CircaCharge Reviews - Is it a Scam or Legit?

By HighYa Staff
Published on: Feb 4, 2019

CircaCharge is a wireless charging pad that weighs less than a tenth of a pound and can charge your phone simply by laying your phone on it and letting the Circa’s technology transfer power.

The advantage to these types of chargers is convenience. There aren’t any cords you have to remember or any tangled messes inside a backpack or briefcase. Simply plug in the charger and lay your phone on top of it. When you’re ready to take your phone, pick it up and use it.

According to the fine print available in the Terms and Conditions section of the CircaCharges, the company offering the product through the website is Strong Current Enterprises Limited. They are located in the Netherlands. At the time of publishing, their product lineup included a variety of electronics including a selfie ring light, a VR headset, as well as an indoor TV antenna.

In this review, we’ll cover how the charger works, using the device’s manual to provide accurate and clear information. After that, we’ll talk about pricing and how the charger compares to similar products.

How the CircaCharge Works

According to CircaCharge’s website, the device works with all Qi-enabled phones. U.K.-based Mobile Fun provided the following list of Qi-enabled phones available at the time of publishing:

  • Apple: iPhone 8 and up
  • Samsung: Galaxy S7 and up
  • Sony: Experia XZ2 and up
  • Huawei: Mate series
  • Google: Nexus 4 and up, all Pixels

Basically, if you have any of the phones on this list or Qi-enabled phones that don’t appear on the list, you can put your phone on the pad and it will charge. The CircaCharge’s manual also points out it can charge non-phone Qi-enabled devices like Apple Smartwatches.

If your phone is Qi-enabled, you can select the type of charger your phone uses and the company will send you a free adapter.

The CircaCharge and all charging pads use a technology called “inductive charging." Basically, LiveScience points out, the charging pad creates an electromagnetic field it uses to transfer power to your phone’s battery.

One of the questions we think is pretty important as you consider a wireless charging pad is how quickly they charge compared to cords.

While it’s hard to say how quickly the pad can charge your specific phone, we were able to find an article from How-to Geek that indicates a Samsung S6 could go from a 0% charge to a 100% charge in about 1.5 hours with a cord and 3 hours with a charging pad. In other words, the pad took twice as long.

Your CircaCharge will ship with a micro-USB cord and an adaptor if you selected one during checkout.

CircaCharge Pricing and Return Policy

Pricing for the CircaCharge focuses on quantity discount and, in that sense, plays to the idea that you’ll more than one charging pad so you can put them in various parts of your home -- the kitchen counter and your nightstand, for example:

  • One charger: $49.99
  • Two chargers: $92.99
  • Three chargers: $115.99
  • Four chargers: $147.99
  • Five chargers: $173.99

The site labels their five-charger deal as the “Best Deal” because each charger costs $34.80 as opposed to the $49.99 you’ll pay if you buy one charger. Remember, this price includes a free adapter if you need one.

It’s crucial that you understand that all chargers are sold As-is, which means you cannot get a refund.

If you need to make a return, you have 30 days from the day you receive your charger to do it. You’ll need to send the charger back to CircaCharge to get your refund. The company decides whether or not you’ll get a return and, if they approve it, you can only get an exchange or store credit.

Now if you’re a resident of a country in the European Economic Area, you have the right to a refund if you process it within 14 days of receiving the product.

If you aren’t comfortable with their no-refunds policy, you have the option of purchasing a limited lifetime warranty for an additional $11.60.

We read through the fine print and found that the warranty will cover “defects in materials and workmanship”, which means the warranty won’t cover any damage resulting from normal wear-and-tear or improper use on your part.

To define improper use, we read further and found that any damage due to weather or water voids the warranty. The device’s manual says you should keep it away from all liquid, smoke and steam, too. We would imagine that a faulty charger due to any of those environmental factors could void the warranty.

How the CircaCharge Compares to Other Wireless Charging Pads

Watching a commercial or clicking on an ad for a charger like CircaCharge can be tricky because the deals may seem so appealing you don’t even think about how much other wireless chargers cost.

We’ve checked out three of the top-rated on wireless charging pads on Amazon to help you see where the CircaCharge’s pricing fits in:

  • Yootech Wireless Charger: $15.99, 4.4 stars from more than 3,800 reviews
  • Anker 10W Wireless Charger: $21.99, 39 stars from more than 2,100 reviews
  • Belkin Boost Up Wireless Charging Pad: $44.99, 3.8 stars from more than 800 reviews

The main thing we noticed when doing our research is that both the generic and brand-name chargers we looked at were cheaper than the CircaCharge. In fact, the Yootech charger was three times cheaper than the CircaCharge.

The other difference we saw was that the three chargers on Amazon were either 10W (Anker) and 7.5 W (Yootech, Belkin), whereas the CircaCharge is a 5W charger. Wattage plays a role in how quickly the charger can charge a phone but it’s unclear how much faster a 7.5W or 10W charger would charge your phone over a 5W charger.

In our opinion, there are better values to be had on Amazon.

The Final Word: Our Closing Thoughts About the CircaCharge

Based on our research of this product, its return policy and its warranty, we believe there are some clear takeaways.

First, we think that wireless charging pads on Amazon.com provide better value and have a more beneficial return policy than the CircaCharge’s as-is, no-refund policy.

Second, we think some of the top-ranked chargers on Amazon provide value, as they seem to offer the same function as the CircaCharge but at a significantly cheaper price.

Finally, we believe that, for those who like to invest their money in name-brand products, it may benefit you to check out the Belkin Boost Up charging pad, as it’s a few dollars cheaper than the CircaCharge. Furthermore, you can get the 5W version of the Belkin pad at Target for $23.39.

Sign Up for HighYa Newsletter

Sign up for HighYa newsletter and get our best content delivered in your inbox as well as 3 free eBooks to help you save money and shop smarter. Enter your email below to get started!


Read 6 CircaCharge Customer Reviews and Complaints

Write a Review
Average Consumer Rating: 1.3
Rating Snapshot:
5 star: 0 4 star: 0 3 star: 1 2 star: 0 1 star:  5
Bottom Line: 0% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 1-6 of 6
Sort reviews by:

  • 6 out 7 people found this review helpful

    Company is a fraud

    • Santa Fe, NM,
    • Apr 12, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I ordered the charger and paid $58.94 through PayPal and received free shipping. When the product arrived, it did not work. I called their customer service number and they offered me 30% off to keep the product. I declined. They sent me an email with return instructions. The instructions said I could only return via USPS or UPS, not FedEx. I went to ship the return UPS and they told me the address was not valid. So I called customer service and they said "this never happens" and offered me 30% off. I then opened a dispute with PayPal. PayPal instructed me to return the product to HONG KONG - the only address they have for the company. The cost to return the product to HONG KONG is $98 - more than the price of the product.

    Not only is this company a fraud, but paying with PayPal doesn't provide any protection. DON'T ORDER FROM THIS COMPANY.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)

    • Apr 14, 2019

      Strong Current Enterprises

      Hi Susan. We are sorry to hear about this feedback. First, we'd like to assure you that this is a legit entity. We are not in the business of scamming people as we understand how earned money is. Second, w do have a US return address and you may use UPS or USPS to send back any defective or unsatisfactory items either or replacement of for refund. Please know that we are taking all your feedback seriously as this will help improve our overall services. To make sure that all your concerns are covered, we have sent you an email to the email address you used when you have ordered.


  • 4 out 4 people found this review helpful

    Not functional charging pad devise for my 7 Plus as I thought!

    • Whitehorse, Yukon Territory, Canada,
    • Apr 6, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    In receiving my order in a timely manner, awesome. I received four charging pads with three wireless charging adapters (?), what was I thinking! I now realize these charging pads will not work with my cell phone 7Plus as advertised. It will not do for my purpose. My cell has an Otter Box protector. This was not noted on your advertisement, as I do not recall seeing this advertised, just it would work with 8/7Plus. I did send an email requesting to return for full refund (to my Visa). I now go onto the Circa Charger website and read about "No Refund" Store Credit! What else do they carry? I will ship back in knowing I will receive my full credit back to my Visa. I did open one of the charge pads but realized it was useless for my purpose of wireless charging, doesn't work with Otter Box protector, which is valuable for my cell phone protection. I am just sick that I didn't know about no refund policy. Do an honest person who ordered by mistake a full refund my order to my credit card, respectfully.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)

    • Apr 7, 2019

      Strong Current Enterprises

      Hi Ellie. We are sorry to hear about this feedback. To make sure that all your concerns are addressed and straightened out, we have sent you an email to the email address you have used when you place the order online. We look forward to hearing back from you and settling things as soon as possible. Thanks!


  • 9 out 9 people found this review helpful

    Total sham

    • South Carolina,
    • Mar 22, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    This product and company are a total sham. DO NOT buy this product! I ordered three as Christmas gifts. After over six weeks they never arrived. I tried contacting the company to cancel the order but they wouldn’t let me. The products finally arrive and I immediately emailed them to start the return process. They offered a 30% refund, which I refused and stated I needed instructions on how to return. They never responded after multiple emails. They finally responded after waiting for 30 days only to inform me that I can’t return it because it’s been over 30 days.

    This is how crazy shady this business is. I emailed them multiple times to get return instruction the day of delivery. CircaCharge is a sham business only here to take your money and run. Avoid at all costs!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)

    • Apr 4, 2019

      Strong Current Enterprises

      We are truly to hear about this feedback. We understand where you are coming from and you have every right to be upset because of the long delay, however, we'd like to assure you that this is a legit entity. We are not in the business of scamming people as we understand how hard-earned money is. Should there be any need to communicate further, please send us your order details so we can pull up your record. We'd also like to take this chance to sincerely apologize for the inconvenience this has caused you.


  • 11 out 11 people found this review helpful

    Online ordering?

    • New Richmond, WI,
    • Mar 19, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I thought I ordered one. Received two and a car charger and was charged for all of them! No satisfaction from customer service! They did give me a discount so now say I can never return anything because I agreed to keep them. This was before I realized how much I had been charged on my credit card! Am working with the credit card company to get one of the charges off. I still have no idea how so many things got ordered! I also didn’t realize how inconvenient it would be using the adapter for the iPhone 7.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)

    • Apr 4, 2019

      Strong Current Enterprises

      Hi Lois. We are sorry to hear about this feedback. Please know that the customer service team is here to help should you need further technical assistance with the wireless charger. Our goal is to provide cutting edge solutions to make the lives of our customers easier and more convenient. Thank you!


  • 7 out 7 people found this review helpful

    Do not plug these into your iPhone wall charger, the little one.

    • Colorado,
    • Mar 15, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I purchased 3 of these plus the car charger, and at first they seemed ok. It seemed like they were charging really slowly and that disappointed me a bit. The second day I put my phone on the charger and it was hard to find the sweet spot where the phone would ding to show it was charging. Later I noticed that the light was off on the charging unit, which is always lit up when plugged in and my phone was at 29%. I tried unplugging the unit and plugging it back in and no light. I pulled out the adapter and plugged a cord into the wall charger and my phone and nothing.

    Then my wife said that her phone wasn’t charging anymore on hers. Both units had fried the wall USB charger. So in their instructions, it shows the specs and they require 2Amps of power to power one of their units and those small iPhone chargers supply 1 amp. It overloaded them and killed them.

    I called them up and all they would do is send me a new set to replace the ones I already had. I told them there’s nothing wrong with the ones I’ve got, it’s that you don’t tell people that they need a special wall adapter that supplies at least 2 amps to make these things work. It’s also probably why they were taking so long to charge. I’ve ordered 3 new Apple iPad chargers which supply 2.1 or 2.4 amps of power and should be enough. I’m actually afraid to plug them into my only iPad charger because if it gets fried I have no way to charge it and I use it all the time. Circa needs to put this in their website and on their brochure that these will not work with the standard iPhone charger. I never could get the guy on the phone to understand that it’s the wall charger, not your product, but since you don’t warn people of this, you should be responsible enough to replace the fried ones.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Mar 22, 2019

      Scott W.

      I tried the car charger today and it overloaded the USB port on a 2016 Toyota 4Runner. Plugged it in and the lights came on. Placed the phone into the device and all the lights shut off and the phone went back to non-charging mode. Luckily there must be some protective device on the USB port because when I shut the car off and started it back up the USB port was working again. So just to make sure I tried it again and the same thing. These pull too much power for most USB ports. Be careful what you plug them into. I have found out that the iPhone wall adapter must have some protection in them because after about an hour they started working again. So it didn’t fry them but it still won’t work with them. The iPad chargers work fine though and I’ve been using them without any issues. I still don’t recommend this product. Too much hassle and no return policy. So you are stuck with a product that may not work for you. Don’t chance it. The car charger is junk the way I see it now.

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)

    • Apr 4, 2019

      Strong Current Enterprises

      Hi Scott. We are sorry to hear about what happened. Please know that all your feedback and suggestions are being taken seriously as they will help us improve our overall services - from the product itself to the customer support. if there is any way that we can further assist you, please let us know.


  • 13 out 13 people found this review helpful

    Con merchants, avoid like the plague

    • Scotland,
    • Mar 13, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I bought the phone charger and it does not work as described. I emailed support but surprise, no reply, so no support at all then. All review searches take you to CircaCharge website so no real reviews.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)

    • Apr 4, 2019

      Strong Current Enterprises

      Hi John. We are sorry to hear about this feedback, John. We'd like to apologize if the product may have not met your expectations. We'll reach out to our email team to make sure that your messages are attended to as soon as possible. Should there be anything else we can help you with, please let us know.


Showing 1-6 of 6

Write a Review for CircaCharge!

Share your experience to help others shop smarter & discover great products.

Write a Review