highest internet speed available through AT&T. (heavy sigh) The only reason I didn't give it a full 5 is, it is a bit 'Spartan', but it works as advertised, and at only $35, what's the risk?

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 5 out 7 people found this review helpful

    Chromecast Unusable - Support Poor

    • Las Vegas, NV,
    • Jun 30, 2015

    You must have received the lucky unit. I ordered mine, waited and received it. Followed the instructions to the letter and set-up ChromeCast no problems, well until I went to use it. I opened Chrome and saw the Cast extension in top right, selected it and chose the ChromeCast until that was displaying my number on the TV. All was good until the extension turned red, a small x was in the corner of the extension and the ChromeCast box showed that it was searching for ChromeCast. I looked three feet away and could see the ChromeCast screen on my TV showing connected to my WiFi network. I let it search and eventually shut it all down with no results. I refreshed the ChromeCast to factory settings, uninstalled Chrome and ChromeCast from my Windows 7 PC and started again, same results.

    I called support and we walked through it with a few secret tips given me and I was now casting from desktop to TV. The next day went to cast and I was back at unable to locate unit stage. I recalled support and got; "I don't know what to say. I have never heard of this. Here is what I would suggest. You send back the unit and give me your credit card number and we will put a hold on your credit card until we receive the unit you send to us. Once we get the unit we will send you a new unit and release the hold on your credit card." You have got to be kidding me? Hold on my credit card? Pay to send "possibly" faulty unit? Wait for you to receive it to release my credit card?

    Easier solution. Put POS ChromeCast in a box and buy a Roku. Streaming is a wonderful thing now and it doesn't take me 2 plus hours and a prayer to watch Netflix.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

Showing 12-19 of 19

Write a Review for ChromeCast!

Share your experience to help others shop smarter & discover great products.

Write a Review